CNSC’s Administrative monetary penalties program

The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) works diligently to ensure that all licensees and the public comply with the Nuclear Safety and Control Act (NSCA). If anyone demonstrates poor compliance with the NSCA or is unable or unwilling to correct such behaviour, the CNSC has a suite of tools at its disposal to address the situation and enforce legal requirements. Administrative monetary penalties (AMPs) are one of these tools.

What is an administrative monetary penalty?

An AMP is an administrative penalty imposed by the CNSC, without court involvement, for the violation of a regulatory requirement (such a violation is also known as "non-compliance"). An AMP can be applied against any individual or corporation subject to the NSCA. The CNSC may consider issuing an AMP for any of the following reasons:

  • Compliance is not obtained using either regular interaction or written notices.
  • The non-compliance is likely to reoccur.
  • There is a history of repeated non-compliance.
  • The non-compliance was intentional or a result of negligence.
  • Harm resulted or could have resulted from the non-compliance.
  • The non-compliance was motivated by competitive or economic benefit.
  • There was unreasonable risk to health, safety, the environment, security or Canada’s international obligations.
  • There is a need to correct behaviour that violates requirements.

AMPs are not exclusive to the CNSC and are used by several other federal and provincial government agencies, including Transport Canada, Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada and the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC). Organizations in other countries, such as the United States, have also incorporated AMPs as a part of their regulatory regimes.

A short history of AMPs at the CNSC

On June 29, 2012, the Jobs, Growth and Long-term Prosperity Act (Bill C-38) resulted in amendments to the NSCA and gave the CNSC the authority to establish an AMPs regime through its regulations.

Following extensive outreach with stakeholders, the Administrative Monetary Penalties Regulations (Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission) came into force with their publication in the Canada Gazette, Part II, on July 3, 2013. Since then, the CNSC has issued 21 AMPs.

CNSC recognized as an AMPs leader

Despite being relatively new to AMPs, the CNSC has quickly become a Canadian leader in this domain among federal and provincial enforcement agencies. Jean-Claude Poirier, a Senior Project Officer at the CNSC and administrator of the CNSC’s AMPs program, recently co-chaired the 2017 Community of Federal Regulators (CFR) AMP National Symposium alongside Transport Canada. More than 120 participants attended this event and discussed a variety of pertinent topics, from policy to reviews and appeals. CNSC Commission Secretary Marc Leblanc noted participants’ high praise for the CNSC’s success with the use of AMPs: "I was impressed by the community’s esteem for our AMP system – they refer to us as leaders in this field."

Jean-Claude Poirier speaks at the Community of Federal Regulators AMP National Symposium.

The CNSC has also been recognized in Regulatory and Corporate Liability from Due Diligence to Risk Management, the most up-to-date Canadian law book on regulatory and corporate liability, for its fairness and practicality in the weight factors for calculating AMP amounts.

Moving forward, Jean-Claude Poirier will continue to chair the CFR AMP Working Group to learn from other government regulators’ experience while sharing the CNSC’s resources and best practices in this field.

To learn more, read the CNSC’s frequently asked questions on AMPs.

Le programme de sanctions administratives pécuniaires de la CCSN

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) travaille sans relâche à vérifier que tous les titulaires de permis et membres du public se conforment à la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires (LSRN). Si une personne ou une entreprise a du mal à respecter la LSRN ou est incapable de corriger ses non-conformités, la CCSN peut utiliser divers outils pour régler la situation et faire appliquer les exigences juridiques. Les sanctions administratives pécuniaires (SAP) sont l’un de ces outils.

En quoi consiste une sanction administrative pécuniaire?

Une SAP est une sanction administrative imposée par la CCSN, sans intervention des tribunaux, en cas de violation d’une exigence réglementaire (une telle violation est appelée « non-conformité »). Une SAP peut être imposée à une personne ou une entreprise assujettie à la LSRN. La CCSN pourrait se servir d’une SAP dans les cas suivants :

  • Si aucune conformité n’est obtenue en utilisant les moyens habituels ou des avis écrits.
  • S’il est probable que la non-conformité se reproduise.
  • S’il existe des antécédents de non-conformité répétée.
  • Si la non-conformité était intentionnelle ou le résultat de négligence.
  • Si la non-conformité a entraîné des dommages ou aurait pu en entraîner.
  • Si la non-conformité était motivée par un avantage économique ou concurrentiel.
  • S’il existait un risque déraisonnable pour la santé, la sûreté, la sécurité, l’environnement ou les obligations internationales du Canada.
  • S’il est nécessaire de corriger un comportement qui va à l’encontre des exigences.

D’autres ministères et organismes fédéraux et provinciaux se servent aussi des SAP, comme Transports Canada, Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada et le Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (CRTC). Dans des organisations d’autres pays, comme les États­Unis, les SAP sont intégrés aux régimes de réglementation.

Les SAP et la CCSN : les débuts

Le 29 juin 2012, le projet de loi C-38, Loi sur l’emploi, la croissance et la prospérité durable, a entraîné des modifications à la LSRN et a donné à la CCSN l’autorité d’établir un régime de SAP en vertu de ses règlements.

À la suite d’importantes activités de relations externes avec les parties intéressées, le Règlement sur les sanctions administratives pécuniaires de la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire est entré en vigueur à sa publication dans la Partie II de la Gazette du Canada, le 3 juillet 2013. Depuis, la CCSN a imposé 21 SAP.

La CCSN : chef de file dans le domaine

Même si la CCSN utilise les SAP depuis quelques années seulement, elle est rapidement devenue un chef de file dans le domaine parmi les organismes d’application de la loi fédéraux et provinciaux du Canada. Jean-Claude Poirier, agent principal de projet et administrateur du programme de SAP à la CCSN, a récemment coprésidé avec Transports Canada le symposium national sur les SAP 2017 de la Communauté des régulateurs fédéraux (CRF). Plus de 120 personnes ont participé à l’événement afin de discuter de nombreux sujets pertinents comme les politiques, les examens et les appels. Marc Leblanc, secrétaire de la Commission de la CCSN, a remarqué que les participants ne tarissaient pas d’éloges pour le succès qu’a connu la CCSN avec les SAP : « La grande estime de la communauté pour notre système de SAP m’a impressionné – on nous appelle des chefs de file dans ce domaine. »

Jean-Claude Poirier prend la parole au symposium national sur les SAP de la Communauté des régulateurs fédéraux.

Regulatory and Corporate Liability from Due Diligence to Risk Management, le livre de droit canadien sur la responsabilité réglementaire et organisationnelle le plus à jour, reconnaît aussi la CCSN pour son équité et son côté pratique relativement aux facteurs de pondération utilisés pour calculer le montant d’une SAP.

Jean-Claude Poirier continuera à présider le groupe de travail sur les SAP de la CRF afin de tirer des leçons de l’expérience d’autres organismes de réglementation gouvernementaux et d’offrir les ressources et les pratiques exemplaires de la CCSN dans ce domaine.

Pour en savoir plus, lisez la foire aux questions sur les SAP.