Canada's historical role in developing nuclear weapons

May 28, 2012

Chalk River Laboratories, February 1954
Chalk River Laboratories, February 1954. Located about 200 km north of Ottawa, Ontario, Chalk River Laboratories buildings contained the ZEEP, NRX and NRU reactors (under construction). Originally part of an effort to produce plutonium for nuclear weapons, the ZEEP reactor was designed by a team of Canadian, British and French scientists and engineers during the Second World War.

The extraction and processing of uranium as well as research into the production of nuclear materials for military purposes are part of Canada's history. The better-known chapter of that history is probably Canada's participation in the Manhattan Project during the Second World War (WWII), when our country supplied and refined uranium for use in U.S. facilities. Canada continued to be a supplier of uranium for military purposes for two decades after the war.

Less well known to most, perhaps, is our involvement in research to produce and extract plutonium as part of the Manhattan Project, which ended in 1946. Canada also sold irradiated (used) nuclear fuel, from which plutonium was extracted, to the U.S. between 1959 and 1964. All transfers of nuclear materials for non-peaceful purposes were halted the following year.

C.D. Howe
C.D. Howe, Canada's wartime cabinet minister who formally entered Canada into the nuclear age.

A wartime decision

It was in the midst of WWII, on August 17, 1942, that Canada formally decided to enter the nuclear age. The British government was looking for a partner to relocate its Cambridge-based nuclear laboratory during the war to facilitate collaboration with the U.S. in developing nuclear weapons. After negotiations between the United Kingdom and Canada, agreement was reached. C.D. Howe, Minister of Canada's wartime Department of Munitions and Supply, famously gave the go ahead for the Montreal Laboratory (forerunner of the Chalk River Laboratories) with the simple words “Okay, let's go." The laboratory would become associated with the U.S. Manhattan Project, which would build a nuclear bomb.

A year later, the Québec Agreement between the UK and the U.S. was signed by Winston Churchill and Franklin Delano Roosevelt. This multinational agreement sealed the general terms which would later define Canada's role in the Manhattan Project and the nuclear weapons programs of the Allies.

Uranium

The early expansion of Canada's uranium industry was driven by the military's interest in the development and production of nuclear weapons. During WWII, a Canadian company, Eldorado Gold Mining Company, reopened a recently closed radium mine, (the presence of radium is closely associated with that of uranium) to supply the U.S. military with the uranium needed to produce the nuclear bomb.

From the mine, located near Great Bear Lake in the Northwest Territories, uranium-bearing ore was extracted and shipped thousands of kilometres to Eldorado's milling and refining facility in Port Hope, Ontario. In 1942, the federal government purchased and nationalized Eldorado's uranium-related assets.

For the duration of WWII, Eldorado's Port Hope facility refined ore from many countries, including the U.S. and what is now the Democratic Republic of Congo, in response to the overwhelming demand for uranium driven by the Manhattan Project.

Miner hauling a car of uranium-bearing ore
A miner hauling a car of uranium-bearing ore at Eldorado Mine of Great Bear Lake, NWT, c. 1930. Radium mining ended at the mine in 1939. In 1941, the private mine was reopened to supply the U.S. with the uranium needed to develop the nuclear bomb. Because of its strategic importance, the Canadian government bought the company one year after.

Plutonium

During WWII, Canada joined the U.S. and the UK in their efforts to produce a nuclear bomb. The fission of uranium, the method used to harness the energy found within the atom, was discovered in 1939. By the end of 1942, the UK and Canada had established the Montreal Laboratory to develop nuclear weapons. Scientists from both nations and from France collaborated to design the ZEEP (zero energy experimental pile) reactor.

The ZEEP, housed in Chalk River, Ontario, was a small prototype reactor constructed to prove that natural uranium and heavy water could be used to create and sustain nuclear fission (also known as achieving “criticality"). The reactor was also used to demonstrate the design's potential to generate plutonium – an artificially created fissile material that can be extracted chemically from irradiated uranium fuel – for the Allies' military programs. The first reactor to achieve criticality outside the U.S. (in September 1945), the ZEEP served as the basis for the design of the NRX (National Research Experimental) reactor.

Heavy water production – Cominco, in Trail, British Columbia, produced and supplied heavy water for the Manhattan Project, mainly to U.S. military facilities. It sold the product until 1956.

Post-WWII period

Following the war, the global demand for uranium continued to be driven by military uses.

Many Canadian communities experienced rapid growth in the post-war period as a result of the burgeoning mining industry. Uranium City, in Northern Saskatchewan, hosted a number of mining operations comprising several mines and two mills. Two Ontario areas – Bancroft and Elliot Lake – also experienced a boom in uranium mining activities. Elliot Lake would come to be recognized as the “Uranium Capital" of the world, with over 12 mines and several nearby mills, operated by Denison Mines and Rio Algom.

Canada's nuclear history
Check out our interactive timeline to learn about Canada's nuclear history  

By 1959, the U.S. military's demand for uranium had slowed. Canada officially stopped exporting uranium for weapon production in 1965. Unfortunately, this led to the abandonment of some uranium mines leaving sites that were not cleaned up to today's standards. The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) has been actively working to ensure that such legacy sites are remediated to limit environmental impacts.

After the Manhattan Project was terminated in 1946, Chalk River Laboratories focused its efforts on medical and industrial applications of nuclear technology. A laboratory to extract plutonium from irradiated fuel rods from the NRX was developed and operated until 1954.

Between 1959 and 1964, about 252 kg of plutonium contained in used nuclear fuel was exported to the U.S. The material was transferred from Chalk River Laboratories to the Savannah River Site in South Carolina, where it was processed and blended with the remaining U.S. nuclear weapons program inventories.

Canada's role in nuclear non-proliferation

In 1965, the Canadian government decided that all exports of uranium and all other nuclear materials would be for peaceful purposes only. Canada was the first country with significant nuclear capability to reject nuclear weapons and has since been actively involved in promoting the peaceful use of nuclear energy around the world. This policy was reinforced in 1970 when Canada signed the United Nations Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty.

The CNSC's non-proliferation mandate

Fulfilling Canada's international commitments on non-proliferation has been a CNSC responsibility since the Atomic Energy Control Act was passed in 1946. The CNSC works with Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada to implement key elements of Canada's international non-proliferation policy, which include the peaceful use of nuclear energy, as well as obligations related to safeguards and security.

Learn more

Rôle historique du Canada dans le développement des armes nucléaires

28 mai 2012

Laboratoires de Chalk River, février 1954
Laboratoires de Chalk River, février 1954. Situés à environ 200 km au nord d’Ottawa (Ontario), les édifices des Laboratoires de Chalk River abritaient les réacteurs ZEEP, NRX et NRU (en construction). Faisant partie à l’origine d’une activité de production de plutonium pour les armes nucléaires, le réacteur ZEEP a été conçu par une équipe de scientifiques canadiens, anglais et français durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale.

L’extraction et le traitement de l’uranium ainsi que la recherche sur la production de matières nucléaires à des fins militaires font partie de l’histoire du Canada. Le chapitre le plus connu de cette histoire est sans doute la participation du Canada au Projet Manhattan durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Pendant cette période, le pays fournit et raffine de l’uranium qui est utilisé dans les installations des États-Unis. Il continue ensuite à fournir de l’uranium à des fins militaires pendant une vingtaine d’années après la Guerre.

Ce que la plupart des gens ne savent peut-être pas, toutefois, c’est le fait que le Canada a participé à la recherche sur la production et l’extraction du plutonium dans le cadre du Projet Manhattan, qui a pris fin en 1946. De plus, le Canada a vendu du combustible nucléaire irradié (épuisé), dont on extrait du plutonium, aux États-Unis de 1959 à 1964. Tous les transferts de matières nucléaires à des fins non pacifiques sont interrompus l’année suivante.

C.D. Howe
C.D. Howe, ministre du cabinet fédéral pendant la guerre qui a fait entrer officiellement le Canada dans l’ère nucléaire.

Une décision prise en temps de guerre

Au milieu de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, plus précisément le 17 août 1942, le Canada décide officiellement de faire son entrée dans l’ère nucléaire. Le gouvernement britannique se cherche alors un partenaire afin d’y déménager, pendant la guerre, son laboratoire nucléaire situé à cette époque à Cambridge et de faciliter la collaboration avec les États-Unis au développement d’armes nucléaires. Aux termes de négociations, le Royaume-Uni et le Canada concluent un accord. C.D. Howe, ministre fédéral de la Reconstruction et des Approvisionnements pendant la guerre, donne le feu vert au Laboratoire de Montréal (ancêtre des Laboratoires de Chalk River) de façon mémorable en déclarant « OK, allons-y ». Le Laboratoire s’associera au Projet Manhattan des États-Unis, dans le cadre duquel sera fabriquée une bombe nucléaire.

Un an plus tard, Winston Churchill et Franklin Delano Roosevelt concluent l’accord de Québec entre le Royaume-Uni et les États-Unis. Cet accord multinational fixe les conditions générales qui définiront plus tard le rôle du Canada dans le Projet Manhattan et les programmes d’armement nucléaire des alliés.

Uranium

L’expansion précoce de l’industrie canadienne de l’uranium est due à l’intérêt de l’industrie militaire dans le développement et la conception d’armes nucléaires. Durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, une société canadienne, l’Eldorado Gold Mining Company, rouvre une mine de radium fermée depuis peu (la présence de radium est associée de près à la présence d’uranium) afin de fournir à l’armée américaine l’uranium dont elle a besoin pour fabriquer la bombe nucléaire.

Le minerai d’uranium est extrait de la mine située près du Grand lac de l'Ours dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, puis expédié à des milliers de kilomètres de là, à l’installation de traitement et de raffinage de la société Eldorado à Port Hope (Ontario). En 1942, le gouvernement fédéral achète et nationalise les biens d’Eldorado liés à l’uranium.

En réponse à la demande extraordinaire d’uranium que provoque le Projet Manhattan, l’installation de Port Hope d’Eldorado raffine du minerai de nombreux pays, dont les États-Unis et ce que l’on appelle maintenant la République démocratique du Congo, pour toute la durée de la Seconde Guerre mondiale.

Mineur déplace un chariot contenant du minerai d’uranium
Un mineur déplace un chariot contenant du minerai d’uranium à la mine Eldorado du Grand lac de l’Ours (T. N. O.), 1930. L’extraction du radium prend fin en 1939. La mine privée est rouverte en 1941 pour fournir aux États-Unis l’uranium dont ils ont besoin pour développer la bombe nucléaire. Un an plus tard, le gouvernement canadien achète la société en raison de son importance stratégique.

Plutonium

Durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, le Canada se joint aux efforts des États‑Unis et du Royaume‑Uni visant à produire une bombe nucléaire. La fission de l’uranium, méthode utilisée pour capter l’énergie contenue dans l’atome, est découverte en 1939. Vers la fin de 1942, le Royaume-Uni et le Canada établissent le Laboratoire de Montréal pour développer des armes nucléaires. Des scientifiques des deux pays ainsi que de la France collaborent à la conception du réacteur ZEEP (pile expérimentale d'énergie zéro).

Situé à Chalk River (Ontario), le ZEEP est un petit réacteur construit dans le but de prouver qu’il est possible de créer et de soutenir la fission nucléaire (aussi appelée la criticité nucléaire) en utilisant de l’uranium naturel et de l’eau lourde. Il est aussi utilisé pour démontrer la possibilité de produire du plutonium – un matériau fissile créé artificiellement qui peut être extrait chimiquement du combustible nucléaire irradié – pour les programmes militaires des alliés. Premier réacteur à atteindre la criticité à l’extérieur des États-Unis (en septembre 1945), le ZEEP sert de base à la conception du réacteur NRX (réacteur national de recherche expérimental).

Production d’eau lourde – Cominco, à Trail (Colombie-Britannique), produit et fournit de l’eau lourde pour le Projet Manhattan principalement aux installations militaires américaines. Elle vend son produit jusqu’en 1956.

Période après la Seconde Guerre mondiale

Après la guerre, les utilisations militaires continuent de stimuler la demande mondiale d’uranium.

De plus, à cette époque, un grand nombre de collectivités canadiennes connaissent une croissance rapide en raison de l’essor de l’industrie minière. Uranium City, située dans le Nord de la Saskatchewan, accueille un certain nombre d’installations minières, dont plusieurs mines et deux usines. Les activités d’extraction d’uranium enregistrent aussi une augmentation dans deux régions de l’Ontario, soit Bancroft et Elliot Lake. La région d’Elliot Lake acquiert d’ailleurs la réputation de « capitale mondiale de l’uranium », avec plus de 12 mines de concentration d’uranium et plusieurs usines situées à proximité, exploitées par Denison Mines et Rio Algom.

En 1959, la demande d’uranium de l’armée américaine diminue. En 1965, le Canada cesse officiellement d’exporter de l’uranium pour la production d’armes, ce qui entraîne malheureusement l’abandon de certaines mines d’uranium et le délabrement des sites qui ne sont pas nettoyés selon les normes actuelles. La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) travaille d’arrache pied pour assainir ces anciens sites et ainsi limiter les incidences sur l’environnement.

À la fin du Projet Manhattan en 1946, les Laboratoires de Chalk River consacrent leurs efforts aux applications médicales et industrielles de la technologie nucléaire. Un laboratoire d’extraction du plutonium à partir de barres de combustible irradié du NRX est créé, puis exploité jusqu’en 1954.

Entre 1959 et 1964, environ 252 kg de plutonium contenu dans du combustible nucléaire irradié est exporté aux États-Unis. Le métal est transféré des Laboratoires de Chalk River au site de Savannah River en Caroline du Sud, où il est traité, puis mélangé aux stocks restants du programme américain d’armes nucléaires.

Rôle du Canada dans la non-prolifération des armes nucléaires

En 1965, le gouvernement canadien prend la décision de n’exporter de l’uranium et d’autres matières nucléaires qu’à des fins pacifiques. Le Canada est le premier pays doté d’une capacité nucléaire importante à rejeter les armes nucléaires. Depuis, il se dévoue à la promotion de l’utilisation pacifique de l’énergie nucléaire sur la scène internationale. En 1970, le Canada renforce cette politique en signant le Traité sur la non-prolifération des armes nucléaires (TNP).

Le mandat de non-prolifération de la CCSN

La CCSN est responsable de l’exécution des engagements internationaux du Canada concernant la non-prolifération des armes nucléaires depuis l’entrée en vigueur de la Loi sur le contrôle de l'énergie atomique en 1946. La CCSN collabore avec Affaires étrangères, Commerce et dévelopement Canada à la mise en œuvre des principaux volets de la politique internationale du Canada en matière de non-prolifération, dont l'utilisation pacifique de l'énergie nucléaire ainsi que les obligations de garanties et de sécurité.

Renseignements supplémentaires