Participate in a public Commission hearing

The Commission public hearing process is carefully governed by a set of formal rules of procedure under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act.

General information about how to participate in a public hearing is listed below.

Observe or actively participate

Members of the public are welcome to observe Commission hearings and meetings. You do not need to give advance notice or make a request to attend these proceedings.

Members of the public can formally participate actively as intervenors at Commission public hearings. Interventions can be made in either of Canada's official languages and may be written, or written and oral, as outlined in the notice of public hearing.

Watch public Commission hearings and meetings online

The Canadian Nuclear safety Commission (CNSC) offers online videos, or webcasts, of its public hearings and meetings. If you are interested in learning about what happens at a public hearing or meeting, watch public Commission hearings or meetings online.

How to actively participate

Persons or groups who wish to intervene at a hearing must seek and be granted the status of an intervenor by the Commission. Please note that submitting the request to intervene does not automatically provide intervenor status. Pursuant to rule 19 of the CNSC Rules of Procedure, the request needs to be accepted by the Commission. Acceptance will be confirmed by the Secretariat.

To actively participate, you must send a request to participate with the following:

  1. your written submission, in either English or French, that describes your interest in the subject of the hearing or your expertise in the matter, and the information to be presented before the Commission
  2. if applicable, your request to make an oral presentation on the day of the hearing

Oral presentations are summaries of the key points of your written submission. The length of each oral presentation is usually limited to 10 minutes, followed by an opportunity for the Commission members to ask questions. As the Commission members have already read the written submissions, the question period following an oral presentation is key to ensuring a good understanding of the matters raised and completing the record. Whereas there is usually a 10 minutes time limit for oral presentations, this does not include the question period for which there is no time limit. Oral presentations alone are not possible without a written submission. Actively participating in a public hearing is called an intervention, whether this is done by:

  • written submission
  • written submission and oral presentation

You may present your oral presentation yourself or you may choose to have legal counsel or a spokesperson from your organization present for you. Most participants are not represented by counsel.

In some cases, there may be an opportunity for eligible participants to apply for participant funding. Learn more about the CNSC’s Participant Funding Program (PFP) and find out if there are any current opportunities to apply for PFP.

There are some hearings that are not open for public participation because they deal with subjects that are administrative in nature or deal with confidential matters. Check the notice of hearing to see whether the hearing allows public participation.

The Commission may also accommodate participation in its proceedings by teleconference or videoconference. Arrangements for remote participation should be made through the Commission Secretariat.

Request to participate

The information you will need to complete your request is available in the notice of public hearing.

Please note that your intervention should be specific to the subject matter (as outlined in the notice of public hearing) being discussed at the public hearing.

Send in your request to participate in one of the following ways:

  1. Use the online request form.
  2. Send an email, including the following information:
    • date of hearing
    • subject of the hearing, as listed in the notice of public hearing
    • your contact information, including your name, mailing address and telephone number, or that of your counsel or agent
    • whether you would like to participate only in writing or both in writing and verbally in person
    • your written submission
    • You may also fax your request to 613-995-5086 or mail it to the address listed at the bottom of the screen. Your request should include the same information listed above for sending an email.

Your request and written submission must be received by the Commission Secretariat before or on the date indicated in the notice of public hearing.

Confidential filings

The CNSC has created the Guidance Document on Confidential Filings. The document establishes uniform procedures for filing confidential materials for all licensing applications and related matters that come before the Commission or a designated officer. The document is also intended to assist participants in Commission proceedings in understanding how the Commission will deal with such filings.

This guidance document seeks to strike a balance between the objectives of transparency and openness, and the need to protect information that has been properly designated as confidential. The placing of licensing applications and related materials on the public record is the rule, and confidentiality is the exception. The final decision on whether or not to keep information confidential rests with the Commission.

Notices of hearings and agendas

Notices of public hearing are published in local area newspapers and available on our website approximately 60 days before the public hearing. When there is no public participation, notices of hearing are only available on our website.

Consult notices of public hearing

See the public hearings calendar

Notices of hearing include information about:

  • the kind of hearing (a one-part or two-part public hearing, or a closed session without public participation)
  • the purpose or subject of the hearing
  • when and where the hearing will be held
  • the form of intervention (written submission only or both written submission and oral presentation on the day of the hearing or if it is a closed session, no intervention)
  • deadlines for submitting documents to the Commission Secretariat prior to the hearing if public intervention is permitted

Public hearing agendas are available on our website before the public hearing. The hearing agenda lists the time when the subject matter you are interested in is scheduled to be heard and the order of the interventions. Note that the Commission Secretariat sets the order in which the interventions will be heard in such a way to allow a fair and expeditious process.

To add your name to the Commission mailing list and receive all notices of public hearings directly, send an email or contact us by mail or fax as indicated below. You can also receive email notifications of new information available on the CNSC’s website by signing up at our subscription centre.


The Commission Secretariat will contact you once your request to intervene has been received.

If your submission is accepted, it will be given a Commission member document (CMD) reference number and will be added to the public record. Submissions from the public, CNSC staff and the applicant are publicly available by requesting copies from the Commission Secretariat using the contact information listed below.


For further information about participating in a public hearing or other Commission information, please contact the Commission Secretariat.

Phone: 613-996-9063 or 1-800-668-5284 (toll-free)
Fax: 613-995-5086

Participer à une audience publique de la Commission

Le processus d’audience publique de la Commission est gouverné par une série de Règles de procédure prises en vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires.

Les sections qui suivent contiennent des renseignements généraux sur la façon de participer à une audience publique.

Observer ou participer activement

Les membres du public sont invités à observer les audiences et les réunions de la Commission. Il n’est pas nécessaire d’en faire la demande, ni de soumettre un avis au préalable.

Les membres du public peuvent participer activement aux audiences publiques en tant qu’intervenants. Les interventions peuvent se faire dans l’une ou l’autre des deux langues officielles et peuvent être présentées sous forme écrite, ou sous forme écrite et orale, tel qu’indiqué dans l’avis d’audiences publiques.

Suivre le déroulement des audiences et des réunions publiques en ligne

La CCSN mise sur la webdiffusion pour présenter en ligne ses audiences et ses réunions publiques. Si vous désirez savoir ce qui se passe lors d’une audience ou d’une réunion publique de la Commission, suivez-en le déroulement grâce à la webdiffusion.

Comment participer activement

Les personnes ou les groupes qui désirent intervenir lors d'une audience doivent demander et obtenir le statut d'intervenant auprès de la Commission. À noter que le fait de présenter une demande d'intervention ne confère pas automatiquement le statut d'intervenant. En vertu de la règle 19 des Règles de procédure de la CCSN, la demande d'intervention doit être acceptée par la Commission. L'acceptation de la demande est confirmée par le Secrétariat.

Pour participer activement, il faut envoyer une demande d’intervention qui comprend les renseignements suivants :

  1. votre mémoire, en français ou en anglais, décrivant votre intérêt pour le sujet de l'audience ou votre expertise sur la question, et l'information que vous présenterez devant la Commission
  2. s’il y a lieu, votre demande pour une présentation orale le jour de l’audience

Les présentations orales résument les points clés du mémoire; elles ne durent habituellement pas plus de dix minutes et sont suivies d'une période de questions réservée aux commissaires. Ceux-ci ayant déjà lu les mémoires, cette période de question est très utile pour assurer une bonne compréhension des questions soulevées et pour constituer les dossiers. La période de questions n'est pas incluse dans les dix minutes normalement accordées pour la présentation orale. De plus, sa durée n'est assujettie à aucune limite. Il est impossible de faire une présentation orale sans déposer un mémoire. La participation active à une audience publique est appelée « intervention », peu importe qu'elle se fasse par :

  • un mémoire seulement; ou
  • un mémoire et une présentation orale.

Vous pouvez faire votre présentation orale vous-même ou nommer un avocat ou un représentant de votre organisation qui le fera pour vous. La grande majorité des participants se représentent eux-mêmes.

Dans certains cas, il est possible pour les participants admissibles de demander une aide financière. Apprenez-en davantage sur le Programme de financement des participants (PFP) de la CCSN et vérifiez si des occasions de demander une aide financière s'appliquent actuellement à vous.

Certaines audiences ne sont pas ouvertes à la participation du public, car elles portent sur des sujets de nature administrative ou confidentielle. Vérifiez l’avis d’audience pour savoir si la participation du public sera permise lors d’une audience.

La Commission peut aussi faciliter la participation à ses audiences au moyen de la vidéoconférence ou de la téléconférence. Les arrangements relatifs à la participation à distance doivent être pris avec le Secrétariat de la Commission.

Demande de participation

L’information que vous devez fournir dans votre demande est disponible dans l’avis d’audience publique.

Veuillez noter que votre intervention doit porter directement sur le sujet (tel qu’indiqué dans l’avis d’audience publique) qui sera discuté lors de l’audience publique.

Veuillez envoyer votre demande de participation de l’une des façons suivantes :

  1. en utilisant le Formulaire de demande en ligne
  2. en envoyant un courriel, qui devrait inclure l’information suivante :
    • la date de l’audience
    • le sujet de l’audience, tel qu’indiqué dans l’avis d’audience publique
    • vos coordonnées, y compris votre nom, votre adresse postale et votre numéro de téléphone (ou celui de votre avocat ou de votre mandataire)
    • si votre participation se limitera à un mémoire ou si vous ferez également une présentation orale
    • votre mémoire

Vous pouvez aussi nous envoyer votre demande par télécopieur au 613-995-5086 ou par la poste à l’adresse au bas de l’écran; votre demande devrait inclure l’information susmentionnée.

Le Secrétariat de la Commission doit recevoir votre demande et votre mémoire au plus tard à la date limite indiquée sur l’avis d’audience publique.

Dépôts confidentiels

La CCSN a élaboré un document d'orientation sur les dépôts confidentiels. Il a pour objectif d'établir des directives uniformes pour le dépôt de documents confidentiels se rapportant à l'ensemble des demandes de permis et des questions connexes qui sont soumises à la Commission ou à un fonctionnaire désigné. Le document vise également à aider les participants aux séances de la Commission à comprendre la façon dont cette dernière traite les dépôts de cette nature.

Ce document d'orientation cherche à établir un équilibre entre les objectifs de transparence et d'ouverture et la nécessité de protéger les renseignements qui ont été désignés confidentiels à juste titre. La règle consiste à verser les demandes de permis et les documents connexes au dossier public; le traitement confidentiel constitue l'exception. Il incombe à la Commission de décider si l'information devrait demeurer confidentielle.

Avis d’audience publique et ordres du jour

Les avis d’audience publique sont publiés dans les journaux locaux et sur notre site Web environ 60 jours avant la tenue de l’audience publique. Lorsqu’il n’y a pas de participation du public, l’avis d'audience est disponible seulement sur notre site Web.

Consulter les Avis d’audience publique

Consulter le Calendrier des audiences publiques

Les avis d’audience incluent l’information suivante :

  • le type d’audience (audience publique d’un ou de deux jours, ou une séance à huis clos sans participation du public)
  • le but ou le sujet de l’audience
  • le lieu et la date de l’audience
  • la forme d’intervention (mémoire seulement ou mémoire et présentation orale le jour de l’audience, ou encore, aucune intervention s’il s’agit d’une audience à huis clos)
  • les délais pour soumettre les documents au Secrétariat de la Commission avant l’audience, dans le cas où les interventions sont autorisées.

L’ordre du jour des audiences publiques est disponible sur notre site Web, avant la date de l’audience publique. L’ordre du jour établit l’heure à laquelle le sujet qui vous intéresse sera entendu et l’ordre des interventions. Veuillez noter que le Secrétariat de la Commission établit l’ordre des interventions qui seront entendues de manière à favoriser un processus juste et expéditif.

Pour ajouter votre nom à la liste de distribution de la Commission et recevoir directement tous les avis d’audience publique, envoyez un courriel ou communiquez avec nous par courrier ou par télécopieur, aux coordonnées ci-dessous. Vous pouvez également recevoir des messages électroniques vous avisant des nouveaux renseignements disponibles sur le site Web de la CCSN en vous inscrivant à notre centre d’abonnement.

Mémoires

Le Secrétariat de la Commission communiquera avec vous lorsqu’il aura reçu votre demande d’intervention.

Si votre mémoire est accepté, on lui attribuera un numéro de référence pour un document à l’intention des commissaires (CMD) et il sera ajouté au dossier de l’audience. Les mémoires du public, du personnel de la CCSN et du demandeur sont mis à la disposition du public. Vous pouvez en demander un exemplaire auprès du Secrétariat de la Commission aux coordonnées ci-dessous.

Personne-ressource

Pour plus d’information sur la façon de participer à une audience publique ou pour obtenir des renseignements sur la Commission, communiquez avec le Secrétariat de la Commission.

Téléphone : 613-996-9063 ou 1-800-668-5284 (sans frais)
Télécopieur : 613-995-5086