Understanding Radiation

July 2017

Fact Sheet – Understanding Radiation (PDF)

Simply put, radiation is energy in the form of moving waves or streams of particles. This energy can be high-frequency, like X-rays or cosmic rays from outer space or low-frequency, like microwaves and radio waves. This range of energy makes up the electromagnetic spectrum and is divided into two main types of radiation: ionizing and non-ionizing.

Non-ionizing radiation does not possess enough energy to create charged atoms or molecules, called ions. Ionizing radiation, on the other hand, does possess sufficient energy to create ions. Ions can be harmful to your body, but they can also be used for many beneficial purposes.

Quick facts

Ionizing radiation is higher-energy radiation that is capable of removing electrons as it passes through matter (such as air, water or living tissue). Examples include alpha particles, gamma rays, X-rays and neutrons.

Non-ionizing radiation is radiation of lower energy than ionizing radiation; it does not possess enough energy to produce ions. Examples include visible light, infrared, and radio waves.

The electromagnetic spectrum

Sources of radiation

We live on a planet where we are exposed to natural background radiation. Radioactive materials are present in soil, rocks, the air we breathe, the water we drink, and even in our own bodies. These sources of natural radiation make up the bulk of the total radiation we are exposed to every day. We are also exposed to man-made radiation from various sources, such as nuclear medicine – which uses radioactive material to diagnose and treat cancer, the nuclear fuel cycle, as well as commercial products like smoke detectors.

Putting radiation doses into perspective

The health effects of radiation are well understood. Since the early 20th century, radiation’s effects have been studied in depth, in both the laboratory and among human populations. Because of the known health risks of radiation, it must be carefully used and strictly controlled. A balance must be struck between radiation’s societal benefits and the risks that radiation poses to people and the environment.

Generally speaking, a dose is the quantity we use when we talk about the potential health effects of radiation. An effective dose takes into account the type of radiation you’ve been exposed to and the organs in your body which have been exposed. It is expressed using the unit "sievert" or more commonly "millisievert" (mSv), which is 1,000 times smaller.

The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission sets radiation dose limits for nuclear energy workers and the public in Canada in order to keep radiation doses well below harmful levels to protect human health and safety.


Radiation Dose Examples

Comprendre le rayonnement

Juillet 2017

Fiche d'information – Comprendre le rayonnement (PDF)

Le rayonnement est tout simplement de l’énergie sous forme d’ondes ou de faisceaux de particules. L’énergie produite peut être de haute fréquence (p. ex. rayons X ou rayons cosmiques) ou de basse fréquence (p. ex. micro-ondes et ondes radioélectriques). Ces différentes formes d’énergie constituent le spectre de rayonnement électromagnétique, qui est divisé en deux principaux types de rayonnement : ionisant et non ionisant.

Le rayonnement non ionisant n’a pas suffisamment d’énergie pour créer des atomes ou des molécules chargées électriquement, appelés ions. Le rayonnement ionisant possède cependant assez d’énergie pour créer des ions. Ceux-ci peuvent être nuisibles pour le corps, mais peuvent aussi avoir différents usages bénéfiques.

Faits en bref

Le rayonnement ionisant est une forme de rayonnement ayant assez d’énergie pour retrancher des électrons en traversant la matière (comme l’air, l’eau ou les tissus vivants). Les particules alpha, les rayons gamma, les rayons X et les neutrons sont des exemples de rayonnement ionisant.

Le rayonnement non ionisant est une forme de rayonnement qui ne provoque pas l'ionisation, c.-à-d. qui ne possède pas l'énergie suffisante pour produire des ions. La lumière visible, les rayons infrarouges et les ondes radioélectriques sont des exemples de rayonnement non ionisant.

The electromagnetic spectrum

Sources de rayonnement

Partout sur la planète, nous sommes exposés au rayonnement naturel. On trouve des matières radioactives dans le sol, les roches, l’air que nous respirons, l’eau que nous buvons et même notre propre corps. Ces sources de rayonnement naturel constituent la majeure partie du rayonnement total auquel nous sommes exposés chaque jour. Nous sommes aussi exposés au rayonnement artificiel provenant de diverses sources, comme la médecine nucléaire – qui utilise des isotopes radioactifs pour diagnostiquer et traiter le cancer – le cycle du combustible nucléaire ainsi que des produits commerciaux comme les détecteurs de fumée.

Mettre le rayonnement en perspective

Les effets du rayonnement sur la santé sont bien compris. Depuis le début du 20e siècle, les effets du rayonnement ont été étudiés à fond, à la fois en laboratoire et sur les populations humaines. En raison des risques connus du rayonnement pour la santé, il doit être utilisé avec prudence et strictement contrôlé. Un équilibre doit être trouvé entre les avantages du rayonnement pour la société et les risques que le rayonnement pose pour les personnes et l’environnement.

En général, la dose est la quantité de rayonnement associée à différents effets potentiels sur la santé. Une dose efficace tient compte du type de rayonnement auquel vous et vos organes ont été exposés. L’unité utilisée pour exprimer cette dose est le « sievert » ou plus communément le « millisievert » (mSv), qui est mille fois plus petit.

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire établit les limites de dose de rayonnement pour les travailleurs du secteur nucléaire et le public pour maintenir les doses à des niveaux bien en deçà des niveaux nocifs afin de protéger la santé et la sécurité du public.


Exemples de doses de rayonnement