Transport FAQs of used nuclear fuel

Canada is one of the major producers of nuclear substances (radioactive material) in the world and has an excellent safety record for the transport of these substances. More than a million packages carrying a variety of nuclear substances are transported safely in Canada each year. All nuclear substances can only be shipped by a qualified carrier and can only be transported in accordance with strict federal regulations.

Q1. Who oversees the transportation of used nuclear fuel?

Q2. How does the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) ensure that the transportation is done in a safe manner?

Q3. Is it safe to transport used nuclear fuel?

Q4. How is the transportation of used nuclear fuel regulated?

Q5. How safe are the containers that transport the used nuclear fuel?

Q6. What security measures are needed for this type of shipment?

Q7. What would happen in the unlikely event of an accident?

Q8. Is one mode of transport safer than another when it comes to used nuclear fuel?

Q9. Where can I get more information?

Q1. Who oversees the transportation of used nuclear fuel?

A1. The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) and Transport Canada work together to regulate the transportation of used nuclear fuel. However, the prime responsibility for ensuring the safety of used fuel during transport rests with the consignor who is preparing the shipment. Here is an outline of the various responsibilities:

  • The CNSC – Through the Packaging and Transport of Nuclear Substances Regulations (PTNS Regulations), the CNSC ensures that every package transporting used nuclear fuel conforms to all established safety standards. The CNSC is responsible for certifying the design of the package, verifying that it meets the regulatory requirements, and ensuring that the health, safety and security of the public and the protection of the environment will not be compromised.
  • Transport Canada – Through the Transportation of Dangerous Goods Act and related regulations, Transport Canada also shares in the responsibility of ensuring the safe transport of used nuclear fuel. Transport Canada develops safety standards and regulations, provides oversight and gives expert advice to promote public safety in the transportation of dangerous goods (of all classes) by all modes of transport in Canada.

  • Consignor – The person who prepares the shipment. The consignor is responsible for selecting, loading and securing the package. The consignor must ensure that the package complies with all of the requirements specified in both CNSC and Transport Canada regulations. Packages must be categorized and labelled correctly, and must be accompanied by the proper transport documentation. The consignor must also display the appropriate safety marks, verify that employees are properly trained for their positions and, if required, have an approved Emergency Response Assistance Plan (ERAP).

  • Carrier – The person who carries the shipment must ensure that the transport package was properly selected, loaded and secured by the consignor. The carrier is also responsible for appropriately displaying the required dangerous goods safety marks and verifying that employees are suitably trained for their positions.

Top of page

Q2. How does the CNSC ensure that the transportation is done in a safe manner?

A2. Consignors are required to submit a transportation program when applying for a licence to transport used nuclear fuel. Transportation programs are designed to protect the health and safety of persons and the environment by meeting or exceeding regulatory requirements.

The programs are assessed by CNSC staff and are used to determine that the consignor is qualified to carry out the activities under the licence and will make adequate provisions for the protection of the environment, the health and safety of the workers and the public, and maintain adequate security.

Transportation programs typically include information on:

  • training of workers and emergency responders
  • maintenance of a radiation protection program
  • management of an emergency response plan
  • maintenance of security measures
  • maintenance of records
  • adherence to all regulatory requirements

CNSC staff conduct audits and program evaluations of transportation programs to independently and objectively assess performance effectiveness and compliance with regulations. Compliance inspections are also carried out by provincial and federal transportation authorities on shipments en route to their destinations.

Top of page

Q3. Is it safe to transport used nuclear fuel?

A3. Yes. The very robust transport packages required for used fuel transport are designed, tested and certified to retain their contents under accident conditions. Used fuel has been transported safely nationally and internationally for over 45 years by road, rail, water and air without a single radiological incident. It is a highly regulated activity that needs to meet the stringent requirements of both Transport Canada and the CNSC regulatory requirements before being approved.

Top of page

Q4. How is the transportation of used nuclear fuel regulated?

A4. Worldwide regulatory standards are developed by the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA), a United Nations organization. For transport, all industrialized countries use the IAEA's TS-R-1, Regulations for the Safe Transport of Radioactive Material as the basis to regulate the packaging and transport of radioactive materials within their borders.

In Canada, the CNSC has developed the PTNS regulations based on the IAEA's TS-R-1 regulations and is responsible for regulating all aspects of the packaging and transport of radioactive material, including the design, production, use, inspection, maintenance and repair of packages. The CNSC also regulates all phases of transport from the preparation of packages for shipment until unloading at the final destination.

Top of page

Q5. How safe are the containers that transport the used nuclear fuel?

A5. Extremely safe. The packages are certified by the CNSC prior to transport. To become certified, they must first undergo strict testing, the requirements of which are set by regulations. Packages are tested to show they are able to resist the cumulative effect of a 9-metre drop onto an unyielding surface, a 30-minute thermal exposure at 800°C, and immersion in 15 metres of water for 8 hours without a breach of containment. Some packages even undergo an immersion test in 200 metres of water for 1 hour. Once the transport package design is shown to be compliant with the regulations, the CNSC issues the certificate.

Top of page

Q6. What security measures are needed for this type of shipment?

A6. CNSC regulations require the submission of a transportation security plan for shipments of used fuel. The consignor must prepare a plan to detail the proposed security measures and arrangements for the shipment. A threat assessment must also be carried out in order to identify any credible threats that may place the shipment at risk.

Shipments of used nuclear fuel require security measures such as escort personnel, communications arrangements to contact response forces, security searches prior to shipment, contingency arrangements in case of delay or mechanical breakdown and procedures to be followed during scheduled stops or unscheduled delays.

The transportation security plan is assessed by CNSC staff to ensure it meets all regulatory requirements. All information pertaining to security measures and arrangements for this type of shipment is considered prescribed information and cannot be disclosed to the public. Prescribed information is only provided to persons or agencies with a valid need to know such as police response forces.

For more information, read the regulatory guide Transportation Security Plans for Category I, II or III Nuclear Material (G-208) (PDF).

Top of page

Q7. What would happen in the unlikely event of an accident?

A7. The procedures to follow in the event of an accident are defined in the consignor's emergency response plan. The plan details the response actions that should take place, the resources available to mitigate the situation and, ultimately, how to return the accident area to normal. In most cases, the consignor would arrange for an accident investigation team to be immediately sent to the site to determine the cause and impact of the accident and provide expertise in assessment, area monitoring, air sampling, and exposure and contamination control. A second response team would ensure clean-up, recovery and restoration. Because used nuclear fuel is a solid material, contamination would be localized to the immediate area around the container and would be quickly cleaned up in the unlikely event of a release of radioactive material. The consignor is responsible for the cost of response and any cleanup.

The overall safety record of the transport of nuclear substances in Canada has historically been excellent. There have never been any serious injuries, fatalities or environmental consequences attributable to the radioactive nature of such material being transported.

Top of page

Q8. Is one mode of transport safer than another when it comes to used nuclear fuel?

A8. The basic philosophy behind the transport of nuclear substances, including used nuclear fuel, is that safety relies heavily on the design of the transport package. Each package design is evaluated to ensure that it meets all of the applicable regulatory requirements specific to various modes of transport. Package designs are combined with additional regulatory controls including labelling, placarding, quality assurance and maintenance records, allowing packages to be carried safely in all modes of transport allowed by the package design such as road, rail, air and sea.

Top of page

Q9. Where can I get more information?

A9.For additional information, please read the CNSC fact sheet Regulating the Packaging and Transport of Nuclear Substances in Canada, or contact the CNSC.

You can get additional information on the Transportation of Dangerous Goods Act and related regulations on the website of Transport Canada

Contact Transport Canada: tc.gc.ca/eng/contact-us.htm

Foire aux questions : le transport du combustible nucléaire usé

Le Canada est l'un des plus importants producteurs de substances nucléaires (matière radioactive) du monde et a un excellent dossier de sûreté en ce qui concerne le transport de ces substances. Chaque année, plus d'un million de colis contenant différentes substances nucléaires sont transportés en toute sûreté au pays. Seul un transporteur autorisé peut déplacer de telles substances, et le transport doit être effectué conformément à la réglementation fédérale rigoureuse.

Q1. Qui surveille le transport du combustible nucléaire usé?

Q2. Comment la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) assure-t-elle le transport sûr des colis?

Q3. Le transport du combustible nucléaire usé est-il sûr?

Q4. Comment le transport du combustible nucléaire usé est-il réglementé?

Q5. À quel point les colis utilisés pour le transport sont-ils sûrs?

Q6. Quelles mesures de sécurité s’imposent pour ce genre d’envoi?

Q7. Dans l’éventualité peu probable d’un accident, que se passe-t-il?

Q8. Un moyen de transport est-il plus sûr que les autres lorsqu’il est question de transporter du combustible nucléaire usé?

Q9. Où puis-je obtenir davantage de renseignements?


Q1. Qui surveille le transport du combustible nucléaire usé?

R1. La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) et Transports Canada collaborent pour réglementer le transport du combustible nucléaire usé. Cependant, il incombe surtout à l’expéditeur qui prépare l’envoi du combustible nucléaire usé d’en assurer la sûreté pendant le transport. Voici un survol des différentes responsabilités en la matière :

  • La CCSN – En vertu du Règlement sur l’emballage et le transport des substances nucléaires (RETSN), la CCSN fait en sorte que le transport d’un colis contenant du combustible nucléaire usé se conforme à toutes les normes de sûreté en vigueur. La CCSN est responsable de l’homologation de la conception du colis et doit vérifier si celle-ci répond à toutes les exigences réglementaires afin d’assurer la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité du public et la protection de l’environnement.
  • Transports Canada – En vertu de la Loi sur le transport des marchandises dangereuses et des règlements connexes, Transports Canada assume également une partie de la responsabilité visant à assurer le transport sûr du combustible nucléaire usé. Ce ministère élabore des normes et des règlements en matière de sûreté, assure une surveillance et donne des conseils d’expert pour favoriser la sécurité publique pendant le transport des marchandises dangereuses (de toutes les catégories) effectué à l’aide de tout moyen de transport utilisé au Canada.
  • Expéditeur – La personne qui prépare l’envoi, c’est-à-dire l’expéditeur, est responsable de la sélection, du chargement et de la fixation du colis. L’expéditeur doit veiller à ce que le colis respecte toutes les exigences précisées dans les règlements de la CCSN et de Transports Canada. Il doit indiquer la bonne catégorie, l’étiqueter correctement et l’expédier avec les documents de transport correspondants. L’expéditeur doit aussi apposer les marques de sûreté appropriées sur le colis, vérifier si la formation des employés leur permet d’exercer leurs fonctions et, au besoin, préparer un plan d'intervention d'urgence.

Transporteur – La personne qui transporte le colis doit veiller à ce que l’emballage ait été bien choisi, chargé et fixé par l’expéditeur. Il incombe aussi au transporteur d’afficher les marques de sûreté qui s’appliquent aux marchandises dangereuses et de vérifier si la formation des employés leur permet d’exercer leurs fonctions.

Haut de la page

Q2. Comment la CCSN assure-t-elle le transport sûr des colis?

R2. Les expéditeurs sont tenus de présenter un programme de transport lorsqu’ils demandent l’autorisation de transporter le combustible nucléaire usé. Les programmes de transport ont pour objet de protéger la santé et la sécurité des personnes et de l’environnement en répondant aux exigences réglementaires ou en les dépassant.

Les employés de la CCSN évaluent les programmes pour déterminer si l’expéditeur est capable d’exécuter les activités autorisées, s’il prévoit des mesures adéquates pour protéger l’environnement, la santé et la sécurité des travailleurs et du public, et s’il assure un niveau de sécurité adéquat.

Les programmes de transport présentent habituellement de l’information concernant :

  • la formation des travailleurs et des intervenants en cas d’urgence
  • le maintien d’un programme de radioprotection
  • la gestion du plan d’intervention en cas d’urgence
  • le maintien des mesures de sécurité
  • la tenue des dossiers
  • le respect de toutes les exigences réglementaires

Les employés de la CCSN effectuent des vérifications et des évaluations des programmes de transport afin de déterminer, de manière indépendante et objective, le rendement et la conformité aux règlements. De plus, les responsables du transport au niveau provincial et fédéral réalisent des inspections de conformité des expéditions lorsqu’elles sont en cours de route.

Haut de la page

Q3. Le transport du combustible nucléaire usé est-il sûr?

R3. Oui. Les expéditeurs sont obligés d’utiliser des emballages très résistants pour le transport du combustible nucléaire usé. L’objet de la conception, de la mise à l’essai et de l’homologation des emballages consiste à assurer qu’ils conservent leur contenu en cas d’accident. Le transport du combustible nucléaire usé s’effectue de manière sûre à l’échelle nationale et internationale depuis plus de 45 ans par voie routière, ferroviaire, maritime et aérienne, et aucun accident radiologique ne s’est produit. Il s’agit d’une activité fortement réglementée, et son approbation dépend de la conformité aux exigences rigoureuses de Transports Canada et de la CCSN.

Haut de la page

Q4. Comment le transport du combustible nucléaire usé est-il réglementé?

R4. L’Agence internationale de l’énergie atomique (AIEA), une organisation des Nations Unies, a élaboré des normes réglementaires mondiales. Sur le plan du transport, tous les pays industrialisés s’inspirent de la norme TS-R-1, Règlement de transport des matières radioactives, pour établir leurs propres règlements concernant l’emballage et le transport des matières radioactives sur leur territoire.

Au Canada, la CCSN a élaboré le RETSN, qui s’inspire du règlement TS-R-1 de l’AIEA. Elle est responsable de la réglementation de tous les aspects de l’emballage et du transport de matières radioactives, y compris la conception, la production, l’utilisation, l’inspection, l’entretien et la réparation des colis. La CCSN réglemente aussi toutes les étapes du transport, de la préparation des colis en vue de leur expédition jusqu’à leur déchargement à la destination finale.

Haut de la page

Q5. À quel point les colis utilisés pour le transport sont-ils sûrs?

R5. Ils sont extrêmement sûrs. La CCSN homologue les colis utilisés pour transporter le combustible nucléaire usé, et leur conception assure leur résistance aux accidents. Les règlements prévoient la mise à l’essai rigoureuse des colis, afin d’assurer leur résistance aux effets cumulatifs d’une chute de 9 m sur une surface dure, d’une exposition à une température de 800 °C pendant 30 minutes et d’une immersion dans 15 m d’eau pendant une heure, sans compromettre le confinement du combustible. Avant le transport, il faut obtenir le certificat de la CCSN qui atteste la conformité de la conception du colis aux exigences réglementaires.

Haut de la page

Q6. Quelles mesures de sécurité s’imposent pour ce genre d’envoi?

R6. Les règlements de la CCSN exigent la soumission d’un plan de sécurité du transport avant d’expédier le combustible nucléaire usé. L’expéditeur doit préparer un plan qui détaille les mesures de sécurité proposées et les dispositions concernant l’envoi. Il doit aussi effectuer une évaluation des menaces et signaler toutes les menaces crédibles qui pourraient rendre l’envoi dangereux.

Les expéditions de combustible nucléaire usé nécessitent des mesures de sécurité comme une escorte, des moyens de communication avec les intervenants en cas d’urgence, des fouilles de sécurité avant l’envoi, des plans d’urgence en cas de retard ou de panne mécanique, et des procédures à suivre pendant les arrêts prévus ou les retards inattendus.

Les employés de la CCSN évaluent le plan de sécurité du transport afin de déterminer s’il respecte toutes les exigences réglementaires. Tous les renseignements concernant les mesures de sécurité et les dispositions s’appliquant à ce type d’envoi sont considérés comme réglementés, et leur divulgation au public est interdite. Les renseignements réglementés ne sont fournis qu’aux personnes ou aux organismes qui doivent y avoir accès, comme les services d’intervention de la police.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez lire le Guide d’application de la réglementation Les plans de sécurité pour le transport des matières nucléaires de catégorie I, II ou III (G-208).

Haut de la page

Q7. Dans l’éventualité peu probable d’un accident, que se passe-t-il?

R7. Les procédures à suivre en cas d’accident sont indiquées dans le plan d’intervention de l’expéditeur en situation d’urgence. Le plan explique les mesures à prendre, les ressources disponibles pour atténuer les effets et la stratégie de nettoyage du site de l’accident. Dans la plupart des cas, l’expéditeur demande l’envoi immédiat d’une équipe pour enquêter sur les causes et les répercussions de l’accident, ainsi que pour fournir une expertise en matière d’évaluation, de surveillance du site, d’échantillonnage de l’air et de contrôle de l’exposition et de la contamination. Une deuxième équipe d’intervention assure le nettoyage, le rétablissement et la remise en état. Puisque le combustible nucléaire usé est une matière solide, la contamination se limiterait à la zone entourant immédiatement le colis, et le nettoyage s’effectuerait rapidement dans l’éventualité peu probable d’un rejet de matières radioactives. L’expéditeur est responsable du coût de l’intervention et du nettoyage.

Dans l’ensemble, le dossier de sûreté du Canada en matière de transport de substances nucléaires a toujours été excellent. Il n’y a jamais eu de blessures sérieuses, de décès ou de répercussions environnementales attribuables à la nature radioactive du matériel transporté.

Haut de la page

Q8. Un moyen de transport est-il plus sûr que les autres lorsqu’il est question de transporter du combustible nucléaire usé?

R8. La philosophie de base du transport des substances nucléaires, notamment du combustible nucléaire usé, est que la sûreté dépend énormément de la conception du colis à transporter. La conception de chaque colis est évaluée pour en assurer la conformité aux exigences réglementaires qui s’appliquent aux différents moyens de transport. La conception des colis est une composante de l’ensemble des contrôles réglementaires, à savoir l’étiquetage, le placardage, l’assurance de la qualité et les dossiers d’entretien, afin d’utiliser tous les moyens de transport que permet la conception du colis : voie routière, ferroviaire, aérienne ou maritime.

Haut de la page

Q9. Où puis-je obtenir davantage de renseignements?

R9. :Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez lire la fiche d’information de la CCSN, Réglementation de l’emballage et du transport des substances nucléaires au Canada, ou communiquer avec la CCSN.

Vous pouvez consulter des renseignements supplémentaires concernant la Loi sur le transport des marchandises dangereuses et les règlements connexes sur le site web de Transport Canada.

Pour communiquer avec Transports Canada : tc.gc.ca/fra/contactez-nous.htm.