Participant Funding Program

Interested in finding out more about the CNSC’s Participant Funding Program (PFP)? The CNSC just launched a video that explains how we provide financial assistance through our PFP program to help get the public involved in our regulatory activities. Find out how the PFP works, who can apply, what are eligible expenses, and more. View the video.

Canada's 2010 federal budget, the Jobs and Economic Growth Act (JEGA), gave the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) the authority to create a Participant Funding Program (PFP).

The PFP was established to give the public, Aboriginal groups and other stakeholders the opportunity to request funding from the CNSC to participate in its regulatory processes.

The PFP demonstrates the CNSC's continued commitment to meaningful public and Aboriginal participation in nuclear review processes, while strengthening regulatory performance and protecting the environment.

The objectives of the PFP are:

  • to enhance Aboriginal, public and stakeholder participation in the CNSC environmental assessment (EA) and licensing process
  • to help stakeholders bring valuable information to the commission through informed and topic-specific interventions related to aspects of environmental assessments and licensing

Top of page

The PFP is available to eligible stakeholders whose proposed activities are related to aspects of (EA) and/or a licensing action for major nuclear facilities (e.g., uranium mines, nuclear power plants or nuclear waste facilities).  Funding may also be available for CNSC proceedings that are of significant interest to the public or to Aboriginal groups.

The maximum amount of funding available for each project will depend on potential direct impacts and public interest, as well as other factors, including:

  • potential effects of the project
  • project size and location
  • Aboriginal groups in the area
  • diversity of issues likely to be raised in the hearing
  • the technical complexity of the project
  • participant funding levels that may have been established for similar projects in the past
  • available resources

Top of page

Who is eligible to receive funding?

Eligible recipients are individuals, community members, Aboriginal groups, not-for-profit corporations and other stakeholders who have:

  • a direct, local interest in the project; for example, living or owning property near the project area
  • Aboriginal traditional knowledge and/or local community insight relevant to the proposed project
  • interests in potential project impacts on treaty lands, settlement lands or traditional territories and/or related claims and rights
  • plans to provide value-added* information relevant to the CNSC's mandate and specific matter before the Commission

* Value-added information is new, distinctive and relevant information that contributes to a better understanding of the anticipated effects of a project.

Top of page

Are there limits on funding?

The CNSC's annual funding allotment for PFP is limited and will likely be divided among various projects on an annual basis. Multiple applications may be associated with a single issue (or ‘matter'), which is why the CNSC encourages collaboration amongst groups and individuals seeking funding for similar activities.

The PFP is intended to provide modest funding to approved funding applicants whose input on a proposed project will bring value to the CNSC's regulatory processes. It is the funding applicant's responsibility to explain how each proposal will contribute value-added information to the CNSC.

In general, the maximum funding for a single matter could reach up to $250,000 per year. However, in special circumstances and upon the recommendation of the Funding Review Committee or the President, the CNSC may increase the available funding for the matter at hand.

Participant funding is available to cover some expenses related to professional fees, travel and other reasonable costs, as determined by an independent funding review committee. CNSC participant funding is not meant to act as or to replace capacity-building funding from other sources. It is a modest amount meant to cover some of the expenses incurred in providing the CNSC with value-added information related to an EA or licensing issue.

Top of page

Program information

The CNSC's Participant Funding Program Guide (PDF) provides more details on who is eligible, what specific expenses may be funded and how the program works. Our guide also gives additional instructions on completing and submitting the funding application form (PDF).

Please note that all successful funding applicants will be required to sign a contribution agreement (PDF).

For additional information, consult our frequently asked questions. Should you require more information, contact the PFP administrator.

Top of page

Participant Funding Program

Programme de financement des participants

Pour ceux qui aimeraient en savoir plus sur le Programme de financement des participants (PFP), la CCSN vient de lancer une vidéo expliquant comment nous fournissons de l’aide financière grâce au PFP afin d’inciter le public à participer à nos activités réglementaires. Découvrez comment fonctionne le PFP, qui peut présenter une demande, quelles demandes sont admissibles, etc. Visionner la vidéo.

La Loi sur l'emploi et la croissance économique, du Budget fédéral 2010, a donné à la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) le pouvoir de créer un Programme de financement des participants (PFP).

Le PFP a pour but de donner au public, aux groupes autochtones et à d'autres parties intéressées la possibilité de demander une aide financière à la CCSN pour participer au processus décisionnel en matière de réglementation.

Le PFP démontre la volonté de la CCSN d'assurer une participation utile du public et des Autochtones aux processus d'examen nucléaire, tout en renforçant son rendement en matière de réglementation et en protégeant l'environnement.

Le PFP vise les objectifs suivants :

  • améliorer la participation des Autochtones, du public et des parties intéressées aux processus d'évaluations environnementales et d'autorisation de la CCSN
  • aider les parties intéressées à communiquer des renseignements utiles à la Commission par le biais d'interventions éclairées et portant sur un sujet précis liées aux aspects des évaluations environnementales (EE) et des activités d'autorisation

Haut de la page

Le PFP est offert des parties intéressées admissibles dont les activités proposées se rapportent à des aspects des évaluations environnementales et (ou) des mesures d'autorisation concernant les grandes installations nucléaires (p. ex. mines d'uranium, centrales nucléaires ou installations de gestion des déchets nucléaires). L'aide financière peut également être offerte pour d'autres audiences de la CCSN qui présentent un intérêt significatif pour le public et les Autochtones.

Le montant maximal disponible dépendra des répercussions potentielles directes et de l'intérêt du public, ainsi que d'autres facteurs, comme :

  • les effets potentiels du projet
  • l'ampleur du projet et son emplacement
  • les groupes autochtones présents dans la région
  • la diversité des questions qui pourraient être soulevées lors de l'audience
  • la complexité technique du projet
  • les niveaux d'aide établis pour des projets semblables dans le passé
  • les ressources disponibles

Haut de la page

Qui peut recevoir une aide financière du PFP?

Les bénéficiaires admissibles sont des particuliers, des groupes autochtones, des sociétés à but non lucratif et d'autres parties intéressées qui doivent :

  • avoir un intérêt direct et local dans le projet, notamment vivre à proximité du secteur du projet ou y posséder des biens fonciers
  • posséder une perception de la collectivité locale ou des connaissances traditionnelles autochtones pouvant être utiles au projet proposé
  • porter un intérêt aux incidences éventuelles du projet sur les terres visées par un traité ou un règlement, un territoire traditionnel ou les revendications et droits connexes
  • prévoir fournir des renseignements à valeur ajoutée* en rapport avec le mandat de la CCSN et les questions étudiées par la Commission

* Les informations à valeur ajoutée correspondent à des renseignements nouveaux, distincts et précieux qui contribuent à une meilleure compréhension des effets prévus d'un projet.

Haut de la page

Y a-t-il une limite au financement?

L'enveloppe budgétaire annuelle de la CCSN consacrée au PFP est limitée et sera probablement répartie entre divers projets sur une base annuelle. De multiples demandes peuvent être associées à un seul dossier (ou projet); c'est pourquoi la CCSN encourage la collaboration entre les groupes et les personnes qui demandent un financement pour des activités similaires.

Le PFP a pour but de fournir une modeste aide financière aux demandeurs approuvés dont la contribution à un projet proposé ajoutera de la valeur aux processus d'application de la réglementation de la CCSN. Les demandeurs d'aide financière ont la responsabilité d'expliquer comment chaque proposition apportera des informations à valeur ajoutée à la CCSN.

En général, le montant maximal de l'aide financière accordée pour une question précise peut atteindre 250 000 $ par an. Cependant, dans certaines circonstances et sur recommandation du Comité d'examen de l'aide financière ou du président, la CCSN peut augmenter le montant total de l'aide financière disponible pour la question en cause.

L'aide financière aux participants couvre certaines dépenses en rapport avec les honoraires professionnels, les frais de déplacement et d'autres coûts raisonnables, jugés recevables par un comité d'examen indépendant de l'aide financière. L'aide financière aux participants n'a pas pour but de remplacer les moyens ou possibilités de financement provenant d'autres sources. Il s'agit d'un montant modeste servant à couvrir certaines dépenses engagées dans le but de fournir des informations à valeur ajoutée à la CCSN relativement à une évaluation environnementale ou à une question de permis.

Haut de la page

Information sur le Programme

Le Guide du Programme de financement des participants (PDF) (PDF) de la CCSN fournit plus de détails sur les personnes admissibles, les dépenses qui peuvent être financées et le fonctionnement du Programme. Le Guide présente également des instructions supplémentaires sur la façon de remplir et de soumettre le Formulaire de demande d'aide financière (PDF).

Veuillez noter que les requérants approuvés devront signer un accord de contribution (PDF).

Pour en savoir plus, veuillez consulter notre foire aux questions. Si vous avez besoin de plus d'information, veuillez communiquer avec l’administrateur du PFP.

Haut de la page

Programme de financement des participants