CNSC Guest Speakers 2015

CNSC Guest Speakers (2017) | (2016) | (2015)

The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) hosts guest speakers on topics of interest to CNSC staff. These sessions take place on a regular basis throughout the year. The Guest Speaker Series is open to all CNSC staff and members of the public.

The CNSC does not, by publishing the information in this section, indicate its endorsement of any of the authors' opinions or conclusions.

To receive alternate formats, such as a paper copy, or to get help with problems accessing any presentation, contact the CNSC.

September 9, 2015

Rick Grantom: “Risk Informed Decision-Making (RIDM) and Probabilistic Safety Assessment (PSA) Applications For Nuclear Power Plants” (PDF)

Rick Grantom is an independent consultant and Co-Chairman of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers / American Nuclear Society Joint Committee on Nuclear Risk Management. He spoke on the status and experience of RIDM and PSA applications for nuclear power plants in the U.S. His presentation covered RIDM principles, processes and examples for both regulatory and industry use and application of PSA.

August 4, 2015

Nikolai Steinberg: "Chernobyl Accident: Lessons Learned" (PDF)
Mr. Nikolai Steinberg, former Chief Engineer of the Chernobyl nuclear power plant, presented information, based on his own experience, on the root causes and consequences of the Chernobyl accident. In his presentation, he shared his vision of the measures needed to decrease the chance of severe accidents, as well as his vision of emergency preparedness to successfully overcome accidents if they were to happen.

June 26, 2015

Tanveer Naseer: "Workplace Zombies" (PDF)
Tanveer Naseer is an award-winning and internationally acclaimed leadership writer, keynote speaker and founder of Tanveer Naseer Leadership. His presentation focused on the three core psychological needs that studies have shown we all have, and how they can help us to not only prevent the spread of "workplace zombies", but also how we can tap into these core psychological needs to create employees who care.

April 27, 2015

Dr. Neil Alexander: Fedoruk Centre
Dr. Neil Alexander, Executive Director of the Fedoruk Centre, gave a presentation on the Fedoruk Centre, which aims to place Saskatchewan among global leaders in nuclear research, development and training through partnerships with industry and academia for economic and social benefit.

February 6, 2015

Ruth Brinston: “Food Irradiation” (PDF)
Ms. Ruth Brinston, a food and health consultant specializing in irradiation technology, presented at our speaker series on the effectiveness of ionizing radiation for food safety, insect control and shelf-life stability.

January 14, 2015

Mike Richmond: Social Context
Mike Richmond, Co-Chair of the Energy and Power Group at the law firm McMillan LLP and member of the National Energy Board, gave a presentation on the changing social context in which regulators operate, and how they must change the way they operate to adapt to new realities.

Série des conférenciers 2015

Série des Conférenciers de la CCSN (2017) | (2016) | (2015)

La CCSN accueille des conférenciers qui donnent des présentations sur des sujets d'intérêt pour le personnel de la CCSN. Ces séances ont lieu régulièrement durant l'année. La Série des conférenciers s'adresse à tout le personnel de la CCSN et aux membres du public.

La publication des renseignements dans cette section ne signifie pas que la CCSN cautionne les opinions ou les conclusions formulées par les auteurs.

Pour obtenir un autre format, comme une copie papier, ou si vous avez des problèmes à accéder aux présentations, veuillez communiquer avec la CCSN.

9 septembre 2015

Rick Grantom : Prise de décisions tenant compte du risque et études probabilistes de sûreté pour les centrales nucléaires (en anglais seulement) (PDF)

Rick Grantom est un consultant indépendant et vice-président du comité conjoint de l’American Society of Mechanical Engineers / American Nuclear Society sur la gestion des risques nucléaires. Sa présentation portait sur les applications de la prise de décisions tenant compte du risque (PDTCR) et les études probabilistes de sûreté (EPS) pour les centrales nucléaires aux États-Unis. À l’aide d’exemples, il a parlé des principes et des processus liés à la PDTCR pour l’utilisation et l’application d’EPS à des fins réglementaires et par l’industrie.

4 août 2015

Nikolai Steinberg : « Leçons retenues de l’accident de Tchernobyl » (en anglais seulement) (PDF)
M. Nikolai Steinberg, ancien ing énieur en chef à la centrale nucléaire de Tchernobyl, a donné une présentation fondée sur sa propre expérience au sujet des causes fondamentales et des conséquences de l’accident de Tchernobyl. De plus, il a parlé de sa vision sur ce qui devrait être fait pour réduire la probabilité d’accidents graves et pour renforcer la capacité de préparation aux urgences afin de bien gérer les accidents qui pourraient se produire.

26 juin 2015

Tanveer Naseer : Tanveer Naseer : Les « zombies de bureau » (en anglais seulement) (PDF)
Tanveer Naseer est un auteur de renommée mondiale sur le leadership et lauréat de plusieurs prix, un orateur et le fondateur de Tanveer Naseer Leadership. Sa présentation a porté sur les trois besoins psychologiques de base. Selon des études, nous les avons tous, et ils peuvent nous aider à non seulement prévenir l’épidémie de « zombies de bureau », mais aussi comment les satisfaire pour avoir des employés qui ont du cœur à l’ouvrage.

27 avril 2015

Dr. Neil Alexander : Centre Fedoruk
M. Neil Alexander, directeur général du Centre Fedoruk, a donné une présentation sur le Centre Fedoruk, lequel veut faire de la Saskatchewan un leader mondial en matière de recherche, de développement et de formation dans le secteur nucléaire, et ce, au moyen de partenariats avec l’industrie et les universités afin d’obtenir des avantages économiques et sociaux.

6 février 2015

Ruth Brinston : « L’irradiation des aliments » (en anglais seulement) (PDF)
Ruth Brinston, une conseillère en matière d’aliments et de santé spécialisée en technologie de l’irradiation, discutera de l’efficacité du rayonnement ionisant dans les domaines de la salubrité des aliments, de la lutte contre les insectes et de la durée de conservation (stabilité).

14 janvier 2015

Mike Richmond : Contexte social
Mike Richmond, coprésident du groupe chargé de l’énergie et de l’électricité chez McMillan LLP et membre de l’Office national de l’énergie, a discuté du contexte social en évolution dans lequel les organismes de réglementation fonctionnent, et de l’importance de s’adapter aux nouvelles réalités.