Radiation doses

What is a radiation dose?

Dose from background radiation

Dose from artificial sources of radiation

Radiation dose examples

How radiation dose limits are set

What is a radiation dose?

When ionizing radiation penetrates the human body or an object, it deposits energy. The energy absorbed from exposure to radiation is called a dose. Radiation dose quantities are described in three ways: absorbed, equivalent, and effective.

Dose Quantaties

Dose Quantaties

Dose Quantaties: Absorbed dose, energy deposited in a kilogram of a substance by radiation. Equivalent dose, absorbed dose weighted for the degree of the effect of different radiations (radiation weighting factor wr). Effective dose, equivalent dose weighted for susceptibility to effect of different tissues (tissue weighting factor wt).

Absorbed dose

The amount of energy deposited in a substance (e.g., human tissue), is called the absorbed dose. The absorbed dose is measured in a unit called the gray (Gy). A dose of one gray is equivalent to a unit of energy (joule) deposited in a kilogram of a substance.

Equivalent dose

When radiation is absorbed in living matter, a biological effect may be observed. However, equal absorbed doses will not necessarily produce equal biological effects. The effect depends on the type of radiation (e.g., alpha, beta, gamma, etc) and the tissue or organ receiving the radiation. For example, 1 Gy of alpha radiation is more harmful to tissue than 1 Gy of beta radiation.

A radiation weighting factor (wR) is used to equate different types of radiation with different biological effectiveness. This weighted absorbed quantity is called the equivalent dose and is expressed in a measure called the sievert (Sv). This means that 1 Sv of alpha radiation will have the same biological effect as 1 Sv of beta radiation.

Because doses to workers and the public are so low, most reporting and dose measurements use the terms millisievert (mSv) and microsievert (μSv) which are 1/1000 and 1/1000000 of a sievert respectively. These smaller units of the sievert are more convenient to use in occupational and public settings.

To obtain the equivalent dose, the absorbed dose is multiplied by a specified radiation weighting factor (wR). The equivalent dose provides a single unit which accounts for the degree of harm of different types of radiation.

Top of page

Effective dose

Tissue/Organ sensitivity

Tissue/Organ sensitivity

Tissue/Organ sensitivity. Tissue weighting factor wt. Gonads, 0.2. Bone marrow, 0.12. Colon, 0.12. Lung, 0.12. Stomach, 0.12. Bladder, 0.05. breast, 0.05. Liver, 0.05. Oesophagus, 0.05. Thyroid, 0.05. Skin, 0.01. Bone surface, 0.01.

Different tissues and organs have different radiation sensitivities. For example, bone marrow is much more radiosensitive than muscle or nerve tissue. To obtain an indication of how exposure can affect overall health, the equivalent dose can be multiplied by a factor related to the risk for a particular tissue or organ. This multiplication provides the effective dose absorbed by the body. The unit used for effective dose is also the sievert.

Source: CNSC Radiation Protection Regulations

As a simple example, if someone's stomach and bladder are exposed separately to radiation, and the equivalent doses to the tissues are 100 and 70 mSv respectively, the effective dose is: (100 mSv x 0.12) + (70 x 0.05) = 15.5 mSv. The risk of harmful effects from this radiation is equal to 15.5 mSv received uniformly through the whole body.

Top of page

Dose from background radiation

Radiation has always been present all around us. In fact, life has evolved in a world containing significant levels of ionizing radiation. It comes from space, the ground, and even within our bodies. The doses due to natural background radiation vary depending on location and habits.

Dose from cosmic radiation

Regions at higher altitudes receive more cosmic radiation. According to a recent study by Health Canada, the annual effective dose of radiation from cosmic rays in Vancouver, British Columbia, which is at sea level, is about 0.30 mSv. This compares to the top of Mount Lorne, Yukon, where at 2000 m, a person would receive an annual dose of about 0.84 mSv. Air travel also increases exposure to more cosmic radiation, for a further average dose of 0.01 mSv per Canadian per year.

Dose from terrestrial radiation

There are also natural sources of radiation in the ground. For example, some regions receive more terrestrial radiation from soils that are enriched with uranium. The average effective dose from the radiation emitted from the soil (and the construction materials that come from the ground) is approximately 0.5 mSv a year. However, the dose varies depending on location and geology, with doses reaching as high as 260 mSv in Northern Iran or 90 mSv in Nigeria. In Canada, the estimated highest annual dose is approximately 2.3 mSv measured in the Northwest Territories.

Dose from inhalation

The earth's crust also contributes to our levels of exposure. Radon gas, which is produced by the earth, is present in the air we breathe. There are four decay products of radon with very short half-lives that will irradiate the lungs if inhaled. Radon gas naturally disperses as it enters the atmosphere from the ground. However, when radon gas enters a building (through the floor from the ground), the concentration tends to build up. The worldwide average annual effective dose of radon radiation is approximately 1.2 mSv.

Dose from ingestion

Finally, there are a number of sources of natural radiation that penetrate our bodies through the food we eat, the air we breathe and the water we drink. Potassium-40 is the main source of internal irradiation (aside from radon decay). The average effective dose from these sources is approximately 0.3 mSv a year.

Top of page

Sources and Average Effective Dose from Natural Background Radiation in Selected Canadian Cities
Canadian City Total (mSv/y) Cosmic radiation (mSv/y) Terrestrial background (mSv/y) Annual inhalation dose (mSv/y) Radionuclides in the body (mSv/y)

CANADA

1.8

0.3

0.2

0.9

0.3

Whitehorse

1.9

0.5

0.2

0.9

0.3

Yellowknife

3.1

0.4

1.4

0.9

0.3

Victoria

1.8

0.5

0.1

0.9

0.3

Vancouver

1.3

0.5

0.1

0.4

0.3

Edmonton

2.4

0.5

0.3

1.3

0.3

Regina

3.5

0.4

0.3

2.4

0.3

Winnipeg

4.1

0.4

0.2

3.2

0.3

Toronto

1.6

0.4

0.2

0.8

0.3

Ottawa

1.8

0.4

0.2

0.9

0.3

Iqualuit

1.9

0.5

0.2

0.9

0.3

Québec City

1.6

0.4

0.2

0.7

0.3

Montreal

1.6

0.4

0.3

0.7

0.3

Fredericton

1.8

0.3

0.3

0.9

0.3

Halifax

2.5

0.3

0.3

1.5

0.3

Charlottetown

1.8

0.3

0.2

0.9

0.3

St-John's

1.6

0.4

0.2

0.7

0.3

Sources: Gratsky et al., 2004, UNSCEAR 2008, Geological Survey of Canada

Worldwide dose levels from natural background radiation

The total worldwide average effective dose from natural radiation is approximately 2.4 mSv a year. However, doses can vary greatly. The following figure shows how Canadian cities and the Canadian average dose compare to other parts of the world.

Average annual effective dose from natural sources

Average annual effective dose from natural sources

Average annual effective dose from natural sources. Kerala Coast, India, 12.50 msv. Yanjiang, China, 6.30 msv. U.S. average, 3 msv. Halifax, 2.50 msv. Worldwide average, 2.40 msv. edmonton, 2.40 msv. Canadian average, 1.77 msv. Montreal, 1.62 msv. Toronto, 1.59 msv. Vancouver, 1.25 msv.

Sources: Gratsky et al. 2004, UNSCEAR 2008, NCRP 160 2009

Dose from artificial sources of radiation

Artificial sources of radiation (commercial and industrial activities) account for approximately 0.6 mSv of our annual radiation exposure. X-rays and other diagnostic and therapeutic medical procedures account for approximately 1.2 mSv a year (UNSCEAR 2000). Consumer products like tobacco and smoke detectors account for another 0.1 mSv of our exposure to radiation each year.

In all, natural radiation accounts for approximately 60% of our annual dose. Medical procedures account for roughly 40% of our annual radiation.

There is no difference between the effects caused by natural or man-made radiation.

Typical organ doses from various radiological examinations
Study Type Relevant Organ Dose (mSv)
Dental x-ray Brain 0.011
Chest x-ray Lung 0.11
Screening mammography Breast 32
Adult abdominal CT Stomach 102
Neonatal abdominal CT Stomach 202

1 Ionizing Radiation Exposure of the Population of the United States", NCRP Report No. 160, 2009
2 Brenner and Hall (2007)

Radiation Dose Examples

Top of page

Dose limits

The Canadian Radiation Protection Regulations set limits on the amount of radiation the public and nuclear energy workers may receive.

In Canada, the effective dose limits for the public is 1 mSv in one calendar year. Regular reporting and monitoring demonstrates the average annual effective doses to the public from activities licensed by the CNSC range from 0.001 to 0.1 mSv per year.

Facility Maximum annual dose to members of the public as a result of airborne and waterborne emissions, by year (millisieverts, mSv)
2004 2005 2006 2007 2008
Nuclear Generating Stations
Point Lepreau 0.0005 0.0005 0.0006 0.0007 0.0018
Gentilly-2 0.0040 0.0056 0.0057 0.0009 0.0006
Darlington 0.0011 0.0008 0.0011 0.0014 0.0013
Pickering 0.0057 0.0061 0.0028 0.0026 0.0041
Bruce 0.0016 0.0020 0.0025 0.0021 0.0027
CNL Chalk River Laboratories 0.1200 0.0980 0.0990 0.0726 0.1350

Data taken from licensees' environmental monitoring data reports, as submitted to the CNSC.

The effective dose limits for a nuclear energy worker is set at 50 mSv in any one year and 100 mSv in five consecutive years. The dose limit for pregnant workers is 4 mSv from the time the pregnancy is declared to the end of the term. In addition, licensees must ensure that all doses are as low as reasonably achievable, social and economic factors being taken into account ( ALARA). Regular reporting and monitoring demonstrate the average annual doses to the most exposed workers (e.g., industrial radiographer) are approximately 5 mSv per year.

Top of page

How radiation dose limits are set

Canadian regulations follow the recommendations of the International Commission on Radiological Protection, which comprises some of the world's leading scientists and other professionals in the field of radiation protection, and also uses many of the standards and guides of the International Atomic Energy Agency.

In Canada, the regulations, standards and practices to protect people and workers from radiation that are not regulated by the CNSC are implemented by Health Canada, Human Resources and Skills Development Canada, the Department of National Defence, and provincial/territorial governments.

In addition, the Federal-Provincial-Territorial Radiation Protection Committee (FPtrPC) develops guidelines with respect to ionizing and non-ionizing radiation and works to harmonize radiation protection regulations across Canada. Co-chaired by the CNSC, Health Canada and the provinces, the FPtrPC provides a national forum on radiation protection issues.

Top of page

Related Information

Other Web Sites

Doses de rayonnement

Qu'est-ce qu'une dose de rayonnement?

Dose attribuable au rayonnement de fond

Dose attribuable aux sources artificielles de rayonnement

Exemples de doses de rayonnement

Comment les limites de dose sont-elles fixées?

Qu'est-ce qu'une dose de rayonnement?

Lorsque le rayonnement ionisant pénètre dans le corps humain ou dans la matière, il leur communique de l'énergie. L'énergie absorbée par suite de l'exposition au rayonnement porte le nom de dose. Pour les besoins de la radioprotection, différentes grandeurs de dose ont été définies : dose absorbée, dose équivalente et dose efficace.

Grandeurs de dose

Grandeurs de dose

Grandeurs de dose: Dose absorbée, l'énergie déposée dans un kilogramme d'une substance par rayonnement. Dose équivalente, la dose absorbée pondérée pour le degré de l'effet de différents rayonnements (rayonnement facteur de pondération wr). La dose efficace, dose équivalente pondérée par la sensibilité de l'effet de différents tissus (pondération de facteur tissulaire pds).

Dose absorbée

La dose absorbée correspond à la quantité d'énergie moyenne déposée dans la matière (p. ex. un tissu humain). L'unité de dose absorbée est le Gray (Gy). Un Gray correspond à une énergie déposée d'un joule dans un kilogramme de matière.

Dose équivalente

Lorsque le rayonnement est absorbé par une matière vivante, on peut parfois observer un effet biologique. Tous les rayonnements ne produisent pas le même effet biologique pour une même dose absorbée : à dose absorbée égale, certains sont plus néfastes que d'autres. L'effet dépend du type de rayonnement (alpha, bêta, gamma, etc.) et du tissu ou de l'organe touché. Ainsi, 1 Gy de rayonnement alpha est plus nocif pour les tissus humains que 1 Gy de rayonnement bêta.

Pour exprimer cet effet, on utilise alors un facteur de pondération radiologique (wR) pour mettre en équivalence les différents types de rayonnement et leur efficacité biologique respective. Cette grandeur absorbée pondérée porte le nom de dose équivalente et elle est exprimée en sievert (Sv). Autrement dit, 1 Sv de rayonnement alpha possède les mêmes effets biologiques que 1 Sv de rayonnement bêta.

Puisque les doses auxquelles sont exposés les travailleurs et le public sont très faibles, la plupart des rapports et des mesures utilisent des multiples du sievert, le millisievert (mSv) et le microsievert (μSv), qui correspondent respectivement à un millième et un millionième de sievert. Ces multiples du sievert sont plus pratiques à utiliser pour les mesures effectuées sur les lieux de travail et dans les lieux publics.

Pour obtenir la dose équivalente, la dose absorbée est multipliée par un facteur de pondération radiologique spécifique (wR). La dose équivalente permet d'obtenir une unité qui rend compte du degré de nocivité de différents types de rayonnement.

Haut de la page

Dose efficace

Sensibilité des tissues et organes

Sensibilité des tissues et organes

Sensibilité des tissus / organes. Pondération tissulaire facteur poids. Gonades, 0,2. La moelle osseuse, 0,12. Colon, 0,12. Poumon, 0,12. Estomac, 0,12. La vessie, 0,05. sein, 0,05. Foie, 0,05. Œsophage, 0,05. De la thyroïde, de 0,05. Peau, 0,01. Surface de l'os, 0,01.

Les différents tissus et organes présentent une sensibilité différente au rayonnement. Par exemple, la moelle osseuse est beaucoup plus radiosensible que les tissus musculaires ou nerveux. Pour obtenir une indication de l'effet de l'exposition sur la santé générale, la dose équivalente peut être multipliée par un facteur lié au risque pour un tissu ou organe particulier. Cette multiplication donne la dose efficace absorbée par le corps. L'unité utilisée pour exprimer la dose efficace est également le sievert.

Source: Règlement sur la radioprotection, CCSN

À titre d'exemple, si l'estomac et la vessie d'un sujet sont exposés séparément au rayonnement et que les doses équivalentes aux tissus soient respectivement de 100 et 70 mSv, la dose efficace sera calculée comme suit : (100 mSv x 0,12) + (70 mSv x 0,05) = 15,5 mSv. Le risque d'effets nocifs liés à l'exposition au rayonnement équivaut à 15,5 mSv reçus de façon homogène par le corps entier.

Haut de la page

Doses attribuables au rayonnement de fond

Le rayonnement a toujours été présent autour de nous. En fait, nous sommes entourés d'un bain de rayonnement ionisant, provenant à la fois de l'espace (rayonnement cosmique), de la Terre (rayonnement tellurique) et même de notre propre corps. Les doses attribuables aux sources de rayonnement naturelles varient selon l'emplacement géographique et les habitudes de vie.

Dose attribuable au rayonnement cosmique

Les régions de haute altitude reçoivent plus de rayonnement cosmique. Selon une étude récente de Santé Canada, la dose efficace annuelle provenant du rayonnement cosmique reçue par les habitants de Vancouver, en Colombie-Britannique, qui est située au niveau de la mer, est de l'ordre de 0,30 mSv. Par contre, une personne qui vivrait au sommet du mont Lorne, au Yukon, à une altitude de 2 000 m, recevrait une dose annuelle d'environ 0,84 mSv. Les voyages aériens augmentent également l'exposition au rayonnement cosmique de 0,01 mSv par Canadien par an.

Dose attribuable au rayonnement terrestre

L'exposition naturelle provient également du rayonnement tellurique émis par les roches. Ainsi, les régions dont les sols sont riches en uranium reçoivent plus de rayonnement émis par les sols. La dose efficace moyenne de rayonnement émis par les sols (et les matériaux de construction provenant de ces sols) est de l'ordre de 0,5 mSv par an. Toutefois, cette dose varie selon l'emplacement géographique et la géologie, et peut atteindre 260 mSv dans le Nord de l'Iran ou 90 mSv au Nigéria. Au Canada, la dose annuelle la plus élevée serait, selon les estimations, de l'ordre de 2,3 mSv et concerne les Territoires du Nord-Ouest.

Dose par inhalation

La croûte terrestre contribue également aux niveaux d'exposition auxquels nous sommes soumis. Le radon, provenant de la terre et du sous-sol, est présent dans l'air que nous respirons. Il existe quatre produits de désintégration (ou de filiation) du radon dont la période radioactive est très courte et qui peuvent irradier les poumons en cas d'inhalation. Le radon se disperse naturellement lorsqu'il pénètre dans l'atmosphère depuis les sols. La concentration de radon dans l'air extérieur est faible. Toutefois, lorsque le radon pénètre dans les habitations (par le sous-sol depuis la terre), sa concentration tend à augmenter et à s'accumuler. Les personnes qui vivent dans des maisons ou bâtiments dont les sous-sols sont bien hermétiques et où la circulation d'air est adéquate sont généralement moins affectées par le radon. Au niveau mondial, la dose efficace annuelle moyenne de rayonnement provenant du radon est de l'ordre de 1,2 mSv.

Dose par ingestion

Enfin, il existe plusieurs sources de rayonnement naturelles qui pénètrent dans nos organismes, que ce soit par les aliments que nous ingérons, l'air que nous respirons et l'eau que nous buvons. Le potassium 40 est la principale source d'irradiation interne (exception faite des produits de filiation du radon). La dose efficace moyenne provenant de ces sources est de 0,3 mSv par an.

Haut de la page

Sources et dose efficace moyenne de rayonnement naturel dans certaines villes canadiennes
Ville canadienne Total (mSv/a) Rayonnement cosmique (mSv/a) Rayonnement naturel de sources terrestres (mSv/a) Dose annuelle par inhalation (mSv/a) Radionucléides dans le corps (mSv/a)
CANADA 1,8 0,3 0,2 0,9 0,3
Whitehorse 1,9 0,5 0,2 0,9 0,3
Yellowknife 3,1 0,4 1,4 0,9 0,3
Victoria 1,8 0,5 0,1 0,9 0,3
Vancouver 1,3 0,5 0,1 0,4 0,3
Edmonton 2,4 0,5 0,3 1,3 0,3
Regina 3,5 0,4 0,3 2,4 0,3
Winnipeg 4,1 0,4 0,2 3,2 0,3
Toronto 1,6 0,4 0,2 0,8 0,3
Ottawa 1,8 0,4 0,2 0,9 0,3
Iqualuit 1,9 0,5 0,2 0,9 0,3
Québec 1,6 0,4 0,2 0,7 0,3
Montréal 1,6 0,4 0,3 0,7 0,3
Fredericton 1,8 0,3 0,3 0,9 0,3
Halifax 2,5 0,3 0,3 1,5 0,3
Charlottetown 1,8 0,3 0,2 0,9 0,3
St-John's 1,6 0,4 0,2 0,7 0,3

Sources : Gratsky et coll. 2004, UNSCEAR 2008, Commission géologique du Canada

Dose provenant du rayonnement naturel au niveau mondial

Au niveau mondial, la dose efficace moyenne totale provenant du rayonnement naturel est de l'ordre de 2,4 mSv par an. Toutefois, cette dose peut varier considérablement d'une région à l'autre. La figure suivante illustre comment les villes canadiennes et la dose moyenne canadienne se comparent au reste du monde.

Dose efficace annuelle moyenne de sources naturelles

Dose efficace annuelle moyenne de sources naturelles

Dose efficace annuelle moyenne à partir de sources naturelles. Kerala côte, l'Inde, 12,50 mSv. Yanjiang, Chine, 6,30 mSv. Moyenne américaine, 3 mSv. Halifax, 2,50 mSv. Moyenne mondiale, 2,40 mSv. Edmonton, 2,40 mSv. Moyenne canadienne, 1,77 mSv. Montréal, 1,62 mSv. Toronto, 1,59 mSv. Vancouver, 1,25 mSv.

Sources : Gratsky et coll. 2004, UNSCEAR 2008, NCRP 160 2009

Dose attribuables aux sources artificielles de rayonnement

Les sources artificielles de rayonnement (résultant des activités commerciales et industrielles) représentent environ 0,6 mSv de notre exposition annuelle au rayonnement. Les rayons X et autres interventions médicales diagnostiques et thérapeutiques représentent environ 1,2 mSv par an (UNSCEAR, 2000). Les produits de grande consommation comme le tabac et les détecteurs de fumée représentent 0,1 mSv de notre exposition annuelle au rayonnement.

Globalement, le rayonnement naturel représente approximativement 60 % de la dose annuelle à laquelle nous sommes exposés. Les interventions médicales représentent approximativement 40 % de cette dose annuelle.

Il n'y a pas de différence dans les effets causés par le rayonnement naturel ou artificiel.

Doses aux organes typiques selon le type d'examen radiologique
Type d'examen Organe Dose (mSv)
Radiographie dentaire Cerveau 0.011
Radiographie de la poitrine Poumons 0.11
Mammographie de dépistage Seins 32
Tomodensitométrie abdominale (adulte) Estomac 102
Tomodensitométrie abdominale (néonatale) Estomac 202

1 Source : Ionizing Radiation Exposure of the Population of the United States", NCRP Report No. 160, 2009
2 Brenner and Hall (2007)

Examples de doses de rayonnement

Haut de la page

Limites de dose

Au Canada, le Règlement sur la radioprotection de la CCSN fixe les limites de dose (quantité) de rayonnement attribuable aux activités autorisées de la CCSN que peuvent recevoir les membres du public et les travailleurs du secteur nucléaire.

La limite de dose efficace pour le public canadien est de 1 mSv au cours d'une année civile. Les rapports et les contrôles réguliers montrent que les doses efficaces annuelles moyennes auxquelles les membres du public sont exposés dans le cadre des activités réglementées par la CCSN varient entre 0,001 et 0,1 mSv par an.

Installation Dose annuelle maximale pour les membres du public résultant des émissions atmosphériques et aquatiques par année (millisievert, mSv)
2011 2012 2013 2014 2015
Centrales nucléaires
Point Lepreau 0.0003 0.0006 0.0004 0.0003 0.0006
Gentilly-2 0.0015 0.0050 0.0050 0.0040 0.0010
Darlington 0.0006 0.0007 0.0006 0.0006 0.0005
Pickering 0.0009 0.0011 0.0011 0.0012 0.0012
Bruce 0.0015 0.0012 0.0013 0.0020 0.0029
Laboratoires de Chalk River (LNC) 0.059 0.063 0.064 0.060 0.081

Information tirée des données de surveillance environnementale contenues dans les rapports de titulaires de permis, tels que fournis à la CCSN.

La limite de dose efficace pour un travailleur du nucléaire est fixée à 50 mSv par an et à 100 mSv pour une période dosimétrique de cinq ans. La limite de dose pour les femmes enceintes qui travaillent dans le secteur nucléaire est de 4 mSv à partir du moment où la grossesse est déclarée et jusqu'à l'accouchement. Par ailleurs, les titulaires de permis doivent s'assurer que toutes les doses respectent le principe ALARA, c'est-à-dire que les expositions, la probabilité de subir une exposition et la valeur des expositions potentielles sont maintenues aussi bas que raisonnablement possible, compte tenu des facteurs économiques et sociaux. Les rapports et les contrôles réguliers montrent que les doses annuelles moyennes des travailleurs les plus exposés (p. ex. un radiographe industriel) sont de l'ordre de 5 mSv par an.

Haut de la page

Comment les limites de dose sont-elles fixées?

Les règlements canadiens suivent les recommandations de la Commission internationale de protection radiologique (CIPR) qui se compose de scientifiques éminents et de plusieurs grands spécialistes de la radioprotection. Ces règlements s'inspirent aussi de la plupart des normes et recommandations de l'Agence internationale de l'énergie atomique (AIEA).

Au Canada, l'application des règlements, normes et pratiques mis en place pour protéger les membres du public et les travailleurs des sources de rayonnement qui ne sont pas réglementées par la CCSN est du ressort de Santé Canada, de Ressources humaines et Développement des compétences Canada, du ministère de la Défense nationale et des gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux.

Par ailleurs, le Comité de radioprotection fédéral-provincial-territorial (CRFPT) élabore des lignes directrices concernant le rayonnement ionisant et non ionisant et s'emploie à harmoniser les règlements relatifs à la radioprotection au sein des instances fédérales, provinciales et territoriales. Coprésidé par la CCSN, Santé Canada et les provinces, le CRFPT est une tribune nationale pour les questions de radioprotection.

Haut de la page

Renseignements complémentaires

Autres sites Web