In memory

Dr. Alan Theodore Prince
Dr. Alan Theodore Prince

Remembering Dr. Alan Theodore Prince

October 7, 2015

We were saddened to learn of the death of Dr. Alan Theodore Prince, who was at the helm of the Atomic Energy Control Board (the CNSC’s predecessor) from 1975 to 1978.

Dr. Prince received his B.A. and M.A. from the University of Toronto. He did his doctoral studies at the University of Chicago. After graduation, he worked at the National Research Council in Ottawa and various federal agencies in roles of increasing responsibility before joining the AECB for three years – a deceptively short period of time given the events that occurred.

During this time, communication with the Canadian public became an AECB priority, which remains central to the CNSC today. The AECB placed renewed importance on the nuclear sector’s accountability for its decisions. Consequently, The Nuclear Liability Act came into force, the Canadian Safeguards Support Program was initiated, the Nuclear Control and Administration Act was tabled in the House of Commons, and radioactive contamination cleanup initiatives were implemented.

Towards the end of his term, Prince faced a challenge that surpassed anything else associated with this defining era in the history of Canada’s nuclear sector. On January 24, 1978, a nuclear-powered Soviet surveillance satellite, COSMOS 954, re-entered the atmosphere, scattering radioactive debris across a 124,000 km2 expanse in the Northwest Territories. COSMOS 954 was launched in September of 1977. Shortly after the satellite was launched, NORAD detected decay in the satellite's orbit, which caused it to crash.

Operation Morning Light
Royal Canadian Air Force Crew, Operation Morning Light in 1978

By design, the COSMOS 954 was intended to eject its nuclear reactor into space in the case of an emergency. The ejection feature failed, and highly radioactive debris was dispersed in northern Canadian regions, from Great Slave Lake to northern Alberta and Saskatchewan.

Canada and the United States coordinated a cleanup initiative named Operation Morning Light. At the peak of the search for radioactive debris, over 200 people associated with Operation Morning Light were working in the affected region. The AECB was responsible for retrieving and handling radioactive materials, and for conducting environmental and health assessments.

The COSMOS 954 satellite crash was a significant event in Canada's nuclear regulatory history. Members of the AECB, accustomed to working behind a desk, were pulled to the front lines to manage this crisis, an event one CNSC employee coined “the AECB's grand adventure”.

Fortunately for the AECB and for Operation Morning Light team, most of the COSMOS 954’s reactor core was eliminated during re-entry into the atmosphere. However, by October 1978, over 4,000 flakes of radioactive debris were recovered from the region, including core fragments. It took nine months, 4,500 hours of flying time and nearly $14 million to recover from the COSMOS 954 crash.

As a result of the COSMOS 954 incident, international nuclear policies were drawn into question. Canada, the United States and several European countries called for the prohibition of prohibit satellites from containing radioactive material. In November 1978, the United Nations authorized its Committee on the Peaceful Use of Outer Space to establish a working group to study nuclear-powered satellites and increase the safety of this technology in the exploration of space.

Dr. Prince died on October 2, 2015, at 100 years of age. His legacy will not be forgotten.

Dr. Richard Osborne
Dr. Richard Osborne

Remembering Dr. Richard Osborne

October 5, 2015

On Tuesday September 29, 2015, the nuclear community lost Dr. Richard Osborne, a pioneer of radiation protection and health physics.

Dr. Osborne was the founding president and the driving force behind the constitution of the Canadian Radiation Protection Association (CRPA) and its incorporation into the International Radiation Protection Association (IRPA) as an associate society in 1979.

His career spanned over 35 years, from Research Officer to Director of Health Sciences at the Chalk River Laboratories, when he joined Atomic Energy of Canada Limited in 1963.

Dr. Osborne was an exemplary scholar and advocate for radiation protection.

He was the first recipient of the CRPA’s Founders Award in 1989 and received the prestigious Sievert Award from IRPA, made in recognition of outstanding contributions to radiological protection, in 2012.

Dr. Osborne’s illustrious career is highlighted in his IRPA profile.

As the pioneer of the CRPA, his legacy within the radiation protection community in Canada and abroad will not be forgotten.

Dr. Agnes Bishop
Dr. Agnes Bishop

Remembering Dr. Agnes Bishop

The CNSC looks back at the contributions of Dr. Agnes J. Bishop, a driving force in both the medical and nuclear community Dr. Bishop was the first woman to be physician-in-chief at the Children's Hospital of Winnipeg in 1985. She was also the head of Pediatrics at St. Boniface General Hospital, and the chair of the Department of Pediatrics at the University of Manitoba where she specialized in pediatric hematology and oncology. Her vast skill and knowledge in the fields of pediatric hematology and oncology would lead the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada in seeking her to be the first woman to be selected for presidency; however, she declined the position to take on the responsibilities here, as president of the Atomic Energy Control Board (AECB) in 1994 and then the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) until 2001.

Under her guidance, Dr. Bishop led the AECB's transition to the CNSC under the Nuclear Safety and Control act. Recognized even by the then Prime Minister, Jean Chrétien, for her renowned reputation as a capable leader he said "By appointing a highly respected physician to the position, the government is emphasizing its commitment to health and safety…  We look to Dr. Bishop for leadership in ensuring that the use of nuclear energy does not pose an undue risk to health, safety, security and the environment."

Dr. Bishop also lead the AECB/CNSC in achieving a number of other significant accomplishments. In September of 1994, not long after her appointment as president, Dr. Bishop signed the Nuclear Safety Convention on behalf of the Government of Canada. She was also responsible for ensuring that the Canadian nuclear sector was prepared for the turn of the millennium.

Dr. Bishop, who passed away in May 2014, was acknowledged not only for her talents and leadership in her field but was also recognized for identifying each member of the CNSC as important. 

Dr. Bishop's relationship to the individual members of the CNSC was the same as with her patients, as well as with Canadians in general –dedicated, passionate and sincere. From her practice as physician-in-chief to her presidency of the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission, her focus was always the safety and care of those she looked out for.

Dr. Sylvia Fedoruk
Dr. Sylvia Fedoruk

Remembering Dr. Sylvia Fedoruk

September 28, 2012

On September 26, 2012, the nuclear community and Canadians at large lost a pioneer in the field of nuclear medicine, an acclaimed athlete, and an inspiration to women in nuclear, politics and sport. Dr. Sylvia Fedoruk was an innovator, and the contributions she made to the nuclear sector are a proud part of our history.

Dr. Fedoruk was the first female board member on the Atomic Energy Control Board (AECB), the predecessor of today's nuclear regulator, the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission. A member of the AECB board from 1973 until 1988, Dr. Fedoruk addressed the challenges that arose following the accidents at Three Mile Island and Chernobyl. Along with her fellow board members, she prioritized transparency and communication, redefining the relationship between the nuclear sector and the public.

Avis de décès

Alan Theodore Prince
Alan Theodore Prince

À la mémoire d’ Alan Theodore Prince

7 octobre 2015

C’est avec tristesse que nous avons appris le décès d’Alan Theodore Prince, qui a dirigé la Commission de contrôle de l’énergie atomique (la CCEA – maintenant la CCSN) de 1975 à 1978.

M. Prince était titulaire d’un baccalauréat et d’une maîtrise de l’Université de Toronto ainsi que d’un doctorat de l’Université de Chicago. Après ses études, il a fait carrière au Conseil national de recherches à Ottawa et ensuite pour divers organismes fédéraux où il a assumé des responsabilités toujours plus grandes. Il s’est ensuite joint à la CCEA pendant trois ans, un mandat qui a pu sembler bien court compte tenu des événements qui ont marqué cette période.

C’est à cette époque que la CCEA commençait à privilégier la communication avec la population canadienne, une priorité qui perdure encore aujourd’hui à la CCSN. La CCEA a accordé une importance renouvelée à la responsabilité du secteur nucléaire de rendre compte de ses décisions. La Loi sur la responsabilité nucléaire est entrée en vigueur, le Programme canadien à l’appui des garanties a été lancé, le projet de Loi sur le contrôle et l’administration nucléaires déposé à la Chambre des communes, et des mesures d’assainissement de sols contaminés par des matières radioactives ont été prises.

Vers la fin de son mandat, M. Prince a dû faire face à un défi surpassant tout ce qui a contribué à définir cette époque de l’histoire nucléaire canadienne. Le 24 janvier 1978, un satellite de surveillance soviétique à propulsion nucléaire, le COSMOS 954, s’est écrasé dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, laissant derrière lui des débris sur 124 000 km2. Le COSMOS 954 avait été lancé en septembre 1977, mais peu de temps après, NORAD avait détecté une déviation de l’orbite du satellite, ce qui a entraîné son écrasement.

Opération Morning Light
Équipage de l’Aviation royale canadienne, opération Morning Light, 1978

Le COSMOS 954 était conçu pour éjecter son réacteur nucléaire dans l’espace en cas d’urgence. La fonction d’éjection n’a pas fonctionné correctement, ce qui a entraîné l’écrasement du satellite et la dispersion de débris hautement radioactifs dans les régions nordiques du Canada, du Grand lac des Esclaves jusqu’au nord de l’Alberta et de la Saskatchewan.

Le Canada et les États-Unis ont coordonné l’initiative de nettoyage baptisée l’opération Morning Light. Au plus fort des recherches de débris radioactifs, plus de 200 personnes ont participé aux travaux dans la région touchée. La CCEA a été chargée de récupérer et de traiter les matières radioactives ainsi que de réaliser des évaluations environnementales et de santé.

L’écrasement du satellite COSMOS 954 a marqué l’histoire de la réglementation canadienne. Les membres de la CCEA, habitués au travail de bureau, ont été envoyés sur le terrain pour gérer la crise, surnomée « la grande aventure de la CCEA » par l’un des employés de la CCSN.

Heureusement pour la CCEA et l’équipe de l’opération Morning Light, la majorité du cœur du réacteur du satellite COSMOS 954 a été détruite lors de son retour dans l’atmosphère. Cependant, en octobre 1978, plus de 4 000 éclats de débris radioactifs ont été récupérés dans la région, y compris des fragments du cœur. Il aura fallu neuf mois, 4 500 heures de vol et près de 14 millions de dollars pour se remettre de l’écrasement du COSMOS 954.

À la suite de cet accident, les politiques nucléaires internationales sont remises en question. Le Canada, les États-Unis et plusieurs pays européens se sont unis pour demander que soit interdite l’utilisation de matières radioactives dans les satellites. En novembre 1978, les Nations Unies ont autorisé le Comité des utilisations pacifiques de l’espace extra-atmosphérique à mettre sur pied un groupe de travail pour étudier les satellites propulsés par réacteur nucléaire et accroître la sûreté de cette technologie pour explorer l’espace.

M. Prince est décédé le 2 octobre 2015, à l’âge vénérable de 100 ans. Son héritage restera dans les mémoires.

Richard Osborne
Richard Osborne

À la mémoire de Richard Osborne

5 octobre 2015

Le mardi 29 septembre 2015, la communauté nucléaire a perdu un pionnier de la radioprotection, Monsieur Richard Osborne, Ph. D.

En tant que président fondateur de l’Association canadienne de radioprotection (ACRP), M. Osborne a été la figure de proue de sa constitution et de son intégration en 1979 à l’Association internationale de radioprotection (IRPA) en tant que société associée.

Sa carrière s’est échelonnée sur plus de 35 ans, de ses débuts en 1963 en tant qu’agent de recherche à Énergie atomique du Canada limitée à sa nomination au poste de directeur, Sciences de la santé, aux Laboratoires de Chalk River.

M. Osborne était un grand érudit et un ardent défenseur de la radioprotection.

Il a été le premier récipiendaire du Prix du fondateur de l’ACRP en 1989. Il s’est également vu remis le prestigieux prix Sievert de l’IRPA en 2012 pour sa contribution exceptionnelle à la radioprotection.

Le site de l’IRPA présente un survol de son illustre carrière (en anglais seulement).

L’héritage de ce pionnier de l’ACRP à la communauté de la radioprotection canadienne et internationale ne sera pas oublié.

Agnes Bishop
Agnes Bishop

À la mémoire de Agnes Bishop

La CCSN fait un retour sur les contributions de Agnes J. Bishop, une grande source d'inspiration dans les communautés médicale et nucléaire.

En 1985, la Dre Bishop a été la première femme nommée médecin-chef à l'Hôpital pour enfants de Winnipeg. Elle a aussi été chef du département de pédiatrie à l'Hôpital général Saint-Boniface et présidente du département de pédiatrie de l'Université du Manitoba, où elle était hémato-oncologue pédiatrique. Ses vastes connaissances et compétences dans ces domaines lui ont valu d'être la première femme choisie pour présider le Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada, offre qu'elle a refusée pour assurer la présidence de la Commission de contrôle de l'énergie atomique (CCEA) en 1994, puis de la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) jusqu'en 2001.

La Dre Bishop a dirigé la transition de la CCEA à la CCSN en vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires. Même le premier ministre à l'époque, Jean Chrétien, reconnaissant sa grande renommée de leader chevronnée, a indiqué ce qui suit : « Avec la nomination d'un médecin hautement respecté à ce poste, le gouvernement met l'accent sur son engagement en matière de santé et de sécurité. Nous comptons sur le leadership du docteur Bishop pour faire en sorte que l'utilisation de l'énergie nucléaire ne pose pas de risque indu pour la santé, la sécurité, la sécurité matérielle et l'environnement. »

La Dre Bishop a aussi permis à la CCEA/CCSN  de se démarquer à maintes autres occasions. En septembre 1994, peu après sa nomination à titre de présidente, la Dre Bishop a signé la Convention sur la sûreté nucléaire au nom du gouvernement du Canada. Elle s'est aussi assurée que le secteur nucléaire canadien serait prêt à entrer dans le XXe siècle.

La Dre Bishop, qui est décédée en mai 2014, était reconnue pour ses talents et son leadership dans le domaine médical, mais aussi parce qu'elle considérait chaque membre de la CCSN comme étant important.

La Dre Bishop entretenait avec les employés de la CCSN les mêmes rapports qu'avec ses patients et les Canadiens en général; elle était dévouée, passionnée et sincère. De médecin-chef à présidente de la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire, elle a toujours mis l'accent sur la sûreté et le bien-être des personnes sur qui elle veillait.

Sylvia Fedoruk
Sylvia Fedoruk

À la mémoire de Sylvia Fedoruk

28 septembre 2012

Le 26 septembre 2012, le milieu du nucléaire et l'ensemble des Canadiens ont perdu une pionnière de la médecine nucléaire, une athlète louangée et une inspiration pour les femmes engagées dans les domaines du nucléaire, de la politique et des sports. Sylvia Fedoruk, Ph. D., était une personne novatrice, et ses contributions au secteur nucléaire constituent un élément de notre histoire dont nous pouvons être fiers.

Sylvia Fedoruk a été la première femme commissaire à la Commission de contrôle de l'énergie atomique (CCEA), l'organisme de réglementation nucléaire qui a précédé la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire. Commissaire à la CCEA de 1973 à 1988, Mme Fedoruk a été confrontée aux difficultés consécutives aux accidents de Three Mile Island et de Tchernobyl. En faisant de la transparence et de la communication une priorité, elle et ses collègues commissaires ont redéfini le rapport entre le secteur nucléaire et le public.