Federal Court decision on the issue of Aboriginal consultation

Re: Athabasca Regional Government (ARG) v. A.G. Canada and AREVA Resources Canada Inc. (Respondents) and Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission and A.G. Saskatchewan (Intervenors)

Summary

On September 22, 2010, the Federal Court of Canada released its decision in the matter of an application by the Athabasca Regional Government (ARG) for judicial review of the decision by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) to renew AREVA's McLean Lake uranium mine and mill operating licence. The Honourable Mr. Justice Russell dismissed the application. The ARG had raised a number of issues relating to the insufficiency of Aboriginal consultation and the legal authority of the CNSC to fulfill the duty to consult on behalf of the federal government.

The Court determined that the Commission had the authority in accordance with its legislation to deal with Aboriginal consultation on behalf of the Crown and that such issues properly fell within the Commission's statutory mandate and expertise in accordance with section 35 of the Constitution Act (1982).

Background

On June 30, 2009 the Commission issued its decision on renewal of the licence for an eight-year term. At the same time and in the same decision, AREVA's Midwest Uranium Mine site preparation licence was revoked and the care and maintenance activities authorized under this licence were incorporated into the McLean Lake licence. In the course of the Commission hearing the issue of the duty on the Crown to consult aboriginal people was raised. In particular, seven Northern Saskatchewan communities, collectively the "Athabasca Regional Government" (ARG), made submissions before the Commission to the effect that a duty to consult was applicable, and that there had been insufficient consultation. In its decision, the Commission provided its conclusions on this issue as follows:

  • "The Commission is satisfied that its process has provided an invitation to the intervenors to make submissions and participate in the regulatory process, and the Commission hearing process provided a forum in which concerns could be expressed and dealt with. In this matter, in response to concerns about the licensing action and knowledge gaps with respect to the information provided and understanding of the matters in issue, the Commission granted an extension of time to the ARG [Athabasca Regional Government] to provide it with time to seek, obtain and make submissions on the matters before the Commission. This has also provided the possibility of more discussions and engagement by the CNSC staff and AREVA, with the ARG in particular."

  • "The Commission is satisfied that its process has been adequate to address the concerns expressed relating to the impact communities receiving the information required and being able to speak to the matters in issue regarding the scope of this specific hearing. The Commission is satisfied that the intervenors have been informed of the Commission process and of the licensing action at issue, and have had a full opportunity to express their concerns and identify issues. The Commission has heard the intervenors, and has considered all of the submissions in making its decision. In this context, the Commission is satisfied that, to the extent that a duty to consult was engaged, it was fulfilled in this case respecting the licensing action, by the Commission process and by the opportunities that were afforded for consultation within that process."

After the licensing decision was issued, the ARG sought judicial review of the decision, with the Attorney General of Canada and AREVA being named as respondents. The CNSC and the Attorney General for Saskatchewan both intervened in the matter, which was heard on June 8, 2010.

The Federal Court ruled that the ARG had provided no evidence of any reviewable error in the Commission's decision, and dismissed the application. The Court found: "At the very most, given the low threshold for triggering the duty to consult, any duty triggered was minimal in scope and at the lower end of the spectrum, and it was discharged to the process that took place in this instance."

The decision of the Federal Court is considered by the Commission to be a confirmation of its approach to the issue of Aboriginal consultation and its practices in this regard, when the Commission exercises its authority under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act.

For more information

To learn about upcoming or ongoing consultations on proposed federal regulations, visit the Canada Gazette and Consulting with Canadians websites.

Jugement de la Cour fédérale concernant la consultation des Autochtones

Athabasca Regional Government (ARG) c. Procureur général du Canada et AREVA Resources Canada Inc. (Intimés) et Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire et Procureur général de la Saskatchewan (Intervenants)

Sommaire


Le 22 septembre 2010, la Cour fédérale du Canada a rendu son jugement dans l'affaire d'une requête en révision judiciaire par le Athabasca Regional Government (ARG) de la décision rendue par la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) visant à renouveler le permis d'exploitation d'une mine et d'une usine de concentration d'uranium d'AREVA pour l'établissement de McLean Lake. Monsieur le juge Russell a rejeté la requête. ARG avait relevé un certain nombre de questions quant à l'insuffisance des consultations auprès des Autochtones et quant à l'autorité juridique de la Commission relativement au devoir de consultation au nom du gouvernement fédéral.

La cour a déterminé que la Commission avait l'autorité, conformément à sa législation, de consulter les Autochtones au nom de la Couronne et que de telles questions faisaient effectivement partie du mandat prévu par la loi et de l'expertise de la Commission, conformément à l'article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982.

Contexte

Le 30 juin 2009, la Commission a rendu sa décision sur le renouvellement du permis pour une période de huit ans. Au même moment, et dans la même décision, le permis de préparation de l'emplacement concernant la mine d'uranium Midwest d'AREVA était révoqué, et les activités d'entretien et de maintenance autorisées en vertu de ce permis étaient incorporées au permis de l'établissement de McLean Lake. Dans le cadre de l'audience de la Commission à cet égard, la question du devoir de consultation de la Couronne auprès des Autochtones a été soulevée. En particulier, sept communautés du nord de la Saskatchewan, collectivement appelées Athabasca Regional Government (ARG), ont fait des représentations auprès de la Commission à l'effet que le devoir de consulter était applicable, et que les consultations étaient insuffisantes. Dans sa décision, la Commission a donné sa conclusion sur cette question de la façon suivante :

  • « La Commission estime que son processus a incité les intervenants à soumettre des mémoires et à participer au processus de réglementation, et que ses audiences ont servi de tribune où exprimer ses préoccupations et les traiter. à cet égard, en réaction aux préoccupations quant à l'octroi du permis, ainsi qu'au manque d'information et de compréhension des questions, la Commission a accordé une prolongation de délai à l'ARG afin qu'il ait du temps pour demander, recevoir et préparer des mémoires relativement aux questions soumises à la Commission. Le personnel de la CCSN et d'AREVA ont également pu discuter, notamment avec l'ARG, et participer davantage. »
  • « La Commission est d'avis que son processus a permis de traiter les préoccupations concernant l'information nécessaire que les collectivités reçoivent et leur possibilité de s'exprimer sur les questions abordées durant la présente audience. La Commission estime que les intervenants ont été informés de son processus ainsi que de l'octroi du permis, et qu'ils ont pleinement eu l'occasion de manifester leurs préoccupations et de définir les questions. La Commission a entendu les intervenants et examiné tous les mémoires au moment de prendre sa décision. Dans ce contexte, elle estime que l'obligation de consulter a été respectée au moyen du processus de la Commission ainsi que des consultations qui ont eu lieu durant ce processus. »

Après que la décision d'autorisation ait été rendue, ARG a cherché à obtenir la révision judiciaire de la décision, le Procureur général du Canada et AREVA apparaissant à titre d'intimés. La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire et le Procureur général de la Saskatchewan étaient intervenants à l'affaire, qui a été entendue le 8 juin 2010.

La Cour fédérale a jugé qu'ARG n'avait fourni aucune preuve d'une erreur ouvrant la voie à la révision judicaire dans la décision rendue par la Commission. La cour a déclaré que, tout au plus, compte tenu du seuil minimum déclenchant le devoir de consulter, dans sa portée, tout devoir déclenché était faible, et exonéré, faisant place au processus mis en place en l'occurrence. [Traduction libre]

La Commission considère le jugement rendu par la Cour fédérale comme une confirmation de son approche et de ses pratiques à l'égard de la consultation des Autochtones, lorsque la Commission exerce son autorité en vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires.

Pour de plus amples renseignements :

Pour de plus amples renseignements concernant les consultations actuelles ou à venir sur les projets de règlement fédéraux, veuillez consulter la Gazette du Canada ou le site Web Consultations auprès des Canadiens.