Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission's (CNSC's) past presidents

Explore the lives and contributions of the CNSC's past presidents

Andrew McNaughton
General Andrew McNaughton

General Andrew McNaughton (1946–1948)

A jack of all trades and significant presence in Canadian history, General Andrew George Latta McNaughton was the first President of the Atomic Energy Control Board (AECB), the CNSC's predecessor. Renowned for his keen intellect and innate leadership capabilities, he initiated a tradition of providing Canadians with a safe nuclear industry. McNaughton held the AECB presidency from 1946 until 1948; however, his involvement with the AECB was just one of many significant positions he held over the course of a demanding and diverse career.

General McNaughton was born in Moosomin, Saskatchewan (formerly of the Northwest Territories) in 1887. Demonstrating an interest in science at an early age, he attended McGill University, where he graduated with a Bachelor of Science degree and a Master of Science degree in physics and engineering.

Learn more about General Andrew McNaughton

Chalmers J. MacKenzie (1948–1961)

Chalmers J. MacKenzie
Chalmers J. MacKenzie

Chalmers Jack Mackenzie was born in St. Stephen, New Brunswick, on July 10, 1888. The son of a master mason and builder, he was the youngest of six children. Mackenzie forged his way to the top of his peer group at Dalhousie University while pursuing an engineering degree. In 1909, he graduated from Dalhousie with a degree in civil engineering.

After attaining his baccalaureate, Mackenzie was invited to create an engineering program at the University of Saskatchewan. Mackenzie dedicated a couple of years to the program but shortly after commencing his position as a professor of engineering, he interrupted his post to pursue further education at Harvard University. Completing his degree in record time, Mackenzie graduated from Harvard with a master's degree in civil engineering and returned to teach at the University of Saskatchewan.

Learn more about Chalmers J. MacKenzie

George C. Laurence (1961–1970)

George C. Laurence
George C. Laurence

George Craig Laurence was born in Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, in 1905. Laurence attended Dalhousie University in Halifax, where he graduated with degrees in science at the bachelor's and master's levels. Although Laurence eventually found himself immersed in the field of physics, his initial intention was to study general arts. After discovering a passion for physics, he pursued a doctoral degree at Cambridge University under the guidance of Ernest Rutherford. Rutherford and his colleagues at Cambridge University were positioned at the forefront of the nuclear field when Laurence began his doctoral degree. It was during this time that Laurence began to understand the complexities of nuclear physics.

In 1930, Laurence returned to Canada to work for the National Research Council (NRC). Laurence was tasked with establishing a laboratory for studying radiation. The primary focus of Laurence's laboratory was to develop methods of measuring radiation in the treatment of cancer. Practitioners were aware of the need to protect patients from radiation, but this field of study was still new.

Learn more about George C. Laurence

Donald G. Hurst (1970–1974)

Donald G. Hurst
Donald G. Hurst

Donald Geoffrey Hurst was the President of the AECB from 1970 to 1974. During his brief four-year term as AECB President, Hurst was challenged with an influx of activity within the nuclear sector. Following the tumultuous Cold War era, the nuclear industry faced several monumental events. From the development of international non-proliferation strategies to the discovery of radioactive contamination in Port Hope and the construction of the first nuclear reactors in Canada, Hurst and the nuclear community were immersed in a significant transitional period. Further increasing the pace of development was an oil embargo, which placed renewed importance on domestic and diversified energy sources. Nuclear advancement and regulation became a focal point in national and international political arenas.

To tackle the challenges of an evolving industry, Donald Hurst was selected for his comprehensive understanding of nuclear science and his experience within the Canadian nuclear sector. Hurst had significant experience working within the Canadian nuclear sector, which allowed him to address challenges presented during the early 1970s and to become known as an influential AECB President. Hurst dedicated his life to the development of the nuclear field, as a student, a physicist and administrator.

Learn more about Donald G. Hurst

Alan T. Prince (1975–1978)

Alan T. Prince
Alan T. Prince

Dr. Alan T. Prince was the president of the AECB from 1975–1978. A geologist by trade, Prince was recognized for his expertise in the geological field, receiving the Coleman Gold Medal in Geology from the University of Toronto. Preceding his term as the AECB president, Prince held senior positions within the energy sector and the mining industry.

For three years, Dr. Prince was the president of the AECB, a deceptively short period of time given the events that occurred. During this time, communication with the Canadian citizenry became a priority for the AECB; a priority which remains central to the present day. The AECB placed renewed importance on the nuclear sector's responsibility to be accountable for their decisions. Consequently, The Nuclear Liability Act came into force, the Canadian Safeguards Support Program was initiated, The Nuclear Control and Administration Act was tabled in the House of Commons, and radioactive contamination clean-up initiatives were implemented.

Learn more about Alan T. Prince

Jon H. Jennekens (1978–1987)

Jon H. Jennekens
Jon H. Jennekens

From 1978 until 1987, the Atomic Energy Control Board (AECB) was led by Jon Jennekens. During his time as president, Jennekens was faced with two of the world's most significant nuclear incidents in the history of the nuclear sector : Three Mile Island and Chernobyl.

Jon Jennekens was born in Toronto on October 21, 1932. He began his university career in Kingston, at the Royal Military College (RMC) in 1950, studying mechanical engineering. After graduating from RMC in 1954, Jennekens attended Queen's University and graduated with a degree in applied sciences in 1956.

Learn more about Jon H. Jennekens

René J. A. Lévesque (1987–1993)

René J. A. Lévesque
René J. A. Lévesque

René J. A. Lévesque was the president of the AECB from 1987 to 1993. Originally a career academic in the field of nuclear physics, Lévesque dedicated his working years to the betterment of nuclear sciences and the Canadian nuclear sector.

In 1952, Lévesque obtained a Bachelor of Science degree from Concordia University. Acquiring a taste for academic life, he spent the next five years at Northwestern University, working towards his PhD.

Learn more about René J. A. Lévesque

Agnes J. Bishop (1994–2001)

Agnes J. Bishop
Agnes J. Bishop

Agnes J. Bishop, MD, was the president of the AECB/CNSC from 1994 until 2001. Expertise in the medical field positioned Dr. Bishop as an ideal candidate for this post, reassuring Canadians of the nuclear sector's prioritization of health and safety. 

Before joining the AECB, Bishop practiced medicine in Winnipeg. A renowned pediatrician specializing in pediatric hematology and oncology, Bishop was the physician-in-chief at the Children's Hospital of Winnipeg, the head of Pediatrics at St. Boniface General Hospital and the chair of the Department of Pediatrics at the University of Manitoba. Bishop was also the first woman to be selected by the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada to be their president, an opportunity she turned down in exchange for the position of AECB president.

Learn more about Agnes J. Bishop

Linda J. Keen (2001–2008)

Linda J. Keen
Linda J. Keen

Linda Keen was the CEO and President of the CNSC from 2001 to 2008. A scientific background and extensive experience in natural resources management rendered Keen well suited to the challenges inherent to the nuclear sector.

Originally from western Canada, Keen graduated from the University of Alberta with a Bachelor of Science degree in chemistry and a Master of Science degree in agricultural sciences. Beginning her career as a chemist, Keen worked within several fields, namely: agriculture, mining and nuclear.

Learn more about Linda Keen

Anciens présidents de la CCSN

Découvrez la vie et la contribution des anciens présidents de la CCSN

Andrew McNaughton
Général Andrew McNaughton

Général Andrew McNaughton (1946-1948)

Homme à tout faire ayant marqué l'histoire du Canada, le général Andrew George Latta McNaughton a été le premier président de la Commission de contrôle de l'énergie atomique (CCEA), l'ancêtre de la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN). Reconnu pour sa vivacité d'intelligence et ses capacités innées de leadership, il est à l'origine de la tradition d'offrir aux Canadiens une industrie nucléaire sûre. Le général McNaughton a occupé le poste de président de la CCEA de 1946 à 1948. Cependant, son emploi à la CCEA n'est qu'un des nombreux emplois importants qu'il a occupés pendant sa carrière aussi passionnante que diversifiée.

Andrew George Latta McNaughton est né en 1887 à Moosomin, en Saskatchewan (anciennement, les Territoires du Nord-Ouest). Très tôt, il manifeste de l'intérêt pour les sciences. Il étudie à l'Université McGill où il obtient un baccalauréat ès sciences et une maîtrise ès sciences en physique et en génie.

En savoir plus sur le général Andrew McNaughton

Chalmers J. MacKenzie (1948–1961)

Chalmers J. MacKenzie
Chalmers J. MacKenzie

Chalmers Jack Mackenzie est né à St. Stephen, au Nouveau-Brunswick, le 10 juillet 1888. Il est le plus jeune des six enfants d'un maître maçon et constructeur. M. Mackenzie se taille une place parmi les meilleurs de ses pairs à l'Université Dalhousie alors qu'il étudie en ingénierie. En 1909, il obtient un diplôme en génie civil de cette université.

Après avoir obtenu son baccalauréat, M. Mackenzie est invité à mettre au point un programme d'ingénierie à l'Université de la Saskatchewan. Il consacre quelques années à ce programme, mais peu de temps après avoir assumé ses fonctions de professeur de génie, il quitte son poste pour poursuivre ses études à l'Université Harvard. Il y obtient en un temps record une maîtrise en génie civil, puis revient enseigner à l'Université de la Saskatchewan.

En savoir plus sur Chalmers J. MacKenzie

George C. Laurence (1961–1970)

George C. Laurence
George C. Laurence

George Craig Laurence est né à Charlottetown, à l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard, en 1905. Il fréquente l'Université Dalhousie à Halifax, où il obtient un baccalauréat en sciences ainsi qu'une maîtrise. Bien qu'au départ il envisage une carrière dans les arts, il se retrouve propulsé dans le domaine de la physique. Après être devenu un passionné de la physique, il obtient un doctorat de l'Université de Cambridge, sous la direction d'Ernest Rutherford. Ernest Rutherford de même que ses collèges de l'Université de Cambridge sont à l'avant-garde dans le domaine nucléaire au moment où George Laurence a entreprend son doctorat. C'est à cette époque qu'il commence à maîtriser les notions si complexes de la physique nucléaire.

En 1930, M. Laurence arrive au Canada pour travailler au Conseil national de recherches (CNR) où il est chargé de mettre sur pied un laboratoire pour étudier les effets du rayonnement. Ce laboratoire doit servir à élaborer des méthodes pour mesurer le rayonnement dans le domaine du traitement du cancer. Les médecins savent déjà qu'ils doivent assurer la protection de leurs patients contre le rayonnement, mais ce domaine de recherche est relativement nouveau.

En savoir plus sur George C. Laurence

Donald G. Hurst (1970–1974)

Donald G. Hurst
Donald G. Hurst

Donald Geoffrey Hurst assure la présidence de la Commission de contrôle de l'énergie atomique (CCEA) de 1970 à 1974. Durant son court mandat de quatre ans à ce poste, il fait face à un secteur nucléaire en pleine effervescence. Après l'ère tumultueuse de la guerre froide, l'industrie nucléaire subit plusieurs bouleversements. Depuis l'établissement de stratégies internationales de non-prolifération jusqu'à la découverte d'une contamination radioactive à Port Hope, en passant par la construction des premiers réacteurs nucléaires au Canada, M. Hurst et la communauté nucléaire traversent une période de transition importante. Le développement dans ce domaine est notamment accéléré par un embargo pétrolier qui renouvelle l'importance de sources d'énergie nationales et diversifiées. Les progrès et la réglementation du nucléaire deviennent alors un point central sur le plan politique national et international.

Donald Hurst est choisi pour s'attaquer aux défis associés à une industrie en pleine évolution en raison de sa grande compréhension des sciences nucléaires et de sa vaste expérience du secteur nucléaire canadien. Cette dernière lui a permis de relever les défis qui se présentent au début des années 1970 et de devenir un président influent de la CCEA. M. Hurst a consacré sa vie au développement du nucléaire, en tant qu'étudiant, physicien et administrateur.

En savoir plus sur Donald G. Hurst

Alan T. Prince (1975–1978)

Alan T. Prince
Alan T. Prince

Alan T. Prince préside la Commission de contrôle de l'énergie atomique (CCEA) de 1975 à 1978. Géologue de métier, il est reconnu pour son expérience dans ce domaine. L'Université de Toronto lui a d'ailleurs remis la médaille d'or Coleman en géologie. Avant son arrivée à la CCEA, M. Prince occupait des postes supérieurs dans le secteur de l'énergie et l'industrie minière.

Un mandat de trois ans à la présidence de la CCEA peut sembler bien court, compte tenu des événements qui ont marqué cette période. C'est à cette époque que la CCEA commence à privilégier la communication avec la population canadienne, une priorité qui perdure encore aujourd'hui. La CCEA accorde une importance renouvelée à la responsabilité du secteur nucléaire de rendre compte de ses décisions. Par conséquent, la Loi sur la responsabilité nucléaire entre en vigueur, le Programme canadien à l'appui des garanties est lancé, le projet de Loi sur le contrôle et l'administration nucléaires est déposé à la Chambre des communes et des mesures d'assainissement de sols contaminés par des matières radioactives sont prises.

En savoir plus sur Alan T. Prince

Jon H. Jennekens (1978–1987)

Jon H. Jennekens
Jon H. Jennekens

De 1978 à 1987, la Commission de contrôle de l'énergie atomique (CCEA) est dirigée par Jon Jennekens. Durant son mandat à titre de président, M. Jennekens est confronté à deux des pires accidents nucléaires survenus dans l'histoire du secteur nucléaire : Three Mile Island et Tchernobyl.

Jon Jennekens est né à Toronto le 21 octobre 1932. Il amorce ses études à Kingston, au Collège militaire royal (CMR) en 1950, où il étudie en génie mécanique. Après avoir obtenu son diplôme du CMR en 1954, M. Jennekens a poursuit ses études à l'Université Queen's, où il décroche un diplôme en sciences appliquées en 1956.

En savoir plus sur Jon H. Jennekens

René J. A. Lévesque (1987–1993)

René J. A. Lévesque
René J. A. Lévesque

René J. A. Lévesque assume la présidence de la Commission de contrôle de l'énergie atomique (CCEA) de 1987 à 1993. Universitaire de carrière dans le domaine de la physique nucléaire, il consacre sa vie active à l'amélioration des sciences nucléaires et du secteur nucléaire canadien.   

En 1952, M. Lévesque décroche un baccalauréat ès sciences de l'Université Concordia. Ayant acquis un intérêt pour la vie universitaire, il passe les cinq années suivantes à l'Université Northwestern en vue d'obtenir son doctorat.

En savoir plus sur René J. A. Lévesque

Agnes J. Bishop (1994–2001)

Agnes J. Bishop
Agnes J. Bishop

Agnes J. Bishop, M.D., préside la Commission de contrôle de l'énergie atomique/Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCEA/CCSN) de 1994 à 2001. Grâce à son expertise dans le domaine médical, elle est la candidate idéale pour ce poste qui, en fait, consiste à donner aux Canadiens l'assurance que la santé et la sécurité sont des priorités pour le secteur nucléaire. 

Avant de se joindre à la CCEA, Dre Bishop pratique la médecine à Winnipeg. Pédiatre renommée se spécialisant en hématologie et oncologie pédiatriques, Elle a été médecin-chef à l'Hôpital pour enfants de Winnipeg, chef du département de pédiatrie à l'Hôpital général Saint-Boniface et présidente du département de pédiatrie à l'Université du Manitoba.

En savoir plus sur Agnes J. Bishop

Linda J. Keen (2001–2008)

Linda J. Keen
Linda J. Keen

Linda Keen occupe le poste de première dirigeante de la CCSN de 2001 à 2008. Grâce à son bagage de connaissances scientifiques et à sa vaste expérience en gestion des ressources naturelles, elle est bien placée pour relever les défis inhérents au secteur nucléaire.

Originaire de l'Ouest canadien, Linda Keen est titulaire d'un baccalauréat ès sciences avec spécialisation en chimie et d'une maîtrise ès sciences avec spécialisation en sciences agronomiques de l'Université de l'Alberta. Au début de sa carrière, elle travaille comme chimiste dans plusieurs domaines : agriculture, exploitation minière et nucléaire.

En savoir plus sur Linda Keen

Dernière mise à jour :