Status of Canadian cyber security regulatory framework and implementation at nuclear facilities

Abstract of the technical paper presented at:  
2017 International Symposium on Future I&C for Nuclear Power Plants (ISOFIC), Gyeongju, South Korea
November 26–30, 2017

Prepared by:
Chul Hwan Jung
Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission

Abstract:

Cyber security has been an emerging issue for key stakeholders of nuclear power plants (NPPs), including design authorities, operating utilities and regulatory bodies for the continued safe and secure operation of NPPs and other nuclear facilities.

The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) is the nuclear regulatory authority with sole responsibility for the oversight of cyber security in the Canadian nuclear industry. The CNSC developed cyber security regulatory requirements for the design of NPPs in 2014. These requirements are provided in CNSC REGDOC-2.5.2. Additionally, in 2015, CSA Group issued CSA Standard N290.7-14 "Cyber security for nuclear power plants and small reactor facilities". The CNSC has referred to this standard in its regulation of cyber security for operating NPPs and small reactor facilities

This presentation provides the overall status of the Canadian regulatory framework for cyber security, the status of licensees' implementation efforts for compliance with N290.7-14, and the roadmap development activities by the CNSC for cyber security at non-NPP facilities.

To obtain a copy of the abstract's document, please contact us at cnsc.info.ccsn@canada.ca or call 613-995-5894 or 1-800-668-5284 (in Canada). When contacting us, please provide the title and date of the abstract.

Date modified:

État du cadre de réglementation canadien sur la cybersécurité et sa mise en œuvre aux installations nucléaires

Résumé présentation technique donnée lors du :
Symposium international 2017 sur les futurs I&C pour les centrales nucléaires (ISOFIC), Gyeongju, Corée du Sud
Du 26 au 30 novembre 2017

Auteur : Chul Hwan Jung
Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire

Résumé :

La cybersécurité est un nouvel enjeu pour les principales parties intéressées des centrales nucléaires, y compris les responsables de la conception, les services publics chargés de l'exploitation et les organismes de réglementation, en vue d'assurer l'exploitation sûre et sécuritaire des centrales nucléaires et des autres installations nucléaires.

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) est l'organisme de réglementation qui a l'entière responsabilité de surveiller la cybersécurité dans l'industrie nucléaire canadienne. La CCSN a élaboré des exigences réglementaires relatives à la cybersécurité pour la conception des centrales nucléaires en 2014. Ces exigences se trouvent dans le document de la CCSN REGDOC-2.5.2. De plus, en 2015, l'Association canadienne de normalisation (Groupe CSA) a publié la norme CSA N290.7-F14, Cybersécurité pour les centrales nucléaires et les installations dotées de petits réacteurs. La CCSN a cité cette norme en référence dans son règlement sur la cybersécurité pour les centrales nucléaires en exploitation et les installations dotées de petits réacteurs.

Cet exposé présente une vue d'ensemble de l'état du cadre de réglementation canadien sur la cybersécurité et des efforts de mise en œuvre par les titulaires de permis en vue d'assurer la conformité à la norme N290.7-F14, et discute également du plan des activités de mise en place de la cybersécurité aux installations non dotées de réacteurs nucléaires.

Pour obtenir une copie du document du résumé, veuillez communiquer avec nous à ccsn.info.ccsn@canada.ca ou en composant le 613-995-5894 ou le 1-800.668-5284 (au Canada). Veuillez nous indiquer le titre et la date du résumé.

Dernière mise à jour :