Supreme Court of Canada decision on the Issue of Aboriginal consultation

Rio Tinto Alcan Inc. v. Carrier Sekani Tribal Council, 2010 SCC 43

On October 28, 2010, the Supreme Court of Canada issued a decision which addresses the role of a statutory commission when dealing with issues of aboriginal consultation under section 35 of the Constitution.

The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) welcomes this decision, which clarifies the role of a statutory body to consider questions of whether a duty to consult arises, whether a duty has been discharged in a particular situation and the extent to which a statutory body is capable of dealing with any particular potential adverse impacts that could arise from a decision.

Background

The case involves a decision of the British Columbia Utilities Commission (the "utilities commission") by which it decided that a 2007 contract for the sale of excess power from a dam to BC Hydro did not engage a duty to consult under the constitution. In the 1950s, the BC government had authorized the building of the dam, which altered the flow of the Nechako River, without consulting the Carrier Sekani Tribal Council (CSTC), which assert aboriginal rights in the area. Now, under its authority, the utilities commission had to determine whether the sale was in the public interest. Whereas the utilities commission found that it had the power to consider the adequacy of consultation with Aboriginal groups, it concluded that no duty to consult arose respecting the 2007 contract, because it would not adversely affect any Aboriginal interest. The BC Court of Appeal reversed the utilities commission's decision and the matter was appealed to the Supreme Court.

Summary

The Supreme Court found that the utilities commission had been correct to determine there was no duty to consult on the fact of the case. The Court found that “an underlying or continuing breach, while remediable in other ways, is not an adverse impact for the purposes of determining whether a particular government decision gives rise to a duty to consult”. Consultation is about the impact on the claimed right of the current decision under consideration, not past decisions.

On the role of a statutory commission, the Court confirmed that a commission's duty to consider consultation, its scope and its adequacy, depends on the statutory mandate of the commission. The Court provided the clarification that consultation is a complex constitutional process, such that a commission engaging in consultation must possess the remedial powers necessary to do what it is asked to do in connection with the consultation.

The CNSC considers the decision to accord with its own approach to its role respecting upholding the honour of the Crown in the context of its licensing under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act. This decision is also in line with the recent decision of the Federal Court in ARG v. Areva Resources and AG Canada, a case currently under appeal to the Federal Court of Appeal.

For more information

To learn about upcoming or ongoing consultations on proposed federal regulations, visit the Canada Gazette and Consulting with Canadians websites.

Jugement de la Cour fédérale concernant la consultation des Autochtones

Rio Tinto Alcan Inc. c. Conseil tribal Carrier Sekani, 2010 CSC 43

Le 28 octobre 2010, la Cour suprême du Canada a publié une décision qui aborde le rôle d'une commission administrative lorsqu'il s'agit de gérer la question de la consultation des groupes autochtones, en vertu de l'article 35 de la Constitution.

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) accueille favorablement cette décision, qui clarifie le rôle d'un organisme administratif qui doit décider si, oui ou non, il y a une obligation de consulter, si une obligation a été remplie dans une situation particulière et dans quelle mesure un organisme administratif peut gérer les impacts négatifs potentiels qui pourraient découler d'une telle décision.

Contexte

Le litige concerne une décision de la British Columbia Utilities Commission selon laquelle un contrat signé en 2007 pour la vente du surplus d'électricité produit par un barrage à BC Hydro n'entraînait pas pour elle une obligation de consulter en vertu de la Constitution. Dans les années 1950, le gouvernement de la Colombie-Britannique a autorisé la construction d'un barrage qui a modifié les débits d'eau de la rivière Nechako, sans consulter le Conseil tribal Carrier Sekani, qui revendique des droits ancestraux dans cette zone. Dans le cadre de ses pouvoirs, la British Columbia Utilities Commission devait déterminer si la vente était dans l'intérêt public. Elle a reconnu qu'elle avait le pouvoir d'examiner le caractère adéquat de la consultation des groupes autochtones, mais elle a conclu que la question de l'obligation de consulter ne pouvait se poser étant donné que le contrat de 2007 n'allait pas avoir d'effet préjudiciable sur quelque intérêt autochtone. La Cour d'appel de la Colombie-Britannique a renversé la décision de la British Columbia Utilities Commission et la question a été entendue devant la Cour suprême.

Résumé

La Cour suprême a jugé que la British Columbia Utilities Commission avait déterminé à juste titre qu'il n'y avait pas d'obligation de consulter dans ce dossier. La Cour a conclu que « une atteinte sous-jacente ou continue, même si elle ouvre droit à d'autres recours, ne constitue pas un effet préjudiciable lorsqu'il s'agit de déterminer si une décision gouvernementale particulière emporte l'obligation de consulter ». La consultation concerne l'impact de la décision actuelle sur le droit revendiqué, pas des décisions antérieures.

En ce qui a trait au rôle d'une commission administrative, la Cour a confirmé que l'obligation pour une commission de se pencher sur la consultation, ainsi que sur sa portée et son caractère adéquat, dépend de la mission que lui confie sa loi constitutive. La Cour a précisé que la consultation est un processus constitutionnel complexe, de telle sorte qu'une commission qui procède à une consultation doit disposer du pouvoir de réparation nécessaire pour faire ce qu'on lui demande relativement à la consultation.

La CCSN considère que la décision est conforme à son approche du rôle qui lui est confié concernant le maintien de l'honneur de la Couronne dans le contexte de ses décisions d'autorisation rendues en vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires. Cette décision s'aligne également sur la récente décision de la Cour fédérale, ARG c. Areva Resources et PG Canada, une affaire qui fait actuellement l'objet d'un appel à la Cour d'appel fédérale.

Pour de plus amples renseignements :

Pour de plus amples renseignements concernant les consultations actuelles ou à venir sur les projets de règlement fédéraux, veuillez consulter la Gazette du Canada ou le site Web Consultations auprès des Canadiens.