Radiation safety of patients undergoing medical procedures

In Canada, doctors, hospitals, federal and provincial authorities, and others share a role in protecting the safety of patients who receive radiation doses for medical purposes (for example, use of radiation in cancer therapy). The overall Canadian regulatory framework establishes significant roles for Health Canada and the CNSC, as well as provincial health authorities.

Health Canada

  • Health Canada ensures the safety of medical devices that are used on people. Its licensing process verifies that medical devices function in accordance with the manufacturer's specifications. For example, it will confirm that a radiation-emitting device can accurately deliver the dose of radiation prescribed by a physician.
  • To further ensure patient safety, Health Canada has established the Canadian Patient Safety Institute (CPSI). CPSI members include representatives from national organizations and federal government and all provincial and territorial departments of health. The CPSI's strategic priority is to “improve the safety of patient care in Canada through learning, sharing and implementing interventions that are known to reduce avoidable harm”.

The Canadian Nuclear safety Commisison (CNSC)

The CNSC's role in patient safety is to ensure that the radiation received by a person for diagnostic or therapeutic purposes is done under the supervision of a qualified medical practitioner. This is required in paragraph 2(2)(a) of the Radiation Protection Regulations.

The CNSC also focuses on the safety of the general public and workers at the facilities it licenses, as well as the protection of the environment. It ensures the safe operation of the equipment in medical facilities licensed by the CNSC by verifying that:

  • facilities are properly designed with sufficient radiation safety shielding and adequate safety systems
  • equipment used in these facilities is certified by the CNSC
  • persons operating the equipment are qualified and suitably trained in its safe use

To achieve these objectives, the CNSC carries out comprehensive regulatory activities that include licensing, certification of equipments and compliance inspections.

Provincial health authorities

The qualifications and responsibilities of physicians and other medical practitioners are established and regulated under provincial law through various professional colleges.


For more information, contact the CNSC.

La protection radiologique des patients durant les traitements médicaux

Au Canada, les médecins, les hôpitaux, les autorités fédérales et provinciales, etc., partagent un rôle de protection de la sécurité des patients qui reçoivent des doses de rayonnement à des fins médicales (par exemple, l'utilisation du rayonnement dans la cancérothérapie). Le cadre global de réglementation canadien attribue des rôles importants à Santé Canada et à la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN), ainsi qu'aux ministères de la Santé des provinces.

Santé Canada

  • Santé Canada garantit la sûreté des instruments médicaux utilisés pour traiter les personnes. Son processus de délivrance de permis permet de vérifier que les instruments médicaux fonctionnent conformément aux spécifications du fabricant. Par exemple, il confirmera qu'un appareil émetteur de rayonnement peut libérer avec précision la dose de rayonnement prescrite par un médecin.
  • Pour garantir davantage la sécurité des patients, Santé Canada a mis sur pied l'Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients (ICSP). Parmi les membres de l'ICSP figurent des représentants d'organismes nationaux, du gouvernement fédéral et de tous les ministères de la santé provinciaux et territoriaux. La priorité stratégique de l'ICSP consiste à « améliorer la sécurité des soins aux patients canadiens par la formation, l'échange d'information et la mise en œuvre de stratégies connues pour réduire les préjudices évitables ».

La CCSN

Le rôle que joue la CCSN dans la sécurité des patients consiste à garantir que le rayonnement qu'une personne reçoit à des fins diagnostiques ou thérapeutiques est supervisé par un médecin qualifié, comme l'exige l'alinéa 2(2)a) du Règlement sur la radioprotection.

La CCSN est également responsable de la sécurité du grand public et des travailleurs aux installations qu'elle autorise ainsi que de la protection de l'environnement. Elle vérifie les points suivants afin de s'assurer que l'équipement des installations médicales qu'elle autorise est utilisé en toute sûreté :

  • les installations sont adéquatement conçues en plus d'être dotées d'écrans protecteurs suffisants contre le rayonnement et de systèmes de sécurité adéquats
  • l'équipement utilisé dans ces installations est homologué par la CCSN
  • les personnes qui utilisent l'équipement sont qualifiées et bien formées pour l'utiliser en toute sûreté

Pour atteindre ces objectifs, la CCSN exerce une gamme d'activités de réglementation qui englobent la délivrance de permis, l'homologation de l'équipement et les inspections de conformité.

Ministères de la Santé des provinces

Les qualifications et les responsabilités des médecins et des autres praticiens médicaux sont établies et réglementées par les lois provinciales, appliquées par différentes associations professionnelles.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec la CCSN :
1-800-668-5284 ou info@cnsc-ccsn.gc.ca.