Document History of REGDOC-2.14.1, Information Incorporated by Reference in Canada’s Packaging and Transport of Nuclear Substances Regulations, 2015

View [HTML version of REGDOC-2.14.1] [PDF version of REGDOC-2.14.1]

Contact us for more information

Summary

Canada’s Packaging and Transport of Nuclear Substances Regulations, 2015 (PTNSR 2015) provide requirements for licences to transport nuclear substances. The regulations also include requirements for the design and certification of packages, special form radioactive material and other prescribed equipment. These regulatory requirements apply to all persons – including nuclear facilities and CNSC licensees and applicants – who transport nuclear substances or offer them for transport.

The PTNSR 2015 are based on the International Atomic Energy Agency’s Regulations for the Safe Transport of Radioactive Material (IAEA Regulations). Canada follows the IAEA Regulations, which assure consistent, safe practices internationally. The PTNSR 2015 introduce an ambulatory reference to the IAEA Regulations and no longer explicitly identify and list relevant paragraphs from them. This change ensures that Canadian regulations will continue to align with international regulations, if international regulations are modified.

To help the regulated community comply with the PTNSR 2015, REGDOC-2.14.1 links provisions in the regulations to relevant content in the IAEA Regulations, the Nuclear Safety and Control Act, other CNSC regulations, and other related information.

Status: published February 2016

Document Milestone Dates Links
Publication February 18, 2016 View the News Release

Historique du document REGDOC-2.14.1, Information intégrée par renvoi dans le Règlement sur l’emballage et le transport des substances nucléaires (2015) du Canada

Accéder [version HTML REGDOC-2.14.1] [version PDF REGDOC-2.14.1]

Communiquez avec nous pour en savoir plus

Sommaire :

Le Règlement sur l’emballage et le transport des substances nucléaires (2015) [RETSN 2015] du Canada prévoit des exigences en ce qui concerne les permis de transport de substances nucléaires, de même que la conception et l’homologation des colis, des matières radioactives sous forme spéciale et d’autre équipement réglementé. Ces exigences réglementaires s’appliquent à toutes les personnes – y compris les installations nucléaires et tous les demandeurs et titulaires de permis de la CCSN – qui transportent ou présentent des substances nucléaires en vue du transport.

Le RETSN 2015 est fondé sur le Règlement de transport des matières radioactives de l’Agence internationale de l’énergie atomique (Règlement de l’AIEA). Le Canada respecte le Règlement de l’AIEA, qui assure l’utilisation de méthodes sécuritaires et uniformes à l’échelle internationale. Le RETSN 2015 contient un renvoi par mention de titre au Règlement de l’AIEA et il ne précise plus explicitement, ni n’énumère, les paragraphes pertinents de ce dernier. Ce changement fait en sorte que les règlements du Canada pourront continuer à être harmonisés avec les règlements internationaux, si ces derniers devaient être modifiés.

Pour aider la communauté réglementée à se conformer au RETSN 2015, le REGDOC-2.14.1 établit des liens entre les dispositions du RETSN 2015 et le contenu pertinent du Règlement de l’AIEA, de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires, d’autres règlements de la CCSN et d’autre information connexe.

Statut : publié en février 2016

Étapes importantes Dates Liens
Publication 18 février 2016 Voir le communiqué de presse