Pinawa-Whiteshell

CNSC Invites you to open houses in Pinawa and Lac du Bonnet, MB

The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) will hold open houses in Pinawa and Lac du Bonnet, MB, to provide information on how it regulates the nuclear sector.

Come find out how Canada’s nuclear regulator ensures that nuclear activities and facilities are safe, and talk with CNSC staff about how environmental assessments are conducted. You will also learn about CNSC-licensed facilities and projects in these areas and hear more about the CNSC’s upcoming public Commission proceedings.

Pinawa open house

When: May 16, 2017, 1:00 to 4:00 p.m. and 6:00 to 8:00 p.m.
Where: Pinawa Community Centre, 20 Vanier Avenue, Pinawa, MB

Lac du Bonnet open house

When: May 18, 2017, 1:00 to 4:00 p.m. and 6:00 to 8:00 p.m.
Where: Pioneer Club of Lac du Bonnet Inc., 32 Park Avenue, Lac du Bonnet, MB

Looking to learn more? A CNSC 101 general information presentation will also be given from 5:00 to 6:00 p.m. at both locations.

About the CNSC’s open house

Our staff will be on hand to provide information and answer questions about:

  • how we regulate the nuclear sector
  • the environmental assessment process for the proposed In Situ Decommissioning of the Whiteshell Reactor #1 Project
  • public participation in the licensing process
  • how we conduct safety checks, inspect, and take samples to ensure communities and the environment remain safe

For more information, email cnsc.information.ccsn@canada.ca or call 1-800-668-5284.

Latest updates

2016

2015

2014

2012

Nuclear research

Whiteshell Laboratories is located approximately 10 km west of Pinawa and 100 km northeast of Winnipeg, on the east bank of the Winnipeg River. Atomic Energy of Canada Limited (AECL) established this complex for nuclear research and testing during the early 1960s. Operations at Whiteshell Laboratories were later discontinued, and the facilities are now being decommissioned by Canadian Nuclear Laboratories Ltd. (CNL) acting under a licence from the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC).

When in service, the Whiteshell Laboratories comprised both nuclear and non-nuclear operations. Major facilities included the Whiteshell research reactor, shielded facilities, research laboratories and radioactive waste management areas. The Whiteshell Used Fuel Storage Facility – also on the Whiteshell Laboratories site – houses concrete canisters that provide dry storage for irradiated fuel bundles from the research reactor.

For more information, please see CNL's Web site.

CNSC personnel perform regular inspections at Whiteshell Laboratories, to monitor decommissioning activities and to verify CNL's compliance with licence conditions.

Nuclear Legacy Liabilities Program

Whiteshell Laboratories' legacy waste is being managed by the Government of Canada's Nuclear Legacy Liabilities Program, launched in 2006, to provide a long-term strategy to manage legacy waste and contamination at this site.

Please note: Links to Web sites not under the control of CNSC are provided solely for the convenience of users. CNSC is not responsible for the accuracy, currency or the reliability of the content of those sites. CNSC offers no guarantee in that regard and is not responsible for the information found through these links, nor does it endorse the sites or their content.

Users should be aware that information offered by non-Government of Canada sites, to which the Official Languages Act and certain other requirements may not apply, may be available only in the language(s) used by the sites in question.

Pinawa-Whiteshell

La CCSN vous invite à des séances portes ouvertes à à Pinawa et à Lac du Bonnet (Man.)

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) tiendra des séances portes ouvertes à Pinawa et à Lac du Bonnet (Man.) pour fournir de l’information sur la façon dont elle réglemente le secteur nucléaire.

Venez découvrir comment l’organisme de réglementation nucléaire du Canada assure la sûreté des activités et des installations nucléaires, et parler de la réalisation des évaluations environnementales avec du personnel de la CCSN. Vous en apprendrez également sur les installations et les projets autorisés par la CCSN dans la région et sur les prochaines séances publiques de la Commission.

Pinawa – Portes ouvertes

Quand : Le 16 mai 2017, de 13 h à 16 h et de 18 h à 20 h
Où : Centre communautaire de Pinawa, 20, avenue Vanier, Pinawa (Man.)

Lac du Bonnet – Portes ouvertes

Quand : Le 18 mai 2017, de 13 h à 16 h et de 18 h à 20 h
Où : Pioneer Club of Lac du Bonnet Inc., 32, avenue Park, Lac du Bonnet (Man.)

Vous voulez en apprendre davantage? Une séance d’information générale CCSN 101 sera aussi donnée de 17 h à 18 h aux deux endroits.

Au sujet des séances

Notre personnel sera sur place afin de vous fournir de l’information et de répondre à vos questions concernant :

  • la façon dont nous réglementons le secteur nucléaire
  • le processus d’évaluation environnementale pour le projet proposé de déclassement in situ du réacteur Whiteshell-1
  • la participation du public au processus d’autorisation
  • la façon dont nous réalisons des vérifications de sûreté, des inspections et des prélèvements d’échantillons pour nous assurer que les collectivités et l’environnement demeurent protégés

Pour de plus amples renseignements, écrivez-nous à cnsc.information.ccsn@canada.ca ou composez le 1-800-668-5284.

Dernières mises à jour

2016

2015

2014

2012

Recherche nucléaire

Les Laboratoires de Whiteshell sont situés à environ 10 km à l’ouest de Pinawa et à 100 km au nord-est de Winnipeg, sur la rive est de la rivière Winnipeg. Énergie atomique du Canada limitée (EACL) a établi ce complexe de recherche et d’essais nucléaires au début des années 1960. Les activités réalisées aux Laboratoires de Whiteshell ont un jour cessé, et les Laboratoires Nucléaires Canadiens Limitée (LNC) procèdent au déclassement des installations en vertu d’un permis délivré par la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN).

Pendant qu'ils étaient en service, les Laboratoires de Whiteshell étaient le lieu d'activités nucléaires et non nucléaires. Les principales installations des Laboratoires comprenaient un réacteur de recherche, des installations blindées, des laboratoires de recherche et des aires de gestion des déchets radioactifs. L'installation de stockage de combustible usé Whiteshell, également sur le site des Laboratoires de Whiteshell, abrite des silos de béton où l'on stocke à sec des grappes de combustible provenant du réacteur de recherche.

Pour en savoir davantage, visitez le site Web des LNC.

Le personnel de la CCSN effectue des inspections régulières des Laboratoires de Whiteshell pour surveiller les activités de déclassement et vérifier la conformité des LNC aux conditions de permis.

Programme des responsabilités nucléaires héritées

Le Programme des responsabilités nucléaires héritées, lancé en 2006 par le gouvernement du Canada, établit une stratégie à long terme pour gérer la contamination et les déchets hérités sur ce site.

Remarque : Les liens vers les sites Web ne relevant par de la CCSN sont fournis par seul souci de commodité. La CCSN n'assure pas l'exactitude, l'actualité ni la fiabilité du contenu de ces sites. La Commission n'offre aucune garantie à cet égard et n'assume aucune responsabilité quant à l'information trouvée sur ces sites, pas plus qu'elle n'approuve ces sites et leur contenu.

Les utilisateurs sont avisés que l'information fournie par des sites autres que ceux du gouvernement du Canada, auxquels la Loi sur les langues officielles et d'autres exigences peuvent ne pas s'appliquer, peut n'être fournie que dans les langues qui y sont employées.