Highly enriched uranium in Canada

Highly enriched uranium (HEU) is produced in the U.S. and is used in Canada as a source fuel in a number of nuclear research reactors. HEU is also used to produce life-saving medical isotopes at Canadian Nuclear Laboratories Ltd.’s (CNL) Chalk River Laboratories (CRL). CRL is one of the world's largest suppliers of medical isotopes, which are used in the diagnosis and treatment of diseases. To date, millions of critical procedures using medical isotopes have been performed in Canada for cardiac diagnosis, cancer investigation and cancer treatment.

Since the 1990s, Canada has joined global non-proliferation efforts and converted several of its research reactors to low-enriched uranium. Canada has more recently furthered this commitment by agreeing to send back used HEU to the U.S. to help consolidate HEU inventories in fewer locations.

Background on HEU repatriation

The Prime Minister announces an agreement with the United States to repatriate inventories of highly enriched uranium (march 2012).

The Prime Minister announces an agreement with the United States to repatriate inventories of highly enriched uranium (march 2012).

In April 2010, Canadian Prime Minister Harper and United States President Obama committed to returning spent HEU fuel to the U.S. as part of a broad international effort to consolidate HEU inventories in fewer locations around the world. The commitment promotes non-proliferation by removing existing weapons-grade material from Canada and eliminates a nuclear liability for future generations of Canadians. Once the material is returned to the U.S., it will be reprocessed and used in American nuclear power plants to produce energy.

As a result of this agreement, regular shipments of used HEU fuel from CRL and other reactors are currently being transported safely back to the U.S.

Following the 2010 agreement, Prime Minister Harper committed, in March 2012, to repatriate additional Canadian HEU inventories, including those in liquid form from (known as Highly Enriched Uranyl Nitrate Liquid, or HEUNL) past production of medical isotopes.

CNL is currently assessing options to fulfill Canada's commitment and return these liquid HEU inventories to the U.S. Shipments would follow the same stringent transportation and security requirements as the transport of HEU fuel bundles.

FISST storage

A new electro-optical seal related to the monitoring system on the fissile solution storage tank was installed in 2011, as part of the safeguards agreement between Canada and the IAEA.

A new electro-optical seal related to the monitoring system on the fissile solution storage tank was installed in 2011, as part of the safeguards agreement between Canada and the IAEA.

Until 2003, liquid inventories containing HEU were stored in a double-walled stainless-steel vessel known as the Fissile Solution Storage Tank (FISST), located at CRL.

Since 2003, when FISST reached its storage capacity, new liquid material generated from medical isotope production has been cemented and is in long-term storage at CRL.

The FISST vessel (now full) is inside a vault shielded by thick concrete. It is monitored for temperature, pressure, and chemical composition. Its content is sampled once a month for detailed chemical analysis. These activities ensure that the vessel's contents are stable and remain safe at all times. During the mandatory sampling procedures, information is recorded electronically and sent to the CNSC and the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA).

Since the FISST contains HEU, the facility is under high-level security and is under close regulatory oversight by the CNSC and the IAEA at all times. In 2011, the IAEA, in collaboration with the CNSC and CRL, installed an upgraded monitoring system, to continue to ensure the proper inventory control of the contents of the tank.

The safety of the FISST was discussed at a CNSC two-day public hearing in 2011 for the re-licensing of CRL.

Certification of transport package design for HEUNL

The package design for the transport of HEUNL requires certification by both US and Canadian authorities before it can be used.

In order to be certified in Canada, the package design has to undergo stringent testing, which simulates both normal and hypothetical conditions of transport, including free-drop testing, puncture testing and thermal testing.

The package design must comply with the CNSC Packaging and Transport of Nuclear Substances (PTNS) Regulations. These regulations, based on the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) Regulations for the Safe Transport of Radioactive Material, establish strict standards of safety which provide an internationally acceptable level of control of the radiation, nuclear criticality and thermal hazards to persons, property and the environment that are associated with the transport of radioactive material.

Persons must also register the use of the package with the CNSC and acknowledge that the necessary training to properly prepare it for shipment is in place. The CNSC will only certify the package when it is certain that it satisfies all regulatory requirements.

Public consultation on HEUNL transport package design

In 2014, the CNSC received an application for package design certification and assessed it to ensure that it satisfied all regulatory requirements. The Technical Assessment Report on the NAC-LWT Package Design for Transport of Highly Enriched Uranyl Nitrate Liquid (HEUNL) was available for written public comment from December 23, 2014 to February 9, 2015. The report included an environmental assessment (EA) performed under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act (NSCA)

On July 10, 2015, the CNSC issued a certification for the NAC-LWT package design for the transport of HEUNL.

Document Milestone Dates Links
Consultation December 23, 2014 to February 9, 2015 View News Release
View the Technical Assessment Report on the NAC-LWT Package Design for Transport of Highly Enriched Uranyl Nitrate Liquid
Invitation to provide feedback on comments received May 4, 2015 to June 4, 2015 View the comments received
Feedback received June 10, 2015
Decision for Canadian certification July 10, 2015 View News Release
View the Record of Decision (PDF)
View the Certificate – Endorsement of Transport Package Design by the CNSC (PDF)
View the Consultation Report (PDF)

The CNSC Staff Recommendation and the Disposition Table are available on request. Please contact INFO.

Licensing of HEUNL transportation

Once the transport package has been certified for use, an application must be made to the CNSC for a transport licence. Each shipment of HEUNL requires its own individual transport licence, and is only valid for a specific number of days.

The application for a CNSC transport licence must include a transport security plan that requires:

  • a full description of the nuclear material
  • a threat assessment to identify any credible threats
  • a description of the type of vehicle used to transport
  • the proposed security measures in place during transport, such as continuous tracking and type of escort
  • the communications arrangement between the carrier and the response force (ex: Canadian police agencies)
  • the communication arrangement between the licensee and the response force
  • the primary and alternate transportation routes

Under Transport Canada's Transportation of Dangerous Goods Regulations, any shipment of fissile material (such as HEUNL) requires an emergency response assistance plan that must be approved by Transport Canada. The Transport Canada regulations also require the consignor to display a 24-hour emergency telephone number on all shipping documents that accompany each shipment to ensure that appropriate technical assistance is immediately available to emergency first responders.

The CNSC will issue the transport licence only when it is certain that the shipment satisfies all regulatory requirements.

The CNSC also requires that an export licence be issued for these shipments. The licence ensures that the material conforms to Canada's nuclear non-proliferation policy, international obligations and commitments, and regulatory requirements, and that the material being transferred is used in only peaceful applications.

Status of HEUNL shipments

The following represent various milestones involved in the shipment of liquid HEU.
Milestone Status
United States Department of Energy (USDEO) Supplement Analysis
USNRC certification of transport package design
US Department of Transport certification of transport package design
CNSC certification of transport package design
Application for transport licence
  • Application received and assessed, licence issued.
    • prescribed information
Application for export licence
  • Application received and assessed, licence issued
    • prescribed information

Transportation of radioactive substances in liquid form

Canada is one of the world’s major producers of nuclear substances (radioactive material) and has an excellent safety record for transporting radioactive material.

More than a million packages containing radioactive material are transported safely in Canada each year.

The CNSC and Transport Canada share the responsibility for ensuring safe transport of nuclear substances.

Some of the radioactive substances transported are in liquid form. For instance, many of the medical isotopes and heavy water used in CANDU reactors containing tritium are commonly transported.

Canada also has vast experience in transporting large quantities of solid radioactive materials. For instance, Canada is a major producer of cobalt-60 sources, which are used in radiation therapy and several industrial applications such as irradiation (for example, to destroy potentially harmful bacteria in food or on medical equipment).

Small quantities of used fuel bundles are also regularly sent by nuclear power plant operators to CRL for examination purposes.

CNSC inspectors perform regular inspections to verify that licensees and carriers are complying with regulations.

L'uranium hautement enrichi au Canada

L'uranium hautement enrichi (UHE) est produit aux États-Unis et utilisé au Canada comme source de carburant dans un certain nombre de réacteurs de recherche nucléaires. L'UHE sert également à produire des isotopes médicaux d'importance vitale aux Laboratoires de Chalk River (LCR) des Laboratoires Nucléaires Canadiens Limitée (LNC). Les LCR sont l'un des plus grands fournisseurs d'isotopes médicaux au monde, qui servent à diagnostiquer et à traiter les maladies. À ce jour, des millions de procédures indispensables effectuées à l’aide d’isotopes médicaux ont été réalisées au Canada pour le diagnostic de maladies cardiaques, les enquêtes liées au cancer et le traitement du cancer.

Depuis les années 1990, le Canada s'est joint à ses homologues internationaux pour faire progresser les efforts en matière de non-prolifération, notamment en convertissant plusieurs de ses réacteurs de recherche au combustible d'uranium faiblement enrichi. Plus récemment, le Canada a poursuivi ses efforts en acceptant de renvoyer l'UHE aux États-Unis afin de regrouper les stocks d'UHE dans un nombre réduit d'emplacements.

Informations générales sur le rapatriement de l'UHE

Le premier ministre annonce une collaboration accrue avec les États-Unis afin de sécuriser les stocks d'uranium hautement enrichi (mars 2012).

En avril 2010, le premier ministre du Canada, Stephen Harper, et le président des États-Unis, Barack Obama, ont annoncé qu'ils collaboreraient au rapatriement aux États-Unis des stocks d'uranium hautement enrichi usé dans le cadre d'une vaste initiative internationale visant à regrouper les stocks d'UHE dans un nombre réduit d'emplacements dans le monde. Leur engagement encourage la non-prolifération, puisque le Canada se défait du matériel utilisable pour la fabrication d'armes et se dégage d'une responsabilité nucléaire, au profit des prochaines générations de Canadiens. Une fois renvoyé aux États-Unis, l'UHE sera retraité et utilisé dans les centrales nucléaires américaines pour produire de l'énergie.

Grâce à cet engagement, des envois réguliers de combustible d'UHE usé provenant des LCR sont présentement effectués en toute sécurité vers les États–Unis.

Dans la foulée de l'engagement de 2010, le premier ministre Stephen Harper a annoncé en mars 2012 une coopération accrue avec les États-Unis pour rapatrier d'autres stocks d'UHE canadien, y compris les stocks à l'état liquide (appelés nitrate d’uranyle liquide hautement enrichi ou NULHE) de la production antérieure d'isotopes médicaux.

LNC étudie actuellement les différentes façons de donner suite à cet engagement. Les envois devront respecter les mêmes exigences rigoureuses en matière de transport et de sécurité que celles imposées pour le transport des grappes de combustible d'UHE.

Entreposage en RSSF

Un nouveau joint d'étanchéité électro­optique lié au système de surveillance du réservoir de stockage de solution fissile a été installé en 2011 dans le cadre de l'Accord sur les garanties entre le Canada et l'AIEA.

Avant 2003, les stocks liquides contenant de l'UHE étaient entreposés aux Laboratoires de Chalk River dans un réservoir à double paroi en acier inoxydable, appelé réservoir de stockage de solution fissile (RSSF).

Le RSSF a atteint sa limite de stockage en 2003. Depuis ce temps, les matières liquides provenant de la production d'isotopes médicaux sont cimentées et entreposées à long terme aux LCR.

Le RSFF, qui est maintenant plein, est situé dans une enceinte protégée par des couches épaisses de béton. On en surveille la température, la pression et la composition chimique. Des échantillons de son contenu sont pris une fois par mois et soumis à une analyse chimique détaillée. De cette manière, on vérifie que le contenu du réservoir est stable et sûr en tout temps. Au cours de cet échantillonnage obligatoire, des informations sont enregistrées électroniquement et envoyées à la CCSN et à l'Agence internationale de l'énergie atomique (AIEA).

Puisque le RSSF contient de l'UHE, les exigences en matière de sécurité aux LCR sont élevées, et la CCSN et l'AIEA exercent une surveillance réglementaire étroite en tout temps. En 2011, l'AIEA, en collaboration avec la CCSN et les LCR, a installé un nouveau système de surveillance pour assurer le contrôle approprié du réservoir.

Des discussions sur la sûreté du RSSF ont eu lieu en 2011 au cours d'une audience publique de deux jours de la CCSN sur le renouvellement du permis des LCR.

Homologation du modèle de colis de transport de nitrate d’uranyle liquide hautement enrichi

Les modèles de colis conçus pour transporter le nitrate d’uranyle liquide hautement enrichi doivent être homologués par les autorités américaines et canadiennes avant d'être utilisés.

Pour être homologué au Canada, le modèle de colis doit faire l’objet d'un examen rigoureux au cours duquel sont simulées des conditions de transport normales et hypothétiques, y compris une épreuve de chute libre, une épreuve de perforation et une épreuve thermique.

Le modèle de colis doit être conforme au Règlement sur l'emballage et le transport des substances nucléaires de la CCSN. Ce règlement, qui se fonde sur le Règlement de transport des matières radioactives de l'AIEA, fixe des normes strictes de sûreté permettant une maîtrise acceptable au niveau international des risques radiologiques, des risques de criticité et des risques thermiques auxquels sont exposés les personnes, les biens et l'environnement du fait du transport de matières radioactives.

Les personnes concernées doivent informer la CCSN de l'utilisation qu'elles feront du colis et indiquer que la formation nécessaire pour bien les préparer à l'expédition a été suivie. La CCSN homologue les colis seulement lorsqu'elle est convaincue qu'ils respectent toutes les exigences réglementaires.

Consultation publique sur la conception d’un colis pour le transport de NULHE

En 2014, la CCSN a reçu une demande d’homologation d’un modèle de colis et l’a évalué pour vérifier que toutes les exigences réglementaires étaient respectées. Du 23 décembre 2014 au 9 février 2015, le public a pu présenter des commentaires par écrit au sujet du rapport d’évaluation technique sur la conception du colis NAC-LWT pour le transport de nitrate d’uranyle liquide hautement enrichi. Le rapport inclut une évaluation environnementale réalisée en vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires (LSRN).

Le 10 juillet 2015, la CCSN a homologué la conception du colis NAC-LWT pour le transport de NULHE.

Étapes importantes Dates Liens
Consultation Du 23 décembre 2014 au 9 février 2015 Voir le communiqué de presse
Consultez le rapport d’évaluation technique sur la conception du colis NAC-LWT pour le transport de nitrate d’uranyle liquide hautement enrichi
Invitation à formuler des observations sur les commentaires reçus Du 4 mai 2015 au 4 juin 2015 Voir les commentaires reçus
Voir les observations formulées 10 juin 2015
Décision concernant l’homologation canadienne 10 juillet 2015 Voir le communiqué de presse
Voir le Compte rendu des décisions (PDF)
Voir l’homologation canadienne (PDF)
Voir le rapport de consultation (PDF)

Le tableau des recommandations et les réponses du personnel de la CCSN sont disponibles sur demande. Pour les obtenir, contactez INFO.

Autorisation du transport de nitrate d’uranyle liquide hautement enrichi

Après l'homologation du colis, une demande de permis de transport doit être présentée à la CCSN. Chaque envoi de nitrate d’uranyle liquide hautement enrichi requiert son propre permis de transport. La validité de ces permis est limitée à une période précise.

Une demande de permis de transport soumise à la CCSN doit inclure un plan de sécurité comprenant les renseignements suivants :

  • une description complète de la substance nucléaire
  • une évaluation pour déterminer toute menace plausible
  • une description du type de véhicule utilisé pendant le transport
  • les mesures de sécurité proposées en vigueur durant le transport, telles que le suivi continu et le type d'escorte
  • les arrangements en matière de communications pris entre le transporteur et la force d'intervention (p. ex. les services de police canadiens)
  • les arrangements en matière de communications pris entre le titulaire de permis et la force d'intervention
  • les voies de transport primaires et de rechange

En vertu du Règlement sur le transport des matières dangereuses de Transports Canada, un plan d'intervention d'urgence approuvé par ce ministère doit être prévu pour tout envoi de matières fissiles telles que le nitrate d’uranyle liquide hautement enrichi. De plus, ce règlement oblige l'expéditeur à inscrire un numéro de téléphone d'urgence valide 24 heures sur 24 sur tous les documents d'expédition afin que les premiers intervenants d'urgence aient un accès immédiat à une assistance technique appropriée.

La CCSN délivre le permis de transport uniquement lorsqu'elle est convaincue que l'envoi satisfait à toutes les exigences réglementaires.

La CCSN exige également qu'un permis d'exportation soit délivré pour ces envois. Un permis d'exportation garantit que les matières sont conformes à la politique de non-prolifération nucléaire, aux obligations et aux engagements internationaux ainsi qu'aux exigences réglementaires du Canada. De plus, il confirme que les matières transférées ne seront utilisées qu'à des fins pacifiques.

État des envois de NULHE

La CCSN n'a pas encore reçu de demande de transport de nitrate d’uranyle liquide hautement enrichi vers les États-Unis.

Lorsqu'une telle demande est présentée, la CCSN effectue un examen approfondi dans le cadre de son processus normal pour préserver la sûreté du public et protéger l'environnement et pour veiller à ce que les mesures appropriées soient en place pour assurer la sûreté de l'envoi.

Voici les principales étapes comprises dans l'envoi d'UHE liquide.
Étape État
Analyse supplémentaire du département de l’Énergie des États-Unis (USDOE)
Homologation d’un modèle de colis de transport de la NRC des États-Unis
  • Certificat d’homologation délivré
    • Voir le certificat (source : NRC des États-Unis, disponible en anglais seulement)
    • Voir la demande (source : NRC des États-Unis, disponible en anglais seulement)
Homologation d’un modèle de colis de transport du département des Transports des États-Unis
  • Certificat d’homologation délivré
Homologation d’un modèle de colis de transport de la CCSN
Demande de permis de transport
  • Demande reçue
    • Renseignements réglementés
Demande de permis d'exportation
  • Demande reçue et évaluée, permis délivré
    • Renseignements réglementés

Transport de substances radioactives liquides

Le Canada est l'un des principaux producteurs de substances nucléaires (matières radioactives) au monde et affiche un excellent bilan en matière de sûreté lors du transport des matières radioactives.

Chaque année, plus d'un million de colis contenant des matières radioactives sont transportés de manière sécuritaire au Canada.

La CCSN et Transports Canada se partagent la responsabilité d'assurer la sécurité du transport des substances nucléaires.

Certaines substances radioactives sont transportées sous forme liquide. Par exemple, des isotopes médicaux et de l'eau lourde contenant du tritium et utilisée dans les réacteurs CANDU sont transportés régulièrement.

Le Canada a une vaste expérience en matière de transport de grandes quantités de matières radioactives solides. Il est notamment un grand producteur de sources de cobalt 60 dont on se sert en radiothérapie et dans diverses applications industrielles comme l'irradiation (p. ex. pour détruire les bactéries potentiellement néfastes dans la nourriture ou sur l'équipement médical).

De petites quantités de grappes de combustible épuisé sont régulièrement envoyées par les exploitants de centrales nucléaires aux LCR aux fins d'examen.

Des inspecteurs de la CCSN effectuent régulièrement des inspections afin de s'assurer que les titulaires de permis et les transporteurs se conforment aux règlements.