Departmental Performance Report 2014-15: Greening Government Operations

Departmental sustainable development strategy

Green procurement

As of April 1, 2014, the Government of Canada will take action to embed environmental considerations into public procurement, in accordance with the federal Policy on Green Procurement.

Scope and context

The CNSC’s Director General (DG) of Finance and Administration (FAD) is mandated to address all aspects of the PWGSC Policy on Green Procurement. The DG of FAD is also co-chair of the CNSC Greening Committee, which supports the CNSC’s efforts in becoming an environmentally responsible organization by promoting green practices, by inspiring employees to change behaviours to reflect good environmental standards and by demonstrating environmental leadership.
The CNSC Greening Program encourages a green organizational culture, where “thinking green” should be part of day-to-day life for employees. As part of the Greening Program, Green Procurement integrates environmental performance considerations into the procurement decision-making process for goods and services as follows:

  • Purchase only what is necessary and re-use as much as possible.
  • Use PWGSC standing offer tools that integrate environmental considerations.
  • Look for environmental certifications (e.g., EcoLogo, Green Seal, ENERGY STAR®, etc.).
  • Use suppliers with environmental consideration attributes such as: minimizing travel, using administrative practices that reduce paper, green equipment used and green service delivery certification, etc.
  • Integrate environmental considerations into requirements and bid solicitations.

Link to department’s program architecture: Internal services

Expected result: Environmentally responsible acquisition, use and disposal of goods and services
Perfomance indicator Performance level achieved
To further the implementation of the Policy on Green Procurement in place as of April 1, 2014, the CNSC ensures that all procurement officers and holders of acquisition cards undergo training in green procurement strategies. 100% of all procurement officers and holders of acquisition cards have either completed the Canada School of Public Service Green Procurement course (C215) or have received in-house strategies outlining green procurement strategies to follow.
Number and percentage of procurement and/or materiel management specialists who completed the Canada School of Public Service Green Procurement course (C215) or equivalent, in fiscal year 2014–15. 100% of the procurement officers have completed course C215.
Number and percentage of managers and functional heads of procurement and materiel whose performance evaluation includes support and contribution toward green procurement in fiscal year 2014–15. 90% of the managers and functional heads of procurement and materiel management have performance evaluation agreements which include support and contribution toward green procurement in fiscal year 2014–15.
Departmental green procurement target 1: Continue with efforts to reduce the number of imaging devices, with a goal of reducing the number of devices by 25% in 2014–15.
Perfomance indicator Performance level achieved
Percentage of reduction in imaging devices achieved during 2014-15 The targeted percentage of imaging devices reduced in 2014–15 was exceeded as the number of fax machines and individual printers was reduced by 85%.
Departmental green procurement target 2: Increase fleet of hybrid vehicles by 10%.
Perfomance indicator Performance level achieved
Percentage increase of hybrid vehicles in the CNSC fleet The target was exceeded as the increase of hybrid vehicles within the fleet during 2014–15 was at 15%.
Departmental green procurement target 3: Include environmental considerations in procurement tools and processes and bidding processes to increase awareness and results.
Perfomance indicator Performance level achieved
Percentage of procurement or materiel management staff who have completed training in Green Procurement

100% of procurement staff have completed their training in Green Procurement, resulting in increased awareness on their part of greening strategies.

There has been training provided to all of the holders of acquisition cards to familiarize them with the principles and best practices of green procurement.

Expected result: Environmentally responsible acquisition, use and disposal of goods and services
Implementation strategy element or best practice Performance level achieved
Leverage common use procurement instruments where available and feasible Achieved
Incorporate environmental considerations into procurement instruments (applies only to Public Works and Government Services Canada) N/A. Applies only to Public Works and Government Services
Best Practice: Train acquisition cardholders on green procurement Achieved. All acquisition cardholders undergo training from the CNSC on green procurement guidelines and practices.
Best Practice: Increase awareness of the Policy on Green Procurement among managers Ongoing. All managers in the Financial Administration Directorate are expected to complete the Green Procurement Course.
Additional best-practice procurement approach with environmental considerations The large majority of the contracts or purchasing orders handled by the CNSC are electronic. Those that are received in paper format are required to be submitted with double-sided use of each page.

Target: sustainable workplace operations

As of April 1, 2015, the Government of Canada will update and adopt policies and practices to improve the sustainability of its workplace operations.

Scope and context

The CNSC default is two-sided printing. Increasingly, the CNSC is moving to an electronic documents environment and decreasing its reliance on paper. Another manner in which the CNSC has demonstrated leadership is having the lights set on timers to be on only during working hours. The lights are then automatically shut off, once normal working hours end, thereby saving energy.

Link to department’s program architecture: Internal services

Expected result: Departmental workplace operations have a reduced environmental impact.
Perfomance indicator Performance level achieved
An approach to maintain or improve the sustainability of the departmental workplace is in place by March 31, 2015. The CNSC continued with its imaging device strategy by reducing the number of hardware fax devices. This was accomplished by centralizing the fax functionality into the fleet of existing multifunctional devices. As a result of this effort, we have reduced our hardware dependency of fax machines by 85% and have removed a large number of individual printers.
Target: sustainable workplace operations
Implementation strategy element or best pactice Performance level achieved
Engage employees in greening government operations practices. Achieved. The Director General of the Finance and Administration Directorate is the CNSC’s champion for sustainable practices. The CNSC has set up a green café at which staff meet regularly to provide new ideas on how to promote greener office practices.
Integrate environmental considerations into corporate policies, processes and practices in accordance with departmental refresh cycles Achieved. As part of its continuous improvement, the CNSC incorporates environmental considerations into its corporate policies, processes and practices during the departmental refresh cycles.
Maintain or improve existing approaches to sustainable workplace practices (i.e., printer ratios, paper usage, and green meetings). Achieved. The reduction in printer ratios from the target set has been greatly exceeded. Rather than travelling, most meetings now take place via webcast. Green practices are consistently taken into account in existing approaches to sustainable workplace practices.
Minimize the ratio of information technology (IT) assets per employee. Achieved
Select and operate IT and office equipment in a manner that reduces energy consumption and material usage. Achieved
Reuse or recycle workplace materiel and assets in an environmentally sound and secure manner. Achieved
Increase the population density in office buildings, and increase space utilization in special purpose buildings. Achieved. The CNSC is moving towards Workplace 2020 in all of the refits in its office buildings.
Maintain or improve sustainable fleet management. Achieved

Target: greening services to clients

By March 31, 2015, departments will establish SMART targets to reduce the environmental impact of their services to clients.

Scope and context

For fleet operations, the CNSC target was: Increase fleet of hybrid vehicles by 10%.

Link to department’s program architecture: Internal services

Expected result: Departmental services to clients have a reduced environmental impact
Perfomance indicator Performance level achieved
Percentage of hybrid vehicles in fleet The CNSC fleet of hybrid vehicles was increased by 15% bringing the total percentage of hybrid vehicles within the CNSC fleet to 35%.

Strategic environmental assessment

During the 2014–15 reporting cycle, the CNSC considered the environmental effects of initiatives subject to the Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan and Program Proposals, as part of its decision-making processes. As the CNSC did not develop any initiatives that required a strategic environmental assessment, no related public statements were produced.

Rapport ministériel sur le rendement 2014-2015 : Écologisation des opérations gouvernementales

Stratégie ministérielle de développement durable

Achats écologiques

À compter du 1er avril 2014, le gouvernement du Canada prendra des mesures pour intégrer les facteurs environnementaux au processus d’approvisionnement public, conformément à la Politique d’achats écologiques du gouvernement fédéral.

Portée et contexte

Le directeur général de la Direction des finances et de l’administration de la CCSN a pour mandat de s’occuper de tous les aspects de la Politique d’achats écologiques de TPSGC. Le directeur général est également coprésident du Comité d’écologisation de la CCSN, qui soutient les efforts déployés par la CCSN pour devenir un organisme écologiquement responsable en encourageant les pratiques écologiques, en donnant envie aux employés de changer de comportement afin de refléter les normes environnementales élevées et en faisant preuve d’initiative pour ce qui touche l’écologisation.

Le Programme d’écologisation de la CCSN fait la promotion d’une culture organisationnelle respectueuse de l’environnement, dans laquelle une « pensée écologique » devrait faire partie des activités quotidiennes des employés. Dans le cadre du Programme d’écologisation, la Politique d’achats écologiques intègre des facteurs de rendement environnemental dans les processus décisionnels relatifs aux achats de biens et de services de la manière suivante :

  • n’achetez que ce qui est essentiel et réutilisez vos achats le plus possible
  • utilisez les outils de gestion des offres permanentes de TPSGC qui intègrent les facteurs environnementaux
  • recherchez les certifications environnementales (p. ex.Éco-Logo, Green Seal, ENERGY STAR®, etc.)
  • utilisez des fournisseurs offrant des caractéristiques environnementales, comme la réduction des déplacements, des pratiques administratives économes en papier, du matériel écologique, une certification de prestation écologique des services, etc.
  • intégrez les facteurs environnementaux dans les exigences et les appels d’offres

Lien à l’architecture d’alignement des programmes : Services internes

Résultat attendu : Acquisition, utilisation et élimination écoresponsables des biens et services
Indicateur de rendement Niveau de rendement atteint
Afin de poursuivre la mise en œuvre de la Politique d’achats écologiques en vigueur depuis le 1er avril 2014, la CCSN s’assure que tous les agents chargés des achats et tous les détenteurs d’une carte d’achat suivent une formation sur les stratégies d’achats écologiques 100 % des agents chargés des achats et des détenteurs d’une carte d’achat ont soit suivi le cours Achats écologiques (C215) de l’École de la fonction publique du Canada, soit une formation interne sur les stratégies d’achat écologique qu’il faut adopter
Nombre et pourcentage de spécialistes de la gestion des achats et du matériel qui ont suivi le cours sur les achats écologiques (C215) de l’École de la fonction publique du Canada ou l’équivalent au cours de l’exercice 2014 2015 100 % des agents chargés des achats ont suivi le cours C215
Nombre et pourcentage de gestionnaires et d’administrateurs fonctionnels responsables des achats et du matériel dont l’évaluation du rendement fait mention du soutien et de la participation aux achats écologiques au cours de l’exercice 2014 2015 90 % des gestionnaires et des administrateurs fonctionnels responsables des achats et du matériel ont des ententes d’évaluation du rendement faisant mention du soutien et de la participation aux achats écologiques au cours de l’exercice 2014 2015
Cible concernant l’approvisionnement écologique 1 : Poursuivre les efforts en vue de diminuer le nombre d’appareils d’imagerie dans le but d’en réduire le nombre de 25 % en 2014 2015
Indicateur de rendement Niveau de rendement atteint
Pourcentage ou diminution des appareils d’imagerie au cours de l’exercice 2014 2015 Le pourcentage de réduction du nombre d’appareils d’imagerie ciblé en 2014 2015 a été dépassé grâce à une réduction de 85 % du nombre de télécopieurs et d’imprimantes individuelles
Cible concernant l’approvisionnement écologique 2 : Accroître le parc de véhicules hybrides de 10 %
Indicateur de rendement Niveau de rendement atteint
Augmentation en pourcentage des véhicules hybrides dans le parc de véhicules de la CCSN La cible a été dépassée puisque le parc de véhicules hybrides a augmenté de 15 % au cours de l’exercice 2014 2015
Cible concernant l’approvisionnement écologique 3 : Inclure les considérations environnementales dans les outils et les méthodes d’approvisionnement ainsi que les processus d’appels d’offres afin de les faire connaître davantage et d’accroître les résultats
Indicateur de rendement Niveau de rendement atteint
Pourcentage du personnel de la gestion des achats ou du matériel qui a suivi la formation sur les achats écologiques

100 % des employés chargés des achats ont suivi la formation sur les achats écologiques, ce qui leur a permis d’avoir une meilleure connaissance des stratégies d’écologisation

Une formation a été offerte à tous les détenteurs d’une carte d’achat afin qu’ils puissent se familiariser avec les principes et les meilleures pratiques en matière d’achat écologique

Résultat attendu : Acquisition, utilisation et élimination écoresponsables des biens et services
Élément de la stratégie de mise en œuvre ou pratique exemplaire Niveau de rendement atteint
Tirer profit des instruments d’achat d’usage courant, lorsqu’ils sont disponibles et que la chose est faisable Atteint
Intégrer des facteurs environnementaux dans les instruments d’achat (s’applique seulement à TPSGC) Sans objet. S’applique uniquement à TPSGC
Pratique exemplaire : Former les détenteurs d’une carte d’achat sur les achats écologiques Atteint. Tous les détenteurs d’une carte d’achat suivent une formation de la CCSN sur les lignes directrices et les pratiques relatives aux achats écologiques
Pratique exemplaire : Accroître la sensibilisation des gestionnaires à la Politique d’achats écologiques En cours. Tous les gestionnaires de la Direction des finances et de l’administration devraient suivre le cours sur les achats écologiques
Autre méthode d’achat exemplaire respectueuse de l’environnement La grande majorité des contrats et des commandes gérés par la CCSN sont sous forme électronique; les contrats et les commandes reçus en format papier doivent être imprimés recto verso

Objectif : Activités écologiques en milieu de travail

À compter du 1er avril 2015, le gouvernement du Canada mettra à jour et adoptera des politiques et des pratiques visant à améliorer l’écologisation de ses activités en milieu de travail.

Portée et contexte

L’impression recto verso est de mise à la CCSN; la CCSN se dirige de plus en plus vers un environnement de documents électroniques et utilise de moins en moins de papier; la CCSN a aussi fait preuve de leadership en faisant en sorte que les systèmes d’éclairage équipés d’une minuterie ne fonctionnent que pendant les heures de travail; les lumières s’éteignent automatiquement après la journée de travail, ce qui permet d’économiser de l’énergie.

Lien avec l’architecture d’alignement des programmes : Services internes

Résultat attendu : Les opérations ministérielles sur le lieu de travail ont un impact réduit sur l’environnement.
Indicateur de rendement Niveau de rendement atteint
Une approche visant à maintenir ou à améliorer la viabilité du milieu de travail de l’organisme est en place d’ici le 31 mars 2015 La CCSN a continué à mettre en œuvre sa stratégie visant les appareils d’imagerie en réduisant le nombre de télécopieurs; elle y est parvenue en mettant à profit ses appareils multifonctionnels pour centraliser les télécopies; grâce à cet effort, nous avons réduit notre dépendance aux télécopieurs de 85 % et avons éliminé un grand nombre d’imprimantes individuelles
Objectif : Activités écologiques en milieu de travail
Élément de la stratégie de mise en œuvre ou pratique exemplaire Niveau de rendement atteint
Faire adopter aux employés des pratiques d’écologisation des opérations gouvernementales Atteint. Le directeur général de la Direction des finances et de l’administration est le champion des pratiques durables; la CCSN a mis en place un « Café vert » ou le personnel se réunit régulièrement pour proposer de nouvelles idées visant à promouvoir des pratiques plus écologiques dans les bureaux
Intégrer des facteurs environnementaux aux politiques, aux processus et aux pratiques internes de l’organisme, conformément aux cycles d’actualisation ministériels Atteint. Dans le cadre de son amélioration continue, la CCSN intègre des facteurs environnementaux dans ses politiques, processus et pratiques organisationnels au cours des cycles d’actualisation ministériels
Maintenir ou améliorer les approches existantes relatives aux pratiques écologiques en milieu de travail (ratio d’imprimantes, utilisation de papier et réunions écologiques) Atteint. L’objectif de réduction du ratio d’imprimantes a été largement dépassé; au lieu de se déplacer pour les réunions, la plupart des réunions se déroulent maintenant par webdiffusion; les pratiques écologiques sont constamment prises en compte dans les approches existantes relatives aux pratiques écologiques en milieu de travail
Réduire au minimum le rapport de biens en technologie de l’information (TI) par employé Atteint
Sélectionner et utiliser du matériel TI et de bureau de façon à réduire la consommation d’énergie et l’utilisation du matériel Atteint
Réutiliser ou recycler le matériel et les biens en milieu de travail d’une manière sécuritaire et respectueuse de l’environnement Atteint
Augmenter la densité de population dans les immeubles à bureaux et l’utilisation de l’espace dans les immeubles à vocation particulière. Atteint. La CCSN met graduellement en œuvre l’initiative Milieu de travail 2020 dans tous les réaménagements de ses immeubles à bureaux
Maintenir et améliorer la gestion durable des parcs de véhicules Atteint

Cible : Écologisation des services aux clients

D’ici le 31 mars 2015, les ministères établiront des cibles stratégiques, mesurables, réalisables, réalistes et limitées dans le temps (SMART) pour réduire les répercussions environnementales des services qu’ils fournissent aux clients.

Portée et contexte

En ce qui concerne le parc de véhicules, la cible de la CCSN consistait à accroître le parc de véhicules hybrides de 10 %.

Lien avec l’architecture d’alignement des programmes : Services internes

Résultat attendu : Réduire les répercussions des services internes fournis aux clients sur l’environnement
Indicateur de rendement Niveau de rendement atteint
Pourcentage de véhicules hybrides dans le parc de véhicules Le parc de véhicules hybrides de la CCSN a augmenté de 15 %, portant ainsi le pourcentage de véhicules hybrides à 35 % du parc de véhicules

Évaluation environnementale stratégique

Au cours du cycle d’établissement de rapports 2014 2015, la CCSN a pris en considération les effets sur l’environnement des initiatives assujetties à la Directive du Cabinet sur l’évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes dans le cadre de ses processus décisionnels; puisque la CCSN n’a pas réalisé d’initiatives qui ont nécessité une évaluation environnementale stratégique, aucune déclaration publique liée à ce sujet n’a été produite