Regulatory action – Kodiak Quality Control Ltd.

2020

November 30, 2020

Summary of regulatory actions issued to Kodiak Quality Control Ltd.

On November 30, 2020, the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) arranged the seizure and safe storage of all radioactive material possessed and stored by Kodiak Quality Control Ltd., a company based in Rockwood, Ontario. The company previously held a CNSC licence, which expired on October 31, 2020, that authorized it to possess, transfer, export and store nuclear substances and prescribed equipment for distribution purposes.

The CNSC took these measures following a series of regulatory actions issued to the company in efforts to ensure the adequate security of the radioactive material in its possession. These regulatory actions include orders issued in December 2019 and October 2020, as well as an administrative monetary penalty of $2,770 issued in March 2020. The CNSC did not previously communicate these actions to the public to ensure that security was not compromised.

The CNSC was involved at every step, closely monitored the situation to ensure the security of the radioactive material, and escalated enforcement when necessary. The radioactive material has now been placed into safe and secure storage, and the company’s Guelph, Ontario, location has been safely decommissioned.

The CNSC has determined that the terms and conditions of Order Nos. 1209 and 0841 have been met and has therefore closed those orders. At present, taking into account the special circumstances of the COVID-19 pandemic, all orders will be removed from this web page upon closure. All closed orders remain available for consultation in our annual regulatory oversight reports.

Date modified:

Mesure réglementaire – Kodiak Quality Control Ltd.

2020

Le 30 novembre 2020

Résumé des mesures réglementaires visant

Le 30 novembre 2020, la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) a procédé à la saisie et à l’entreposage sécuritaire de toutes les matières radioactives possédées et entreposées par Kodiak Quality Control Ltd., une entreprise située à Rockwood (Ontario). L’entreprise détenait auparavant un permis de la CCSN, venu à échéance le 31 octobre 2020, qui l’autorisait à posséder, transférer, exporter et entreposer des substances nucléaires et des appareils à rayonnement aux fins de distribution.

La CCSN a procédé de cette manière après avoir imposé une série de mesures réglementaires à l’entreprise pour tenter d’assurer la sécurité adéquate des matières radioactives en sa possession. Ces mesures comprennent des ordres délivrés en décembre 2019 et en octobre 2020, ainsi qu’une sanction administrative pécuniaire de 2,770 $ imposée en mars 2020. La CCSN n’a pas communiqué au public qu’elle avait pris ces mesures afin de ne pas compromettre la sécurité.

La CCSN a participé à chaque étape du processus, a surveillé la situation de près pour assurer la sécurité des matières radioactives, et a pris des mesures d’application de la loi plus contraignantes au besoin. Les matières radioactives sont maintenant bien entreposées, et le site de Guelph (Ontario) de l’entreprise a été déclassé de façon sécuritaire.

La CCSN a déterminé que les modalités des ordres 1209 et 0841 ont été respectées, et considère maintenant que ces ordres sont clos. À l’heure actuelle, compte tenu des circonstances particulières entourant la pandémie de COVID-19, tous les ordres clos seront retirés de cette page Web, mais ils pourront être consultés dans nos rapports de surveillance réglementaire annuels.

Dernière mise à jour :