REGDOC-3.6, Glossary of CNSC Terminology

Preface

This regulatory document is part of the CNSC's series of regulatory documents. The full list of regulatory document series is included at the end of this document and can also be found on the CNSC's website.

Regulatory document REGDOC-3.6, Glossary of CNSC Terminology, provides a list of terms and definitions used in the Nuclear Safety and Control Act (NSCA), the regulations made under the NSCA, and CNSC regulatory documents and other publications, such as annual reports and guidance documents. This document is provided for reference and information and serves as the standard for future CNSC regulatory documents and other publications.

All terms and definitions from the NSCA (also called the Act) and regulations made under it are identified by source. Certain frequently used terms and definitions defined by other acts of Parliament are also included and their sources are also identified. References to sections, subsections, paragraphs, schedules or columns mean those belonging to the source (NSCA, regulation or other act) unless otherwise specified.

Some terms are also used in CNSC licences and licence conditions handbooks. This glossary may include minor edits of those terms and definitions; however, the definitions in this glossary do not supersede licence conditions or other legally binding documents.

In most cases, the definitions have been previously published in CNSC documents. Where necessary, they have been edited for grammar, consistency and accuracy. Where published sources provided multiple definitions for a term, similar definitions were combined and edited for the same reason, or context was added where the meaning applies to a specific safety area or facility type.

This document is intended to be updated regularly. New terms and definitions will be added as new or revised regulatory documents or other publications are published. Comments on terms and definitions are always welcome; please contact the CNSC if you have any suggestions to improve this document's completeness, cohesiveness or clarity.

Introduction

Purpose

This glossary is provided for reference and information and serves as the standard for future CNSC regulatory documents and other publications.

The definitions in this glossary do not supersede licence conditions or other legally binding documents.

Scope

The glossary provides a list of terms and definitions used in the Nuclear Safety and Control Act (NSCA; also called the Act), the regulations made under the NSCA, and CNSC regulatory documents and other publications, such as annual reports and guidance documents. Acronyms and abbreviations are also included.

Minor edits have been made to some terms and definitions from published CNSC regulatory documents and other CNSC publications. Notes have been added to certain definitions to further clarify them.

French terms

For each term, the French term is provided immediately following the English term.

Glossary structure

Most glossary entries consist of a term plus a definition, but may also have other information.

A term may have one or more definitions; for example:

safety analysis (analyse de la sûreté)

A systematic evaluation of the potential hazards that is associated with the conduct of a proposed activity or facility and that considers the effectiveness of preventive measures and strategies in reducing the effects of such hazards.

OR

With respect to deterministic safety analysis, analysis by means of appropriate analytical tools that confirms the design basis for the items important to safety and ensures that the overall nuclear facility design is capable of meeting specified acceptance criteria.

Cross-references are provided to the main or preferred term; for example:

poison (poison)

See neutron absorber.

Acronyms are included – either with the defined term, or as a cross-reference or a standalone entry where applicable; for example:

annual limit on intake (ALI) (limite annuelle d'incorporation [LAI])

The activity, in becquerel, of a radionuclide that will deliver an effective dose of 20 mSv during the 50-year period after the radionuclide is taken into the body of a person 18 years old or older or during the period beginning at intake and ending at age 70 after it is taken into the body of a person less than 18 years old. (Source: Radiation Protection Regulations)

ALI (LAI)

See annual limit on intake.

RCS (SRR)

reactor coolant system

The glossary also lists alternate, but less frequently used terms, as well as a small number of terms (not necessarily synonyms) that are more suitably defined under other ones. These alternate terms are also cross-referenced to the appropriate terms, for example:

collimator (collimateur)

See beam limiter.

 

Relevant legislation

Sources

Terms and definitions from the NSCA, regulations made under the NSCA and other relevant legislation are identified by the source; for example:

Class I nuclear facility (installation nucléaire de catégorie I)

A Class IA nuclear facility and a Class IB nuclear facility. (Source: Class I Nuclear Facilities Regulations)

Each term is generally from the Interpretations section, but may appear in another section or subsection of the legislation. Within any definition, references to sections, subsections, paragraphs, schedules or columns mean those belonging to the source unless otherwise specified.

IAEA Regulations

Throughout this document, the term "IAEA Regulations" refers to the most up-to-date Regulations for the Safe Transport of Radioactive Material, published by the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA).

Additions and revisions

Future versions of this document will incorporate new terms and definitions in newly published regulatory documents, capture revisions to existing CNSC documents as those documents are developed or reaffirmed, and reflect advances in scientific and technical knowledge.

Suggestions for additions and revisions to the terms and definitions included in this document should be submitted to the CNSC.

Top of page

REGDOC-3.6, Glossaire de la CCSN

Preface

Ce document d'application de la réglementation fait partie de la série de documents d'application de la réglementation de la CCSN sur d'autres domaines de réglementation. La liste complète des séries figure à la fin de ce document et elle peut être consultée à partir du site Web de la CCSN.

Le document d'application de la réglementation REGDOC-3.6, Glossaire de la CCSN, fournit une liste de termes utilisés avec leur(s) définition(s) dans la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires (LSRN), ses règlements d'application et ainsi que les documents d'application de la réglementation et d'autres publications de la CCSN, comme les rapports annuels et les documents d'orientation. Il est fourni à titre de référence et pour information et sert de norme pour l'élaboration d'autres documents d'application de la réglementation et d'autres publications.

La source des termes et des définitions tirés de la LSRN (aussi appellée la Loi) et de ses règlements d'application est indiquée. Certains termes et certaines définitions utilisés couramment dans d'autres lois du Parlement sont aussi inclus et leur source est également indiquée. Les références aux articles, paragraphes, alinéas, annexes et colonnes signifient qu'elles se rapportent à la source (LSRN, règlement ou autre loi) à moins d'indication contraire.

Certains termes sont aussi utilisés dans les permis et les manuels des conditions de permis de la CCSN. Les termes et définitions contenus dans le présent glossaire peuvent avoir été légèrement modifiés, mais les conditions de permis et tout autre document ayant force de loi ont préséance.

Dans la plupart des cas, les définitions sont tirées de documents publiés par la CCSN. Des changements ont été apportés au besoin sur les plans de la grammaire, de l'uniformité et de la clarté. Lorsqu'il existe plusieurs définitions du même terme , les définitions semblables ont été fusionnées et révisées pour cette même raison. Du contexte peut avoir été ajouté lorsque le sens du terme s'applique à un domaine de sûreté ou à un type d'installation en particulier.

Ce document sera révisé périodiquement. De nouveaux termes et de nouvelles définitions seront ajoutés à mesure que des documents d'application de la réglementation ou d'autres ouvrages sont publiés. Les commentaires sur les termes et les définitions sont toujours les bienvenus. Veuillez communiquer avec la CCSN si vous avez des suggestions d'amélioration (exhaustivité, cohérence et clarté)

Introduction

Objet

Le présent glossaire est fourni à titre de référence et pour information et sert de norme pour l’élaboration des documents d’applications de la réglementation et d’autres publications.

Les définitions de ce glossaire ne remplacent pas les conditions de permis ou tout autre document ayant force de loi.

Portée

Le glossaire fournit une liste de termes utilisés avec leur définition dans la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires (LSRN), ses règlements d'application et ainsi que les documents d'application de la réglementation et d'autres publications de la CCSN, comme les rapports annuels et les documents d'orientation Les termes et les définitions comprennent aussi des sigles et des acronymes.

Quelques termes et définitions tirés de documents d'application de la réglementation et d'autres publications de la CCSN ont été légèrement modifiés. Des notes ont été ajoutées pour certains termes à des fins de précision.

Termes anglais

Chaque entrée du glossaire est accompagnée de son équivalent anglais.

Structure du glossaire

La plupart des entrées comprennent un terme et une définition, mais elles peuvent aussi fournir d'autres renseignements.

Un terme peut avoir plus d'une définition. Par exemple :

analyse de la sûreté (safety analysis)

Évaluation systématique des dangers possibles associés au fonctionnement d'une installation ou à la réalisation d'une activité proposée. L'analyse de la sûreté sert à examiner l'efficacité des mesures et des stratégies de prévention qui visent à réduire les effets de ces dangers.

OU

Dans le contexte d'une analyse déterministe de la sûreté, analyse à l'aide d'outils analytiques appropriés qui confirme le dimensionnement des composants importants pour la sûreté et permet de s'assurer que la conception globale de l'installation nucléaire satisfait aux critères d'acceptation.

Les renvois indiquent le terme principal ou préféré. Par exemple :

poison (poison)

Voir absorbeur de neutrons.

Les sigles et les acronymes ainsi que leur définition sont fournis à titre de renvois et d'entrée à part entière le cas échéant. Par exemple :

limite annuelle d'incorporation (LAI) (annual limit on intake (ALI))

Activité d'un radionucléide, exprimée en becquerels, qui délivre une dose efficace de 20 mSv durant les 50 années suivant l'incorporation du radionucléide dans le corps d'une personne qui a 18 ans ou plus ou durant la période commençant à son incorporation et se terminant à l'âge de 70 ans, dans le cas où il est incorporé dans le corps d'une personne qui a moins de 18 ans. Source: Règlement sur la radioprotection)

LAI (ALI)

Voir limite annuelle d'incorporation.

SRR (RCS)

système de refroidissement du réacteur

Le présent glossaire relève aussi des synonymes moins communs ainsi que d'autres termes (pas nécessairement des synonymes) qui conviennent mieux à d'autres définitions. Ces variantes renvoient aussi aux termes corrects. Par exemple :

collimateur (collimator)

Voir obturateur de faisceau

 

Réglementation pertinente

Sources

La source des termes et des définitions provenant de la LSRN, de ses règlements d'application et d'autre réglementation pertinente est indiquée en italique. Par exemple :

installation nucléaire de catégorie I (Class I nuclear facility)

Installation nucléaire de catégorie IA et installation nucléaire de catégorie IB
(Source : Règlement sur les installations nucléaires de catégorie I)

La plupart de ces termes sont tirés de l'article Définitions, mais peuvent aussi être dans un autre article ou paragraphe de la loi ou du règlement. Les références à des articles, des paragraphes, des alinéas, des annexes ou des colonnes renvoient au texte source, sauf indication contraire.

Règlement de l'AIEA

Dans le présent document, « Règlement de l'AIEA » s'entend de la version la plus à jour du Règlement de transport des matières radioactives, publiée par l'Agence international de l'énergie atomique (AIEA).

Ajouts et révisions

Le présent document sera mis à jour régulièrement, notamment pour y intégrer des termes et des définitions extraits de documents d'application de la réglementation nouvellement publiés, pour tenir compte de révisions apportées à des documents existants de la CCSN ainsi que pour tenir compte des progrès scientifiques et techniques.

Les suggestions d'ajouts et de révisions à des termes et des définitions du présent document devraient être présentées à la CCSN.