FAQs: Import and export control

Q1. If a licensee has a requirement to export Category 2 sealed sources from Alberta, and potentially from other locations in Ontario and Newfoundland, to the same location in the United States, would the licensee require a separate licence for each location of origin?

Q2. A licensee may be required to export a number of sources of varying radioisotopes which may be surplus to its needs.  Individually, the sources are not Category 2 sealed sources, but the sum of the fractions (individual activity/threshold activity) is greater than one. Under US NRC rules and licences, this would be classed as a Category 2 shipment. Would this shipment require a licence for export from Canada?

Q3. Do export licences have a fixed expiry date?

Q4. If a shipment is completed before the expiry of the export licence, can a licensee complete another shipment before it expires?

Q5. My licence has been recently amended to have condition 2408 (Export Limitation) added, and I need to ship a sealed source containing 100 mCi (3700 MBq) of Cs-137 to a foreign country. Do I need to apply for an export licence from the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC)?

Q6. My licence does not currently authorize me to "import" Category 1 or Category 2 sealed sources because I purchase my sources from a Canadian distributor.  My distributor deals directly with a US manufacturer for the acquisition of sources. In order to save time and money, my agent has the sources delivered directly to my licensed location.  This has not been a problem so far, but with the introduction of the new RSSS Export and Import Controls Program and the need to notify CNSC of any shipments, it appears as though my shipment may be denied because my possession and use licence does not show "import" as an authorized activity.


Top of page

Q1. If a licensee has a requirement to export Category 2 sealed sources from Alberta, and potentially from other locations in Ontario and Newfoundland, to the same location in the United States, would the licensee require a separate licence for each location of origin?

A1. A separate licence from each location of origin is not needed.  This is outlined in paragraph 7.2 of G-341, which states in part that:

  • a separate application is required for each "transaction" or "specific set of transactions" that are anticipated to occur within a specific period of time
  • each licence issued will pertain to one or more importers but only a single country and
  • separate licences will be issued for Category 1 and Category 2 sealed sources 

A licensee can therefore apply for one export licence to ship a number of sources from specified licensed locations to specified recipients (final consignees) in a single country over a range of dates, provided that each final consignee and point of origin is known for each shipment type at the time of application.  Otherwise, a separate export licence, issued to the current CNSC nuclear substance and prescribed equipment licence holder, will be required for each shipment. 

Top of page

Q2. A licensee may be required to export a number of sources of varying radioisotopes which may be surplus to its needs.  Individually, the sources are not Category 2 sealed sources, but the sum of the fractions (individual activity/threshold activity) is greater than one. Under US NRC rules and licences, this would be classed as a Category 2 shipment. Would this shipment require a licence for export from Canada?

A2. The CNSC at present does not aggregate sources in shipments for the purposes of seeking an export licence.  The requirement for export licences is considered on a source-specific basis and does not apply to aggregations of sources.  Therefore, if you are exporting sources that individually fall below the Category 2 threshold, there is no requirement to apply for a licence. 

Top of page

Q3. Do export licences have a fixed expiry date?

A3. Under normal circumstances, an export licence will be issued for a 12-month period.  This should provide sufficient time for the export transaction to be completed. Some export licences may be issued based on individual applicant requirements.  For example, if a large consignment is intended over a prolonged period of time in multiple smaller shipments, a licensee may wish to request that the licence be of sufficient duration to allow for all of the individual shipments to be completed within the allotted period of time. The CNSC, after having satisfied itself that the application is satisfactory, may issue a licence for a longer period of time with respect to Category 2 sealed sources. However, with respect to Category 1 sealed sources, the duration of the export licence will also be subject to the importing authority's restrictions.  If, for whatever reason, an importing state wishes to impose a time constraint on its consent to import Category 1 sources, CNSC will be required to reflect that concern in its decision to issue a licence.

Top of page

Q4. If a shipment is completed before the expiry of the export licence, can a licensee complete another shipment before it expires?

A4. An export licence will be issued based on the information provided in an application.  Should the condition of the original licence be fulfilled – in other words the shipment completed ahead of schedule – then, for all intents and purposes, the licence becomes null and void.  A licensee may request that his licence be amended to accommodate certain situations but, once issued, the export licence is intended only for those activities originally stated.

Top of page

Q5. My licence has been recently amended to have condition 2408 (Export Limitation) added, and I need to ship a sealed source containing 100 mCi (3700 MBq) of Cs-137 to a foreign country. Do I need to apply for an export licence from the CNSC?

A5. The minimum activity limit for Cs-137 that requires a licensee to apply for an export licence is 30 Ci (1 000 GBq).  Since the size of the source in question falls within the Category 4 range of sealed sources, it is not subject to the RSSS Export and Import Controls Program.  A licence is therefore not required and the export transaction can occur through the general authorization of the possession and use licence.

Top of page

Q6. My licence does not currently authorize me to "import" Category 1 or Category 2 sealed sources because I purchase my sources from a Canadian distributor.  My distributor deals directly with a US manufacturer for the acquisition of sources. In order to save time and money, my agent has the sources delivered directly to my licensed location.  This has not been a problem so far, but with the introduction of the new RSSS Export and Import Controls Program and the need to notify CNSC of any shipments, it appears as though my shipment may be denied because my possession and use licence does not show "import" as an authorized activity.

A6. The introduction of the new RSSS Export and Import Controls Program requires that a prior notification be sent to the importing state regulator prior to the shipment of the Category 1 and Category 2 sealed source.  Upon receipt of such notifications, the regulator must perform compliance checks to make sure that the activity being conducted is in accordance with an appropriate possession and use licence.

The fact that the sources are acquired through a Canadian distributor does not require the licensee to have the "import" activity authorized in his licence provided that the source transfer is conducted directly between the two Canadian licensees.

However, difficulties arise with regard to supporting documentation when a Canadian distributor wishes to deal with a foreign supplier for the acquisition of the sources and when the Canadian distributor also wishes to have the foreign supplier drop-ship the source directly to the original purchaser (the Canadian licensee). United States and Canadian border agents could withhold the shipment if the accompanying licence does not authorize the "import" of the source, regardless of who purchased the source originally. Shipping documentation will show the final consignee and that final consignee must have proper authorization.

To eliminate the confusion and complexity of such transactions and to reduce the risk of shipment delays at the border or delays as a result of orders from CNSC, it is recommended that a Canadian licensee wishing to act through a Canadian distributor for the acquisition of sources through a foreign supplier have the authorization for "import" added to their possession and use licence.

Top of page

FAQs: Contrôles de l'importation et de l'exportation

Q1. Un titulaire de permis doit exporter des sources scellées de catégorie 2 en provenance de l’Alberta et possiblement de l’Ontario et de Terre-Neuve, vers le même endroit aux États-Unis. A-t-il besoin d’un permis distinct pour chaque lieu d’origine?

Q2. Il se peut qu’un titulaire de permis doive exporter un certain nombre de sources aux radio-isotopes variables qui pourraient dépasser ses besoins. De façon individuelle, les sources ne sont pas de catégorie 2, mais la somme des fractions (activité individuelle/activité de seuil) est supérieure à 1. Aux termes des règles et des permis de la Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) des États-Unis, cette expédition serait classée comme catégorie 2. Au Canada, faut-il obtenir un permis d’exportation pour cette expédition?

Q3. Les permis d’exportation ont-ils une date d’expiration fixe?

Q4. Si une expédition est terminée avant l’expiration du permis d’exportation, est-ce que le titulaire du permis peut effectuer une autre expédition avant que le permis n’expire?

Q5. Mon permis a récemment été modifié pour comprendre la condition 2 408 (Limite d’exportation), et je dois expédier une source scellée contenant 100 mCi (3 700 Mbq) de césium 137 dans un pays étranger. Dois-je demander un permis d’exportation à la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN)?

Q6. Mon permis ne m’autorise pas à « importer » des sources scellées de catégorie 1 ou 2, car j’achète mes sources d’un distributeur canadien. Mon distributeur fait affaire directement avec un fabricant américain pour l’acquisition des sources. Afin de sauver temps et argent, mon agent fait livrer les sources directement à mon installation autorisée. Cela n’a jamais posé de problème jusqu’à maintenant, mais avec l’introduction du nouveau programme des contrôles à l’exportation et à l’importation et la nécessité d’aviser la CCSN de toute expédition, il semble que mon expédition pourrait être refusée, puisque mon permis de possession et d’utilisation n’indique pas que « l’importation » fait partie des activités autorisées.


Haut de la page

Q1. Un titulaire de permis doit exporter des sources scellées de catégorie 2 en provenance de l’Alberta et possiblement de l’Ontario et de Terre-Neuve, vers le même endroit aux États-Unis. A-t-il besoin d’un permis distinct pour chaque lieu d’origine?

R1. Un permis distinct pour chaque lieu d’origine n’est pas nécessaire, comme il est précisé au paragraphe 7.2 du guide G-341, qui explique notamment que :

  • chaque «transaction» ou «ensemble spécifique de transactions» anticipées dans un délai prescrit doit faire l’objet d’une demande distincte
  • chaque permis délivré peut comprendre un ou plusieurs importateurs, mais dans un seul pays
  • un permis distinct sera délivré pour les sources scellées de catégorie 1 ou de catégorie 2

Donc, un titulaire de permis peut demander un permis d’exportation pour expédier un certain nombre de sources à partir d’endroits autorisés spécifiés et pour des destinataires spécifiés dans un seul pays, à plusieurs dates différentes, du moment que le destinataire final et le point d’origine sont connus pour chaque expédition au moment de la demande. Sinon, le titulaire de permis qui détient un permis de possession de substance nucléaire et d’appareil réglementé de la CCSN devra obtenir un permis d’exportation distinct pour chaque expédition.

Haut de la page

Q2. Il se peut qu’un titulaire de permis doive exporter un certain nombre de sources aux radio-isotopes variables qui pourraient dépasser ses besoins. De façon individuelle, les sources ne sont pas de catégorie 2, mais la somme des fractions (activité individuelle/activité de seuil) est supérieure à 1. Aux termes des règles et des permis de la Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) des États-Unis, cette expédition serait classée comme catégorie 2. Au Canada, faut-il obtenir un permis d’exportation pour cette expédition?

R2. Pour l’instant, la CCSN ne regroupe pas les sources d’une expédition dans le but de demander un permis d’exportation. La nécessité d’un permis d’exportation est examinée pour chaque source et ne s’applique pas aux ensembles de sources. Par conséquent, si vous exportez des sources qui, individuellement, sont en deçà du seuil de catégorie 2, vous n’avez pas besoin de demander un permis.

Haut de la page

Q3. Les permis d’exportation ont-ils une date d’expiration fixe?

R3. Dans des circonstances normales, un permis d’exportation est délivré pour une période de 12 mois. Cela devrait être suffisant pour terminer la transaction d’exportation.

Certains permis d’exportation peuvent être livrés selon les besoins d’un demandeur individuel. Par exemple, si une grosse expédition est prévue sur une longue période de temps sous forme de multiples petites expéditions, un titulaire de permis peut demander une période d’autorisation suffisante pour que toutes les expéditions individuelles soient terminées dans les délais prescrits. Après s’être assurée que la demande est satisfaisante, la CCSN pourra délivrer un permis avec une période de validité prolongée à l’égard des sources scellées de catégorie 2. Cependant, en ce qui a trait aux sources scellées de catégorie 1, la durée des permis d’exportation sera également assujettie aux restrictions de l’autorité importatrice. Si, pour une raison ou une autre, l’État importateur décide d’imposer une contrainte de temps à son autorisation d’importer des sources scellées de catégorie 1, la CCSN devra tenir compte de cette exigence dans sa délivrance du permis.

Haut de la page

Q4. Si une expédition est terminée avant l’expiration du permis d’exportation, est-ce que le titulaire du permis peut effectuer une autre expédition avant que le permis n’expire?

R4. Un permis d’exportation est délivré en fonction de l’information fournie dans la demande. Si la condition du permis original est remplie (en d’autres mots, si l’expédition est terminée avant la fin du délai), alors à toutes fins et intentions, le permis devient nul et sans effet. Un titulaire de permis peut demander que son permis soit modifié afin de composer avec certaines situations, mais une fois délivré, le permis d’exportation s’applique uniquement aux activités mentionnées dans la demande.

Haut de la page

Q5. Mon permis a récemment été modifié pour comprendre la condition 2 408 (Limite d’exportation), et je dois expédier une source scellée contenant 100 mCi (3 700 Mbq) de césium 137 dans un pays étranger. Dois-je demander un permis d’exportation à la CCSN?

R5. Une demande de permis d’exportation est nécessaire pour du césium 137 lorsque la limite d’activité minimale est de 30 Ci (1 000 GBq). Puisque la taille de la source en question entre dans les sources scellées de catégorie 4, elle n’est pas assujettie au programme des contrôles à l’exportation et à l’importation. Un permis n’est donc pas nécessaire, et cette transaction peut avoir lieu dans le cadre de l’autorisation générale du permis de possession et d’utilisation.

Haut de la page

Q6. Mon permis ne m’autorise pas à « importer » des sources scellées de catégorie 1 ou 2, car j’achète mes sources d’un distributeur canadien. Mon distributeur fait affaire directement avec un fabricant américain pour l’acquisition des sources. Afin de sauver temps et argent, mon agent fait livrer les sources directement à mon installation autorisée. Cela n’a jamais posé de problème jusqu’à maintenant, mais avec l’introduction du nouveau programme des contrôles à l’exportation et à l’importation et la nécessité d’aviser la CCSN de toute expédition, il semble que mon expédition pourrait être refusée, puisque mon permis de possession et d’utilisation n’indique pas que « l’importation » fait partie des activités autorisées.

R6. L’introduction du programme des contrôles à l’exportation et à l’importation exige l’envoi d’une notification à l’organisme de réglementation de l’État importateur avant l’expédition d’une source de catégories 1 ou 2. Sur réception de cette notification, l’organisme de réglementation doit procéder à des vérifications de conformité afin de s’assurer que l’activité réalisée est conforme au permis de possession et d’utilisation approprié.

Le fait que les sources soient achetées par l’entremise d’un distributeur canadien n’oblige pas le titulaire de permis à avoir l’autorisation « d’importer » sur son permis, tant que le transfert de la source se fait directement entre deux titulaires de permis canadiens.

Des difficultés pourraient toutefois survenir à l’égard des pièces justificatives dans le cas où un distributeur canadien souhaite faire affaire avec un fournisseur étranger pour l’acquisition de sources et qu’ensuite, ce distributeur canadien veut que le fournisseur étranger expédie la source directement à l’acheteur original (le titulaire de permis canadien). Les agents frontaliers américains et canadiens pourraient retenir l’expédition si le permis qui l’accompagne n’autorise pas « l’importation » de la source, peu importe qui a acheté la source à l’origine. La pièce justificative indiquera le destinataire final, qui doit posséder les autorisations adéquates.

Afin d’éliminer la confusion et la complexité de telles transactions et pour réduire le risque que l’expédition soit retardée à la frontière ou sur l’ordre de la CCSN, on recommande que les titulaires de permis canadiens qui souhaitent passer par un distributeur canadien pour acquérir des sources chez un fournisseur étranger fassent ajouter l’autorisation d’« importer » à leur permis de possession et d’utilisation.

Haut de la page