Future-Oriented Financial Statement for the year ending March 31, 2015

Statement of Management Responsibility

Responsibility for the compilation, content, and presentation of the accompanying future-oriented statement of operations (FOSO) for the year ending March 31, 2015 rests with departmental management. The FOSO has been prepared by management in accordance with Treasury Board accounting policies which are consistent with Canadian generally accepted accounting principles for the public sector. The FOSO is submitted for Part III of Estimates (Report on Plans and Priorities), and will be used in the CNSC's Departmental Performance Report to compare with actual results.

Management is responsible for the objectivity of the information contained in the FOSO and for the process of developing assumptions. Assumptions and estimates are based upon information available and known to management as at January 20, 2014, reflect current business and economic conditions, assume a continuation of current governmental priorities, and are consistent with the CNSC's mandate and strategic objectives. Much of the FOSO is based on these assumptions, best estimates, and judgment, and give due consideration to materiality. At the time of preparation of the FOSO, management believes the estimates and assumptions to be reasonable. However, as with all such assumptions, there is a measure of uncertainty surrounding them. This uncertainty increases as the forecast horizon extends into the future.

The actual results achieved for the fiscal years covered in the accompanying FOSO will vary from the information presented, and the variations may be material.

--------------------------------
Michael Binder
President

--------------------------------
Stéphane Cyr
Acting Vice-President, Corporate Services Branch
and Chief Financial Officer

Future-Oriented Statement of Operations (Unaudited)

For the year ended March 31 (in thousands of dollars)
  Estimated Results 2014 Planned Results 2015
Expenses
Salaries and employee benefits $ 110,704 $ 109,030
Professional and special services 19,754 21,267
Accommodation 8,765 9,409
Travel and relocation Amortization 4,588 4,622
Amortization 3,750 3,500
Furniture, repairs and rentals 5,468 5,490
Communication and information 1,210 1,298
Grants and contributions 1,771 1,770
Utilities, materials and supplies 998 1,071
Other 16 17
Total expenses 157,024 157,474
Revenues
Licence fees 107,515 109,589
Special projects 2,317 1,876
Total revenues 109,832 111,465
Net cost of operations 47,192 46,009

The accompanying notes form an integral part of these future-oriented statement of operations.

Notes to the Future-Oriented Statement of Operations (Unaudited)

1. Methodology and significant assumptions

The future-oriented statement of operations has been prepared on the basis of the government priorities and the plans of the CNSC as described in the 2014-15 Report on Plans and Priorities.

The information in the estimated results for fiscal year 2013-14 is based on actual results as at September 30, 2013 and on forecasts for the remainder of the fiscal year. Forecasts have been made for the planned results for the 2014-15 fiscal year.

The main assumptions are as follows:

  • The CNSC's activities will remain substantially the same.
  • Expenses and revenues, including the determination of amounts internal and external to the government, are based on historical experience and planned level of activity.
  • Allowances for uncollectibility are based on historical experience. The general historical pattern is expected to continue.
  • Estimated year end information for 2013‐14 is used as the opening position for the 2014‐15 planned results.

These assumptions are adopted as at January 20, 2014.

2. Variations and Changes to the Forecast Financial Information

While every attempt has been made to accurately forecast final results for the remainder of 2013‐14 and for 2014‐15, actual results achieved for both years are likely to vary from the forecast information presented, and this variation could be material.

In preparing this future‐oriented statement of operations the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission has made estimates and assumptions concerning the future. These estimates and assumptions may differ from the subsequent actual results. Estimates and assumptions are continually evaluated and are based on historical experience and other factors, including expectations of future events that are believed to be reasonable under the circumstances.

Factors that could lead to material differences between the future‐oriented statement of operations and the historical statement of operations include:

  • Changes to the operating budget, new initiatives or technical adjustments later in the year may affect both revenue and expenditure levels.
  • Economic conditions may affect both the amount of revenue earned and the collectability of accounts receivables.
  • The timing and value of capital asset acquisitions and disposals may affect gains and losses on the disposition of capital assets and amortization expenses.

Once the Report on Plans and Priorities is presented, Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission will not be updating the forecasts for any changes to appropriations or forecast financial information made in ensuing supplementary estimates. Variances will be explained in the Departmental Performance Report .

3. Summary of Significant Accounting Policies

The future‐oriented statement of operations has been prepared in accordance with the Treasury Board Accounting Standards (TBAS) in effect for the 2013‐14 fiscal year. These accounting standards, stated below, are based on Canadian generally accepted accounting principles for the public sector. The presentation and results using the stated accounting policies do not result in any significant differences from Canadian generally accepted accounting principles. The significant accounting policies are:

(a) Expenses

Expenses are recorded on an accrual basis. Expenses for the Department operations are recorded when goods are received or services are rendered including services provided without charges for accomodation, employee contributions to health and dental insurance plans, legal services and worker's compensation which are recorded as expenses at their estimated cost. Vacation pay and compensatory leave as well as severance benefits are accrued and expenses are recorded as the benefits are earned by employees under their respective terms of employment.

Transfer payments are recorded as expenses when the recipent has met the eligibility criteria or fulfilled the terms of a contractual transfer agreement or, in the case of transactions which do not form part of an existing program, when the Government announces a decision to make non‐recurring transfer, provided the enabling legislation or authorization for payment receives parliamentary approval prior to the completion of the financial  statement. Transfer payments that become repayable as a result of conditions specified in the contribution agreement that have come into being are recorded as a reduction to transfer payment expense and as a receivable.

Expenses also include provisions to  reflect changes in the value of assets, including provisions for bad debt on accounts receivable, provision for valuation on loans, investments and advances and inventory obsolescence or liabilities, including contingent liabilities and environmental liabilities to the extent the future event is likely to occur and a reasonable estimate can be made. Expenses also include amortization of tangible capital assets which are capitalized at their acquisition cost.  Amortization of tangible capital assets is done on a straight‐line basis over the estimated useful life of the asset.

(b) Forecasted Revenue

On December 17, 2007, the Government of Canada conferred on the CNSC the authority to spend licence fee revenue. Revenue is recognized in the period in which the underlying transaction or event that gave rise to the revenue takes place. Licence fee revenue is recognized on a straight‐line basis over the period to which the fee payment pertains (normally three months or one year). Licence fees received for future year licence periods are recorded as deferred revenue.

Certain educational institutions, not‐for‐profit research institutions wholly owned by educational institutions, publicly funded health care institutions, not‐for‐profit emergency response organizations and federal government departments are not subject to the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission Cost Recovery Fees Regulations (Regulations). The CNSC provides licences to these organizations free of charge. The value of licences provided free of charge is calculated on the same basis as licence fees for organizations subject to the Regulations. The CNSC does not include the foregone revenue associated with these licences in the Statement of Operations.

4. Parliamentary Authorities

The CNSC receives its funding through parliamentary and statutory appropriations. Items recognized in the future‐oriented statement of operations in one year may be funded through parliamentary authorities in prior, current and future years. Accordingly, the CNSC has different net results of operations for the year on a government funding basis than on an accrual accounting basis. These differences are reconciled in the following table:

(a) Authorities requested (in thousands of dollars)
  2014 2015
Authorities requested
Vote 20 $ 45,317 $ 36,578
Statutory Amounts:
Expenditures pursuant to Subsection 21(3) of the Nuclear Safety and Control Act 89,582 91,246
Contributions to employee benefit plans 14,886 14,514
Authorities requested 149,785 142,338
Less
Lapsed Vote 20 ‐ CNSC program expenditures (906) 3,579
Deferred revenue available in future years 2,235 2,231
Authorities forecasted to be used $ 148,456 $ 143,686

(b) Reconciliation of net cost of operations to requested authorities (in thousands of dollars)
  2014 2015
Net cost of operations before government funding $ 47,192 $ 46,009
Adjustments for items affecting net cost of operations but not affecting authorities:
Add (Less):
Services provided without charge by other government departments (13,486) (13,489)
Amortization of tangible capital assets (3,750) (3,500)
Revenues pursant to Subsection 21(3) of the Nuclear Safety and Control Act 109,832 111,465
Decrease in employee future benefits 7,730 1,500
Increase in vacation pay and compensatory leave (700) (700)
  99,626 2,401
Adjustments for items affecting net cost of operations but not affecting authorities:
Add (Less):
Acquisitions of tangible capital assets 1,638 2,401
  1,638 2,401
Authorities forecasted to be used $ 148,456 $ 143,686
Date modified:

États financiers prospectifs pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2015

Déclaration de Responsabilité de la Direction

La responsabilité relative à la compilation, au contenu et à la présentation de l'État des résultats prospectif ci-joint pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2015 incombe à la direction de la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN). La direction a préparé cet État des résultats prospectif selon les normes comptables du Conseil du Trésor, qui sont en accord avec les principes comptables généralement reconnus du Canada pour le secteur public. L'État des résultats prospectif est présenté dans la partie III du Budget principal (Rapport sur les plans et les priorités), et il sera utilisé dans le Rapport ministériel sur le rendement de la CCSN afin d'établir des comparaisons avec les résultats réels.

La direction est responsable de l'intégrité et de l'objectivité des renseignements contenus dans l'État des résultats prospectif ainsi que du processus consistant à élaborer des hypothèses. Les hypothèses et les estimations sont fondées sur l'information à laquelle la direction avait accès et dont elle avait connaissance au 20 janvier 2014, et elles reflètent les conditions économiques actuelles, supposent le maintien des priorités gouvernementales en cours et s'harmonisent avec le mandat et les objectifs stratégiques de la CCSN. La majeure partie de l'État des résultats prospectif est fondé sur ces hypothèses, sur les meilleures estimations et le jugement de la direction et il tient compte de l'importance relative. Au moment où le présent État des résultats prospectif a été préparé, la direction croit que les estimations et les hypothèses sont raisonnables. Toutefois, comme c'est le cas de toute estimation et hypothèse, un certain degré d'incertitude demeure. Cette incertitude croît à mesure que l'horizon prévisionnel s'allonge.

Les résultats financiers réalisés pendant l'exercice dont il est question dans l'État des résultats prospectif ci-joints seront différents des prévisions présentées ici et ces variations pourraient être importantes.

--------------------------------
Michael Binder
Président

--------------------------------
Stéphane Cyr
Vice-président par intérim, Direction générale des
services de gestion et dirigeant principal des finances

État des résultats prospectif (non vérifiés)

Exercice se terminant le 31 mars (en milliers de dollars)
  Résultats prospectif 2014 Résultats prospectif 2015
Charges de fonctionnement
Salaires et avantages sociaux 110 704 $ 109 030 $
Services professionnels et spéciaux 19 754 21 267
Installations 8 765 9 409
Déplacements et réinstallations 4 588 4 622
Amortissement 3 750 3 500
Mobilier, réparations et locations 5 468 5 490
Communication et information 1 210 1 298
Subventions et contributions 1 771 1 770
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnement 998 1 071
Autres 16 17
Total des charges 157 024 157 474
Revenus
Droits de permis 107 515 109 589
Projets spéciaux 2 317 1 876
Total des revenus 109 832 111 465
Coût de fonctionnement net 47 192 46 009

Les notes complémentaires font partie intégrante des états financiers.

Notes complémentaires aux états des résultats prospectifs (non vérifiés)

1. Méthodologie et hypothèses importantes

Les états des résultats prospectifs ont été préparés en fonction des priorités gouvernementales et des plans de la CCSN énoncés dans le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités 2014-2015.

Les renseignements présentés dans les résultats estimatifs de l'exercice 2013–2014 sont fondés sur les résultats réels en date du 30 septembre 2013 et sur les prévisions pour le reste de l'exercice. Des prévisions des résultats prévus ont été faites pour l'exercice 2014-2015.

Les principales hypothèses sont les suivantes :

  • Les activités de la CCSN resteront, pour la plupart, les mêmes.
  • Les charges et les revenus, y compris la détermination des montants internes et externes au gouvernement, sont fondés sur les expériences passées et le niveau d'activité planifié.
  • Les dispositions relatives à l'irrécouvrabilité reposent sur les expériences passées. On s'attend à ce que la tendance générale passée se poursuive.
  • Les renseignements estimatifs pour la fin de l'exercice 2013-2014 déterminent la position initiale sur laquelle se basent les résultats prévus de 2014-2015.

Ces hypothèses sont retenues en date du 20 janvier 2014.

2. Variations et modifications de l'état des résultats prospectifs

Même si tous les efforts ont été déployés pour prévoir avec exactitude les résultats définitifs pour le reste de l'exercice 2013-2014 et ceux de pour 2014-2015, les résultats réels des deux exercices risquent de varier par rapport aux prévisions financières présentées, et l'écart pourrait être important.

Lors de la préparation des états des résultats prospectifs, la CCSN a établi des estimations et des hypothèses à l'égard d'événements futurs. Ces estimations et ces jugements peuvent différer des résultats réels subséquents. Les estimations et les jugements sont constamment évalués et sont fondés sur les expériences passées ainsi que sur d'autres facteurs, y compris l'anticipation d'événements futurs que l'on juge plausibles au regard des circonstances présentes.

Les facteurs qui pourraient donner lieu à des écarts importants entre l'état des résultats prospectif et l'état des résultats historique sont entre autres :

  • Des modifications supplémentaires au budget de fonctionnement à la suite de nouvelles initiatives ou de rajustements techniques adoptés plus tard dans l'année peuvent affecter les niveaux de recettes et de dépenses.
  • Les conditions économiques peuvent influer le montant des recettes acquises et le recouvrement des comptes créditeurs.
  • Le moment et la valeur des acquisitions et des aliénations d'immobilisations peuvent entraîner des gains ou des pertes sur l'aliénation des immobilisations et les charges d'amortissement.

Lorsque le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités sera présenté, la CCSN n'effectuera pas de mise à jour des prévisions pour refléter les changements éventuels de crédits, y compris les budgets supplémentaires des dépenses. Les écarts seront expliqués dans le Rapport ministériel sur le rendement.

3. Sommaire des principales conventions comptables

L'état des résultats prospectif a été préparé conformément aux normes comptables du Conseil du Trésor en vigueur dans le cadre de l'exercice 2013-2014. Ces conventions comptables, énoncées ci-après, s'appuient sur les principes comptables généralement reconnus du Canada pour le secteur public. La présentation et les résultats qui découlent de l'utilisation des conventions comptables énoncées ne donnent lieu à aucun écart par rapport aux principes comptables généralement reconnus du Canada.

(a) Charges

Les charges sont comptabilisées selon la méthode de comptabilité d'exercice. Les charges de fonctionnement du gouvernement sont constatées lorsque les biens sont reçus ou que les services sont rendus, y compris les services fournis gratuitement pour les locaux, les cotisations de l'employeur aux régimes de soins de santé et de soins dentaires, les services juridiques et les indemnités d'accident du travail, qui sont comptabilisés à titre de charges de fonctionnement à leur coût estimatif. Les indemnités de vacances et de congés compensatoires ainsi que les indemnités de cessation d'emploi sont passées en charges au fur et à mesure que les employés en acquièrent le droit en vertu de leurs conditions d'emploi.

Les paiements de transfert sont passés en charges dès que le bénéficiaire a satisfait aux critères d'admissibilité ou qu'il a rempli les conditions de l'accord de transfert ou, dans le cas d'opérations qui ne font pas partie d'un programme existant, dès que le gouvernement annonce une décision d'effectuer un transfert ponctuel, pour autant que la loi habilitante ou l'autorisation de paiement soit approuvée par le Parlement avant l'achèvement de l'état financier. Les paiements de transfert qui deviennent remboursables lors de l'entrée en vigueur de conditions spécifiées dans l'accord de contribution sont comptabilisés en réduction des charges de transfert et comme montant à recevoir.

Les charges incluent des provisions qui tiennent compte de changements dans la valeur d'actifs. Cela comprend des provisions pour créances douteuses, des provisions pour moins-value de prêts, de placements et d'avances ainsi que la désuétude des stocks ou les passifs, dont les passifs éventuels et les passifs environnementaux, dans la mesure où l'événement futur est susceptible de se produire et où une estimation raisonnable des répercussions peut être établie. Les charges incluent également l'amortissement des immobilisations corporelles, qui sont capitalisées à leur coût d'acquisition. Les immobilisations corporelles sont amorties selon la méthode de l'amortissement linéaire sur la durée de vie utile estimative de l'actif.

(b) Revenus prévus

Le 17 décembre 2007, le gouvernement du Canada a accordé à la CCSN le pouvoir de dépenser les recettes provenant des droits de permis. Les revenus sont constatés dans l'exercice où les opérations ou les faits sous-jacents surviennent.

Les revenus des droits de permis sont constatés selon la méthode linéaire sur la période visée par les paiements de droits (habituellement trois mois ou un an). Les droits de permis reçus pour les années futures des périodes d'autorisation sont comptabilisés comme des revenus reportés. Certains établissements d'enseignement, établissements de recherche sans but lucratif qui appartiennent entièrement à des établissements d'enseignement, établissements de santé subventionnés par l'État, organismes de mesures d'urgence sans but lucratif et ministères fédéraux ne sont pas assujettis au Règlement sur les droits pour le recouvrement des coûts (Règlement) de la CCSN. La CCSN délivre sans frais des permis à ces organisations. La valeur des permis délivrés gratuitement est calculée selon la même formule que les droits de permis des organismes assujettis au Règlement. La CCSN n'inclut pas les revenus cédés de ces permis délivrés sans fais dans l'état des résultats.

4. Autorisations parlementaires

La CCSN reçoit son financement sous la forme de crédits parlementaires ou législatifs. Les éléments comptabilisés dans l'état des résultats prospectif d'un exercice peuvent être financés par des crédits parlementaires qui ont été autorisés dans un exercice précédent, pendant l'exercice en cours ou qui le seront dans un exercice futur. Par conséquent, les résultats de fonctionnement nets de la CCSN diffèrent selon qu'ils sont présentés en fonction du financement octroyé par le gouvernement ou de la méthode de la comptabilité d'exercice. Ces écarts font l'objet de rapprochements dans les tableaux suivants :

a) Crédits demandés (en milliers de dollars)
  2014 2015
Crédits demandés
Crédit 20 45 317 $ 36 578 $
Prévus par la loi :
Dépenses en vertu du paragraphe 21(3) de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires 89 582 91 246
Cotisations aux régimes d'avantages sociaux 14 886 14 514
Crédits demandés 149 785 142 338
Moins
Crédit 20 périmé – Dépenses du programme de la CCSN (906) 3 579
Revenus reportés disponibles dans les années futures 2 235 2 231
Crédits futurs disponibles 148 456 $ 143 686 $

b) Rapprochement du coût de fonctionnement net et des crédits demandés (en milliers de dollars)
  2014 2015
Coût de fonctionnement net avant le financement public 47 192 $ 46 009 $
Rajustements pour les éléments ayant une incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais n'ayant pas d'incidence sur les crédits:
Plus (Moins) :
Services fournis gratuitement par d'autres ministères et organismes (13 486) (13 489)
Amortissement des immobilisations corporelles (3 750) (3 500)
Revenues en vertu du paragraphe 21(3) de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires 109 832 111 465
Diminution des avantages sociaux futurs 7 730 1 500
Augmentation des indemnités de vacances et des congés compensatoires (700) (700)
  99 626 95 276
Rajustements pour les éléments n'ayant pas d'incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais ayant une incidence sur les crédits:
Plus (Moins) :
Acquisition d'immobilisations corporelles 1,638 2,401
  1,638 2,401
Crédits parlementaire prévus pour l'exercice utilisés 148,456 $ 143,686 $
Dernière mise à jour :