Packaging and transport of nuclear substances

All nuclear substances are transported in packages that are selected based on the nature, form, and quantity or activity of the substance. There are general design requirements that apply to all package types to ensure that they can be handled safely and easily, secured properly, and are able to withstand routine transport conditions.

The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) issues licences and certificates for certain kinds of packaging and transport of nuclear substances as stipulated in the Packaging and Transport of Nuclear Substances Regulations, 2015 (PTNSR 2015). These regulations are based on the International Atomic Energy Agency's (IAEA) Regulations for the Safe Transport of Radioactive Material, 2012 Edition. The licences and certificates include:

  • licence to transport Category I, II or III nuclear material
  • licence to transport nuclear substances while in transit
  • licence to transport nuclear substances contained in large objects
  • licence to transport nuclear substances when the transport cannot meet all of the regulatory requirements
  • licence to transport nuclear substances that require a multilateral approval of shipments
  • licence to transport nuclear substances that require a special use vessel
  • certificates for the design of packages and special form radioactive material

The PTNSR 2015 introduce an ambulatory reference to the IAEA Regulations and no longer explicitly identify and list relevant paragraphs from them. This change ensures that Canadian regulations will continue to align with international regulations if international regulations are modified.

In February 2016, the CNSC published REGDOC-2.14.1, Information Incorporated by Reference in Canada’s Packaging and Transport of Nuclear Substances Regulations, 2015 to help the regulated community comply with the PTNSR 2015. REGDOC-2.14.1 links provisions in the regulations to relevant content in the IAEA Regulations, the Nuclear Safety and Control Act, other CNSC regulations, and other related information.

Certification of transport packages and special form radioactive material

The CNSC regulates all aspects of the packaging and transport of nuclear substances, including the design, production, use, inspection, maintenance and repair of packages. In addition, the PTNSR 2015 require that certain types of package design be certified by the CNSC prior to being used in Canada. It also includes provisions for the certification of special form radioactive material, which indicates that the sealed source containing the radioactive material is designed to be strong enough to maintain leak tightness under the conditions of use and wear for which it was designed.

Learn more about the certification process for transport packages.

See the list of CNSC Certified Transport Packages and Special Form Radioactive Material (PDF).

Transport licences

The transport of nuclear substances is a regulated activity in Canada, with CNSC licensees involved in the majority of shipments. In general, the transport of nuclear substances does not require a CNSC licence. The PTNSR 2015 require that licences be issued only in the circumstances listed above. The majority of these licences are issued for the transport of in‑transit shipments (i.e., nuclear substances transiting Canada while being transported from one country to another) and for the transport of Category I, II and III nuclear material.

Details on the specific information requirements for each type of transport licence application can be found in section 6 and section 7 of the PTNSR 2015.

In-transit shipments

Most shipments transiting Canada have no Canadian licensee involved at the origin or destination. When nuclear substances are transported in packages requiring certification, a CNSC licence to transport is required. Note that a shipment transiting Canada by aircraft or by ship, where there is no scheduled stop, does not require a transport licence. The application for such a licence must include information such as the name of the consignor, a description of the nuclear substances to be transported, the amount to be transported and the reason for selecting a route through Canada.

Shipments that cannot be transported in pre-approved packages

A licence to transport under special arrangement is required when a shipment cannot be transported in an already-approved package. The applicant must provide justification as to why the shipment cannot be made in any of the types of approved packages found in the PTNS Regulations and the IAEA SSR-6Regulations for the Safe Transport of Radioactive Material(PDF), and must provide adequate compensatory measures to ensure the safety of the shipment under the PTNS regulations.

Category I, II and III nuclear material

A CNSC licence to transport Category I, II or III nuclear material is required to transport material that is defined in section 1 of the Nuclear Security Regulations (PDF), such as plutonium, various grades of unirradiated uranium-235 and irradiated fuels consisting of depleted or natural uranium, thorium or low-enriched fuel.

Read about the certification process for transport packages.

The regulatory guide G-208, Transportation Security Plans for Category I, II or III Nuclear Material (PDF) offers assistance in preparing a written transportation security plan as required under section 5 of the Nuclear Security Regulations when applying for these licences.

Additional information

Emballage et transport des substances nucléaires

Le transport des substances nucléaires s'effectue dans des colis dont le type dépend de la nature et de la forme de la substance, ainsi que de sa quantité ou de son activité. D'autre part, tous les types de colis doivent respecter des exigences générales en matière de conception afin qu'ils soient manipulés facilement et de manière sécuritaire, qu'ils soient fixés de manière appropriée et qu'ils puissent résister aux conditions normales de transport.

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) délivre des permis et des certificats pour certains types d'emballage et pour le transport de substances nucléaires en vertu du Règlement sur l'emballage et le transport des substances nucléaires (2015) (RETSN 2015), qui est fondé sur le Règlement de transport des matières radioactives – Édition de 2012 de l'Agence internationale de l'énergie atomique (Règlement de l’AIEA). Les permis et certificats comprennent les suivants :

  • permis pour le transport de matières nucléaires de catégorie I, II ou III
  • permis pour le transport de substances nucléaires en transit
  • permis pour le transport de substances nucléaires contenues dans des objets de grande taille
  • permis pour le transport de substances nucléaires quand le transport ne peut satisfaire à toutes les exigences réglementaires
  • permis pour le transport de substances nucléaires dont les expéditions nécessitent une approbation multilatérale
  • permis pour le transport de substances nucléaires nécessitant un navire à usage spécial
  • certificats pour la conception de colis et de matières radioactives sous forme spéciale

Le RETSN 2015 contient un renvoi par mention de titre au Règlement de l’AIEA et il ne précise plus explicitement, ni n’énumère, les paragraphes pertinents de ce dernier. Ce changement fait en sorte que les règlements du Canada pourront continuer à être harmonisés avec les règlements internationaux, si ces derniers devaient être modifiés.

En février 2016, la CCSN a publié le REGDOC-2.14.1, Information intégrée par renvoi dans le Règlement sur l’emballage et le transport des substances nucléaires (2015) du Canada pour aider la communauté réglementée à se conformer au RETSN 2015. Le REGDOC-2.14.1 établit des liens entre les dispositions du RETSN 2015 et le contenu pertinent du Règlement de l’AIEA, de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires, d’autres règlements de la CCSN et d’autre information connexe.

Homologation de colis de transport et de matières radioactives sous forme spéciale

La CCSN réglemente tous les aspects de l'emballage des matières radioactives, y compris la conception, la production, l'utilisation, l'inspection, l'entretien et la réparation des colis. De plus, conformément au RETSN 2015, certains types de colis doivent être homologués par la CCSN avant d'être utilisés au Canada. Le RETSN 2015 comprend également des dispositions pour l'homologation de matière radioactive sous forme spéciale qui précisent que la source scellée contenant la matière nucléaire doit être assez résistante pour maintenir son étanchéité dans les conditions d'utilisation et d'usure pour lesquelles elle a été conçue.

Renseignez-vous sur le processus d'homologation des colis de transport.

Consultez la liste des colis de transport et matières radioactives sous forme spéciale homologués (PDF) par la CCSN.

Permis de transport

Le transport des substances nucléaires est une activité réglementée au Canada, et les titulaires de permis de la CCSN participent à la majorité des expéditions de substances nucléaires. De façon  générale, le transport des substances nucléaires n'exige pas un permis de la CCSN. Le RETSN 2015 exige la délivrance d'un permis uniquement dans les cas susmentionnés. La majorité de ces permis sont délivrés pour le transport d'expéditions en transit (c.-à-d. substances nucléaires qui font escale au Canada alors qu'elles sont déplacées d'un pays à un autre) et pour le transport de matières nucléaires de catégorie I, II ou III.

Pour obtenir des détails sur les exigences en matière d'information pour chaque type de demande de permis de transport, consultez l'article 6 et l'article 7 du RETSN 2015.

Expéditions en transit

La plupart des expéditions qui transitent par le Canada n'impliquent aucun titulaire de permis canadien. Dans les cas où les substances nucléaires sont transportées dans des colis devant être homologués, une autorisation de transport de la CCSN est requise. Il importe de souligner qu'une expédition qui transite le Canada par aéronef ou par navire – et pour laquelle aucun arrêt n'est prévu – ne nécessite pas un permis de transport. La demande d'un tel permis doit comprendre les renseignements suivants : le nom de l'expéditeur, une description des substances nucléaires à transporter, ainsi que leur quantité et la raison du choix d'un itinéraire qui passe par le Canada.

Expéditions ne pouvant être effectuées dans un type de colis pré–approuvé

Une autorisation de transport sous arrangement spécial est requise lorsque l'expédition ne peut être effectuée dans un type de colis déjà approuvé selon le Règlement sur l'emballage et le transport des substances nucléaires et le Règlement de transport des matières radioactives (SSR-6) (PDF) de l'AIEA. Le demandeur doit alors justifier la raison pour laquelle l'expédition ne peut être faite à l'aide des types de colis approuvés et fournir des mesures compensatoires adéquates pour assurer la sûreté du colis conformément aux exigences réglementaires.

Matières nucléaires de catégorie I, II et III

Le transport des matières nucléaires de catégorie I, II ou III au-delà des quantités spécifiées à l'annexe 1 du Règlement sur la sécurité nucléaire (PDF) exige la délivrance d'une autorisation de la CCSN en vertu de l'article 3 du Règlement sur l'emballage et le transport des substances nucléaires. Ces matières comprennent le plutonium, l'uranium 235 non irradié de diverses teneurs et des combustibles irradiés composés d'uranium appauvri ou naturel, de thorium ou de combustible faiblement enrichi.

Renseignez-vous sur Processus d'homologation des colis de transport.

Le guide d'application de la réglementation G-208, Les plans de sécurité pour le transport des matières nucléaires de catégorie I, II ou III (PDF), aide à préparer le plan de sécurité écrit pour le transport qui doit accompagner la demande d'autorisation, conformément à l'article 5 du Règlement sur la sécurité nucléaire.

Renseignements supplémentaires