Videos

The CNSC offers a range of videos to explain different elements of the fields we regulate.

Visit the CNSC's YouTube Channel. Check out the CNSC videos explaining the nuclear sector in Canada, and how it remains safe through our regulations. You can explore our "Ask an Expert" video playlists, or catch up on past Commission hearings and meeting presentations.

CNSC 15th Anniversary

CNSC 15th Anniversary

In November 2015, Mr. Yukiya Amano, Director General of the International Atomic Energy Agency, extended his congratulations to the CNSC for its 15th anniversary through this video. The CNSC was established in 2000 under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act to replace the Atomic Energy Control Board, which was Canada’s nuclear regulator for more than 50 years.

How the CNSC Regulates

How the CNSC regulates

This video explains how the CNSC regulates Canada’s nuclear industry.

Positive Void Coefficient of Reactivity and CANDUs

The void coefficient of reactivity

The void coefficient of reactivity ─ not exactly your dinner table discussion topic, and chances are you’ve never heard of it. What’s important to know is that it is a well-known characteristic that is understood by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission. A CNSC expert explains.

The CNSC's Hearing Process

The CNSC's Hearing Process

Want to know more about the CNSC's hearing process? This video explains how Commission hearing's work, how members of the public can get involved and more.

Participant Funding Program

Participant Funding Program

Interested in finding out more about the CNSC’s Participant Funding Program (PFP)? The CNSC just launched a video that explains how we provide financial assistance through our PFP program to help get the public involved in our regulatory activities. Find out how the PFP works, who can apply, what are eligible expenses, and more.

Independent Environmental Monitoring Program

Independent Environmental Monitoring Program

The CNSC launched its Independent Environmental Monitoring Program to verify that public health and the environment around licensed nuclear facilities are safe.  Find out how it works.

Nuclear in your neighbourhood

Nuclear in your neighbourhood

Discover how the CNSC makes sure that nuclear activities, and the facilities where they take place, are safe for Canadians and the environment.

Nuclear power plant refurbishment

Nuclear power plant refurbishment

This video presents an overview of CNSC's role in regulating the refurbishment of nuclear power plants in Canada.

Radiation and Health

Radiation and Health

The CNSC continues to explain radiation in simpler terms. The Radiation and Health video takes you beyond the tiny world of the atom to explore sources of radiation, the concept of dose, and how radiation affects the body and health.

Industrial uses of nuclear technologies

The CNSC has developed a new educational video explaining how nuclear technology is used safely in industrial applications. The video is part of the suite of CNSC educational resources designed for Canadian students.

Fukushima-related health questions

Post-Fukushima Improvements to Nuclear Power Plants

Ask an Expert video series — This video explains some of the improvements made to nuclear power plants in Canada in response to the lessons learned from the Fukushima accident.

Impact of Fukushima on Canada's Nuclear Regulation

Ask an Expert video series — This video explains some of the enhancements made to Canada's nuclear regulatory framework in order to integrate the lessons learned from the Fukushima accident.

Medical uses of nuclear technologies

The CNSC has developed a new educational video explaining how nuclear technology is used safely in medical applications. The video is part of the suite of CNSC educational resources designed for Canadian students.

What is Radiation?

The CNSC has produced a new video designed to demystify radiation – we answer the question What Is Radiation? The video features CNSC experts explaining the basics of radiation in simple terms – what it is, the different types, radioisotopes, and radioactive decay.

Nuclear in Canada

The CNSC has created a new educational video explaining how nuclear energy and materials are used safely in Canada, and the role of the CNSC as regulator. The video is part of the suite of CNSC educational resources designed for Canadian students.




Presentations

Ramzi Jammal presents at the 59th IAEA General Conference

On September 17, 2015, CNSC Executive Vice-President and Chief Regulatory Operations Officer Ramzi Jammal spoke at the 59th International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) General Conference in Vienna, Austria. The CNSC was a contributor to the IAEA Director General's report, The Fukushima Daiichi Accident and its five technical volumes, released on August 31, 2015. As co-chair of the working group for Technical Volume 1/5, Description and Context of the Accident, Mr. Jammal spoke about key events that happened before, during and after the accident. 

Ramzi Jammal presents at the 27th Annual Regulatory Information Conference

On March 11, 2015, Ramzi Jammal, CNSC Executive Vice-President and Chief Regulatory Operations Officer, spoke at the 27th Annual Regulatory Information Conference held in Bethesda, Maryland, USA. The presentation focused on lessons learned from the Fukushima Daiichi accident – the Canadian experience.

Vidéos

La CCSN offre une vaste gamme de vidéos pour expliquer différents éléments des domaines qu'elle réglemente.

Visitez la chaîne YouTube de la CCSN. Vous y trouverez des vidéos sur le secteur nucléaire canadien et les mesures prises par la CCSN pour en assurer la sûreté. Vous pouvez consulter la liste de lecture « Un expert vous répond » ou visionner les faits saillants des audiences et des réunions de la Commission.

15e anniversaire de la CCSN

15e anniversaire de la CCSN

En novembre 2015, M. Yukiya Amano, directeur général de l’Agence internationale de l’énergie atomique, a félicité la CCSN pour son 15e anniversaire dans cette vidéo. La CCSN a été établie en 2000 en vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires pour remplacer la Commission de contrôle de l’énergie atomique, ancien organisme de réglementation nucléaire du Canada pendant plus de 50 ans (en anglais seulement).

Comment la CCSN réglemente le nucléaire

Comment la CCSN réglemente le nucléaire

Cette vidéo décrit comment la CCSN réglemente le secteur nucléaire du Canada.

Le coefficient de vide positif et les réacteurs CANDU

Le coefficient de vide positif et les réacteurs CANDU

Le coefficient de vide positif : un sujet dont on ne parle pas souvent et qui est sans doute du charabia pour vous. Ce qu’il faut retenir, c’est que ce sujet technique est très bien compris à la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire. Un expert de la CCSN vous explique.

Nouvelle vidéo sur le processus d'audience de la CCSN

Nouvelle vidéo sur le processus d'audience de la CCSN

Vous voulez en savoir plus sur le processus d'audience de la CCSN? Regardez cette vidéo qui explique le déroulement d'une audience de la Commission, la façon dont le public peut participer, et plus encore.

Programme de financement des participants

Programme de financement des participants

Pour ceux qui aimeraient en savoir plus sur le Programme de financement des participants (PFP), la CCSN vient de lancer une vidéo expliquant comment nous fournissons de l’aide financière grâce au PFP afin d’inciter le public à participer à nos activités réglementaires. Découvrez comment fonctionne le PFP, qui peut présenter une demande, quelles demandes sont admissibles, etc.

Programme indépendant de surveillance environnementale

Programme indépendant de surveillance environnementale

La CCSN a lancé son Programme indépendant de surveillance environnementale pour vérifier qu'il n'y a pas d'impacts sur la santé du public et l'environnement à proximité des installations nucléaires autorisées. Découvrez comment ça fonctionne.

Le nucléaire dans votre voisinage

La nucléaire dans votre voisinage

Découvrez comment la CCSN veille à ce que les activités nucléaires et les installations où elles sont effectuées soient sécuritaires pour les Canadiens et l’environnement.

La réfection d'une centrale nucléaire

Cette vidéo présente un survol du rôle de la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire en ce qui a trait à la réfection des centrales nucléaires au Canada.

Le rayonnement et la santé

La CCSN continue à expliquer le rayonnement en termes simples. La vidéo Le rayonnement et la santé vous fait voyager au-delà du monde minuscule de l’atome pour découvrir les sources de rayonnement, le concept de dose et les effets du rayonnement sur le corps et la santé.

Utilisations industrielles des technologies nucléaires

La CCSN a préparé une vidéo éducative pour expliquer comment la technologie nucléaire est utilisée en toute sûreté à des fins industrielles. Cette vidéo fait partie d'une série de ressources éducatives de la CCSN conçues pour les étudiants canadiens.

Questions de santé liées à l'accident de Fukushima

Améliorations aux centrales nucléaires après Fukushima

Vidéo de la série Un expert vous répond — Cette vidéo décrit certaines améliorations qui ont été apportées aux centrales nucléaires du Canada pour donner suite aux leçons retenues de l'accident de Fukushima.

Impacts de l'accident de Fukushima sur la réglementation nucléaire au Canada

Vidéo de la série Un expert vous répond — Cette vidéo décrit certaines améliorations qui ont été apportées au cadre de réglementation nucléaire du Canada pour tenir compte des leçons retenues de l'accident de Fukushima.

Utilisations médicales des technologies nucléaires

La CCSN a préparé une vidéo éducative pour expliquer comment la technologie nucléaire est utilisée en toute sûreté à des fins médicales. Cette vidéo fait partie d'une série de ressources éducatives de la CCSN conçues pour les étudiants canadiens.

Qu'est-ce que le rayonnement?

La CCSN a préparé une nouvelle vidéo visant à démystifier le rayonnement. Des experts y expliquent les fondements du rayonnement en termes simples : qu'est-ce que c'est, les différents types de rayonnement, les radio-isotopes et la désintégration radioactive. N'attendez plus et venez voir comment ils se servent de jujubes pour illustrer le concept de demi-vie!

Le nucléaire au Canada

La CCSN a réalisé une nouvelle vidéo éducative, qui explique comment l'énergie et les matières nucléaires sont utilisées de façon sûre au Canada et qui présente le rôle de la CCSN comme organisme de réglementation. La vidéo fait partie d'une série de ressources pédagogiques de la CCSN conçues à l'intention des élèves canadiens.




Présentations

Ramzi Jammal donne une présentation à la 59e Conférence générale de l'AIEA

Le 17 septembre 2015, Ramzi Jammal, premier vice-président et chef de la réglementation des opérations de la CCSN, a donné une présentation à la 59e Conférence générale de l'Agence internationale de l'énergie atomique (AIEA) à Vienne (Autriche). La CCSN a contribué à l'élaboration du Rapport du Directeur général de l'AIEA, intitulé L'accident de Fukushima Daiichi et à ses cinq volumes techniques publiés le 31 août 2015. À titre de coprésident du groupe de travail chargé du volume technique 1 sur la description et le contexte de l'accident, M. Jammal a parlé des événements principaux qui se sont déroulés avant, pendant et après l'accident.

Ramzi Jammal donne une présentation à la 27e Conférence annuelle sur l’information de réglementation

Le 11 mars 2015, Ramzi Jammal, premier vice-président et chef de la réglementation des opérations, a pris la parole lors de la 27e Conférence annuelle sur l’information de réglementation, à Bethesda, Maryland (États-Unis). La présentation a porté sur les leçons retenues de l’accident de Fukushima Daiichi et de l’expérience canadienne.