Potassium iodide (KI) Pill Working Group

In 2019, the CNSC established a Potassium Iodide (KI) Pill Working Group and Advisory Committee to provide clarity on the existing plans and associated responsible authorities to distribute KI pills in the Ingestion Planning Zone (IPZ), in the event of an emergency at the Pickering Nuclear Generating Station (see figure 1).

The Working Group, chaired by the CNSC, is co-chaired by the Office of the Fire Marshal and Emergency Management (OFMEM), the Ontario Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care (MOHLTC) and Ontario Power Generation (OPG). The Working Group also has representatives from Health Canada; and Public Health Units and Emergency Management Coordinators from Peel Region, York Region, City of Toronto, Durham Region, Simcoe Muskoka District, Haliburton-Kawartha-Pine Ridge District, and Peterborough County.

Figure 1. Pickering Nuclear Generating Station Ingestion Planning Zone

Source: Office of the Fire Marshal and Emergency Management

Description

Pickering Nuclear Generating Station Ingestion Planning Zone Map:

Detailed planning zone (3-10km)

Contingency planning zone (10-20km)

Ingestion planning zone:
 sub zones 1-8 (20-30km)
 sub zone 9-16 (30-50 km)

What is KI?

In the event of a nuclear emergency, KI is effective in reducing the threat of thyroid cancer to residents at risk of inhaling or ingesting radioactive iodine. The CNSC established regulatory requirements for nuclear power plant licensees to ensure that KI pills are pre-distributed to everyone within 10 km of all power plants. Regional, municipal and provincial authorities responsible for emergency management, including the Province of Ontario’s Office of the Fire Marshal & Emergency Management and the New Brunswick Emergency Management Organization, also facilitate the pre-distribution of KI pills.

Terms of Reference

Terms of reference (TOR) for the Working Group were developed and signed by the OFMEM, MOHLTC, OPG and the CNSC, with input from the public and other municipal, provincial and federal authorities. As captured in the TOR the Working Group has the following mandate:

  • The Working Group will be fulfilling the commitment to the Commission in two phases as per the record of decision:
    Phase I Phase II
    • Identifying current provincial and federal requirements for the distribution of KI pills
    • Describing existing considerations and education concerning KI pill emergency distribution in the IPZ
    • Describing the means of KI pill distribution in relation to other factors associated with a nuclear emergency response
    • Reviewing the availability and scope of public emergency preparedness information related to KI pills
    • Determining the feasibility of pre-distribution of KI pills to all schools within the IPZ
    • Establishing clear and detailed plans for the distribution of KI pills throughout the IPZ, if necessary, following the completion of Phase I

Project Milestones

These milestones will be updated throughout the project, and opportunities for public input will be advertised through the CNSC website, social media and the CNSC email subscription list.

The timeline depicts the key milestones to be completed by the Working Group during Phase I and II and opportunities for the public to participate KI pill working group project milestones KI pill working group project milestones The timeline below depicts the key milestones to be completed by the Working Group during Phase l and ll and opportunities for the public to participate. Phase I December 24, 2018Post draft Terms of Reference for public comment February 14, 2018Public comment period ends March 2019Revise Terms of Reference and comment disposition Circulate Terms of Reference for signatures Workshop on Phase 1 Draft Phase 1 report Public comment period on Phase 1 Revise Phase 1 report Commission Proceeding on Phase 1 Phase II Workshop on Phase II Draft Phase II report Public comment period on Phase II Revise Phase II report Commission Proceeding on Phase II

CNSC Advisory Committee

The purpose of the CNSC Advisory Committee is to ensure that opportunities are provided for meaningful engagement on the outputs of the CNSC KI Pill Working Group. The Advisory Committee includes representatives from the Canadian Environmental Law Association, Toronto District School Board, Toronto Catholic District School Board, Bruce Power, the Municipality of Kincardine, and academia. The Advisory Committee is expected to review the key deliverables of the Working Group (i.e., TOR, Phase I report, Phase II report) and advise whether the mandate of the Working Group as defined in the TOR has been achieved. Operating procedures were developed to establish the framework and guiding principles for the Advisory Committee’s role with respect to the Working Group.

For more information, please contact cnsc.info.ccsn@canada.ca.

Date modified:

Groupe de travail de la CCSN sur les comprimés d’iodure de potassium

En 2019, la CCSN s’est engagé à former un groupe de travail et un comité consultatif pour clarifier les plans existants et définir les autorités responsables de la distribution de comprimés d’iodure de potassium (KI) dans la zone de planification du contrôle de l’ingestion (ZPCI), en cas d’urgence à la centrale de Pickering.

Le Groupe de travail, présidé par la CCSN, est coprésidé par le Bureau du commissaire des incendies et de la gestion des situations d’urgence de l’Ontario (BCIGSUO), le ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée de l’Ontario (MSSLDO) et Ontario Power Generation (OPG). Le Groupe de travail compte aussi des représentants de Santé Canada et réunit les coordonnateurs de la gestion des urgences de la Région de Peel, de la Région de York, de la Ville de Toronto, de la Région de Durham, du District de Simcoe-Muskoka, du District de Haliburton-Kawartha-Pine Ridge et du Comté de Peterborough.

Figure 1. Zone de planification du contrôle de l’ingestion de la centrale nucléaire de Pickering

Source: Le Bureau du commissaire des incendies et de la gestion des situations d’urgence de l’Ontario

Description

Zone de planification du contrôle de l’ingestion de la centrale nucléaire de Pickering

Zone de planification détaillée (3-10 km)

Zone de planification des mesures d’urgence (10-20 km)

Zone de planification du contrôle de l’ingestion :
 Sous-zones 1 à 8 (20-30 km)
 Sous-zones 9 à 16 (20-30 km)

Qu'est-ce que le KI?

Le KI est utilisé pour protéger la glande thyroïde contre l'iode radioactif qui pourrait être présent dans l'air dans l'éventualité peu probable d'une urgence radiologique. La CCSN a établi une norme nationale concernant la distribution des comprimés de KI. Les titulaires de permis de centrale nucléaire doivent veiller à leur distribution préalable aux personnes vivant ou travaillant à proximité d'une centrale nucléaire. Le Bureau du commissaire des incendies et de la gestion des situations d'urgence de l'Ontario et l'Organisation des mesures d'urgence du Nouveau-Brunswick collaborent à la mise au point d'une stratégie pour satisfaire à ces exigences.

Mandat

Un mandat a été élaboré et signé par le BCIGSUO, le MSSLDO, OPG et la CCSN, avec la contribution du public et d’autres autorités municipales, provinciales et fédérales. Les rôles et les responsabilités énoncées dans le mandat du Groupe de travail sont les suivants :

  • Remplir son engagement envers la Commission dans le cadre d’une démarche en deux phases, comme le décrit le compte rendu de décision :
    Phase I Phase II
    • Cerner les exigences provinciales et fédérales en vigueur concernant la distribution des comprimés de KI
    • Décrire les considérations et l’éducation existantes relatives à la distribution de comprimés de KI en cas d’urgence dans la ZPCI
    • Décrire les moyens de distribution des comprimés, en tenant compte des autres facteurs associés à l’intervention en cas d’urgence nucléaire
    • Examiner la disponibilité et la portée de l’information diffusée au public sur la préparation aux urgences et les comprimés de KI
    • Déterminer la faisabilité de la distribution préalable de comprimés de KI dans toutes les écoles à l’intérieur de la ZPCI
    • Établir des plans clairs et détaillés pour la distribution des comprimés dans la ZPCI, si nécessaire, après la fin de la Phase I

Jalons du projet

Les jalons seront mis à jour tout au long du projet, et les possibilités de participation du public seront annoncées sur le site Web de la CCSN, dans les médias sociaux et par courriel aux abonnés de la CCSN.

La chronologie ci-dessous présente les grands jalons que le Groupe de travail doit terminer pendant les Phases I et II et les possibilités de participation du public Jalons du projet du Groupe de travail sur les comprimés de KI Jalons du projet du Groupe de travail sur les comprimés de KI La chronologie ci-dessous présente les grands jalons que le Groupe de travail doit terminer pendant les Phases I et II et les possibilités de participation du public. Phase I 24 décembre 2018Affichage du mandat pour commentaires du public 14 février 2018Fin de la période de commentaires du public Mars 2019Révision du mandat et traitement des commentaires Distribution du mandat pour signature Atelier sur la Phase I Rédaction de l’ébauche du rapport de la Phase I Période de commentaires du public sur la Phase I Révision du rapport de la Phase I Séance de la Commission sur la Phase I Phase II Atelier sur la Phase II Rédaction de l’ébauche du rapport de la Phase II Période de commentaires du public sur la Phase II Révision du rapport de la Phase II Séance de la Commission sur la Phase II

Comité consultatif de la CCSN

Le Comité consultatif de la CCSN a comme objectif d’offrir des possibilités d’engager un dialogue constructif sur les résultats du Groupe de travail sur les comprimés de KI de la CCSN. Ce Comité inclut des représentants de l’Association canadienne du droit de l’environnement, du Conseil scolaire du district de Toronto, du Conseil scolaire catholique du district de Toronto, de Bruce Power, de la municipalité de Kincardine et des universités. Le Comité examinera les principaux résultats attendus du Groupe de travail (mandat, rapport de la Phase I et rapport de la Phase II) et déterminera si le mandat du Groupe de travail a été respecté. Des procédures opérationnelles ont été élaborées afin d’établir le cadre et les principes directeurs associés au rôle du Comité consultatif à l’égard du Groupe de travail.

Pour plus d'information, écrivez à cnsc.info.ccsn@canada.ca.

Dernière mise à jour :