CNSC holds public hearing for the licence renewal of McClean Lake Operation

McClean Lake Operation

The McClean Lake Operation, owned and operated by AREVA Resources Canada Inc. (AREVA), is located approximately 750 km north of Saskatoon, SK. The current licence authorizes AREVA's McClean Lake Operation to produce up to 10,909,090 kg of uranium concentrate per year, along with associated operations. The current licence also authorizes AREVA to process uranium ore slurry from Cameco Corporation's Cigar Lake Operation, also located in northern Saskatchewan.

With the operating licence set to expire on June 30, 2017, the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) will hold a public hearing to consider the application from AREVA for a 12-year renewal of its uranium mine operating licence for the McClean Lake Operation.

CNSC holds hearing in the community

The public hearing will take place on June 7–8, 2017 in La Ronge, SK, where the Commission will consider information presented by the licensee and CNSC staff, as well as 11 interventions from members of the public, Indigenous groups and other stakeholders.

The public hearing will be webcast live and available for 90 days on the CNSC website at nuclearsafety.gc.ca.

Browse hearing documents

You can consult all key hearing documents by requesting them electronically. These include submissions from CNSC staff, AREVA and intervenors.

Participant funding

A total of $75,000 was made available through the CNSC Participant Funding Program to facilitate public participation in the relicensing process.

An independent committee reviewed the funding requests. Of the nine intervenors who received funding, five were Indigenous groups.

Aerial view of McClean Lake Operation

Compliance verification activities

The CNSC is responsible for regulating and licensing all existing and future uranium mining and milling operations in Canada. The CNSC has staff in Ottawa, ON and at its regional office in Saskatoon, SK, who perform inspections to evaluate operations and verify compliance with regulatory requirements and licence conditions. Inspections conducted by CNSC staff during the current licence period did not identify any findings that posed a risk to human health and safety, or to the environment. You can learn more about AREVA's regulatory performance at the McClean Lake Operation in the CNSC's annual regulatory oversight report for uranium mines and mills.

Based on compliance verification activities and the detailed review of AREVA's licence application, CNSC staff conclude:

  • AREVA continues to uphold its commitment to radiation protection, environmental protection and to the health and safety of persons.
  • Environmental programs implemented at the McClean Lake Operation are satisfactory.
  • The safety of the public and the environment around the McCLean Lake Operation is maintained by regularly sampling soil, water and plants around operating sites.

CNSC staff will recommend that the Commission renew the uranium mine operating licence to authorize AREVA to operate the McClean Lake Operation until June 30, 2029.

Audience publique de la CCSN pour le renouvellement de permis de l'établissement de McClean Lake

Établissement de McClean Lake

L'établissement de McClean Lake, dont AREVA Resources Canada Inc. (AREVA) est propriétaire et exploitante, est situé à environ 750 km au nord de Saskatoon (Saskatchewan). Le permis actuel autorise l'établissement minier de McClean Lake d'AREVA à produire jusqu'à 10 909 090 kg de concentré d'uranium par année et à réaliser des activités connexes. De plus, ce permis autorise AREVA à traiter les boues de minerai d'uranium provenant de l'établissement minier de Cigar Lake de Cameco Corporation, qui est également situé dans le Nord de la Saskatchewan.

Comme le permis d'exploitation arrive à échéance le 30 juin 2017, la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) tiendra une audience publique pour examiner la demande d'AREVA pour le renouvellement de son permis d'exploitation de l'établissement de McClean Lake pour une période de 12 ans.

Audience de la CCSN tenue dans la collectivité

L'audience publique se déroulera les 7 et 8 juin 2017 à La Ronge (Saskatchewan), où la Commission tiendra compte d'informations présentées par le titulaire de permis et le personnel de la CCSN, ainsi que de 11 interventions de membres du public, de groupes autochtones et d'autres parties intéressées.

L'audience sera diffusée en direct sur le site Web de la CCSN (suretenucleaire.gc.ca) et sera ensuite disponible sur le site pendant 90 jours.

Consulter les documents d'audience

Vous pouvez consulter tous les principaux documents d'audience en envoyant une demande électronique. Ces documents comprennent des mémoires du personnel de la CCSN, d'AREVA et d'intervenants.

Financement des participants

Un montant total de 75 000 $a été offert dans le cadre du Programme de financement des participants de la CCSN pour aider le public à participer au processus de renouvellement de permis.

Un comité indépendant a examiné les demandes de financement. Cinq des neuf intervenants qui ont reçu de l'aide financière étaient des groupes autochtones.

Vue aérienne de l'établissement de McClean Lake

Activités de vérification de la conformité

La CCSN est responsable de la réglementation et de l'autorisation de toutes les activités actuelles et à venir d'extraction et de concentration de l'uranium au Canada. La CCSN compte des employés à Ottawa (Ontario) et dans son bureau régional à Saskatoon (Saskatchewan); ceux-ci réalisent des inspections pour évaluer les activités et vérifier la conformité aux exigences réglementaires et aux conditions de permis. Les inspections réalisées par le personnel de la CCSN pendant la période d'autorisation actuelle n'ont pas décelé de risques pour la santé et la sécurité humaines ou l'environnement. Pour en savoir plus sur le rendement d'AREVA en matière de réglementation à l'établissement de McClean Lake, consultez le rapport de surveillance réglementaire des mines et des usines de concentration d'uranium au Canada, publié chaque année par la CCSN.

D'après les activités de vérification de la conformité et l'examen détaillé de la demande de permis d'AREVA, le personnel de la CCSN conclut ce qui suit :

  • AREVA continue de respecter ses engagements à l'égard de la radioprotection, de la protection de l'environnement et de la santé et la sécurité humaines.
  • Les programmes environnementaux mis sur pied à l'établissement de McClean Lake sont satisfaisants.
  • La sécurité du public et de l'environnement à proximité de l'établissement de McCLean Lake est assurée au moyen d'un échantillonnage régulier du sol, de l'eau et des végétaux à proximité de sites en exploitation.

Le personnel de la CCSN recommandera à la Commission de renouveler le permis d'exploitation d'une mine d'uranium pour l'établissement de McClean Lake d'AREVA, et ce, jusqu'au 30 juin 2029.