Independent Environmental Monitoring Program - Blind River Refinery

Cameco Corporation is licensed by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) to operate the Blind River Refinery (BRR), located in Blind River, Ontario. The facility refines uranium concentrates (yellowcake) from uranium mines around the world, including northern Saskatchewan, to produce uranium trioxide (UO3), an intermediate product of the nuclear fuel cycle. The UO3 is then shipped to Cameco's Port Hope Conversion Facility for further processing. Cameco maintains a comprehensive environmental protection program to monitor and control uranium and other hazardous substances released from the BRR, determine concentrations in the environment, and assess exposure to the public.

The Independent Environmental Monitoring Program (IEMP) results for 2013, 2014, 2017 and 2018 confirm that the public and the environment in the vicinity of the BRR site are protected and that there are no expected health or environmental impacts.

Legend

[ ] Guideline/Reference Level

Blind River Refinery

Sample Type Sample Description Parameter 2013 Result 2014 Result 2017 Result 2018 Result Guideline/
Reference Level
Expected Health Impact (Yes/No) Sample Code
Water Surface Uranium 0.25 µg/L 0.26 µg/L 0.19 µg/L 0.27 µg/L 15 µg/L No BR01-W01
Water Surface Nitrate 1.49 mg/L 0.23 mg/L 0.22 mg/L 0.21 mg/L 13 mg/L No BR01-W01
Water Surface pH 7.14 7.33 7.2 6.9 6.5-9.0 No BR01-W01
Water Surface Uranium 0.25 µg/L 0.25 µg/L 0.18 µg/L 0.27 µg/L 15 µg/L No BR02-W02
Water Surface Nitrate 0.75 mg/L 1.45 mg/L 0.22 mg/L 0.21 mg/L 13 mg/L No BR02-W02
Water Surface pH 7.13 7.02 7.1 6.6 6.5-9.0 No BR02-W02
Soil 0 - 5 cm Uranium N/A N/A 2.38 mg/kg 2.03 mg/kg 23 mg/kg No BR03-S01
Soil 0 - 5 cm Uranium 1.45 mg/kg 1.8 mg/kg N/A N/A 23 mg/kg No BR03-S01A
Water Surface Uranium 0.27 µg/L 0.25 µg/L 0.18 µg/L 0.27 µg/L 15 µg/L No BR04-W03
Water Surface Nitrate 0.32 mg/L 0.31 mg/L 0.23 mg/L 0.21 mg/L 13 mg/L No BR04-W03
Water Surface pH 7.22 7.06 7.1 6.6 6.5-9.0 No BR04-W03
Water Surface Uranium 0.26 µg/L 0.28 µg/L 0.17 µg/L 0.28 µg/L 15 µg/L No BR05-W04
Water Surface Nitrate 0.34 mg/L 1.41 mg/L 0.24 mg/L 0.22 mg/L 13 mg/L No BR05-W04
Water Surface pH 6.92 7.1 7.2 6.9 6.5-9.0 No BR05-W04
Air Ambient Uranium 0.004 µg/m3 0.0013 µg/m3 N/A N/A 0.03 µg/m3 No BR06-A01
Water Surface Uranium 0.08 µg/L 0.04 µg/L N/A N/A 15 µg/L No BR07-W05
Water Surface Nitrate <0.38 mg/L 0.08 mg/L N/A N/A 13 mg/L No BR07-W05
Water Surface pH 6.99 7.1 N/A N/A 6.5-9.0 No BR07-W05
Air Ambient Uranium <0.0004 µg/m3 <0.0003 µg/m3 N/A N/A 0.03 µg/m3 No BR08-A02
Water Surface Uranium 0.06 µg/L 0.04 µg/L N/A N/A 15 µg/L No BR09-W06
Water Surface Nitrate <0.38 mg/L 1.4 mg/L N/A N/A 13 mg/L No BR09-W06
Water Surface pH 7.18 6.88 N/A N/A 6.5-9.0 No BR09-W06
Water Surface Uranium 0.12 µg/L 0.19 µg/L N/A N/A 15 µg/L No BR10-W07
Water Surface Nitrate 0.5 mg/L 0.93 mg/L N/A N/A 13 mg/L No BR10-W07
Water Surface pH 6.77 7.5 N/A N/A 6.5-9.0 No BR10-W07
Soil 0 - 5 cm Uranium N/A N/A 3.42 mg/kg 3.88 mg/kg 23 mg/kg No BR11-S02
Soil 0 - 5 cm Uranium 3.38 mg/kg 1.1 mg/kg N/A N/A 23 mg/kg No BR11-S02A
Soil 10-20 cm Uranium 3.86 mg/kg N/A N/A N/A 23 mg/kg No BR11-S02B
Soil 0 - 5 cm Uranium 1.3 mg/kg 3.8 mg/kg 1.17 mg/kg 1.49 mg/kg 23 mg/kg No BR12-S03
Soil 10-20 cm Uranium 1.62 mg/kg N/A N/A N/A 23 mg/kg No BR12-S03B
Water Surface Uranium 0.16 µg/L 0.15 µg/L <0.10 µg/L 0.12 µg/L 15 µg/L No BR13-W08
Water Surface Nitrate <0.38 mg/L 1.53 mg/L 0.11 mg/L 0.32 mg/L 13 mg/L No BR13-W08
Water Surface pH 6.85 7.33 7.3 7 6.5-9.0 No BR13-W08
Soil 0 - 5 cm Uranium 1.71 mg/kg 0.5 mg/kg N/A N/A 23 mg/kg No BR14-S04A
Water Surface Uranium 0.04 µg/L 0.05 µg/L N/A N/A 15 µg/L No BR15-W09
Water Surface Nitrate <0.38 mg/L 1.81 mg/L N/A N/A 13 mg/L No BR15-W09
Water Surface pH 6.48 6.87 N/A N/A 6.5-9.0 No BR15-W09
Water Surface Uranium 0.05 µg/L 0.04 µg/L N/A N/A 15 µg/L No BR16-W10
Water Surface Nitrate <0.38 mg/L 0.97 mg/L N/A N/A 13 mg/L No BR16-W10
Water Surface pH 6.79 7.17 N/A N/A 6.5-9.0 No BR16-W10
Air Ambient Uranium N/A N/A <0.001 mg/m3 <0.003 µg/m3 0.03 µg/m3 No BR17-A02
Soil 0 - 5 cm Uranium N/A N/A 0.88 mg/kg 1.11 mg/kg 23 mg/kg No BR17-S05
Air Ambient Uranium N/A N/A <0.001 mg/m3 <0.003 µg/m3 0.03 µg/m3 No BR18-A03
Soil 0 - 5 cm Uranium N/A N/A 1.37 mg/kg 1.32 mg/kg 23 mg/kg No BR18-S08
Water Surface Uranium N/A N/A 0.19 µg/L 0.26 µg/L 15 µg/L No BR18-W05
Water Surface Nitrate N/A N/A 0.23 mg/L 0.20 mg/L 13 mg/L No BR18-W05
Water Surface pH N/A N/A 7.2 6.5 6.5-9.0 No BR18-W05
Water Surface Uranium N/A N/A <0.10 µg/L N/A 15 µg/L No BR20-W06
Water Surface Nitrate N/A N/A 0.10 mg/L N/A 13 mg/L No BR20-W06
Water Surface pH N/A N/A 6.9 N/A 6.5-9.0 No BR20-W06
Water Surface Uranium N/A N/A <0.10 µg/L N/A 15 µg/L No BR21-W09
Water Surface Nitrate N/A N/A <0.06 mg/L N/A 13 mg/L No BR21-W09
Water Surface pH N/A N/A 7 N/A 6.5-9.0 No BR21-W09
Soil 0 - 5 cm Uranium N/A N/A 1.16 mg/kg 0.93 mg/kg 23 mg/kg No BR23-S06
Soil 0 - 5 cm Uranium N/A N/A 0.86 mg/kg 1.03 mg/kg 23 mg/kg No BR24-S07
Soil 0 - 5 cm Uranium N/A N/A 0.83 mg/kg 1.06 mg/kg 23 mg/kg No BR26-S09
Soil 0 - 5 cm Uranium N/A N/A 1.46 mg/kg 1.54 mg/kg 23 mg/kg No BR27-S10
Water Surface Uranium N/A N/A 0.19 µg/L 0.27 µg/L 15 µg/L No BR27-W10
Water Surface Nitrate N/A N/A 0.22 mg/L 0.20 mg/L 13 mg/L No BR27-W10
Water Surface pH N/A N/A 7.2 6.5 6.5-9.0 No BR27-W10
Water Surface Uranium N/A N/A 0.10 µg/L 0.09 µg/L 15 µg/L No BR28-W07
Water Surface Nitrate N/A N/A 0.36 mg/L 0.31 mg/L 13 mg/L No BR28-W07
Water Surface pH N/A N/A 7.5 6.5 6.5-9.0 No BR28-W07
Air Ambient Uranium N/A N/A <0.001 mg/m3 <0.003 µg/m3 0.03 µg/m3 No BR29-A04
Soil 0 - 5 cm Uranium N/A N/A N/A 3.95 mg/kg 23 mg/kg No BR30-S11
Water Surface Uranium N/A N/A N/A 0.27 µg/L 15 µg/L No BR30-W11
Water Surface Nitrate N/A N/A N/A 0.22 mg/L 13 mg/L No BR30-W11
Water Surface pH N/A N/A N/A 6.9 6.5-9.0 No BR30-W11
Table Footnotes

1 The < symbol indicates that a result is below the provided laboratory analytical detection limit.

2 N/A - not available

Background

Under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act (NSCA), licensees of nuclear facilities are required to implement an environmental monitoring program to demonstrate that the public and the environment are protected from emissions related to the facility's nuclear activities. The results of these monitoring programs are submitted to the CNSC to ensure compliance with applicable guidelines and limits, as set out in regulations that oversee Canada's nuclear industry.

The CNSC has implemented its IEMP to verify that the public and the environment around licensed nuclear facilities are protected. It is separate from, but complementary to, the CNSC's ongoing compliance verification program. The IEMP involves taking samples from public areas around the facilities, and measuring and analyzing the amount of radioactive and hazardous substances in those samples. CNSC staff collect the samples and send them to the CNSC's state-of-the-art laboratory for testing and analysis. The BRR site was sampled in 2013, 2014, 2017 and 2018.

2018 Results

IEMP air sampling on Mississauga First Nations land along the Mississagi River in October 2018

The 2018 IEMP sampling plan for the BRR site focused on uranium, nitrate and pH. The IEMP assessed uranium against its more sensitive and therefore more restrictive chemical toxicity thresholds as a potentially toxic metal (hazardous substance). A site-specific sampling plan was developed based on Cameco's approved environmental monitoring program, CSA Group standards and the CNSC's regulatory experience with the site. In October 2018, samples were collected in publicly accessible areas outside the BRR site perimeter fence and included air, soil and water. View detailed sampling data.

The concentrations of uranium and nitrate in water measured in the samples were below the Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment's (CCME) guideline levels (15 mg/L for uranium and 13 mg/L for nitrate). The concentrations of uranium in soil at all locations sampled in 2018 were below the applicable CCME soil quality guideline for residential and parkland use (23 mg/kg). The measured concentrations of uranium in air were below the levels set by Ontario's Ambient Air Quality Criteria (0.03 µg of uranium per cubic meter of air (µg/m3)). With regard to pH levels in water, the measured levels were within the CCME guidelines (pH between 6.5 and 9.0). No health or environmental impacts are expected at these levels.

The 2018 sampling campaign also included sites on Mississauga First Nations (MFN) land. Samples of air, soil and water at several sites were selected based on prior discussions between CNSC staff and MFN. The results for the samples obtained on MFN land were below applicable guidelines. The results were also similar to what was found from the 2013, 2014 and 2017 sampling campaigns as well as the results for the other sampling sites outside the BRR site perimeter for 2018.

The results for the four sampling years are similar and are below all applicable guidelines. Since the IEMP results represent a snapshot in time, the small differences between sample results can be attributed to slight differences in the sampling locations, seasonal variations, facility operations, meteorological conditions, and/or natural variations in background radiation.

2013, 2014 and 2017 results

The 2013, 2014 and 2017 IEMP sampling plans for the BRR site were similar to the 2018 plan and focused on uranium, nitrate and pH. Air, soil and water samples were collected by CNSC staff in publicly accessible areas outside the BRR facility site perimeter for the sampling campaigns. View detailed sampling data.

The 2013, 2014 and 2017 IEMP results confirmed that the public and the environment in the vicinity of the BRR site were protected from the releases from the facility and that there were no health or environmental impacts expected at these levels.

Focus on health

The CNSC also conducts studies to assess the health of the public near nuclear facilities. Several studies have been carried out in Port Hope, ON, where uranium has been processed to manufacture nuclear fuel for decades. These studies have consistently demonstrated that people who live near uranium processing facilities, such as the Blind River Refinery, are as healthy as the rest of the Canadian general population. Access the CNSC's library of health studies and third-party research.

Conclusions

The IEMP results for 2013, 2014, 2017 and 2018 confirm that the public and the environment around the BRR site are protected and that there are no expected health impacts. These results are consistent with the results submitted by Cameco, confirming that the licensee's environmental protection program protects the health and safety of people and the environment.

To obtain the full technical IEMP reports, contact us at cnsc.info.ccsn@canada.ca or call 613-995-5894 or 1-800-668-5284 (in Canada). Please provide the name of the facility and the report year requested.

Date modified:

Programme indépendant de surveillance environnementale (PISE) - Raffinerie de Blind River

Cameco Corporation est autorisée par la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) à exploiter la raffinerie de Blind River, située à Blind River (Ontario). L'installation affine le concentré de minerai d'uranium (yellowcake) provenant de mines d'uranium ailleurs dans le monde, y compris celles du nord de la Saskatchewan, pour produire du trioxyde d'uranium (UO3), un produit intermédiaire du cycle du combustible nucléaire. L'UO3 est ensuite expédié à l'installation de conversion de Port Hope, exploitée par Cameco, en vue d'une transformation ultérieure. Cameco exécute un vaste programme de protection de l'environnement dans le but de surveiller et de contrôler les rejets d'uranium et d'autres substances dangereuses provenant de la raffinerie de Blind River, de déterminer les concentrations de contaminants dans l'environnement et d'évaluer l'exposition du public.

Les résultats du Programme indépendant de surveillance environnementale (PISE) pour 2013, 2014, 2017 et 2018 confirment que le public et l'environnement se trouvant à proximité de la raffinerie de Blind River sont protégés et qu'il n'y a pas d'impact attendu sur la santé ou l'environnement.

Légende

[ ] Directives/Niveau de référence

Raffinerie de Blind River

Type d'échantillon Description de l'échantillon Paramètre Résultat 2013 Résultat 2014 Résultat 2017 Résultat 2018 Directives sur la QE/ Niveau de référence Impact prévu sur la santé (oui/non) Code de l'échantillon
Eau Eau de surface Uranium 0.25 µg/L 0.26 µg/L 0.19 µg/L 0.27 µg/L 15 µg/L Non BR01-W01
Eau Eau de surface Nitrate 1.49 mg/L 0.23 mg/L 0.22 mg/L 0.21 mg/L 13 mg/L Non BR01-W01
Eau Eau de surface pH 7.14 7.33 7.2 6.9 6.5-9.0 Non BR01-W01
Eau Eau de surface Uranium 0.25 µg/L 0.25 µg/L 0.18 µg/L 0.27 µg/L 15 µg/L Non BR02-W02
Eau Eau de surface Nitrate 0.75 mg/L 1.45 mg/L 0.22 mg/L 0.21 mg/L 13 mg/L Non BR02-W02
Eau Eau de surface pH 7.13 7.02 7.1 6.6 6.5-9.0 Non BR02-W02
Sol 0 - 5 cm Uranium N/D N/D 2.38 mg/kg 2.03 mg/kg 23 mg/kg Non BR03-S01
Sol 0 - 5 cm Uranium 1.45 mg/kg 1.8 mg/kg N/D N/D 23 mg/kg Non BR03-S01A
Eau Eau de surface Uranium 0.27 µg/L 0.25 µg/L 0.18 µg/L 0.27 µg/L 15 µg/L Non BR04-W03
Eau Eau de surface Nitrate 0.32 mg/L 0.31 mg/L 0.23 mg/L 0.21 mg/L 13 mg/L Non BR04-W03
Eau Eau de surface pH 7.22 7.06 7.1 6.6 6.5-9.0 Non BR04-W03
Eau Eau de surface Uranium 0.26 µg/L 0.28 µg/L 0.17 µg/L 0.28 µg/L 15 µg/L Non BR05-W04
Eau Eau de surface Nitrate 0.34 mg/L 1.41 mg/L 0.24 mg/L 0.22 mg/L 13 mg/L Non BR05-W04
Eau Eau de surface pH 6.92 7.1 7.2 6.9 6.5-9.0 Non BR05-W04
Air Ambiant Uranium 0.004 µg/m3 0.0013 µg/m3 N/D N/D 0.03 µg/m3 Non BR06-A01
Eau Eau de surface Uranium 0.08 µg/L 0.04 µg/L N/D N/D 15 µg/L Non BR07-W05
Eau Eau de surface Nitrate <0.38 mg/L 0.08 mg/L N/D N/D 13 mg/L Non BR07-W05
Eau Eau de surface pH 6.99 7.1 N/D N/D 6.5-9.0 Non BR07-W05
Air Ambiant Uranium <0.0004 µg/m3 <0.0003 µg/m3 N/D N/D 0.03 µg/m3 Non BR08-A02
Eau Eau de surface Uranium 0.06 µg/L 0.04 µg/L N/D N/D 15 µg/L Non BR09-W06
Eau Eau de surface Nitrate <0.38 mg/L 1.4 mg/L N/D N/D 13 mg/L Non BR09-W06
Eau Eau de surface pH 7.18 6.88 N/D N/D 6.5-9.0 Non BR09-W06
Eau Eau de surface Uranium 0.12 µg/L 0.19 µg/L N/D N/D 15 µg/L Non BR10-W07
Eau Eau de surface Nitrate 0.5 mg/L 0.93 mg/L N/D N/D 13 mg/L Non BR10-W07
Eau Eau de surface pH 6.77 7.5 N/D N/D 6.5-9.0 Non BR10-W07
Sol 0 - 5 cm Uranium N/D N/D 3.42 mg/kg 3.88 mg/kg 23 mg/kg Non BR11-S02
Sol 0 - 5 cm Uranium 3.38 mg/kg 1.1 mg/kg N/D N/D 23 mg/kg Non BR11-S02A
Sol 10-20 cm Uranium 3.86 mg/kg N/D N/D N/D 23 mg/kg Non BR11-S02B
Sol 0 - 5 cm Uranium 1.3 mg/kg 3.8 mg/kg 1.17 mg/kg 1.49 mg/kg 23 mg/kg Non BR12-S03
Sol 10-20 cm Uranium 1.62 mg/kg N/D N/D N/D 23 mg/kg Non BR12-S03B
Eau Eau de surface Uranium 0.16 µg/L 0.15 µg/L <0.10 µg/L 0.12 µg/L 15 µg/L Non BR13-W08
Eau Eau de surface Nitrate <0.38 mg/L 1.53 mg/L 0.11 mg/L 0.32 mg/L 13 mg/L Non BR13-W08
Eau Eau de surface pH 6.85 7.33 7.3 7 6.5-9.0 Non BR13-W08
Sol 0 - 5 cm Uranium 1.71 mg/kg 0.5 mg/kg N/D N/D 23 mg/kg Non BR14-S04A
Eau Eau de surface Uranium 0.04 µg/L 0.05 µg/L N/D N/D 15 µg/L Non BR15-W09
Eau Eau de surface Nitrate <0.38 mg/L 1.81 mg/L N/D N/D 13 mg/L Non BR15-W09
Eau Eau de surface pH 6.48 6.87 N/D N/D 6.5-9.0 Non BR15-W09
Eau Eau de surface Uranium 0.05 µg/L 0.04 µg/L N/D N/D 15 µg/L Non BR16-W10
Eau Eau de surface Nitrate <0.38 mg/L 0.97 mg/L N/D N/D 13 mg/L Non BR16-W10
Eau Eau de surface pH 6.79 7.17 N/D N/D 6.5-9.0 Non BR16-W10
Air Ambiant Uranium N/D N/D <0.001 mg/m3 <0.003 µg/m3 0.03 µg/m3 Non BR17-A02
Sol 0 - 5 cm Uranium N/D N/D 0.88 mg/kg 1.11 mg/kg 23 mg/kg Non BR17-S05
Air Ambiant Uranium N/D N/D <0.001 mg/m3 <0.003 µg/m3 0.03 µg/m3 Non BR18-A03
Sol 0 - 5 cm Uranium N/D N/D 1.37 mg/kg 1.32 mg/kg 23 mg/kg Non BR18-S08
Eau Eau de surface Uranium N/D N/D 0.19 µg/L 0.26 µg/L 15 µg/L Non BR18-W05
Eau Eau de surface Nitrate N/D N/D 0.23 mg/L 0.20 mg/L 13 mg/L Non BR18-W05
Eau Eau de surface pH N/D N/D 7.2 6.5 6.5-9.0 Non BR18-W05
Eau Eau de surface Uranium N/D N/D <0.10 µg/L N/D 15 µg/L Non BR20-W06
Eau Eau de surface Nitrate N/D N/D 0.10 mg/L N/D 13 mg/L Non BR20-W06
Eau Eau de surface pH N/D N/D 6.9 N/D 6.5-9.0 Non BR20-W06
Eau Eau de surface Uranium N/D N/D <0.10 µg/L N/D 15 µg/L Non BR21-W09
Eau Eau de surface Nitrate N/D N/D <0.06 mg/L N/D 13 mg/L Non BR21-W09
Eau Eau de surface pH N/D N/D 7 N/D 6.5-9.0 Non BR21-W09
Sol 0 - 5 cm Uranium N/D N/D 1.16 mg/kg 0.93 mg/kg 23 mg/kg Non BR23-S06
Sol 0 - 5 cm Uranium N/D N/D 0.86 mg/kg 1.03 mg/kg 23 mg/kg Non BR24-S07
Sol 0 - 5 cm Uranium N/D N/D 0.83 mg/kg 1.06 mg/kg 23 mg/kg Non BR26-S09
Sol 0 - 5 cm Uranium N/D N/D 1.46 mg/kg 1.54 mg/kg 23 mg/kg Non BR27-S10
Eau Eau de surface Uranium N/D N/D 0.19 µg/L 0.27 µg/L 15 µg/L Non BR27-W10
Eau Eau de surface Nitrate N/D N/D 0.22 mg/L 0.20 mg/L 13 mg/L Non BR27-W10
Eau Eau de surface pH N/D N/D 7.2 6.5 6.5-9.0 Non BR27-W10
Eau Eau de surface Uranium N/D N/D 0.10 µg/L 0.09 µg/L 15 µg/L Non BR28-W07
Eau Eau de surface Nitrate N/D N/D 0.36 mg/L 0.31 mg/L 13 mg/L Non BR28-W07
Eau Eau de surface pH N/D N/D 7.5 6.5 6.5-9.0 Non BR28-W07
Air Ambiant Uranium N/D N/D <0.001 mg/m3 <0.003 µg/m3 0.03 µg/m3 Non BR29-A04
Sol 0 - 5 cm Uranium N/D N/D N/D 3.95 mg/kg 23 mg/kg Non BR30-S11
Eau Eau de surface Uranium N/D N/D N/D 0.27 µg/L 15 µg/L Non BR30-W11
Eau Eau de surface Nitrate N/D N/D N/D 0.22 mg/L 13 mg/L Non BR30-W11
Eau Eau de surface pH N/D N/D N/D 6.9 6.5-9.0 Non BR30-W11
Notes de table

1 Le symbole < indique que le résultat est inférieur à la limite de détection analytique en laboratoire.

2 ND - Non disponible

Contexte

En vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires (LSRN), les titulaires de permis d'installations nucléaires doivent mettre en œuvre un programme de surveillance de l'environnement dans le but de protéger le public et l'environnement contre les rejets provenant des activités nucléaires de leurs installations. Les résultats de ces programmes de surveillance sont soumis à la CCSN pour assurer la conformité aux lignes directrices et limites applicables, telles qu'établies dans les règlements qui gouvernent l'industrie nucléaire au Canada.

La CCSN a mis en œuvre son PISE dans le but de vérifier que le public et l'environnement se trouvant à proximité des installations nucléaires autorisées sont protégés. Le PISE est indépendant du programme de vérification continue de la conformité de la CCSN, mais s'ajoute en complément. Il consiste à prélever des échantillons dans les espaces publics autour des installations pour y mesurer et analyser les quantités de substances radioactives et dangereuses qui y sont présentes. Les échantillons sont prélevés par le personnel de la CCSN et envoyés au laboratoire de pointe de la CCSN aux fins d'analyse. Des échantillons ont été prélevés pour le site de la raffinerie de Blind River en 2013, 2014, 2017 et 2018.

Résultats de 2018

Échantillonnage de l'air dans le cadre du PISE sur les terres de la Première Nation de Mississauga le long de la rivière Mississagi, en octobre 2018

Le plan d'échantillonnage du PISE de 2018 pour le site de la raffinerie de Blind River visait l'uranium, le nitrate et le pH. Le PISE a mesuré l'uranium par rapport à ses seuils de toxicité les plus sensibles et donc plus restrictifs en tant que métal éventuellement toxique (substance dangereuse). Un plan d'échantillonnage propre au site a été élaboré à partir du programme de surveillance de l'environnement approuvé de Cameco, des normes du Groupe CSA et de l'expérience en réglementation de la CCSN pour ce site. En octobre 2018, des échantillons d'air, de sol et d'eau ont été prélevés dans des zones accessibles au public à l'extérieur de la clôture du périmètre du site de la raffinerie de Blind River. Voir les données d'échantillonnage détaillées.

En ce qui concerne l'analyse de l'uranium et du nitrate dans l'eau, les concentrations mesurées dans les échantillons étaient inférieures aux seuils établis dans les recommandations du Conseil canadien des ministres de l'environnement (CCME), soit15 mg/L pour l'uranium et 13 mg/L pour le nitrate. Les concentrations d'uranium dans le sol à tous les sites échantillonnés en 2018 étaient inférieures aux recommandations du CCME pour la qualité des sols relativement à l'utilisation des terrains résidentiels et des parcs (23 mg/kg). Le concentrations d'uranium mesurées dans l'air étaient inférieures aux limites établies dans les Critères de qualité de l'air ambiant de l'Ontario, soit 0,03 µg d'uranium par mètre cube d'air (µg/m3). Pour ce qui est des niveaux de pH dans l'eau, les concentrations mesurées respectaient les recommandations du CCME, soit un pH se situant entre 6,5 et 9,0. Aucun impact sur la santé ou l'environnement n'est attendu à ces niveaux.

Pour la campagne de 2018, des échantillons ont également été prélevés à divers endroits sur les terres de la Première Nation de Mississauga. Des échantillons d'air, de sol et d'eau ont été prélevés sur plusieurs sites sélectionnés à la suite de discussions entre le personnel de la CCSN et la Première Nation de Mississauga. Les résultats des échantillons prélevés sur les terres de la Première Nation de Mississauga étaient inférieurs aux recommandations applicables. Les résultats étaient également similaires à ceux obtenus lors des campagnes d'échantillonnage de 2013, 2014 et 2017, ainsi qu'aux résultats d'échantillons prélevés sur d'autres sites à l'extérieur du périmètre du site de la raffinerie de Blind River en 2018.

Les résultats de ces quatre années d'échantillonnage sont similaires et inférieurs aux recommandations applicables. Comme les résultats du PISE constituent un aperçu de la situation dans le temps, les petites différences entre les résultats des échantillonnages peuvent être expliquées par de légères différences entre les points d'échantillonnage, les variations saisonnières, les activités de l'installation, les conditions météorologiques ou les variations naturelles du rayonnement de fond.

Résultats de 2013, 2014 et 2017

Les plans d'échantillonnage du PISE de 2013, 2014 et 2017 pour le site de la raffinerie de Blind River étaient très semblables au plan de 2018 et portaient principalement sur l'uranium, le nitrate et le pH. Le personnel de la CCSN a effectué des prélèvements d'air, de sol et d'eau dans des endroits accessibles au public à l'extérieur du périmètre du site de la raffinerie de Blind River dans le cadre de ces campagnes d'échantillonnage. Voir les données d'échantillonnage détaillées.

Les résultats du PISE de 2013, 2014 et 2017 ont confirmé que le public et l'environnement se trouvant à proximité du site de la raffinerie de Blind River sont protégés contre les rejets provenant de l'installation et qu'il n'y a aucun impact sur la santé ou l'environnement attendu à ces niveaux.

Accent mis sur la santé

La CCSN réalise également des études pour évaluer la santé du public qui vit à proximité d'installations nucléaires. Plusieurs études ont été réalisées à Port Hope, en Ontario, où l'uranium est traité depuis des décennies pour fabriquer du combustible nucléaire. Ces études ont toujours démontré que les personnes qui vivent à proximité d'installations de traitement d'uranium, comme la raffinerie de Blind River, sont autant en bonne santé que le reste de la population canadienne. Accédez à la bibliothèque de la CCSN, qui contient des études sur la santé et des recherches effectuées par des tiers.

Conclusions

Les résultats du PISE pour 2013, 2014, 2017 et 2018 confirment que le public et l'environnement se trouvant à proximité de la raffinerie de Blind River sont protégés et qu'il n'y a pas d'impact attendu sur la santé. Ils correspondent aux résultats présentés par Cameco, ce qui confirme que le programme de protection de l'environnement du titulaire de permis préserve la santé et la sécurité des personnes et protège l'environnement.

Pour obtenir les rapports techniques complets du PISE, veuillez communiquer avec la CCSN à cnsc.info.ccsn@canada.ca ou par téléphone au 613-995-5894 ou 1-800-668-5284 (au Canada). Veuillez indiquer le nom de l'installation et l'année du rapport.

Dernière mise à jour :