Growing the best nuclear regulator in the world

CNSC co-op students

CNSC co-op students

Since 1946, the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) and its predecessor, the Atomic Energy Control Board (AECB), have regulated Canada’s nuclear sector, continuously strengthening Canada's laws, regulations and licensing requirements, and enforcing compliance by licensees. This year marks the CNSC’s 70th anniversary as Canada’s independent nuclear regulator.

Intervenors at a Commission hearing in La Ronge

Intervenors at a Commission hearing in La Ronge, SK

Over the past 70 years, the CNSC has learned a lot about how to grow the best nuclear regulator in the world. For the CNSC, that starts with having the best people – a diverse, creative, and expert workforce. The CNSC’s workforce includes students, visible minorities, and individuals of many ethnic and linguistic groups as key players at all levels of CNSC operations.

The CNSC also continues to develop its nation-to-nation relationships with Canada’s Indigenous people. By committing to engaging Indigenous communities through open consultation and transparent decision making with methods such as its Participant Funding Program (PFP), the CNSC recognizes the importance of consulting and relationship building.

Another important part of the CNSC’s commitment to nuclear safety is protecting the environment. Since 2001, the CNSC has had the regulatory powers to protect the environment. This crucial responsibility is reflected in all relevant licence agreements and environmental protection is rigorously enforced by the CNSC. Throughout the last 70 years, the CNSC has continued to strengthen and improve its commitment to protecting the environment.

Environmental monitoring near the Gentilly-2 facility, Bécancour, QC

Environmental monitoring near the Gentilly-2 facility, Bécancour, QC

The CNSC is mandated to regulate the use of nuclear energy and materials to protect health, safety, security, and the environment. It is also responsible for implementing Canada’s international commitments on the peaceful use of nuclear energy. The CNSC ensures transparency by making available and disseminating objective scientific, technical and regulatory information to the public.

Canada 150 logo

Canada 150 provides a great opportunity for Canadians to celebrate, reflect upon and be thankful for the safe, thriving and democratic nation we live in and continue to build together. We are proud to be celebrating 70 years of nuclear safety in Canada.

To learn more about the CNSC and its history, role and responsibilities, have a look at the following:

Cultivons le meilleur organisme de réglementation nucléaire au monde

Étudiants du programme Coop

Étudiants du programme Coop

Depuis 1946, la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN), anciennement la Commission de contrôle de l’énergie atomique (CCEA), réglemente le secteur nucléaire du Canada tout en renforçant sans cesse les lois, les règlements et les exigences de permis et en assurant la conformité des titulaires de permis. Cette année, la CCSN célèbre son 70e anniversaire en tant qu’organisme de réglementation nucléaire indépendant du Canada.

Intervenants à une audience publique de la Commission à La Ronge, (Saskatchewan)

Intervenants à une audience publique de la Commission à La Ronge, (Saskatchewan)

Au cours des 70 dernières années, la CCSN en a appris beaucoup sur la façon de « cultiver » le meilleur organisme de réglementation nucléaire au monde. Il faut d’abord avoir les meilleures personnes grâce à un effectif diversifié, créatif et expert. Le personnel de la CCSN compte de nombreux experts, dont des étudiants, des minorités visibles et des personnes de nombreux groupes ethniques et linguistiques occupant des postes clés à tous les échelons de l’organisation.

La CCSN tisse aussi des relations avec les peuples autochtones du Canada. Elle reconnaît l’importance des consultations et de l’établissement de relations, comme en témoigne son engagement envers le dialogue avec les collectivités autochtones. Elle tient des consultations ouvertes et prend des décisions transparentes, grâce à des initiatives comme le Programme de financement des participants (PFP).

Surveillance environnementale près de l’installation nucléaire Gentilly-2 à Bécancour, (Québec)

Surveillance environnementale près de l’installation nucléaire Gentilly-2 à Bécancour, (Québec)

Un autre grand volet de l’engagement de la CCSN envers la sûreté nucléaire est la protection de l’environnement. Depuis 2001, l’organisation possède des pouvoirs réglementaires pour protéger l’environnement. Cette responsabilité essentielle est inscrite dans toutes les ententes de permis, et la CCSN applique rigoureusement des mesures d’application de la loi visant à protéger l’environnement. Au cours des 70 dernières années, celle-ci a continué à renforcer et à peaufiner son engagement dans ce domaine.

La CCSN a comme mandat de réglementer l’utilisation de l’énergie et des matières nucléaires afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité et de protéger l’environnement. Elle se doit aussi de respecter les engagements internationaux du Canada à l’égard de l’utilisation pacifique de l’énergie nucléaire. Enfin, elle veille à la transparence en diffusant de l’information scientifique, technique et réglementaire objective au public.

Canada 150 logo

Le 150e anniversaire du Canada constitue une bonne occasion pour les Canadiens de se réjouir car nous faisons partie d’une nation sécuritaire, fleurissante et démocratique. Nous sommes fiers de célébrer 70 années de sûreté nucléaire au Canada.

Pour en apprendre plus sur la CCSN et sur son histoire, son rôle et ses responsabilités, consultez les ressources suivantes :