Karina Lange

Karina Lange was the first staff member to hold the position of Women in STEM Advisor in the CNSC’s Strategic Planning Directorate. As an advisor, Karina led the team that developed and implemented the CNSC’s Women in STEM (WISTEM) initiative. She also helped the CNSC President launch several national and international undertakings. This work helps the CNSC build a more diverse and agile workforce and contribute to the Government of Canada’s priority of increasing the number of women in STEM careers.

“I am proud to have led an impressive team of CNSC staff, both women and men, to collaboratively develop and implement a WISTEM strategic plan. This year, we’ve already reached several milestones, including starting a coaching program tailored for STEM careers.”

Karina holds a bachelor of environmental engineering, a master of applied science (environmental engineering) and a Ph.D. in applied science (civil engineering). She has worked at the CNSC for the last 12 years. In January 2021, she accepted a position at the IAEA as a radioactive waste disposal specialist where she will continue not only her technical work, but also her efforts to support women in STEM nuclear careers.

Date modified:

Karina Lange

Karina Lange a été la première employée à occuper le poste de conseillère de Femmes en STIM à la Direction de la planification stratégique de la CCSN. En tant que conseillère, Karina a dirigé l’équipe qui a élaboré et mise en œuvre l’initiative Femmes en STIM de la CCSN. Elle a également aidé la présidente de la CCSN à concrétiser plusieurs engagements nationaux et internationaux. Ces travaux ont aidé la CCSN à se doter d’un effectif plus diversifié et plus polyvalent, et ont contribué à la réalisation de la priorité du gouvernement du Canada d’accroître le nombre de femmes qui entreprennent des carrières en STIM.

« Je suis fière d’avoir dirigé une équipe impressionnante d’employés de la CCSN, tant des hommes que des femmes, à collaborer à l’élaboration et à la mise en œuvre d’un plan stratégique de Femmes en STIM. Cette année, nous avons déjà franchi plusieurs étapes importantes, notamment la mise sur pied d’un programme d’encadrement adapté aux carrières en STIM. »

Karina est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en génie environnemental, d’une maîtrise en sciences appliquées (génie environnemental) et d’un doctorat en sciences appliquées (génie civil). Elle a travaillé à la CCSN au cours des douze dernières années. En janvier 2021, elle a accepté un poste de spécialiste du stockage définitif des déchets radioactifs à l’AIEA où elle poursuivra non seulement ses travaux techniques, mais également ses efforts visant à appuyer les femmes à entreprendre des carrières en STIM.

Dernière mise à jour :