Nuclear substances

The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) regulates all aspects of nuclear energy, ensuring that strict rules are followed for possession, use, packaging, transport, storage, and import and export of nuclear substances in order to protect the health, safety and security of Canadians and the environment.

General Information

Licensing and Certification


Uses of Nuclear Substances

Nuclear technology contributes to Canadians' everyday life and well-being. Nuclear substances have many useful applications in Canada and play a vital role in medical, research, and industrial fields.

Radioisotopes are used for the diagnostic of diseases such as cancer, heart disease and bone ailments

From licensing the possession of nuclear substances to overseeing the safe transport of nuclear material, the CNSC ensures effective regulatory oversight of all uses of nuclear technology in Canada. Before anyone can possess, use or store any type of nuclear substances, they require a licence issued by the CNSC.


Nuclear Medicine

Nuclear medicine uses radioactive substances (radioisotopes) incorporated into pharmaceuticals. These "radio-pharmaceuticals" or "radio-tracers" are designed to target specific tissues and organs, allowing the delivery of the radioactive substance to specific areas of the body.

Nuclear substances are widely used in medicine to diagnose illnesses and treat certain diseases, such as thyroid disorders, and cancer

Radiopharmaceuticals are widely used in the diagnosis, management and treatment of disease.

In diagnostic nuclear medicine imaging, the radiation emitted by the radiopharmaceutical (ingested, inhaled, or injected into the patient) is measured by an external detector, such as a gamma camera or a Positron Emission Tomography (PET) scanner.

The data is then processed by a computer to generate images.

The radioisotopes used for PET imaging are produced in cyclotrons. Cyclotrons are also subject to CNSC regulations and are always located in a shielded facility to protect workers and the public from radiation.

In therapeutic nuclear medicine, high doses of radiopharmaceuticals are administered to treat diseases such as cancer and thyroid disorders.

Radiation Therapy

Radiation therapy is an important method for treating cancer. Dose delivery in radiation therapy is done in one of two ways: teletherapy or brachytherapy.

Teletherapy involves delivery of high doses of radiation to the tumour using intense external beams of radiation.

This can be delivered by medical linear accelerators or specially-designed teletherapy machines containing sealed radioactive sources, both of which are located in specially-designed and well shielded facilities.

Linear accelerator used in teletherapy

Brachytherapy involves the placement of sealed radioactive sources within the body to deliver a controlled radiation dose to the tumour.

Brachytherapy treatment can be delivered manually or by a machine under remote control. The latter type of treatment typically takes place in a shielded facility.


In research, devices such as linear accelerators are used primarily for teaching and applied research, while nuclear substances are licensed for use in life science and health care research projects at a wide range of institutions across Canada.


Industrial uses of nuclear substances include ensuring the integrity of pipelines or structures, and analyzing ground density. Irradiators are also used in industry and commercial settings to sterilize blood, equipment, cosmetic and foodstuffs.

Additional Information

Portable gauge used to measure soil density and moisture level

Nuclear Substance Processing Facilities

Nuclear substances are processed for industrial, medical and research purposes. All nuclear substance processing facilities must meet the CNSC safety and security requirements and are regulated under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act.

Below are the largest processing facilities licensed in Canada:

At each licensing stage, CNSC determines whether the licence applicant is qualified and has made adequate provisions for the protection of the environment, the health and safety of persons, and the maintenance of national security.

Worker at Nordion Inc facility in Ottawa

CNSC staff with specific technical expertise regularly visit licensed facilities to ensure compliance, and that facilities are operated safely and securely.

Another important aspect of CNSC oversight involves the protection of nuclear materials as part of our international obligations for nuclear safeguards.

Canada has a national accounting system for nuclear materials, to help ensure no materials are lost or diverted for unauthorized uses.

Transportation and Packaging

The CNSC regulates the packaging and transport of nuclear substances in Canada in cooperation with Transport Canada. The transport of nuclear substances must comply with transport regulations for the entire journey of a shipment, from its initial packaging to arrival at its destination and unpackaging.

On the international level, all industrialized countries use the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) SSR-6 Regulations for the Safe Transport of Radioactive Material (PDF) as the basis to regulate the packaging and transport of radioactive material.

The CNSC's Packaging and Transport of Nuclear Substances Regulations, 2015 (PTNS Regulations) apply to all persons who handle, offer for transport, transport or receive nuclear substances.

The CNSC ensures that every shipment of nuclear substances conforms to all established safety standards in accordance with the PTNS Regulations,. In all cases, the health, safety and security of the public and the environment must be protected.

The CNSC's responsibilities include:

  • certifying the design of the transport packages
  • registering users of certified packages
  • conducting inspections of shipments of nuclear substances for compliance with applicable regulations
  • licensing shipments of nuclear substances where licences are required
  • ensuring that radiation protection programs for transport are in place

All nuclear substances are transported in packages that are selected based on the nature, form, and quantity or activity of the substance. There are general design requirements specified in the CNSC regulations that apply to all package types to ensure that they can be handled safely and easily, secured properly, and are able to withstand routine conditions of transport.

More than 1 million packages containing nuclear substances are shipped to, from and within Canada every year. The majority of these are routine shipments containing low-risk quantities of nuclear substances.

The contents of these packages can include:

  • consumer products, such as smoke detectors
  • medical products, such as radioisotopes used for diagnostic imaging procedures
  • nuclear fuel cycle products such as processed uranium ore and uranium fuel bundles for nuclear power plants
  • industrial products such as moisture and density gauges used in construction

All packages used to transport nuclear substances must conform to basic safety performance requirements specified in the regulations.

ackages designed for the transport of high-risk quantities require certification by the CNSC before they can be used in Canada.

Stringent Import and Export Controls

Since 1946, the CNSC has worked to ensure Canada's nuclear exports are used for peaceful purposes and to respect Canada's international commitments regarding non-proliferation of nuclear weapons.

As a founding and active member of the Zangger Committee and the Nuclear Suppliers Group — multilateral organizations with supply conditions for nuclear and nuclear-related exports — CNSC is committed to monitoring and controlling the import and export of controlled nuclear substances, equipment and information.

Canada's major nuclear exports are governed by bilateral nuclear cooperation agreements with destination countries. CNSC works Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development to negotiate these agreements and to implement Canada's nuclear non-proliferation policy by providing policy and technical advice in developing multilateral nuclear export control lists and guidelines.

The Nuclear Non-proliferation Import and Export Control Regulations require Canadian importers and exporters to obtain and comply with licences controlling the international transfer of nuclear and nuclear-related items.

These regulations contain a complete list of CNSC-controlled imports and exports, which include:

  • special fissionable material (for example, certain isotopes of plutonium and uranium)
  • deuterium and heavy water
  • nuclear-grade graphite
  • tritium
  • nuclear reactors and their parts
  • controlled nuclear information (for example, technology, technical data, drawings, models)
  • nuclear-related dual-use items (controlled nuclear substances, equipment and information with legitimate non-nuclear uses, which could also be used in nuclear explosive or unsafeguarded nuclear fuel cycle activities

In compliance with the International Atomic Energy Agency's (IAEA) Code of Conduct on the Safety and Security of Radioactive Sources, CNSC licenses and controls the export and import of certain risk-significant radioactive sealed sources.

Popular Topics

Devices Containing Radium Luminous Compounds

Until the 1960s, various consumer and military products were manufactured using a radium-based, glow-in-the-dark paint. Radium is a radioactive element found naturally in the environment.

The most common remaining radium luminous devices (RLDs) are aircraft instruments, and there are tens of thousands of these in Canada today.

Dial being tested to confirm the presence of radium

Although the radium in these devices remains radioactive for thousands of years, the paint which the radium was mixed with usually breaks down chemically after several years and may no longer glow in the dark. When new, the paint was often white, but typically it tarnished to yellow as it aged.

RLDs are generally not identified or marked as containing radioactive materials. Only a radiation detection instrument can confirm if a device contains radium. The hazards from exposure to radium can occur in two ways: by external contamination or by internal contamination through ingestion or inhalation.

When intact, an RLD poses little health risk. However, care should be taken when handling RLDs in order to avoid contamination. Exposure can be reduced or virtually eliminated by not opening the items and wearing gloves when handling them, keeping food or drinks in a separate location and properly disposing of broken devices.

The CNSC has exempted indefinitely devices containing radium luminous compounds from most regulatory controls given the low risk involved. Some restrictions remain in place however. A CNSC licence is still required to service RLDs. Service activities include disassembling or repairing a device or removing radium luminous compounds from a device.

RLDs are not permitted to enter into regular municipal waste streams, and their disposal must be with an authorized CNSC-licensed waste management facility. CNL's Low Level Radioactive Waste Management Office (LLRWMO) will accept RLDs for transfer to a CNSC-licensed waste management facility.

Smoke Detectors

Household smoke detectors, also referred to as ionization chamber smoke detectors, use radioactive material to warn of fire hazards.

The radiation source in these smoke detectors is usually a small amount of americium-241 that does not pose a risk to people.

The CNSC licenses the manufacturing and initial distribution of smoke detectors in Canada.

Pipeline contaminated with NORM
(Photo courtesy of Tervita Corporation)

Naturally Occurring Radioactive Material (NORMs)

NORM is material naturally found in the environment that contains radioactive elements like natural uranium and thorium.

The handling and disposal of NORM within Canada is regulated by the provincial and territorial governments.

The transport, import and export of NORM must follow CNSC regulations.

NORM-contaminated equipment and waste should only be handled by a person with appropriate radiation training.

Substances nucléaires

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) réglemente tous les aspects de l'énergie nucléaire et applique des règles rigoureuses visant la possession, l'utilisation, l'emballage, le transport, l'entreposage, l'importation et l'exportation des substances nucléaires afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité des Canadiens et de protéger l'environnement.

Information générale

Autorisation, accréditation et homologation

Ressources

Utilisations des substances nucléaires

La technologie nucléaire contribue à la vie de tous les jours et au bien-être des Canadiens. Les substances nucléaires ont plusieurs applications utiles au Canada et elles jouent un rôle essentiel dans les domaines médical, industriel et de la recherche

Que ce soit pour autoriser la possession de substances nucléaires ou pour superviser le transport sécuritaire des matières nucléaires, la CCSN exerce une surveillance réglementaire efficace sur toutes les utilisations de la technologie nucléaire au Canada. Pour posséder, utiliser ou stocker n'importe quel type de substance nucléaire, une personne doit d'abord obtenir un permis de la CCSN.

Médecine

Médecine nucléaire

La médecine nucléaire utilise des substances radioactives (radio-isotopes) qui sont intégrées aux produits pharmaceutiques. Ces « produits radiopharmaceutiques » ou « traceurs radioactifs » sont conçus pour cibler des tissus ou des organes, ce qui permet d'introduire la substance radioactive dans des endroits précis du corps.

Les substances nucléaires sont utilisées couramment en médecine pour diagnostiquer les maladies et traiter certaines maladies comme les troubles thyroïdiens et le cancer.

Les produits radiopharmaceutiques sont grandement utilisés pour le diagnostic, la gestion et le traitement des maladies.

Dans le cas de l'imagerie en médecine diagnostique nucléaire, le rayonnement émis par le produit radiopharmaceutique (ingéré, inhalé ou injecté) est mesuré par un détecteur externe comme un appareil à rayons gamma ou un scanneur à tomographie par émission de positons (TEP).

Les données sont alors traitées par un ordinateur afin de produire des images.

Les radio-isotopes utilisés en imagerie TEP sont produits dans des cyclotrons. Les cyclotrons sont aussi assujettis aux règlements de la CCSN et sont toujours situés dans des installations blindées afin de protéger les travailleurs du rayonnement.

La médecine nucléaire thérapeutique a recours à des doses élevées de produits radiopharmaceutiques afin de traiter des maladies comme le cancer et les troubles thyroïdiens.

Radiothérapie

La radiothérapie est une méthode importante de traitement du cancer. Les doses sont administrées de deux manières différentes : par téléthérapie ou par curiethérapie.

La téléthérapie comporte l'application de doses élevées de rayonnement à des tumeurs au moyen de faisceaux de rayonnement.

Cela peut se faire par des accélérateurs médicaux linéaires ou par des appareils de téléthérapie spécialement conçus contenant des sources radioactives scellées. Cet équipement est situé dans des installations spécialement conçues et adéquatement blindées.

Accélérateur linéaire utilisé en téléthérapie

La curiethérapie s'entend de l'application de sources radioactives scellées dans le corps afin d'administrer une dose contrôlée de rayonnement sur la tumeur.

Le traitement par curiethérapie peut être effectué manuellement ou au moyen d'un appareil télécommandé. Ce dernier type de traitement a lieu habituellement à l'intérieur d'une installation blindée.

Recherche

En recherche, les appareils comme les accélérateurs linéaires servent principalement à l'enseignement et à la recherche appliquée. Les substances nucléaires sont autorisées pour utilisation dans des projets liés aux sciences de la vie et aux sciences de santé réalisés dans de nombreuses institutions à l'échelle du Canada.

Industrie

Les applications industrielles des substances nucléaires incluent la vérification de l'intégrité des pipelines ou des structures et l'analyse de la densité du sol. Des irradiateurs sont également utilisés à des fins industrielles et commerciales pour stériliser le sang, l'équipement, les produis cosmétiques et les produits alimentaires.

Jauge portative utilisée pour mesurer la densité du sol et le taux d'humidité

Renseignements supplémentaires

Installations de traitement des substances nucléaires

Les substances nucléaires sont traitées à des fins industrielles, médicales et de recherche. Toutes les installations de traitement des substances nucléaires doivent satisfaire aux exigences de sûreté et de sécurité de la CCSN. Celles-ci sont réglementées aux termes de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires.

Voici une plus grandes installations de traitement autorisées au Canada :

Travailleur à l'installation de Nordion Inc, à Ottawa

À chaque étape du processus d'autorisation, la CCSN détermine si le demandeur est compétent pour exercer les activités visées par le permis, et s'il a pris les mesures voulues pour protéger l'environnement, préserver la santé et la sécurité des personnes et maintenir la sécurité nationale.

Des employés de la CCSN qui possèdent l'expertise technique nécessaire visitent régulièrement les installations autorisées afin d'en vérifier la conformité et de vérifier qu'elles sont exploitées en toute sécurité.

Un autre aspect important de la surveillance exercée par la CCSN concerne la protection des matières nucléaires dans le cadre de nos obligations internationales relatives aux garanties nucléaires.

Le Canada s'est doté d'un système national de comptabilisation des matières nucléaires afin de vérifier qu'aucune matière n'est perdue ou détournée à des fins non autorisées.

Transport et emballage

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) réglemente l'emballage et le transport des substances nucléaires au Canada, en collaboration avec Transports Canada. Le transport des substances nucléaires doit s'effectuer de manière conforme à la réglementation pertinente en matière de transport pendant toutes les étapes du transport, de l'emballage initial jusqu'à la destination et le déballage.

À l'échelle internationale, tous les pays industrialisés s'inspirent du Règlement de transport des matières radioactives (SSR-6) de l'AIEA (PDF) de l'Agence internationale de l'énergie atomique (AIEA) pour réglementer l'emballage et le transport des matières radioactives.

Le Règlement sur l'emballage et le transport des substances nucléaires (2015)

(RETSN) de la CCSN s'applique à toutes les personnes qui manipulent, offrent de transporter, transportent ou reçoivent des substances nucléaires.

La CCSN veille à ce que chaque expédition de substances nucléaires soit conforme à toutes les normes établies en matière de sûreté, conformément au RETSN. Dans tous les cas, la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité du public ainsi que l'environnement doivent être protégés.

Responsabilités de la CCSN :

  • homologuer la conception des colis de transport
  • enregistrer les utilisateurs de colis homologués
  • mener des inspections sur les expéditions de substances nucléaires pour vérifier leur conformité par rapport aux règlements applicables
  • délivrer des autorisations de transport de substances nucléaires lorsque cela est requis
  • veiller à la mise en place de programmes de radioprotection pour le transport

Les colis sont choisis selon la nature, la forme, la quantité et le niveau d'activité des substances nucléaires à transporter. Des exigences générales de conception stipulées dans la réglementation de la CCSN s'appliquent à tous les types de colis afin qu'ils soient manipulés facilement et de manière sécuritaire, qu'ils soient fixés de manière appropriée et qu'ils puissent résister aux conditions normales de transport.

Chaque année, plus d'un million de colis contenant des substances nucléaires sont expédiés à destination, en provenance ou à l'intérieur du Canada. Dans la plupart des cas, il s'agit d'expéditions courantes contenant des quantités de substances nucléaires à faible risque.

Le contenu des colis peut être :

  • des produits de consommation, tels que des détecteurs de fumée
  • des produits médicaux, tels que des radio-isotopes utilisés dans l'imagerie diagnostique
  • des produits du cycle du combustible nucléaire, tels que le minerai d'uranium traité et les barres de combustible des centrales nucléaires
  • des produits industriels, tels que les nucléodensimètres utilisés dans la construction

Tous les colis utilisés pour le transport des substances nucléaires doivent être conformes aux exigences de base en matière de rendement relatif à la sûreté, qui sont précisées dans le RETSN. Les colis conçus pour le transport de substances nucléaires à risque élevé doivent être homologués par la CCSN avant de pouvoir être utilisés au Canada.

Contrôle rigoureux de l'importation et de l'exportation

Depuis 1946, la CCSN veille à ce que les exportations nucléaires du Canada soient utilisées à des fins pacifiques et dans le respect des engagements internationaux du Canada en matière de non-prolifération des armes nucléaires.

À titre de membre fondateur et actif du Comité Zangger et du Nuclear Suppliers Group (Groupe des exportateurs nucléaires) - des organisations multilatérales qui respectent des conditions particulières pour les exportations nucléaires ou liées au nucléaire — la CCSN s'est engagée à surveiller et à contrôler l'importation et l'exportation de substances, d'équipements et de renseignements nucléaires contrôlés.

Les principales exportations nucléaires du Canada sont régies par des ententes bilatérales de coopération nucléaire avec les pays importateurs. La CCSN collabore avec Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada dans le but de négocier ces ententes et de mettre en œuvre la politique de non­prolifération nucléaire du Canada, en fournissant des conseils stratégiques et techniques sur l'élaboration de listes de contrôle et de lignes de conduite multilatérales relatives aux exportations nucléaires.

Le Règlement sur le contrôle de l'importation et de l'exportation aux fins de la non-prolifération nucléaire exige que les importateurs et les exportateurs canadiens obtiennent un permis autorisant le transfert international d'articles à caractère nucléaire ou liés au nucléaire, et s'y conforment.

Ce règlement comprend une liste complète des importations et des exportations contrôlées par la CCSN, qui inclut :

  • les matières fissiles spéciales (par exemple, certains isotopes du plutonium et de l'uranium)
  • le deutérium et l'eau lourde
  • le graphite de pureté nucléaire
  • le tritium
  • les réacteurs nucléaires et leurs composants
  • les renseignements nucléaires contrôlés (p.ex., les technologies, les données techniques, les dessins et les modèles)
  • les articles à double usage dans le secteur nucléaire (substances, équipements et renseignements nucléaires contrôlés destinés à des utilisations légitimes non nucléaires, mais qui pourraient également être utilisés dans le cadre d'activités de fabrication d'explosifs nucléaires ou d'activités non protégées du cycle du combustible nucléaire)

Conformément au Code de conduite sur la sûreté et la sécurité des sources radioactives de l'Agence internationale de l'énergie atomique (AIEA), la CCSN délivre des permis et exerce un contrôle sur des sources radioactives scellées à risque élevé.

Sujets populaires

Appareils contenant un composé lumineux au radium

Jusque dans les années 1960, de la peinture phosphorescente à base de radium était appliquée sur divers produits de consommation et militaires. Le radium est un élément radioactif présent naturellement dans l'environnement.

Les appareils contenant un composé lumineux au radium qu'on trouve le plus souvent aujourd'hui sont les instruments d'aéronef. On en trouve encore des dizaines de milliers au Canada.

Mise à l'essai d'un cadran pour confirmer la présence de radium

Le radium dans ces appareils demeure radioactif pendant des milliers d'années, mais la peinture lumineuse qui contient du radium subit des changements chimiques après quelques années et ne brille plus dans le noir. Lorsqu'elle est neuve, la peinture est souvent blanche, mais elle finit habituellement par prendre une teinte jaunâtre au fil du temps.

En général, il n'y a rien qui indique qu'un appareil contient des matières radioactives. Seul un instrument de détection du rayonnement peut confirmer qu'un appareil contient du radium. Les dangers associés à l'exposition au radium se présentent sous deux formes : la contamination externe et la contamination interne par ingestion ou inhalation.

Les appareils intacts posent très peu de risques pour la santé. Il faut cependant les manipuler avec soin pour éviter toute contamination. L'exposition peut être limitée ou pratiquement évitée si on n'ouvre pas les articles, si on porte des gants pour les manipuler, si on conserve les aliments et les boissons dans un endroit distinct et si on élimine adéquatement les appareils brisés.

La CCSN a accordé des exemptions indéfinies à la plupart des contrôles réglementaires applicables aux appareils contenant un composé lumineux au radium, puisque le risque qu'ils posent est faible. Toutefois, quelques restrictions continuent à s'appliquer. Il faut posséder un permis de la CCSN pour entretenir ces appareils. Les activités d'entretien comprennent le désassemblage ou la réparation des appareils ou l'enlèvement des composés lumineux au radium.

Il est interdit de jeter des appareils contenant un composé lumineux au radium dans les déchets municipaux réguliers. Ils doivent être traités dans une installation de gestion des déchets autorisée par la CCSN. Le Bureau de gestion des déchets radioactifs de faibles activités (BGDRFA) des Laboratoires Nucléaires Canadiens (LNC) acceptera de transférer ces appareils dans une telle installation.

Détecteurs de fumée

Les détecteurs de fumée domestiques, aussi appelés détecteurs de fumée à ionisation, contiennent des matières radioactives qui permettent aux appareils d'émettre une alarme.

La source de rayonnement qu'ils renferment est habituellement une petite quantité d'américium 241, qui ne présente aucun risque pour les humains.

La fabrication et la distribution initiale de détecteurs de fumée ionisants au Canada sont réglementées par la CCSN.

Matières radioactives naturelles

Pipeline contaminé par des matières radioactives naturelles
(Photo : Gracieuseté de la Tervita Corporation)

Une matière radioactive naturelle est une matière que l'on trouve dans l'environnement et qui contient des éléments radioactifs d'origine naturelle comme l'uranium et le thorium.

Au Canada, la manutention et l'élimination des matières radioactives naturelles sont réglementées par les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux.

Le transport, l'importation et l'exportation de matières radioactives naturelles doivent respecter la réglementation de la CCSN.

L'équipement et les déchets contaminés par des matières radioactives naturelles doivent être manipulés uniquement par des personnes qui ont reçu une formation appropriée sur le rayonnement.