Strengthening fitness for duty: REGDOC-2.2.4

August 10, 2017

The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) is proposing new regulatory requirements in REGDOC-2.2.4, Fitness for Duty, to provide reasonable assurance that workers who could pose a risk to nuclear safety or security at Canada’s high-security nuclear facilities are fit for duty and are not under the influence of alcohol or drugs.

In nuclear facilities across Canada, nuclear safety and security is reliant on human performance. Recognizing this, the CNSC requires nuclear power plants (NPPs) to implement and maintain human performance programs, including programs to ensure that workers are fit for duty. An important element of being fit for duty is being free from the influence of alcohol or illicit drugs while at work and the responsible use of performance-altering medications while at work. The CNSC is proposing to strengthen fitness-for-duty regulatory requirements in relation to the alcohol and drug policy and programs, and alcohol and drug testing, to improve oversight of fitness for duty and overall facility safety.

Fitness for duty

But what exactly is fitness for duty? Fitness for duty refers to a condition in which workers are physically, physiologically and psychologically capable of competently and safely performing their tasks. The implementation of an effective fitness-for-duty program provides reasonable assurance that workers have the capacity and are free of any impairment, and as such, do not pose a safety or security risk.

Within the CNSC’s existing regulatory framework, fitness for duty is part of the human performance management safety and control area (SCA), which is one of fourteen specific SCAs. This SCA covers all activities that enable effective human performance through the development and implementation of processes with the aim of ensuring that licensee personnel have the necessary knowledge, skills, procedures and tools in place to safely carry out their duties.

REGDOC-2.2.4, Fitness for Duty contains a number of requirements and considerable guidance related to medical, psychological and occupational fitness, as well as alcohol and drug use. These requirements differ by workgroup, as they are tailored to the worker’s job performance requirements. In safety-sensitive industries such as the nuclear industry, these programs provide reasonable assurance that workers are free of any impairment that could hinder their ability to safely and competently perform the duties of their position. Regulating fitness for duty is important because human performance is central to the safety and security of nuclear facilities. In fact, the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) expects regulatory bodies to have fitness-for-duty requirements at nuclear facilities, including requirements on substance use.

Alcohol and drug policy, programs and testing

To provide reasonable assurances that workers at Canada’s high-security nuclear facilities remain free from the impairing effects of alcohol and drugs, the CNSC is recommending additional requirements that would strengthen existing fitness-for-duty oversight. For instance, workers in safety-sensitive positions at high-security sites will be subject to alcohol and drug testing. Random and pre-placement alcohol and drug testing will be limited to workers who have the most direct and immediate impact on safety and security. These improvement measures will help to:

  • provide reasonable assurance that workers who could pose a risk to nuclear safety or security at Canada’s high-security nuclear facilities are fit for duty
  • make fitness-for-duty requirements and guidance more transparent, consistent and comprehensive as part of the CNSC’s efforts to strengthen overall nuclear safety and security
  • address the International Atomic Energy Association’s (IAEA’s) expectations, and ensure that international best practices in relation to alcohol and drug testing are met

REGDOC-2.2.4, Fitness for Duty was developed through extensive research, benchmarking and broad-based consultations with stakeholders. Public consultations were held in two phases over a four-year period from 2012 to 2016. Both public and stakeholder consultations have been extensive and meaningful. Comments received during the public consultation period, as well as more information regarding REGDOC-2.2.4, are posted on the CNSC’s website.

The findings from this rigorous process will be examined thoroughly before the Commission. Draft REGDOC-2.2.4, Fitness for Duty, will be discussed at a public Commission meeting on August 17, 2017. The CNSC encourages stakeholders and members of the public to get involved and participate in public Commission proceedings.

Taken together, REGDOC-2.2.4, Fitness for Duty, and REGDOC-2.2.4, Fitness for Duty: Managing Worker Fatigue (published March, 2017), will provide a comprehensive set of fitness-for-duty requirements and guidance to further strengthen nuclear safety and security. REGDOC-2.2.4, Fitness for Duty, will help ensure that human performance is not compromised at high-security facilities. These new requirements serve to minimize the potential for human error, thereby improving the safety of Canada’s nuclear facilities.

Renforcement de l’aptitude au travail : REGDOC-2.2.4

10 août 2017

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) propose de nouvelles exigences réglementaires dans le document d’application de la réglementation REGDOC-2.2.4, Aptitude au travail, afin de fournir une assurance raisonnable que les travailleurs des installations nucléaires à sécurité élevée du Canada réalisant des tâches pouvant poser un risque pour la sûreté et la sécurité nucléaires sont aptes à travailler et ne sont pas sous l’influence de l’alcool ou de drogues.

Aux installations nucléaires à la grandeur du Canada, la sûreté et la sécurité nucléaires dépendent de la performance humaine. C’est pourquoi la CCSN exige des exploitants de centrales nucléaires qu’ils mettent en œuvre et maintiennent des programmes de performance humaine, y compris des programmes d’aptitude au travail. Pour être apte au travail, l’employé doit notamment éviter de travailler sous l’effet de l’alcool ou de drogues illicites et utiliser judicieusement des médicaments pouvant affecter ses facultés. La CCSN propose de renforcer les exigences réglementaires concernant l’aptitude au travail pour la politique et les programmes régissant la consommation et le dépistage d’alcool et de drogues, afin d’améliorer la surveillance de l’aptitude au travail et d’accroître la sûreté globale d’une installation.

Aptitude au travail

Mais qu’est-ce que l’aptitude au travail, au juste? Il s’agit de l’état de travailleurs qui sont physiquement, physiologiquement et psychologiquement aptes à accomplir leur travail de façon sûre et compétente. La mise en œuvre d’un programme efficace d’aptitude au travail fournit une assurance raisonnable que les travailleurs ont la capacité nécessaire et que leurs facultés ne sont pas affaiblies, et par conséquent ne représentent pas un risque pour la sûreté et la sécurité.

Selon le cadre de réglementation actuel de la CCSN, l’aptitude au travail fait partie d’un des 14 domaines de sûreté et de réglementation (DSR), soit le DSR Gestion de la performance humaine. Celui-ci englobe toutes les activités favorisant l’efficacité de la performance humaine grâce à l’élaboration et à la mise en œuvre de processus qui garantissent que les employés des titulaires de permis possèdent les connaissances, les compétences, les procédures et les outils dont ils ont besoin pour exécuter leurs tâches en toute sécurité.

Le REGDOC-2.2.4, Aptitude au travail, contient plusieurs exigences et directives (qui varient selon le poste du travailleur) sur l’aptitude psychologique, médicale et physique, ainsi que sur la consommation d’alcool et de drogues. Dans les industries où les questions de sûreté revêtent une importance critique, comme le secteur nucléaire, les programmes d’aptitude au travail fournissent une assurance raisonnable que les travailleurs des installations nucléaires à sécurité élevée réalisant des tâches pouvant poser un risque pour la sûreté et la sécurité nucléaires sont aptes à travailler et ne sont pas sous l’influence de l’alcool ou de drogues.

La réglementation de l’aptitude au travail est importante, car la sûreté et la sécurité des installations nucléaires reposent en grande partie sur la performance humaine. En effet, l’Agence internationale de l’énergie atomique (AIEA) s’attend à ce que les organismes de réglementation aient des exigences en matière d’aptitude au travail aux installations nucléaires, y compris des exigences relatives à la consommation de substances.

Politique, programmes et dépistage relatifs à la consommation d’alcool et de drogues

Afin de fournir une assurance raisonnable que les travailleurs des installations nucléaires à sécurité élevée du Canada n’ont pas les facultés affaiblies par l’alcool et les drogues, la CCSN recommande des exigences supplémentaires qui renforceraient la surveillance de l’aptitude au travail. Par exemple, les employés occupant des postes critiques sur le plan de la sûreté dans ces installations seraient soumis à un test de dépistage d’alcool et de drogues. Des tests de dépistage aléatoires et préalables à l’embauche se limiteraient aux postes ayant une incidence directe et immédiate sur la sûreté et la sécurité. Ces améliorations aideront à :

  • fournir une assurance raisonnable que les travailleurs des installations nucléaires à sécurité élevée du Canada réalisant des tâches pouvant poser un risque pour la sûreté et la sécurité nucléaires sont aptes à travailler
  • accroître la transparence, la cohérence et l’exhaustivité des exigences et des directives en matière d’aptitude au travail afin que la CCSN puisse renforcer la sûreté et la sécurité nucléaires globales
  • répondre aux attentes de l’AIEA et veiller à l’adoption de pratiques exemplaires internationales en matière de dépistage d’alcool et de drogues

Le REGDOC-2.2.4, Aptitude au travail, a été élaboré au moyen de recherches exhaustives, d’analyses comparatives et d’un vaste processus de consultation avec des parties intéressées. Les consultations publiques exhaustives ont eu lieu en deux phases sur une période de quatre ans, soit de 2012 à 2016. Les commentaires reçus, ainsi que des renseignements supplémentaires sur le REGDOC-2.2.4, sont affichés sur le site Web de la CCSN.

Les constatations découlant de ce processus rigoureux seront examinées de près par la Commission. L’ébauche du REGDOC-2.2.4, Aptitude au travail, sera d’ailleurs abordée le 17 août 2017 lors d’une réunion publique de la Commission. La CCSN encourage les parties intéressées et les membres du public à participer aux séances publiques de la Commission.

Ensemble, le REGDOC-2.2.4, Aptitude au travail, et le REGDOC-2.2.4, Aptitude au travail : Gérer la fatigue des travailleurs (publié en mars 2017) fourniront un ensemble exhaustif d’exigences et de directives qui permettront de renforcer davantage la sûreté et la sécurité nucléaires. Le REGDOC-2.2.4, Aptitude au travail, aidera à veiller à ce que la performance humaine ne soit pas compromise aux installations à sécurité élevée. Bref, ces nouvelles exigences visent à accroître la sûreté des installations nucléaires canadiennes en minimisant le potentiel d’erreurs humaines.