Commission Registry

Notice: On January 1, 2022, the Commission Secretariat and Secretary became the Commission Registry and Registrar. As a result of this name change, references on the website and in CNSC documentation have been or are in the process of being updated. Please note that historical references will not be modified.

Commission proceedings have not been affected by this name change. Please email interventions@cnsc-ccsn.gc.ca with any Commission-related questions.

Guided by its important mandate, the Commission makes independent, fair and transparent decisions on licensing nuclear related activities.

Legal provisions

The CNSC was established in 2000 under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act to replace the former Atomic Energy Control Board and reports to Parliament through the Minister of Natural Resources on the Commission's activities under the Act. Neither the Minister nor the Governor in Council has a role in the Commission’s decision making or the power of appeal. Its decisions are reviewable only by the Federal Court of Canada.

The CNSC’s regulatory framework consists of laws passed by Parliament that govern the regulation of Canada's nuclear industry, and regulations, licences and documents the CNSC uses to regulate the nuclear industry.

Commission Registrar

The Commission Registrar is responsible for the management and administration of the Commission Registry. The Commission is a court of record, and as such must capture and preserve a record of its proceedings, which are quasi-judicial and subject to the rules of procedural fairness; the record of the Commission is accurate and must be carefully maintained.

The Commission Registrar and the Registry staff are responsible for the processing, recording and directing of all documents filed with the Commission by parties/participants, as well as recording all steps and events during the life of a quasi-judicial proceeding before the Commission. The Registrar also administers the Commission’s meetings and the minutes and decisions that result from meetings. The Registrar is responsible for scheduling and logistics of all Commission hearings and meetings, providing support during Commission proceedings, and preparing documentation for all matters before the Commission – reflecting its status as a court of record.

Learn more about the CNSC’s Commission Registrar, Denis Saumure.

Independent Commission

The Commission is an independent administrative tribunal set up at arm's length from government, with no ties to the nuclear industry.

The Commission makes its decisions transparently, guided by clear rules of procedure. Interested parties and members of the public are able to participate in public Commission hearings, which are webcast live and often held in facility host communities to make them as accessible as possible to local residents.

The Commission provides extensive reasons for its decisions, which are based on information and evidence that includes public input as well as the recommendations of expert CNSC staff. Decisions, hearing transcripts, webcast archives and other documentation are publicly available on the CNSC website. In some instances, before making a decision, the Commission will offer a party an opportunity to be heard before making a decision.

Qualified staff

The Commission is supported by more than 800 scientific, technical and professional staff. These employees review applications for licences according to regulatory requirements, make recommendations to the Commission, and enforce compliance with the Nuclear Safety and Control Act, regulations and any licence conditions imposed by the Commission.

The Nuclear Safety and Control Act allows the Commission to designate certain CNSC staff to carry out specific licensing and regulatory actions. Staff who are granted this decision-making authority are referred to as designated officers (DOs).

Related links

Date modified:

Greffe de la Commission

Avis : Le 1er janvier 2022, le Secrétariat et le secrétaire de la Commission sont respectivement devenus le Greffe et le registraire de la Commission. En raison de ces changements de noms, les mentions de ces termes dans le site Web et la documentation de la CCSN ont été ou seront actualisées. Il est à noter que les références historiques ne seront toutefois pas modifiées.

Ces nouvelles désignations n’ont aucune incidence sur les procédures de la Commission. Pour toute question liée à la Commission, veuillez envoyer un courriel à interventions@cnsc-ccsn.gc.ca.

La Commission, guidée par son importante mission, rend des décisions indépendantes, justes et transparentes sur la délivrance de permis visant les activités liées au nucléaire.

Outils juridiques

La CCSN a été créée en 2000 en vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires afin de remplacer la Commission de contrôle de l'énergie atomique. Par l’entremise du ministre des Ressources naturelles, la CCSN rend compte au Parlement des activités réalisées par la Commission en vertu de la Loi. Le ministre et le gouverneur en conseil ne prennent pas part aux décisions de la Commission et n’ont pas de droit d’appel. Seule la Cour fédérale du Canada peut réviser ces décisions.

Le cadre de réglementation de la CCSN se compose des lois adoptées par le Parlement qui régissent la réglementation du secteur nucléaire canadien, de même que des règlements, des permis et des documents qu’utilise la CCSN pour réglementer le secteur nucléaire.

Registraire de la Commission

Le registraire de la Commission gère et administre le Greffe de la Commission. La Commission est une cour d’archives, ce qui signifie qu’elle doit saisir et conserver un dossier de ses séances, qui sont quasi judiciaires et assujetties aux règles d’équité procédurale; le dossier de la Commission est exact et doit être conservé avec soin.

À ce titre, le registraire de la Commission et le personnel du Greffe doivent traiter, enregistrer et acheminer tous les documents déposés auprès de la Commission par les parties ou les participants, et consigner toutes les étapes et tous les événements au cours d’une séance quasi judiciaire devant la Commission. Le registraire administre également les réunions de la Commission ainsi que les procès-verbaux et les décisions qui en découlent. Il doit établir le calendrier et veiller à la logistique de toutes les audiences et réunions de la Commission, fournir un soutien pendant les séances de la Commission et préparer la documentation pour toutes les questions soumises à la Commission – témoignant de son statut de cour d’archives.

Apprenez-en plus sur Denis Saumure, registraire de la Commission de la CCSN.

Commission indépendante

La Commission est un tribunal administratif indépendant du gouvernement et sans lien avec le secteur nucléaire.

La Commission rend des décisions de façon transparente, sur la foi de règles de procédure claires. Les parties intéressées et le public ont l’occasion de participer aux audiences publiques de la Commission, diffusées en direct sur le Web et souvent organisées dans les communautés hôtes d’installations nucléaires afin d’être le plus accessibles possible pour les résidents.

La Commission explique ses décisions de façon détaillée, et celles-ci se fondent sur des renseignements et preuves qui incluent l’apport du public et les recommandations des experts de la CCSN. Les décisions, transcriptions d’audience, webdiffusions archivées et autres documents sont disponibles sur le site Web de la CCSN. Dans certains cas, avant de rendre une décision, la Commission offrira à une partie la possibilité d’être entendue.

Personnel qualifié

La Commission est appuyée par plus de 800 employés scientifiques, techniques et professionnels. Ceux-ci examinent les demandes de permis en fonction des exigences réglementaires, présentent des recommandations à la Commission, et assurent le respect de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires, des règlements et des conditions de permis imposées par la Commission.

La Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires permet à la Commission d’autoriser certains employés de la CCSN à prendre des mesures d’autorisation et de réglementation précises. Les employés qui reçoivent ce pouvoir décisionnel sont les fonctionnaires désignés (FD).

Liens connexes

Dernière mise à jour :