Canadian inter-laboratory organically bound tritium (OBT) analysis exercise

Published in: The Journal of Environmental Radioactivity – August, 2015

Authors: S.B. Kim, J. Olfert, N. Baglan, N. St-Amant, B. Carter, I. Clark, C. Bucur
Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC)

Abstract

Tritium is a radioactive form of hydrogen that occurs both naturally – from interactions of cosmic rays with gases in the upper atmosphere – and as a by-product of the operation of nuclear reactors and tritium processing facilities. The measurement of tritium in the form of tritiated water is well established. However, there is no established standard method for measuring organically bound tritium (OBT) in environmental samples.

A number of members of the CANDU (Canada Deuterium Uranium) Owners Group and international partners participated in a comparative exercise to measure OBT in three different environmental samples: fish, Swiss chard and potatoes.  This study describes the results of the inter-laboratory comparison exercise. Although different laboratories used their own analytical methods in the absence of an established standard OBT method, the study showed that the results of OBT inter-comparison samples were consistent among the different laboratories. The participating laboratories are furthering this work to establish a standard analytical method to measure OBT, and to participate in future inter-comparison exercises using low tritium activity level samples.

The CNSC measures organically bound tritium as part of its environmental monitoring around nuclear facilities to ensure that people and the environment are protected.

To obtain a copy of the abstract’s document, please contact us at cnsc.info.ccsn@cnsc-ccsn.gc.ca or call 613.995.5894 or 1.800.668.5284 (in Canada). When contacting us, please provide the title and date of the abstract.

Date modified:

Canadian inter-laboratory organically bound tritium (OBT) analysis exercise (en anglais seulement)

Résumé de l’article publié dans le Journal of Environmental Radioactivity –  août 2015

Auteurs :
S.B. Kim, J. Olfert, N. Baglan, N. St-Amant, B. Carter, I. Clark, C. Bucur
Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN)

Résumé

Le tritium est une forme radioactive de l’hydrogène qui existe à la fois à l’état naturel – comme produit de l’interaction des rayons cosmiques avec les gaz de la haute atmosphère – et comme sous-produit des réacteurs nucléaires en exploitation et des installations de traitement du tritium. La mesure du tritium sous forme d’eau tritiée est bien établie. Cependant, il n’existe aucune méthode standard pour mesurer le tritium lié à des composés organiques (TLCO) dans des échantillons prélevés dans l’environnement.

Plusieurs membres du Groupe des propriétaires de CANDU et des partenaires internationaux ont participé à un exercice comparatif pour mesurer le TLCO à partir de trois échantillons environnementaux différents : poissons, bettes à cardes et pommes de terre.  La présente étude décrit les résultats de l’exercice comparatif. Même si les différents laboratoires utilisaient leurs propres méthodes d’analyse (en l’absence d’une méthode standard de mesure du TLCO), l’étude a permis de démontrer une uniformité des résultats. Les laboratoires participants poursuivront leurs travaux pour établir une méthode d’analyse standard de mesure du TLCO et participeront à d’autres exercices comparatifs à l’aide d’échantillons à faible activité de tritium.

La CCSN mesure le TLCO dans le cadre de ses activités de surveillance de l’environnement afin de vérifier que les personnes et l’environnement à proximité d’installations nucléaires sont protégés.

Pour obtenir une copie du document correspondant au résumé, veuillez communiquer avec nous à info@cnsc-ccsn.gc.ca ou en composant le 613.995.5894 ou le 1.800.668.5284 (au Canada). Veuillez fournir le titre et la date du résumé.

Dernière mise à jour :