Frequently asked questions (FAQs) - BWXT licence renewal hearing 2020

Frequently asked questions: BWXT Nuclear Energy Canada Inc.’s application to the CNSC to renew its operating licence

Q1BWXT Nuclear Energy Canada Inc. (BWXT) has applied to the CNSC to renew its operating licence. Who makes the decision to license a nuclear facility?

Q2. What is the difference between CNSC staff and the Commission?

Q3I have read in newspapers that the CNSC has already recommended the approval of BWXT’s application. Is that true?

Q1. BWXT Nuclear Energy Canada Inc. (BWXT) has applied to the CNSC to renew its operating licence. Who makes the decision to license a nuclear facility?

A1.  The Commission makes the decision whether to licens e a nuclear facility. The Commission is an independent administrative tribunal that works at arm's length from government without any ties to the nuclear industry. The Commission does not support, endorse or recommend any nuclear project, activity or prescribed technology in Canada.

In March 2020, the Commission will hold a public hearing, which will give involved parties and members of the public an opportunity to be heard. If you would like to comment on BWXT’s application, you may file a request to intervene by January 27, 2020. The Commission will consider all submissions, after which it will deliberate and render a decision on BWXT’s application. The Commission will only issue a licence if it is satisfied that the proposed nuclear facility or activity would pose no danger to the health, safety and security of persons and the environment.

Q2. What is the difference between CNSC staff and the Commission?

A2. The CNSC is divided in two separate groups: the Commission and CNSC staff.

  • The Commission is an independent administrative tribunal composed of members who are appointed by the Governor in Council. It makes its decisions transparently and independently from government, industry and CNSC staff.
  • CNSC staff include more than 800 scientific and technical professionals. These employees review applications for licences, then make recommendations to the Commission.

Together, the Commission and staff form the CNSC and share a common mission to regulate the use of nuclear energy and materials to protect health, safety, security and the environment.

Q3. I have read in newspapers that the CNSC has already recommended the approval of BWXT’s application. Is that true?

A3.  The CNSC has released a report in which staff recommend the approval of uranium pelleting at the company’s Peterborough and Toronto facilities. In December 2019, expert CNSC staff submitted a Commission member document (CMD) to the Commission. This CMD contained an assessment of BWXT’s licence application. As part of this assessment, CNSC staff conducted a review to determine whether BWXT, in completing the proposed activities, would continue to make adequate provisions to protect the environment and the health and safety of persons, maintain national security and take the actions needed to fulfill the international obligations to which Canada has agreed.

Based on their conclusions, CNSC staff recommended that the Commission issue a 10-year nuclear fuel facility licence to BWXT, with proposed licence conditions, and that the Commission authorize the conduct of pelleting operations and the delegation of authority, as set out in the CMD.

This CMD will inform the Commission during its deliberations. However, it will be solely up to the Commission itself to decide whether to issue the licence during the public hearing that will be held in March.

All documentation submitted for the hearing is available on the CNSC website.

You can also email the CNSC public inquiries account at cnsc.info.ccsn@canada.ca

Date modified:

Foire aux questions (FAQ) - Audience sur le renouvellement du permis de BWXT en 2020

Foire aux questions : Demande présentée à la CCSN par BWXT Nuclear Energy Canada Inc. pour le renouvellement de son permis d’exploitation

Q1BWXT Nuclear Energy Canada Inc. (BWXT) a présenté une demande à la CCSN pour le renouvellement de son permis d’exploitation. Qui décide de délivrer des permis à une installation nucléaire?

Q2Quelle est la différence entre le personnel de la CCSN et la Commission?

Q3J’ai lu dans les journaux que la CCSN avait déjà recommandé l’approbation de la demande de BWXT. Est-ce vrai?

Q1. BWXT Nuclear Energy Canada Inc. (BWXT) a présenté une demande à la CCSN pour le renouvellement de son permis d’exploitation. Qui décide de délivrer des permis à une installation nucléaire?

R1. C’est la Commission qui décide si une installation nucléaire obtiendra un permis. La Commission est un tribunal administratif quasi judiciaire, indépendant du gouvernement et sans liens avec le secteur nucléaire. Le mandat et le rôle de la Commission sont de réglementer l’utilisation de l’énergie et des matières nucléaires. La Commission n’appuie pas et ne recommande pas de projet, d’activité ou de technologie réglementés au Canada.

En mars 2020, la Commission tiendra une audience publique qui donnera aux parties intéressées et aux membres du public l’occasion d’être entendus. Si vous voulez commenter la demande de BWXT, veuillez soumettre une demande d’intervention d’ici le 27 janvier 2020. La Commission examinera l’ensemble de la documentation, après quoi elle tiendra des délibérations et prendra une décision concernant la demande de BWXT. La Commission délivrera un permis uniquement si elle est satisfaite que l’installation ou l’activité nucléaire proposée ne pose aucun danger pour la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité des personnes ou pour l’environnement.

Q2. Quelle est la différence entre le personnel de la CCSN et la Commission?

R2. La CCSN est divisée en deux groupes distincts : la Commission et le personnel de la CCSN?

  • La Commission est un tribunal administratif indépendant composé de membres nommés par le gouverneur en conseil. Elle prend des décisions transparentes et indépendantes du gouvernement, du secteur et du personnel de la CCSN.
  • Le personnel de la CCSN compte plus de 800 professionnels scientifiques et techniques. Ils sont chargés d’examiner les demandes de permis, puis de présenter des recommandations à la Commission.

Ensemble, la Commission et le personnel forment la CCSN et ont pour mission commune de réglementer l’utilisation de l’énergie et des matières nucléaires afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité des personnes, et de protéger l’environnement.

Q3. J’ai lu dans les journaux que la CCSN avait déjà recommandé l’approbation de la demande de BWXT. Est-ce vrai?

R3. La CCSN a diffusé un rapport dans lequel son personnel a recommandé l’approbation des activités de pelletisation d’uranium aux installations de l’entreprise qui se trouvent à Peterborough et Toronto. En décembre 2019, des experts de la CCSN ont soumis à la Commission une évaluation de la demande de permis de BWXT dans un document à l’intention des commissaires (CMD) (en anglais). Dans le cadre de cette évaluation, les experts devaient déterminer si BWXT, dans l’exercice de ses activités, continuera de prendre des dispositions adéquates pour protéger l’environnement et préserver la santé et la sécurité du public, maintenir la sécurité nationale et respecter les obligations internationales que le Canada a assumées.

En fonction de ses conclusions, le personnel de la CCSN a recommandé que la Commission délivre un permis d’exploitation d’une installation de combustible nucléaire, valide pour une période de 10 ans, avec les conditions de permis proposées. Il a aussi recommandé d’autoriser les activités de pelletisation et la délégation de pouvoirs, comme il est indiqué dans le CMD.

Le CMD éclairera les délibérations de la Commission. Cependant, il revient uniquement à la Commission de décider si elle délivrera le permis, ce qu’elle fera à l’occasion de l’audience publique prévue en mars.

Tous les documents soumis pour l’audience sont affichés sur le site Web de la CCSN.  

Vous pouvez aussi écrire à l’adresse suivante : cnsc.info.ccsn@canada.ca

Dernière mise à jour :