Independent Environmental Monitoring Program: TRIUMF Accelerators Inc.

TRIUMF Accelerators Inc. (TRIUMF) is licensed by the CNSC to operate the TRIUMF facility, located in Vancouver, BC. TRIUMF operates multiple accelerator facilities for research in nuclear and particle physics, as well as accelerator-based science. TRIUMF has an environmental protection program to monitor and control radiological (nuclear) and non-radiological (hazardous) substances released from the facility, determine concentrations of contaminants in the environment and assess exposure to the public.

The Independent Environmental Monitoring Program (IEMP) results for 2016 indicate that the public and the environment in the vicinity of TRIUMF are protected, and that there are no expected health impacts.

Legend

[ ] Guideline/Reference Level

 

Triumf

Showing 1 to 10 of 10 entries
Sample Type Sample Description Parameter 2016 Result Guideline/
Reference Level
Expected Health Impact (Yes/No) Background Sample Code
Air Iodine-131 < 0.0007 Bq/m3 0.228 Bq/m3 No N/A TR01-A01
Air Cesium-137 < 0.00005 Bq/m3 2.56 Bq/m3 No N/A TR01-A01
Air Cobalt-60 < 0.000057 Bq/m3 0.832 Bq/m3 No N/A TR01-A01
Air Iodine-131 < 0.0007 Bq/m3 0.228 Bq/m3 No N/A TR02-A02
Air Cesium-137 < 0.00005 Bq/m3 2.56 Bq/m3 No N/A TR02-A02
Air Cobalt-60 < 0.000057 Bq/m3 0.832 Bq/m3 No N/A TR02-A02
Soil 0 – 5 cm Cesium-137 2.4 Bq/kg dry weight 58.6 Bq/kg dry weight No N/A TR01-S01
Soil 0 – 5 cm Cobalt-60 < 1 Bq/kg dry weight 14.1 Bq/kg dry weight No N/A TR01-S01
Soil 0 – 5 cm Cesium-137 0.8 Bq/kg dry weight 58.6 Bq/kg dry weight No N/A TR02-S02
Soil 0 – 5 cm Cobalt-60 < 1 Bq/kg dry weight 14.1 Bq/kg dry weight No N/A TR02-S02
Soil 0 – 5 cm Cesium-137 3.2 Bq/kg dry weight 58.6 Bq/kg dry weight No N/A TR03-S07
Soil 0 – 5 cm Cobalt-60 < 1 Bq/kg dry weight 14.1 Bq/kg dry weight No N/A TR03-S07
Soil 0 – 5 cm Cesium-137 12.3 Bq/kg dry weight 58.6 Bq/kg dry weight No N/A TR04-S03
Soil 0 – 5 cm Cobalt-60 < 1 Bq/kg dry weight 14.1 Bq/kg dry weight No N/A TR04-S03
Soil 0 – 5 cm Cesium-137 5.9 Bq/kg dry weight 58.6 Bq/kg dry weight No N/A TR05-S04
Soil 0 – 5 cm Cobalt-60 < 1 Bq/kg dry weight 14.1 Bq/kg dry weight No N/A TR05-S04
Soil 0 – 5 cm Cesium-137 1.7 Bq/kg dry weight 58.6 Bq/kg dry weight No N/A TR06-S05
Soil 0 – 5 cm Cobalt-60 < 1 Bq/kg dry weight 14.1 Bq/kg dry weight No N/A TR06-S05
Soil 0 – 5 cm Cesium-137 2.4 Bq/kg dry weight 58.6 Bq/kg dry weight No N/A TR07-S06
Soil 0 – 5 cm Cobalt-60 < 1 Bq/kg dry weight 14.1 Bq/kg dry weight No N/A TR07-S06
Vegetation Cesium-137 < 5.9 Bq/kg fresh weight 76.9 Bq/kg fresh weight No N/A TR01-V01
Vegetation Cobalt-60 < 6.7 Bq/kg fresh weight 130 Bq/kg fresh weight No N/A TR01-V01
Vegetation Cesium-137 < 5.9 Bq/kg fresh weight 76.9 Bq/kg fresh weight No N/A TR02-V02
Vegetation Cobalt-60 < 6.7 Bq/kg fresh weight 130 Bq/kg fresh weight No N/A TR02-V02
Vegetation Cesium-137 < 5.9 Bq/kg fresh weight 76.9 Bq/kg fresh weight No N/A TR03-V07
Vegetation Cobalt-60 < 6.7 Bq/kg fresh weight 130 Bq/kg fresh weight No N/A TR03-V07
Vegetation Cesium-137 < 5.9 Bq/kg fresh weight 76.9 Bq/kg fresh weight No N/A TR04-V03
Vegetation Cobalt-60 < 6.7 Bq/kg fresh weight 130 Bq/kg fresh weight No N/A TR04-V03
Vegetation Cesium-137 < 5.9 Bq/kg fresh weight 76.9 Bq/kg fresh weight No N/A TR05-V04
Vegetation Cobalt-60 < 6.7 Bq/kg fresh weight 130 Bq/kg fresh weight No N/A TR05-V04
Vegetation Cesium-137 < 5.9 Bq/kg fresh weight 76.9 Bq/kg fresh weight No N/A TR06-V05
Vegetation Cobalt-60 < 6.7 Bq/kg fresh weight 130 Bq/kg fresh weight No N/A TR06-V05
Vegetation Cesium-137 < 5.9 Bq/kg fresh weight 76.9 Bq/kg fresh weight No N/A TR07-V06
Vegetation Cobalt-60 < 6.7 Bq/kg fresh weight 130 Bq/kg fresh weight No N/A TR07-V06

1 The < symbol indicates that a result is below the provided laboratory analytical detection limit.

2 N/A – not available

3 For radiological parameters where no guidelines exist, CNSC reference levels were established based on conservative assumptions using CSA standard N288.1-14. The reference level for a particular radionuclide in a particular medium (e.g., water, air, food) represents the activity concentration that would result in a dose of 0.1 mSv/a (millisieverts/year), a dose at which no health impacts are expected.

4 The presence of Cs-137 in environmental samples is not attributable to TRIUMF operations.

Background

Under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act (NSCA), licensees of nuclear facilities are required to implement an environmental monitoring program (EMP) to demonstrate that the public and the environment are protected from emissions related to the facility's nuclear activities. The results of these monitoring programs are submitted to the CNSC to ensure compliance with applicable guidelines and limits, as set out in regulations that oversee Canada's nuclear industry.

The CNSC has implemented its IEMP to verify that the public and the environment around licensed nuclear facilities are protected. It is separate from, but complementary to, the CNSC's ongoing compliance verification program. The IEMP involves taking samples from public areas around the facilities, and measuring and analyzing the amount of radiological and/or non-radiological substances in those samples. CNSC staff collect the samples and send them to the CNSC's state-of-the-art laboratory for testing and analysis. As part of the IEMP, the area outside of the TRIUMF facility perimeter was sampled in 2016.

2016 results

The 2016 IEMP sampling plan for the TRIUMF site focused on radiological contaminants. A site-specific sampling plan was developed based on the licensee's approved environmental monitoring program and the CNSC's regulatory experience with the site. In August 2016, samples were collected in publicly accessible areas outside the TRIUMF facility perimeter, and included air, vegetation and soil samples. View detailed sampling data.

The levels of radioactivity measured in air, vegetation and soil were below available guidelines and CNSC reference levels. CNSC reference levels are based on conservative assumptions about the exposure that would result in a dose of 0.1mSv/year. No health impacts are expected at this dose level. View detailed sampling data.

Conclusions

The IEMP results indicate that the public and the environment in the vicinity of TRIUMF are protected, and that there are no expected health impacts. These results are consistent with the results submitted by TRIUMF, demonstrating that the licensee's environmental protection program protects the health and safety of people and the environment.

Programme indépendant de surveillance environnementale : TRIUMF Accelerators Inc.

TRIUMF Accelerators Inc. (TRIUMF) est autorisée par la CCSN à exploiter l'installation TRIUMF située à Vancouver, en Colombie-Britannique. TRIUMF exploite de multiples installations d'accélérateurs pour la recherche dans les domaines de la physique nucléaire et de la physique des particules ainsi que pour des travaux scientifiques basés sur les accélérateurs. TRIUMF dispose d'un programme de protection de l'environnement dans le but de surveiller et de contrôler les rejets de substances radiologiques (nucléaires) et non-radiologiques (dangereuses) provenant de l'installation, de déterminer les concentrations de contaminants dans l'environnement et d'évaluer l'exposition du public.

Les résultats du Programme indépendant de surveillance environnementale (PISE) pour 2016 indiquent que le public et l'environnement aux alentours de TRIUMF sont protégés et qu'il n'existe aucun impact attendu sur la santé.

Légende

[ ] Directives/Niveau de référence

 

Triumf

Showing 1 to 10 of 10 entries
Type d'échantillon Description de l'échantillon Paramètre Résultat 2016 Directives sur la QE/ Niveau de référence Impact prévu sur la santé (oui/non) Contexte Code de l'échantillon
Air Iode-131 < 0,0007 Bq/m3 0,228 Bq/m3 Non N/D TR01-A01
Air Césium-137 < 0,00005 Bq/m3 2,56 Bq/m3 Non N/D TR01-A01
Air Cobalt-60 < 0,000057 Bq/m3 0,832 Bq/m3 Non N/D TR01-A01
Air Iode-131 < 0,0007 Bq/m3 0,228 Bq/m3 Non N/D TR02-A02
Air Césium-137 < 0,00005 Bq/m3 2,56 Bq/m3 Non N/D TR02-A02
Air Cobalt-60 < 0,000057 Bq/m3 0,832 Bq/m3 Non N/D TR02-A02
Sol 0 – 5 cm Césium-137 2,4 Bq/kg de poids sec 58,6 Bq/kg de poids sec Non N/D TR01-S01
Sol 0 – 5 cm Cobalt-60 < 1,0 Bq/kg de poids sec 14,1 Bq/kg de poids sec Non N/D TR01-S01
Sol 0 – 5 cm Césium-137 0,8 Bq/kg de poids sec 58,6 Bq/kg de poids sec Non N/D TR02-S02
Sol 0 – 5 cm Cobalt-60 < 1,0 Bq/kg de poids sec 14,1 Bq/kg de poids sec Non N/D TR02-S02
Sol 0 – 5 cm Césium-137 3,2 Bq/kg de poids sec 58,6 Bq/kg de poids sec Non N/D TR03-S07
Sol 0 – 5 cm Cobalt-60 < 1,0 Bq/kg de poids sec 14,1 Bq/kg de poids sec Non N/D TR03-S07
Sol 0 – 5 cm Césium-137 12,3 Bq/kg de poids sec 58,6 Bq/kg de poids sec Non N/D TR04-S03
Sol 0 – 5 cm Cobalt-60 < 1,0 Bq/kg de poids sec 14,1 Bq/kg de poids sec Non N/D TR04-S03
Sol 0 – 5 cm Césium-137 5,9 Bq/kg de poids sec 58,6 Bq/kg de poids sec Non N/D TR05-S04
Sol 0 – 5 cm Cobalt-60 < 1,0 Bq/kg de poids sec 14,1 Bq/kg de poids sec Non N/D TR05-S04
Sol 0 – 5 cm Césium-137 1,7 Bq/kg de poids sec 58,6 Bq/kg de poids sec Non N/D TR06-S05
Sol 0 – 5 cm Cobalt-60 < 1,0 Bq/kg de poids sec 14,1 Bq/kg de poids sec Non N/D TR06-S05
Sol 0 – 5 cm Césium-137 2,4 Bq/kg de poids sec 58,6 Bq/kg de poids sec Non N/D TR07-S06
Sol 0 – 5 cm Cobalt-60 < 1,0 Bq/kg de poids sec 14,1 Bq/kg de poids sec Non N/D TR07-S06
Végétation Césium-137 < 5,9 Bq/kg de poids frais 76,9 Bq/kg de poids frais Non N/D TR01-V01
Végétation Cobalt-60 < 6,7 Bq/kg de poids frais 130 Bq/kg de poids frais Non N/D TR01-V01
Végétation Césium-137 < 5,9 Bq/kg de poids frais 76,9 Bq/kg de poids frais Non N/D TR02-V02
Végétation Cobalt-60 < 6,7 Bq/kg de poids frais 130 Bq/kg de poids frais Non N/D TR02-V02
Végétation Césium-137 < 5,9 Bq/kg de poids frais 76,9 Bq/kg de poids frais Non N/D TR03-V07
Végétation Cobalt-60 < 6,7 Bq/kg de poids frais 130 Bq/kg de poids frais Non N/D TR03-V07
Végétation Césium-137 < 5,9 Bq/kg de poids frais 76,9 Bq/kg de poids frais Non N/D TR04-V03
Végétation Cobalt-60 < 6,7 Bq/kg de poids frais 130 Bq/kg de poids frais Non N/D TR04-V03
Végétation Césium-137 < 5,9 Bq/kg de poids frais 76,9 Bq/kg de poids frais Non N/D TR05-V04
Végétation Cobalt-60 < 6,7 Bq/kg de poids frais 130 Bq/kg de poids frais Non N/D TR05-V04
Végétation Césium-137 < 5,9 Bq/kg de poids frais 76,9 Bq/kg de poids frais Non N/D TR06-V05
Végétation Cobalt-60 < 6,7 Bq/kg de poids frais 130 Bq/kg de poids frais Non N/D TR06-V05
Végétation Césium-137 < 5,9 Bq/kg de poids frais 76,9 Bq/kg de poids frais Non N/D TR07-V06
Végétation Cobalt-60 < 6,7 Bq/kg de poids frais 130 Bq/kg de poids frais Non N/D TR07-V06

1 Le symbole < indique que le résultat est inférieur à la limite de détection analytique en laboratoire.

2 S.O. – Non disponible

3 Lorsqu'il n'y a pas de lignes directrices applicables aux paramètres radiologiques, les niveaux de référence de la CCSN ont été établis à partir d'hypothèses conservatrices s'appuyant sur la norme CSA N288.1-14. Le niveau de référence pour un radionucléide donné dans un milieu particulier (p. ex. eau, air, aliments) correspond à la concentration de l'activité qui donnerait une dose de 0,1 mSv/année (millisievert/année), dose qui ne devrait pas avoir d'impact sur la santé.

4 La présence de Cs-137 dans cette région n'est pas le résultat des activités de TRIUMF.

Contexte

En vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires (LSRN), les titulaires de permis exploitant des installations nucléaires doivent mettre en œuvre un programme de surveillance de l'environnement afin de démontrer que le public et l'environnement sont protégés contre les émissions provenant des activités nucléaires de leurs installations. Les résultats de ces programmes de surveillance sont soumis à la CCSN pour assurer la conformité aux lignes directrices et limites applicables, telles qu'établies dans les règlements qui gouvernent l'industrie nucléaire du Canada.

La CCSN a mis en œuvre son PISE dans le but de vérifier que le public et l'environnement se trouvant à proximité des installations nucléaires autorisées sont protégés. Le PISE est distinct du programme de vérification de la conformité existant de la CCSN, mais s'ajoute en complément. Le PISE prévoit le prélèvement d'échantillons dans des espaces publics situés autour des installations, ainsi que la mesure et l'analyse des quantités de substances radiologiques et/ou non radiologiques dans ces échantillons. Les échantillons sont prélevés par le personnel de la CCSN et envoyés au laboratoire de pointe de la CCSN aux fins d'analyse. Dans le cadre du PISE, des échantillons ont été prélevés à l'extérieur du périmètre de l'installation de TRIUMF en 2016. 

Résultats de 2016

Le plan d'échantillonnage du PISE de 2016 pour le site de TRIUMF mettait l'accent sur les contaminants radiologiques. Un plan d'échantillonnage propre au site a été élaboré à partir du programme de surveillance de l'environnement approuvé du titulaire de permis et de l'expérience en réglementation de la CCSN pour ce site. En août 2016, des échantillons ont été prélevés dans les espaces accessibles au public à l'extérieur du périmètre de l'installation de TRIUMF et comprenait des échantillons d'air, de végétation et de sol. Voir les données d'échantillonnage détaillées.

Les niveaux de radioactivité mesurés dans l'air, la végétation et le sol étaient inférieurs aux lignes directrices disponibles et aux niveaux de référence de la CCSN. Les niveaux de référence de la CCSN sont établis sur la base d'hypothèses prudentes concernant l'exposition qui entraînerait une dose de 0,1 mSv/an. Aucun effet sur la santé n'est attendu à cette dose. Voir les données d'échantillonnage détaillées

Conclusion

Les résultats du PISE confirment que le public et l'environnement se trouvant à proximité de l'installation de TRIUMF sont protégés et qu'il n'y a pas d'impact attendu sur la santé. Ces résultats concordent avec ceux fournis par TRIUMF, ce qui prouve que le programme de protection de l'environnement mis en place par le titulaire de permis protège la santé et la sécurité des personnes et de l'environnement.