Wrap-up: International Conference on Physical Protection of Nuclear Material and Nuclear Facilities

Last Friday marked the close of the International Conference on Physical Protection of Nuclear Material and Nuclear Facilities, held from November 13 to 17, 2017, in Vienna, Austria. The Conference was organized by the International Atomic Energy Agency in cooperation with the World Institute for Nuclear Security, World Nuclear Transport Institute and the International Criminal Police Organization. The conference President was the CNSC’s Kathleen Heppell-Masys, Director General, Directorate of Security and Safeguards.

Kathleen Heppell-Masys, Conference President, with Juan Carlos Lentijo, Deputy Director General and Head of the Department of Nuclear Safety and Security, IAEA.

The Conference provides a forum for Member States to share their experiences, lessons learned and good practices as identified during their implementation of Nuclear Security Series 13, titled "Nuclear Security Recommendations on Physical Protection of Nuclear Material and Nuclear Facilities".

Last Monday, Ms. Heppell-Masys opened the conference by delivering the President’s remarks to 107 Member States (800 participants). She remarked that "The IAEA’s nuclear security activities are sustained by promoting a good nuclear security culture. The responsibility for achieving this security culture begins with each Member State’s leadership – whether national regulatory authorities, operators, or policy- makers – and further efforts should be undertaken in this area to underscore the importance of this responsibility", which reflects the CNSC’s continuous efforts to ensure nuclear safety. She also encouraged member states to ratify the Convention on the Physical Protection of Nuclear Material and its amendment.

The five-day conference offered 39 technical sessions in four parallel tracks, 40 poster presentations, 6 panel sessions, 4 side events, an exhibition and interactive content presentations. Ms. Heppell-Masys concluded the conference by encouraging Member States to take what they have learned back home so that they can continue to convert ideas into concrete action and work cooperatively with other states, organizations and people. For more information on the conference or to watch videos of the proceedings, you can visit the IAEA website.

Récapitulation : Conférence internationale sur la protection physique des matières et des installations nucléaires

Vendredi dernier était la dernière journée de la Conférence internationale sur la protection physique des matières et des installations nucléaires, tenue du 13 au 17 novembre 2017 à Vienne, en Autriche. La Conférence était organisée par l’Agence internationale de l’énergie atomique, en collaboration avec le World Institute for Nuclear Security, le World Nuclear Transport Institute et l’Organisation internationale de police criminelle. C’est Kathleen Heppell-Masys, directrice générale de la Direction de la sécurité et des garanties de la CCSN, qui a présidé la conférence.

Kathleen Heppell-Masys, présidente de la conférence, avec Juan Carlos Lentijo, directeur général adjoint et chef du Département de la sûreté et de la sécurité nucléaires, AIEA.

Cette conférence offre aux États membres un forum où ils peuvent échanger des expériences, des leçons retenues et des pratiques exemplaires, telles qu’elles ont été identifiées lors de leur mise en œuvre de la collection Sécurité nucléaire no 13, intitulée « Recommandations de sécurité nucléaire sur la protection physique des matières nucléaires et des installations nucléaires ».

Lundi dernier, Mme Heppell-Masys a ouvert la conférence en prononçant une allocution devant 107 États membres (800 participants). Elle a indiqué que les activités de sécurité nucléaire de l’AIEA sont maintenues par la promotion d’une bonne culture de sécurité nucléaire. L’instauration de cette culture dépend avant tout du leadership de chaque État membre – autorités de réglementation, exploitants, décideurs – et d’autres efforts doivent être déployés dans ce domaine pour souligner l’importance de cette responsabilité. Cela reflète les efforts continus de la CCSN qui visent à assurer la sûreté nucléaire. Elle a également encouragé les États membres à ratifier la Convention sur la protection physique des matières nucléaires et sa version modifiée.

La conférence de cinq jours comprenait 39 séances techniques offertes en quatre circuits parallèles, 40 présentations par affiches, 6 séances de discussions, 4 activités connexes, une exposition et des présentations interactives. Mme Heppell-Masys a clos la conférence en encourageant les États membres à appliquer chez eux les leçons retenues afin de pouvoir continuer à transformer les idées en mesures concrètes et à travailler en collaboration avec d’autres personnes, organisations et États. Pour en savoir plus sur la conférence ou visionner des vidéos des séances, visitez le site Web de l’AIEA (en anglais seulement).