Fukushima and Health

Updated December 21, 2015

The health impacts of the Fukushima accident will be assessed for the next several decades. Reports from several international agencies presenting findings are becoming available. The availability of further monitoring data and more detailed information about implementation of protective measures will allow for more refined assessments in the future.

The CNSC closely monitors reports and information published by credible organizations, reviewing new information as it becomes available. This knowledge is integrated into the CNSC's regulatory framework, when warranted.

Comparison of recent UNSCEAR and WHO Reports

The overall findings of the 2013 United Nations Scientific Committee on the Effects of Atomic Radiation (UNSCEAR) Report are in good agreement with the two reports published by the World Health Organization (WHO, 2012; 2013). All reports conclude the predicted health risks as a result of the Fukushima nuclear accident remain low and no observable increases in cancer risks above baseline rates are anticipated for members of the public in Japan and elsewhere.  Likewise, no discernible increases in cancer or other diseases are expected among the majority of workers; however, the most exposed workers will continue to receive regular health checks.

The 2013 UNSCEAR Report used more comprehensive data than were available for the two WHO reports discussed below. It was therefore possible to make more realistic assumptions in parts of the assessment. For example, the UNSCEAR report contained more information regarding: the evacuated areas, patterns of movement of the evacuees, wind patterns, details on the implementation of protective measures and additional monitoring data for internal and external exposures. Furthermore, since doses were assessed for a longer time period (March 11, 2011 to October 31 2013), UNSCEAR was able to make projections regarding health risks over the first 10 years after the accident as well as up to the age of 80 years. In comparison, the WHO (2012) was unable to estimate doses beyond the first year as the report was based on relevant information collected up to mid-September 2011 and would have resulted in a great degree of uncertainty without more information.

The differences in follow-up time resulted in the WHO Health Risk Assessment including 23,172 workers during the first 12 months (compared to 24,832 workers during the first 20 months as reported by UNSCEAR), 12 of which were identified to have absorbed doses to the thyroid of 2 to 12 Gy (compared to 13 individuals as reported by UNSCEAR).

Additional analysis performed by UNSCEAR, but not considered by WHO, was an exposure assessment of selected plant and animal species (i.e,  non-human biota) in the environment. Exposures of both marine and terrestrial non-human biota following the accident were, in general, too low for acute effects to be observed; though there may have been exceptions because of local variability.

Detailed summaries of the findings of the UNSCEAR and WHO reports follow below.

UNSCEAR 2013 Report

Scientific Annex A: Levels and effects of radiation exposure due to the nuclear accident after the 2011 Great East-Japan Earthquake and Tsunami

The United Nations Scientific Committee on the Effects of Atomic Radiation (UNSCEAR) conducted an assessment of the levels and effects of radiation exposure due to the Fukushima Daiichi nuclear power plant accident of March 2011. As a follow-up of the interim findings presented on May 23, 2012 at its annual meeting, UNSCEAR published today the full report titled "Levels and effects of radiation exposure due to the nuclear accident after the 2011 great east-Japan earthquake and tsunami".

The findings are based on estimates of the exposure of various population groups - including children - as well as scientific knowledge of health impacts following radiation exposure.

UNSCEAR's chairman Carl-Magnus Larsson said based on the findings: "UNSCEAR does not expect significant changes in future cancer statistics that could be attributed to radiation exposure from the accident".

UNSCEAR 2013 Report

Highlights of the Report

  • no discernible changes in future cancer rates and hereditary diseases are expected due to exposure to radiation resulting from the Fukushima accident
  • no increase in the rates of birth defects are expected as a result of the accident
  • there is a theoretical possibility of an increased risk of thyroid cancer among the group of children most exposed to radiation, but the situation will be followed closely and further assessed in the future
  • dose assessments to the workers are broadly consistent with reported doses, but uncertainties remain for exposures during the early phase of the accident
  • no discernible increase in cancer or other diseases is expected among workers; however, the most exposed workers will continue to receive regular health checks
  • radiation effects on terrestrial and marine ecosystems appear not to be permanent

WHO Health Risk Assessment

As lead health agency within the United Nations, the World Health Organization (WHO) is responsible for the international public health response in emergencies. As part of this responsibility, the WHO published a Health risk assessment (February 28, 2013) for members of the public and emergency workers after the Fukushima Daiichi nuclear accident.

This report, written by independent international experts in radiation risk modeling, epidemiology, dosimetry, radiation effects and public health, provides an assessment of the potential health impacts related to the releases of radiation after the nuclear accident.

Health Risk Assessment

Highlights

Increased risk is reported as estimated relative increases above background rates.

For the general population:

  • For the general population outside of the geographical areas most affected by radiation, and even in some locations within Fukushima prefecture, the predicted risks remain low and no observable increases in cancer risks above baseline rates are anticipated.
  • Among residents of the most impacted areas of Fukushima prefecture, conservative dose estimates indicate potential increases in some cancers risks above baseline rates in certain age and sex groups, but are likely to be below detectable levels. A slight increase in risk was found for all solid cancers, breast cancer, leukemia and thyroid cancer:
    • all solid cancer – around 4% in females exposed as infants;
    • breast cancer – around 6% in females exposed as infants;
    • leukemia – around 7% in males exposed as infants;
    • thyroid cancer – up to 70% in females exposed as infants.

It is important to note that large relative increases typically represent small absolute increases in risk. These percentages represent estimated relative increases over the baseline rates and are not estimated absolute risks for developing such cancers. For example, the baseline lifetime risk of thyroid cancer in females is 0.75%, and the estimated relative increase of 70% in females exposed as infants results in an additional lifetime risk of 0.50% (70% of 0.75% = 0.5%). Therefore, for this group of females, their lifetime risk has increased from 0.75% to a total of 1.25%.

For emergency workers (~23,000 workers):

  • Approximately two thirds of the workers (~66%) received low doses (below 5 mSv of effective dose) and no observable increases in cancer risks above baseline rates are anticipated.
  • Approximately one third of workers (~30%) received a total effective dose of approximately 30 mSv. The youngest workers are at a 20% increased relative risk of thyroid cancer above baseline rates.
  • Less than 1% of workers received a total effective dose of approximately 200 mSv. The youngest workers are at a 28% increased relative risk of leukemia and thyroid cancer above baseline rates.
  • A few workers (<0.01%) received a very high dose of iodine-131 to the thyroid (also represented as a total effective dose of 700 mSv). An increased relative risk of thyroid cancer above baseline rates is estimated, especially for young workers, although these values carry large uncertainties.

The authors of the report caution members of the public about the uncertainty related to their estimates and state that “dose estimates and assumptions used in this assessment were deliberately chosen to minimize the possibility of underestimating eventual health risks.” They also call for ongoing health and environmental monitoring, and warn against neglecting the psychosocial impact of the tsunami and nuclear accident on health and well-being of the population.

WHO Preliminary Estimate of Radiation Doses

As part of the overall health risk assessment being carried out by the World Health Organization (WHO) of the global impact of the accident at the Fukushima Daiichi nuclear power plant, the WHO published a Preliminary dose estimation (May 23, 2012) report.

This report, written by an international expert panel, gives preliminary estimates of public radiation exposure resulting from this accident. Doses are assessed for different age groups and locations. The Health risk assessment, published separately was discussed above.

Preliminary Dose Estimation

Highlights

The effective dose (unit of mSv) is a measure of dose designed to reflect the amount of damage caused by radiation exposure to the whole body. Doses have been estimated for the first year after the accident.

  • In the most affected areas of Fukushima prefecture the estimated effective doses are within 10−50 mSv.
  • In the rest of Fukushima prefecture, the estimated effective doses are within 1−10 mSv.
  • In prefectures neighbouring Fukushima, the estimated effective doses are within 0.1−1 mSv.
  • In all other Japanese prefectures, the estimated effective doses are within 0.1−1 mSv.
  • In the rest of the world, estimated effective doses are less than 0.01 mSv and are usually far below this level.

This dose assessment should be considered as preliminary. The availability of further monitoring data and more detailed information about implementation of protective measures will allow for more refined assessments in the future.

Ask an Expert: CNSC video series on Fukushima-related health questions

The CNSC has launched a video series to address some of the many questions asked by the public following the Fukushima accident. In these videos, CSNC staff experts answer common health-related questions in simple language:

  1. How are children protected after a nuclear accident? Aren't they more vulnerable?
  2. After a nuclear accident like Fukushima, why aren't all members of the public monitored continuously?
  3. Why do guidelines allow orange juice to contain more cesium-137 than bottled water?
  4. Do dried fruit contain more radioactivity than fresh fruit?
  5. Is it safe to eat rice, produce and fish imported from Japan?

Relevant Third Party Research

Levels of radioactive cesium from the 2011 Fukushima Daiichi nuclear power plant accident detected off the U.S. west coast pose no health risks, according to experts at the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution. The highest level reported to date (11 Bq/m3) is more than 500 times lower than U.S. government limits for drinking water. It is also well below limits of concern for direct exposure while swimming, boating, or any other recreational activity. This recent data was released by Our Radioactive Ocean, a citizen science sampling effort launched by Dr. Ken Buesseler in 2014 to monitor ocean waters for radionuclides from the Fukushima accident.

A recent study published by the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America shows that the committed effective dose received by humans based on one year's average consumption of Pacific bluefin tuna contaminated from the Fukushima-Daiichi accident is comparable to, or less than, the dose we routinely receive from naturally occurring radionuclides in many food items, medical treatment, air travel or other background sources. To put this into perspective, the study indicates that the dose is only about five percent of the dose from eating one banana.

Selected Quotes from International Radiation Protection Specialists

Below are selected quotes from letters sent by international radiation protection specialists to Japan's Nuclear Disaster Expert Group. These letters collectively highlight that the potential effects of radiation exposure are minimal compared to the observable effects of stress and stigmatisation on Fukushima residents.

"In summary, the international experts have concluded that this catastrophic accident has providentially resulted in very small radiation doses in general and therefore in no discernible health effects."

Abel J. González
Academician at the Argentine Academies of Environmental Sciences and of the Sea
Vice-Chairman of the International Commission on Radiological Protection (ICRP)
Representative in the United Nations Scientific Committee on the Effects of Atomic Radiation (UNSCEAR)
Member of the Commission of Safety Standards of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA)
Senior advisor to the Argentine Nuclear Regulatory Authority.

"All the scientific evidence suggests that no-one is likely to suffer damage from the radiation from Fukushima itself, but concern over what it might do could cause significant psychological problems. It is therefore important to understand that the risk to health from radiation from Fukushima is negligible, and that undue concern over any possible effects could be much worse than the radiation itself."

Geraldine Anne Thomas, BSc PhD
Professor of Molecular Pathology, Imperial College,
London Director of Chernobyl Tissue Bank

"Risks from radioactivity and ionizing radiation as a genotoxic agent have to be taken seriously and assessed with utmost care. Media and political actors often lack the necessary prudence and appropriate knowledge. This results in improper comparisons and the creation of fear from simplistic concepts like the LNT-hypothesis taken out of its radiation protection context."

Werner Burkart
Professor for Radiation Biology at the Faculty of Medicine of the Ludwig Maximilians University in Munich
Former Deputy Director General of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA).

"Since 2011, I participated in two international projects focused on the assessment of health effects of the FDNPP accident organized by two respected bodies, the World Health Organization (WHO) and the United Nations Scientific Committee on the Effects of Atomic Radiation (UNSCEAR). Both of them came to similar conclusions that future radiation-induced health effects in the population of the Fukushima prefecture were unlikely."

Mikhail Balonov,
Professor Former Member of the International Commission of Radiological Protection (2001-2013)
Consultant to the World Health Organization and the United Nations Scientific Committee on the Effects of Atomic Radiation.

"Two major international reports (from WHO and UNSCEAR) assess the future health risks after the accident at Fukushima. Although these reports used somewhat different data and methods, they both come to similar conclusions: the health risks linked to radiation exposure due to the events at Fukushima Dai-ichi nuclear power plant will remain low (though probably not zero for some groups including young people living in areas near the plant)."

Hajo Zeeb,
Professor of Epidemiology,
Leibniz Institute for Prevention Research and Epidemiology, and University of Bremen, Germany.

"The health risks from radiation exposure have been studied for over 100 years and are quite well-known. Current independent estimates by the World Health Organization (WHO) and the United Nations Scientific Committee on Effects of Atomic Radiation (UNSCEAR) indicate that the risk of future cancer from the accident is very low although nobody can say a small risk does not exist."

Fred A. Mettler Jr. MD, MPH.
Professor Emeritus and Clinical Professor at the Department of Radiology at the University of New Mexico School of Medicine
U.S. Representative, United Nations Scientific Committee on the Effects of Atomic Radiation
Emeritus Commissioner, International Commission on Radiological Protection.

Fukushima et santé

Mise à jour : 21 décembre 2015

Les répercussions de l'accident de Fukushima sur la santé seront évaluées au cours des prochaines décennies. Plusieurs organismes internationaux ont commencé à produire des rapports exposant leurs constatations. De nouvelles données de surveillance et une information plus détaillée sur la mise en œuvre des mesures de protection vont permettre des évaluations plus précises à l'avenir.

La CCSN surveille de près la publication de rapports et d'information par les organismes crédibles, et examine l'information à mesure qu'elle est disponible. Les connaissances acquises sont intégrées dans le cadre de réglementation de la CCSN, s'il y a lieu.

Comparaison entre les rapports récents de l'UNSCEAR et de l'OMS

Les conclusions générales du rapport de 2013 du Comité scientifique des Nations Unies pour l'étude des effets des rayonnements ionisants (UNSCEAR) s'accordent avec celles des deux rapports publiés par l'Organisation mondiale de la Santé (OMS) en 2012 et 2013. Tous les rapports concluent que les risques prédits pour la santé découlant de l'accident nucléaire de Fukushima restent faibles et qu'aucune augmentation observable des risques de cancer au-dessus des niveaux de référence n'est prévue pour la population du Japon et d'ailleurs. De même, on ne s'attend à aucune augmentation perceptible du taux de cancer ou d'autres maladies chez la majorité des travailleurs; cependant, les travailleurs les plus exposés continueront de passer des examens médicaux régulièrement.

Le rapport de 2013 de l'UNSCEAR utilise des données plus détaillées que celles qui étaient disponibles pour les deux rapports de l'OMS examinés ci-dessous. Il a donc été possible d'émettre des hypothèses plus réalistes dans certaines parties de l'évaluation. Par exemple, le rapport de l'UNSCEAR contient plus d'information sur les zones évacuées, les mouvements des personnes évacuées, la configuration des vents et la mise en œuvre des mesures de protection, ainsi que des données de surveillance additionnelles sur les expositions internes et externes. De plus, puisque les doses ont été évaluées sur une période plus longue (du 11 mars 2011 au 31 octobre 2013), l'UNSCEAR a pu faire des projections sur les risques pour la santé pendant les 10 premières années suivant l'accident, de même que jusqu'à l'âge de 80 ans. Par comparaison, l'OMS, dans le rapport de 2012, a été incapable d'estimer les doses au-delà de la première année, car elle se basait sur de l'information pertinente recueillie jusqu'à la mi-septembre 2011 et, sans données supplémentaires, son estimation aurait présenté un degré élevé d'incertitude.

En raison des différences dans la durée du suivi, l'Évaluation des risques pour la santé de l'OMS porte sur 23 172 travailleurs suivis durant les 12 premiers mois, comparativement à 24 832 travailleurs suivis durant les 20 premiers mois selon le rapport de l'UNSCEAR. On a déterminé que la thyroïde de 12 de ces sujets avait absorbé des doses de 2 à 12 Gy, comparativement à 13 sujets selon le rapport de l'UNSCEAR.

Des analyses supplémentaires effectuées par l'UNSCEAR, mais dont l'OMS n'a pas tenu compte, concernaient l'évaluation de l'exposition d'espèces végétales et animales sélectionnées (biote non humain) dans l'environnement. L'exposition du biote non humain, tant marin que terrestre, à la suite de l'accident était, en général, trop faible pour que des effets aigus soient observés, bien qu'il puisse y avoir eu des exceptions attribuables à la variabilité locale.

Des résumés détaillés des conclusions des rapports de l'UNSCEAR et de l'OMS figurent ci-dessous.

Rapport 2013 de l'UNSCEAR

Annexe scientifique A : Niveaux et effets de l'exposition au rayonnement découlant de l'accident nucléaire survenu après les grands séisme et tsunami de 2011 dans l'Est du Japon

Le Comité scientifique des Nations Unies pour l'étude des effets des rayonnements ionisants (UNSCEAR) a procédé à une évaluation des niveaux et des effets de l'exposition au rayonnement découlant de l'accident survenu à la centrale nucléaire Fukushima Daiichi en mars 2011. Pour faire suite aux conclusions préliminaires présentées le 23 mai 2012 à sa réunion annuelle, l'UNSCEAR a publié aujourd'hui le rapport complet intitulé « Levels and effects of radiation exposure due to the nuclear accident after the 2011 great east-Japan earthquake and tsunami » (traduction : Niveaux et effets de l'exposition au rayonnement découlant de l'accident nucléaire survenu après les grands séisme et tsunami de 2011 dans l'Est du Japon.)

Les conclusions sont fondées sur les estimations de l'exposition de divers groupes de populations, y compris les enfants, ainsi que sur la connaissance scientifique des effets sur la santé de l'exposition au rayonnement.

Le président de l'UNSCEAR, Carl Magnus Larsson, a affirmé, en se basant sur les constatations, que l'UNSCEAR ne prévoyait pas de changements importants dans les futures statistiques sur le cancer, qui pourraient être attribuables à l'exposition au rayonnement découlant de l'accident.

UNSCEAR 2013 Report

Points saillants du rapport

  • Aucun changement notable n'est prévu dans les futurs taux de cancer et maladies héréditaires en raison de l'exposition au rayonnement découlant de l'accident de Fukushima.
  • Aucune augmentation des taux d'anomalie congénitale n'est prévue en raison de l'accident.
  • Il existe une possibilité théorique que le risque de cancer de la thyroïde augmente chez le groupe d'enfants qui a été le plus exposé au rayonnement, mais la situation sera suivie de près et réévaluée à l'avenir.
  • Les évaluations des doses des travailleurs concordent en général avec les doses rapportées. Il subsiste toutefois des incertitudes quant aux expositions durant la première phase de l'accident.
  • Aucune augmentation notable du cancer ou d'autres maladies n'est prévue chez les travailleurs. Toutefois, les travailleurs les plus exposés continueront de subir régulièrement des examens médicaux.
  • Les effets du rayonnement sur les écosystèmes terrestres et marins ne semblent pas être permanents.

Évaluation de l'OMS sur les risques pour la santé

À titre d'organisme de santé principal des Nations Unies, l'Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS) est responsable de l'intervention internationale d'urgence en matière de santé publique. C'est en cette qualité que l'OMS a publié une évaluation des risques pour la santé (en anglais seulement) (28 février 2013) du public et des intervenants d'urgence après l'accident nucléaire de Fukushima Daiichi.

Rédigé par des experts internationaux indépendants dans les domaines de la modélisation du risque dû au rayonnement, de l'épidémiologie, de la dosimétrie, des effets du rayonnement et de la santé publique, le rapport évalue les effets potentiels sur la santé du rejet de substances radioactives après l'accident nucléaire.

Évaluation des risques pour la santé

Points saillants

Le risque accru est exprimé en tant que hausses relatives estimées par rapport aux niveaux naturels.

Pour le public :

  • Pour le public habitant en dehors des secteurs géographiques les plus touchés par le rayonnement et même à certains endroits dans la préfecture de Fukushima, le risque prévu demeure faible et aucune augmentation observable du risque de cancer au-delà des niveaux de référence n'est prévue.
  • En ce qui concerne les résidents des secteurs les plus touchés de la préfecture de Fukushima, des estimations prudentes des doses indiquent des augmentations potentielles du risque de certains cancers au-delà des niveaux de référence en fonction du groupe d'âge et du sexe, mais qui seront probablement en deçà des niveaux détectables. Une légère augmentation du risque a été constatée pour tous les cancers solides (le cancer du sein, la leucémie et le cancer de la glande thyroïde) :
    • tous les cancers solides – environ 4 % pour les personnes de sexe féminin exposées en bas âge;
    • cancer du sein – environ 6 % pour les personnes de sexe féminin exposées en bas âge;
    • leucémie – environ 7 % pour les personnes de sexe masculin exposées en bas âge;
    • cancer de la glande thyroïde – jusqu'à 70 % pour les personnes de sexe féminin exposées en bas âge.

Il convient de mentionner que des augmentations relatives importantes représentent généralement de faibles augmentations absolues du risque. Ces pourcentages représentent des augmentations relatives estimées par rapport aux niveaux de référence, et non des risques absolus estimés de développement de ces formes de cancer. Par exemple, le risque de référence à vie de développer un cancer de la glande thyroïde chez les femmes est de 0,75 %, et l'augmentation relative estimée de 70 % pour les personnes de sexe féminin exposées en bas âge signifie un risque à vie additionnel de 0,50 % (70 % de 0,7 5% = 0,5 %). Par conséquent, pour ce groupe de femmes, le risque à vie est passé de 0,75 % à un total de 1,25 %.

Pour les intervenants d'urgence (environ 23 000 travailleurs) :

  • Les deux tiers environ des travailleurs (environ 66 %) ont reçu de faibles doses (moins de 5 mSv de dose efficace); aucune augmentation observable du risque de cancer au-delà des niveaux de référence n'est prévue.
  • Environ le tiers des travailleurs (environ 30 %) ont reçu une dose efficace totale d'environ 30 mSv. Une hausse du risque relatif de cancer de la glande thyroïde de 20 % au-delà des niveaux de référence a été établie pour les travailleurs les plus jeunes.
  • Moins de 1 % des travailleurs ont reçu une dose efficace totale d'environ 200 mSv. Une hausse du risque relatif de leucémie et de cancer de la glande thyroïde de 28 % au-delà des niveaux de référence a été établie pour les travailleurs les plus jeunes.
  • Quelques travailleurs (moins de 0,01 %) ont reçu une dose très élevée d'iode 131 à la glande thyroïde (aussi représentée comme une dose efficace totale de 700 mSv). On a estimé une augmentation du risque relatif de cancer de la glande thyroïde au-delà des niveaux de référence, surtout pour les jeunes travailleurs, bien que ces valeurs comportent une incertitude considérable.

Les auteurs du rapport mettent en garde les membres du public quant à l'incertitude de leurs estimations, indiquant que les doses estimées et les hypothèses utilisées dans cette évaluation ont été choisies délibérément de manière à réduire la possibilité de sous-estimer les risques possibles pour la santé. Ils réclament aussi une surveillance continue de l'environnement et de la santé et recommandent de ne pas négliger l'impact psychologique du tsunami et de l'accident nucléaire sur la santé et le bien-être de la population.

Estimation provisoire des doses de rayonnement de l'OMS

Dans le cadre de son évaluation générale de l'impact global de l'accident de la centrale nucléaire Fukushima Daiichi sur les risques pour la santé, l'Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS) a publié un rapport sur l'estimation provisoire des doses (en anglais seulement) (23 mai 2012).

Rédigé par un groupe d'experts internationaux, le rapport présente une estimation provisoire de l'exposition du public au rayonnement à la suite de l'accident. Les doses sont évaluées pour divers groupes d'âge et différents endroits. Une autre publication, l'évaluation des risques pour la santé, est traitée ci‑dessus.

Estimation provisoire des doses de rayonnement

Points saillants

La dose efficace (unité de mSv) est une mesure conçue pour refléter les dommages causés sur tout l'organisme par l'exposition au rayonnement. Les doses ont été estimées pour la première année après l'accident.

  • Dans les secteurs les plus touchés de la préfecture de Fukushima, les doses efficaces estimées varient entre 10 et 50 mSv.
  • Ailleurs dans la préfecture de Fukushima, les doses efficaces estimées varient entre 1 et 10 mSv.
  • Dans les préfectures voisines de Fukushima, les doses efficaces estimées varient entre 0,1 et 1 mSv.
  • Dans toutes les autres préfectures japonaises, les doses efficaces estimées varient entre 0,1 et 1 mSv.
  • Ailleurs dans le monde, les doses efficaces estimées sont inférieures à 0,01 mSv et généralement bien en deçà de ce niveau.

Cette évaluation des doses doit être considérée comme préliminaire. De nouvelles données de surveillance et une information plus détaillée sur la mise en œuvre des mesures de protection vont permettre des évaluations plus précises à l'avenir.

Recherches pertinentes effectuées par des tiers

Selon les experts de la Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, les niveaux de césium radioactif détectés au large de la côte ouest des États-Unis et attribuables à l’accident survenu en 2011 à la centrale nucléaire de Fukushima Daiichi ne posent pas de risque pour la santé. Le niveau le plus élevé à ce jour (11 Bq/m3) est plus de 500 fois plus bas que les limites de sûreté établies par le gouvernement américain pour l’eau potable. Ce niveau est aussi bien en deçà des limites préoccupantes en lien avec une exposition directe (baignade, navigation ou toute autre activité récréative). Les récentes données ont été rendues publiques par Our Radiactive Ocean, un programme d’échantillonnage scientifique par des citoyens lancé par M. Buesseler en 2014 en vue de surveiller les concentrations de radionucléides dans l’océan attribuables à l’accident de Fukushima.

Une étude récente a été publiée par l'Académie nationale des sciences des États-Unis (en anglais seulement) sur la dose efficace engagée que reçoivent les humains en raison de leur consommation annuelle moyenne de thon rouge du Pacifique contaminé par suite de l'accident de Fukushima-Daiichi.

Selon l'étude, cette dose efficace engagée est comparable ou inférieure à la dose que les humains reçoivent habituellement en raison de traitements médicaux, de voyages en avion, des radionucléides présents naturellement dans nombre d'aliments et d'autres sources de rayonnement de fond. Pour mettre la question en perspective, les auteurs de l'étude indiquent que cette dose équivaut à seulement 5 % environ de la dose induite par la consommation d'une seule banane.

Un expert vous répond : Série vidéo de la CCSN sur des questions de santé liées à l'accident de Fukushima

La CCSN a lancé une série vidéo pour répondre à quelques-unes des nombreuses questions posées par le public après l'accident de Fukushima. Dans ces vidéos, des experts de la CCSN répondent en langage simple aux questions de santé les plus communes.

  1. Comment les enfants sont-ils protégés après un accident nucléaire? Ne sont-ils pas plus vulnérables que les autres?
  2. Pourquoi tous les membres du public ne font-ils pas l'objet d'une surveillance continue après un accident nucléaire comme celui de Fukushima?
  3. Pourquoi les directives disent-elles que le jus d'orange peut contenir plus de césium-137 que l'eau embouteillée?
  4. Les fruits séchés contiennent-ils plus de radioactivité que les fruits frais?
  5. Est-ce sécuritaire de manger du riz, du poisson et d'autres aliments importés du Japon?

Citations de spécialistes internationaux en radioprotection

Voici des citations tirées de lettres envoyées par des spécialistes internationaux en radioprotection au groupe d'experts sur la catastrophe nucléaire au Japon (en anglais seulement). Cet ensemble de lettres met en relief le fait que les effets potentiels de l'exposition au rayonnement sont minimes comparativement aux effets observables de la stigmatisation et du stress subi par les résidents de Fukushima.

« Bref, les experts internationaux ont conclu que les personnes touchées par cette catastrophe sont en général exposées à de très faibles quantités de rayonnement et qu'il n'y a donc aucun effet perceptible sur la santé. »

Abel J. González
Académicien, académies des sciences de l'environnement et des océans de l'Argentine
Vice-président, Commission internationale de protection radiologique (CIPR)
Représentant, Comité scientifique des Nations Unies pour l'étude des effets des rayonnements ionisants (UNSCEAR)
Membre, Commission des normes de sécurité de l'Agence internationale de l'énergie atomique (AIEA)
Conseiller principal auprès de l'autorité de réglementation nucléaire de l'Argentine.

« Toutes les preuves scientifiques indiquent qu'il est peu probable que le rayonnement provenant de Fukushima ait des effets négatifs. Cependant, les inquiétudes sur les effets du rayonnement pourraient causer des problèmes psychologiques graves. C'est pourquoi il faut comprendre que les risques pour la santé associés à l'accident de Fukushima sont négligeables, et que les préoccupations excessives à l'égard des effets possibles pourraient être bien pires que le rayonnement en tant que tel. »

Geraldine Anne Thomas, B. Sc. Ph. D.
Professeure de pathologie moléculaire, Imperial College de Londres
Directrice, Chernobyl Tissue Bank.

« Les risques de la radioactivité et du rayonnement ionisant en tant qu'agent génotoxique doivent être pris au sérieux et évalués avec le plus grand soin. Les intervenants politiques et des médias ne font pas toujours preuve de prudence et ne possèdent pas forcément les connaissances dont ils ont besoin. Ce manque entraîne de mauvaises comparaisons et un effet de peur associée à des concepts simples comme l'hypothèse d'une relation dose-effet linéaire sans seuil prise hors du contexte de la radioprotection ».

Werner Burkart
Professeur de radiobiologie, Faculté de médecine, Université Ludwig Maximilians (Munich)
Ancien directeur général adjoint de l'Agence internationale de l'énergie atomique (AIEA)

« Depuis 2011, j'ai participé à deux projets internationaux axés sur l'évaluation des effets sur la santé de l'accident à la centrale nucléaire de Fukushima Daiichi. Ces projets ont été mis sur pied par deux organismes respectés, soit l'Organisation mondiale de la Santé (OMS) et le Comité scientifique des Nations Unies pour l'étude des effets des rayonnements ionisants (UNSCEAR). Les projets ont tous deux conclu qu'il était peu probable que le rayonnement ait des conséquences futures sur la santé de la population de la préfecture de Fukushima.

Mikhail Balonov,
professeur Ancien membre de la Commission internationale de protection radiologique (2001-2013)
Consultant auprès de l'Organisation mondiale de la Santé et du Comité scientifique des Nations Unies pour l'étude des effets des rayonnements ionisants.

« Deux importants rapports internationaux (de l'OMS et de l'UNSCEAR) évaluent les futurs risques pour la santé après l'accident de Fukushima. Les rapports sont tous deux fondés sur des données et des méthodes différentes, mais les conclusions sont les mêmes : les risques pour la santé liés à l'exposition au rayonnement lors de l'incident à la centrale nucléaire de Fukushima Daiichi demeureront faibles (mais ils ne seront sans doute pas nuls pour certains groupes, y compris les jeunes résidant à proximité de la centrale). »

Hajo Zeeb,
professeur d'épidémiologie,
Leibniz Institute for Prevention Research and Epidemiology et Université de Bremen (Allemagne).

« Les risques pour la santé associés à l'exposition au rayonnement ont été étudiés pendant plus de 100 ans et ils sont très bien connus. Les estimations indépendantes actuelles de l'Organisation mondiale de la Santé (OMS) et du Comité scientifique des Nations Unies pour l'étude des effets des rayonnements ionisants (UNSCEAR) indiquent que le risque de développement futur de cancer associé à l'accident [à Fukushima] est très faible, même si personne ne peut affirmer qu'il est nul. »

Fred A. Mettler Jr. MD, M.H.P.
Professeur émérite et enseignant clinique, Département de radiologie de l'École de médecine de l'Université du Nouveau­Mexique
Représentant des États-Unis au Comité scientifique des Nations Unies pour l'étude des effets des rayonnements ionisants Commissaire émérite, Commission internationale de protection radiologique.