Participant funding for Cameco Corporation’s Blind River Refinery licence renewal application

This participant funding offering is open from March 8 to May 7, 2021.

Participant funding notice

The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) will hold a one-part public hearing on November 24–25, 2021, to consider an application to renew the Class IB operating licence for the Cameco Corporation (Cameco) Blind River Refinery. This facility is located in Blind River, Ontario.

The CNSC is offering participant funding to assist Indigenous peoples, members of the public, and stakeholders in reviewing Cameco’s licence renewal application and associated documents, and in participating in the Commission hearing process by providing topic-specific interventions to the Commission.

Up to $75,000 in participant funding will be disbursed among all eligible applicants for the provision of new, distinctive and valuable information through informed and topic-specific interventions to the Commission. Funding will be awarded for the review of documentation, including CNSC staff’s documents and Cameco’s Commission member documents, and for participation in the public Commission hearing. Funding for travel to the Commission hearing is within the scope of this opportunity. However, due to potential travel restrictions or limitations relating to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Commission will announce at a later date whether there will be in-person oral presentations at the Commission hearing.

To apply, please submit a participant funding application form. Certain terms and conditions apply. You can submit the form by:

  • Email: mailto:cnsc.pfp.ccsn@canada.ca
  • Mail: Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission
    c/o Participant Funding Program administrator
    280 Slater Street
    PO Box 1046 Stn B
    Ottawa ON Canada K1P 5S9
  • Fax: 613-995-5086

Deadline for submitting a participant funding application: May 7, 2021.

A funding review committee that is independent of the CNSC will consider all applications for funding and make recommendations on the allocation of funds.

For information on how to participate, consult the Participate in a public Commission hearing and Participant Funding Program sections of the CNSC website.

For questions about this specific funding opportunity, contact:

Adam Zenobi
Participant Funding Program Administrator
613-415-2814
cnsc.pfp.ccsn@canada.ca

Date modified:

Financement des participants offert pour l’examen de la demande de renouvellement de permis de Cameco Corporation pour la raffinerie de Blind River

Les demandes de financement des participants seront acceptées du 8 mars au 7 mai 2021.

Avis de financement des participants

Du 24 au 25 novembre 2021, la CCSN tiendra une audience publique en une partie afin d’examiner la demande de Cameco Corporation (Cameco) concernant le renouvellement de son permis d’exploitation d’une installation de catégorie IB pour la raffinerie de Blind River. Cette dernière est située à Blind River (Ontario).

La CCSN offre du financement pour aider les peuples autochtones, le public et les parties intéressées à examiner la demande de renouvellement de permis de Cameco et les documents connexes, et à participer au processus d’audience de la Commission en présentant des interventions propres au sujet examiné.

De l’aide financière pouvant atteindre 75 000 $ sera répartie parmi l’ensemble des demandeurs admissibles pour la présentation de renseignements nouveaux et utiles à la Commission au moyen d’interventions propres au sujet examiné. L’aide financière sera attribuée pour l’examen de la documentation, notamment les documents du personnel de la CCSN et de Cameco à l’intention des commissaires, et pour la participation à l’audience publique de la Commission. Une aide financière pour se rendre à l’audience de la Commission est prévue, mais puisque des limites ou des restrictions pourraient être imposées sur les déplacements en raison de la pandémie de COVID-19, la Commission annoncera plus tard s’il y aura des présentations orales en personne.

Pour faire une demande de financement, il faut remplir et soumettre un formulaire de demande de financement des participants et respecter certaines conditions générales. Le formulaire de demande peut être soumis par l’un des moyens suivants :

  • Courriel : cnsc.pfp.ccsn@canada.ca
  • Poste : Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire
    a/s de : Administrateur du Programme de financement des participants
    280, rue Slater, C.P. 1046, succursale B
    Ottawa (Ontario)  K1P 5S9
    Canada
  • Télécopieur : 613-995-5086

Date limite pour soumettre une demande de financement : le 7 mai 2021.

Un comité d’examen de l’aide financière, indépendant de la CCSN, examinera toutes les demandes et formulera des recommandations sur l’attribution des fonds.

Pour en savoir plus sur la façon de participer, consultez les sections Participer à une audience publique de la Commission et Programme de financement des participants du site Web de la CCSN.

Pour toute question sur cette possibilité de financement, communiquez avec :

Adam Zenobi
Administrateur du Programme de financement des participants
613-415-2814
cnsc.pfp.ccsn@canada.ca

Dernière mise à jour :