Frequently asked questions: REGDOC-2.12.3, Security of Nuclear Substances: Sealed Sources

Part I: General questions

Application

Part II: Specific questions

Transportation

Background check – Trustworthiness and reliability

Part I: General questions

Q1. Why did the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission publish REGDOC- 2.12.3?

A1. REGDOC-2.12.3 clarifies requirements set out in the General Nuclear Safety and Control Regulations and licence conditions.

This document:

  • provides clear regulatory instructions to industry and stakeholders
  • will help licensees understand Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) requirements and expectations for the security of radioactive sealed sources
  • provides guidance to prevent the loss, sabotage and illegal use, possession, or removal of sealed sources during their entire lifecycle
  • aligns with international guidelines and standards, including the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) Code of Conduct on the Safety and Security of Radioactive Sources

Q2. When will REGDOC-2.12.3 come into effect?

A2. In January 2015, the CNSC amended close to 2,500 licences related to sealed sources used in medical, industrial, commercial, and academic and research applications. The amendment included a new condition requiring licensees to comply with the security measures set out in CNSC regulatory document REGDOC-2.12.3, Security of Nuclear Substances: Sealed Sources. This new condition came into force on May 31, 2015 for Category 1 and 2 sealed sources, and will come into force on May 31, 2018 for Category 3, 4 and 5 sealed sources.

Q3. When are radioactive sources hazardous?

A3. Radioactive sources pose no undue radiological hazard to workers, the environment or the public when used as intended. Problems can arise if radiation sources are involved in accidents, and if they become damaged or lost. Some of these sources contain large amounts of radioactive material and have the potential to cause serious radiological harm if they were to be used in malicious acts.

Q4. What is a dirty bomb and how dangerous could it be?

A4. A dirty bomb is a type of radiological dispersion device (RDD) made of conventional explosives and radioactive material. An RDD may contain radioactive materials, but does not use that material to produce a nuclear explosion like a nuclear weapon does. As with any explosion, people in the immediate vicinity could be killed or injured by the blast itself. The dispersed radioactive material could lead to exposure to people in the vicinity and/or cause panic.

This type of weapon could be used maliciously to contaminate a large area and has the potential to cause physical, economic or psychological harm to persons in surrounding vicinity and beyond.

The levels of exposure of persons would depend on many factors like the physical and chemical form of the radioactive material, size and type of explosive and proximity of persons to the blast. Other effects of a dirty bomb could include the social disruption associated with the evacuation, the subsequent clean-up of contaminated property and the associated economic costs.

Top of page

Q5. Is there international guidance on the security of radioactive materials?

A5. The IAEA Code of Conduct on the Safety and Security of Radioactive Sources includes requirements for the security of sources. Canada, along with many other countries, has undertaken to abide by this code and work toward its full implementation.

This document is also aligned with the IAEA recommendation document NSS 14, Nuclear Security Recommendations for Radioactive Material and Associated Facilities, and implementing Nuclear Security Series guides NSS 11, Security of Radioactive Sources, and
NSS 9, Security of Radioactive Material in Transport.

Application

Q6. Do security requirements apply to low-risk radioactive source?

A6. This regulatory document applies to sealed radioactive sources (encapsulated or solid). This document applies to Category 1, 2, and 3 sources and provides recommended practices for Category 4 and 5 sources (i.e., prudent management practice) to ensure that sealed sources are secured to prevent illegal use, theft or sabotage, and that a periodic inventory is carried out to ensure sealed sources are at their designated location and are secure.

Prudent management practices for Category 4 and 5 sources include, but are not limited to:

  • regular inventory verification
  • security awareness training for workers and contractors
  • restricted access to authorized personnel only (e.g., storage in secure container or location and mechanism to prevent unauthorized removal)

Top of page

Q7. How is a source’s category determined?

A7. Table A of REGDOC-2.12.3 identifies materials and thresholds, which are based on the IAEA Code of Conduct on the Safety and Security of Radioactive Sources.

For security control, a situation-specific sealed source category must be determined by aggregating sources in a single storage (or use) facility. This is done by adding the actual activities of the sealed sources and determining the category from table A. For example, one industrial level gauge containing a sealed source with 0.19 TBq of cesium-137 is a category 3 source (1.0 > 0.19 > 0.1). However, for security reasons, six of these sealed sources at a single licensed location would be treated as category 2 (6 x 0.19 = 1.1 > 1.0).

The A/D ratio for a single radionuclide is the activity (A) of the source compared to the activity determined to define a threshold of danger (D). For the aggregation of various radionuclides, the sum of the A/D ratios is used to determine a final category as described in RS-G-1.9, Categorization of Radioactive Sources. If multiple sources from different categories are stored, the highest category should suffice (e.g., storage of category 2, 3 and 4 sources would meet the security requirements for category 2).

Part II: Specific questions

Transportation

Q8. Why does this regulatory document apply only to road transport?

A8. The transport of dangerous goods by sea, air and rail is subject to similar security measures undertaken by other intergovernmental organizations, such as the International Maritime Organization, the International Civil Aviation Organization and the International Carriage by Rail.

Q9. Does REGDOC-2.12.3 apply to carriers?

A9. Most carriers are not licensed by the CNSC, and are therefore not subject to the security requirements applicable to CNSC licensees when transporting sealed sources or storing them while in transit. This document is intended to assist licensees with contracting carriers, to ensure that specific physical security measures are taken into consideration when transporting sealed sources.

The licensee (as the consignor) is responsible for ensuring that their carriers meet the measures set out in REGDOC-2.12.3.

Pursuant to the Packaging and Transport of Nuclear Substances Regulations, common carriers are required to transport radioactive material in accordance with the consignor’s instructions.

Examples of applicable security measures for common carriers:

The following is a summary of the security measures that licensees must ensure that a common carrier complies with, before allowing the carrier to transport these category 1, 2 or 3 sealed sources:

  • Be able to track packages while they are in transport (such as through bar codes, RFID tags or an equivalent system)
  • Verify that drivers have undergone background checks by the carrier.
  • Have procedures requiring packages to remain locked inside vehicles if drivers leave them unattended.
  • Ensure drivers have reliable mobile communications devices and emergency contact numbers, which they must carry at all times.
  • Use secured containers for storing packages while in transport.

    Note: Since most common carriers will not have such secured containers in their vehicles, licensees may provide carriers with containers. Containers must be:

    • made of steel or other material resistant to physical attack by handheld tools
    • equipped with a key, combination padlock or similar locking device resistant to an attack by handheld tools
  • When packages are transported in an open vehicle (such as the open back of a half-ton truck or in a flatbed truck), they shall be securely affixed to the vehicle to prevent unauthorized removal.

Top of page

Background check – Trustworthiness and reliability

Q10. What is the requirement for a background check?

A10. Each licence holder with high-risk radioactive sources will have to implement an effective trustworthiness and reliability verification program that includes a criminal record name check, for individuals to have unescorted access to these sources.

Personnel who require authorized access to such radioactive material or prescribed/sensitive information to perform job duties, but who are not approved by the licensee, must be escorted by an approved individual.

Q11. How will the CNSC check that licensees verify their employees’ trustworthiness and reliability?

A11. The licensee is responsible for retaining documentation regarding trustworthiness and reliability for the period ending one year after the expiry of the licence, in accordance with subsection 28(1) of the General Nuclear Safety and Control Regulations.

The licensee must permit the CNSC to have access to the trustworthiness and reliability records for review, inspection, or audit purposes.

Q12. Who will be required to undergo background security screening checks?

A12. The licensee shall verify the trustworthiness and reliability of all persons who require access to radioactive sources at the licensee’s location or to prescribed/sensitive information. This also include service-company personnel, contractors and building maintenance staff who require unescorted access to locations where radioactive sources are used, processed or stored.

Individuals with unescorted access to high-risk radioactive sources will be required to provide proof of their criminal records name check (CRNC) to the licensee.

Q13. What happens if an individual has a criminal record?

A13. The trustworthiness verification program is the responsibility of the licensee. The licensee will be responsible for assessing the individual’s past and current character and reputation, to provide reasonable assurance that this individual does not represent a risk to radioactive sources, prescribed equipment or prescribed information.

If gaps exist in the documentation or CRNC results show either “records match” or “incomplete”, the licensee should inform the applicant, and ensure that the information is complete and/or accurate and contact the applicant to retrieve all necessary information and/or meet with the applicant to clarify any concerns.

If it is not possible to obtain background information to cover the last five years, or if significant adverse information arises during the process of the trustworthiness and reliability verification, the licensee should notify the individual in person and give them the opportunity to provide clarifications or explanations. In this case, the licensee may consider conducting an interview to assess if there is a risk to the high-risk radioactive source(s) or site security.

The decision to grant, deny or revoke unescorted access to the radioactive material rests with the licensee. The decision should be supported by a management policy that includes a risk-based decision-making process.

If CRNC information is unavailable or incomplete, or an indictable conviction exists, fingerprints should be verified through a police service agency (in the area of jurisdiction where the person has resided) or by a trusted third party.

Top of page

Q14. What are the criteria for a valid background check?

A14. REGDOC- 2.12.3 provides guidance on the assessment criteria. Some indicators that licensees may consider during their trustworthiness assessment include:

  • conviction(s) for a serious crime within the past five years (including murder, attempted murder, or indictable offences involving violence)
  • impaired performance or dangerous behavior attributable to psychological or other disorders
  • misconduct that warrants criminal investigations or results in arrest or conviction
  • indication of deceitful or delinquent behavior
  • attempted or threatened destruction of life or property
  • illegal drug use, abuse or distribution
  • alcohol abuse disorders
  • failure to comply with work directives
  • hostility or aggression toward fellow workers or authority
  • uncontrolled anger
  • violation of safety or security procedures

Note: These indicators are not all-inclusive and are not intended to be disqualifying factors. Licensees should consider extenuating or mitigating factors.

Q15. Can employees that have worked for my organization for more than five years be granted trustworthiness on the basis of continuous previous employment records?

A15. All employees granted unescorted access must have a determination of trustworthiness and reliability. The level of investigation needed for those employed for more than five years is different than that required for new or recently hired individuals. A CRNC is required every five years but the reference, education and employment checks are not required for existing staff (these are required only for new hires). This provision applies if a person has been employed with the same employer for a five-year continuous period.

Q16. What about international students where this information is sometimes difficult to obtain or validate?

A16. All employees granted unescorted access must have a determination of trustworthiness and reliability. If this information is not available, the licensee may require the student to be escorted by an authorized person who is trustworthy and reliable. During the application process, the licensee may require additional information on the past residences, as well as credit, education and reference checks. There are also specialized pre-employment screening companies that have the appropriate tools to conduct such verification.

Q17. Where do I submit my site security plan?

A17. A site security plan is currently required for licensees with Category 1 and 2 sealed sources, and will become a requirement for licensees with Category 3 sources on May 31, 2018. This document must be submitted to the CNSC for review and acceptance before sealed sources are stored at that location.

Licensees using transport vehicles for mobile storage at temporary job sites that have exceeded a 90-day period are required to report the location to the CNSC as per the applicable licence condition and must submit a security plan (SP). The SP must include all information necessary to describe physical protection measures to protect the source(s) used at the location or vehicle where the sealed sources are stored.

The licensee may choose to provide a generic corporate site security plan, and submit a specific SP as a supplement or appendix when using a temporary job site or their vehicle for storage for a period of time that exceeds the 90 days.

If you have any questions about the above or REGDOC-2.12.3, please contact the CNSC at 1-888-229-2672.

Top of page

Foires aux questions : REGDOC-2.12.3, Sécurité des substances nucléaires : sources scellées

Partie I : Généralités

Mise en œuvre

Partie II : Questions précises

Transport

Vérification des antécédents – fiabilité

Partie I : Généralités

Q1. Pourquoi la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire publie-t-elle le document REGDOC-2.12.3?

R1. Ce document d’application de la réglementation fournit des précisions sur les exigences établies dans le Règlement général sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires et dans les conditions de permis.

Le document:

  • fournit des directives réglementaires claires à l’industrie et aux parties intéressées
  • aidera les titulaires de permis de la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) à comprendre les exigences et les attentes à l’égard de la sécurité des sources scellées radioactives
  • énonce l’orientation nécessaire pour prévenir la perte, le sabotage, l’utilisation illégale, la possession illégale ou l’enlèvement illégal de sources scellées tout au long de leur cycle de vie
  • s’harmonise avec les directives et les normes internationales, y compris le Code de conduite pour la sûreté et la sécurité des sources radioactives de l’Agence internationale de l’énergie atomique (AEIA)

Q2. Quand le REGDOC-2.12.3 entrera-t-il en vigueur?

R2. En janvier 2015, la CCSN a modifié près de 2 500 permis liés à des sources scellées utilisées à des fins médicales, industrielles, commerciales, universitaires et de recherche dans le but d’inclure, entres autres, une nouvelle condition en vertu de laquelle les titulaires de permis doivent se conformer aux mesures de sécurité établies dans le document REGDOC-2.12.3, Sécurité des substances nucléaires : sources scellées. Cette nouvelle condition est entrée en vigueur le 31 mai 2015 pour les sources scellées de catégorie 1 et 2 et entrera en vigueur le 31 mai 2018 pour les sources scellées de catégorie 3, 4 et 5.

Q3. Quand les sources radioactives sont-elles dangereuses?

R3. Lorsqu’elles sont utilisées comme prévu, les sources radioactives ne posent aucun danger radiologique indu pour les travailleurs, l’environnement ou le public. Par contre, des problèmes peuvent survenir lorsqu’il y a un accident et que des sources radioactives sont endommagées ou perdues. Certaines de ces sources renferment une grande quantité de matière radioactive et pourraient causer des dommages radiologiques graves si elles étaient utilisées à des fins malveillantes.

Q4. Qu’est-ce qu’une bombe sale et quel danger y est associé?

R4. Une bombe sale est un type de dispositif de dispersion radiologique (DDR) composé d’explosifs conventionnels et de matière radioactive. Un DDR peut contenir des matières radioactives, mais celles-ci ne servent pas à produire une explosion nucléaire, contrairement à une arme nucléaire. Comme c’est le cas pour n’importe quelle explosion, les personnes se trouvant à proximité seraient tuées ou blessées par l’explosion en tant que telle. La matière radioactive dispersée pourrait exposer les personnes se trouvant dans les environs à la radioactivité ou causer de la panique.

Ce type d’arme pourrait être utilisé de façon malveillante pour contaminer un vaste territoire et causer des dommages physiques, économiques ou psychologiques aux personnes se trouvant à proximité et plus loin.

Le degré d’exposition des personnes dépendrait de nombreux facteurs, comme la forme physique et chimique de la matière radioactive, la taille et le type d’explosif et la proximité des personnes à l’explosion. D’autres impacts d’une bombe sale pourraient inclure la perturbation sociale associée à l’évacuation, le nettoyage subséquent des propriétés contaminées et les coûts économiques connexes.

Haut de la page

Q5. Existe-t-il une directive internationale concernant la sécurité des matières radioactives?

R5. Le Code de conduite sur la sûreté et la sécurité des sources radioactives de l’AIEA comprend des exigences relatives à la sécurité des sources. Le Canada et de nombreux autres pays se sont engagés à respecter ce code et à travailler à sa pleine application.

Le REGDOC-2.12.3 est également conforme au document de recommandation de l’AIEA, Collection Sécurité nucléaire no 14, Recommandations de sécurité nucléaire relatives aux matières radioactives et aux installations associées, ainsi qu’aux guides d’application no 11, Sécurité des sources radioactives, et no 9, Sécurité du transport des matières radioactives.

Mise en œuvre

Q6. Est-ce que les exigences de sécurité s’appliquent aux sources radioactives à faible risque?

R6. Ce document d’application de la réglementation s’applique aux sources scellées radioactives (encapsulées ou solides). Plus particulièrement, il s’applique aux sources de catégorie 1, 2 et 3 et fournit des pratiques recommandées pour les sources de catégorie 4 et 5 (c.-à-d. des pratiques de gestion prudente) pour s’assurer que les sources scellées sont sécurisées afin d’en prévenir l’utilisation illégale, le vol ou le sabotage, et qu’un inventaire périodique est effectué pour veiller à ce que les sources scellées soient à leur emplacement désigné et soient sécurisées.

Les pratiques de gestion prudente pour les sources de catégorie 4 et 5 comprennent notamment :

  • une vérification régulière des stocks
  • une formation de sensibilisation à la sécurité pour les travailleurs et les entrepreneurs
  • un accès restreint au personnel autorisé seulement (p. ex. stockage dans un conteneur ou un emplacement sûr et mécanisme pour empêcher l’enlèvement non autorisé)

Haut de la page

Q7. Comment détermine-t-on la catégorie d’une source?

R7. Le tableau A du REGDOC-2.12.3 dresse la liste des matières et des seuils correspondants, lesquels sont fondés sur le Code de conduite sur la sûreté et la sécurité des sources radioactives de l’AIEA.

Aux fins de contrôle de sécurité, il faut regrouper les sources scellées dans un même lieu de stockage (ou d’utilisation) pour déterminer leur catégorie selon les conditions propres à la situation. À cette fin, on additionne les activités réelles des sources scellées et on détermine la catégorie selon le tableau A. Par exemple, une jauge de niveau industrielle contenant une source scellée de césium 137 de 0,19 TBq est une source de catégorie 3 (1,0 > 0,19 > 0,1). Cependant, quand six de ces sources scellées se trouvent en un même endroit autorisé, pour des raisons de sécurité elles peuvent être traitées comme une seule source de catégorie 2 (6 × 0,19 = 1,1 > 1,0).

Le ratio A/D pour un seul radionucléide est l’activité (A) de la source comparée à l’activité qui définit le seuil de danger (D). En ce qui concerne le regroupement de divers radionucléides, la somme des ratios A/D est utilisée pour déterminer la catégorie finale, tel que décrit dans le Guide de sûreté RS-G-1.9, Catégorisation des sources radioactives. Si de multiples sources de différentes catégories sont stockées, la catégorie la plus élevée devrait suffire (p. ex. le stockage de sources de catégorie 2, 3 et 4 respecterait les exigences de sécurité applicables aux sources de catégorie 2).

Partie II : Questions précises

Transport

Q8. Pourquoi ce document d’application de la réglementation s’applique-t-il seulement au transport routier?

R8. Le transport des marchandises dangereuses par voie maritime, aérienne et ferroviaire est assujetti à des mesures de sécurité semblables prises par d’autres organisations intergouvernementales, comme l’Organisation maritime internationale, l’Organisation de l’aviation civile internationale et l’Organisation pour les Transports internationaux ferroviaires.

Q9. Le REGDOC-2.12.3 s’applique-t-il aux transporteurs?

R9. La plupart des transporteurs ne détiennent pas de permis CCSN et ne sont donc pas visés par les exigences de sécurité applicables aux titulaires de permis de la CCSN lors du transport des sources scellées ou de leur stockage en transit. Ce document a pour but d’aider les titulaires de permis à embaucher des transporteurs, afin de s’assurer que des mesures de sécurité physique particulières sont prises en considération dans le transport de sources scellées.

Le titulaire de permis (à titre d’expéditeur) doit s’assurer que ses transporteurs se conforment aux mesures établies dans le REGDOC-2.12.3.

Conformément au Règlement sur l’emballage et le transport des substances nucléaires, les transporteurs publics doivent transporter toute matière radioactive dans le respect des instructions de l’expéditeur.

Exemples des mesures de sécurité applicables aux transporteurs publics

Voici un résumé des mesures de sécurité auxquelles les transporteurs publics doivent se conformer avant que les titulaires de permis leur permettent de transporter des sources scellées de catégorie 1, 2 ou 3 :

  • être en mesure de faire un suivi des colis pendant leur transport (comme au moyen de codes à barres, d’étiquettes RFID ou d’un système équivalent)
  • s’assurer que le transporteur a effectué une vérification des antécédents des chauffeurs
  • mettre en place une procédure exigeant que les colis soient verrouillés à l’intérieur des véhicules si les chauffeurs doivent s’éloigner de ceux-ci s’assurer que les chauffeurs aient des dispositifs de communication mobiles fiables ainsi que la liste des personnes-ressources à contacter en cas d’urgence, qu’ils doivent avoir en leur possession en tout temps
  • utiliser des conteneurs sûrs pour entreposer les colis pendant le transport

    Remarque : Puisque la majorité des transporteurs publics ne disposeront pas de tels conteneurs à bord de leur véhicule, les titulaires de permis peuvent leur en fournir. Ces conteneurs doivent :

    • être faits d’acier ou d’un autre matériau résistant aux attaques physiques au moyen d’outils portatifs
    • être munis d’une serrure, d’un cadenas à combinaison ou d’un dispositif de verrouillage similaire résistant à toute attaque au moyen d’outils portatifs
  • lorsque les colis sont transportés dans un véhicule ouvert (comme l’arrière ouvert d’une camionnette d’une demi-tonne ou un camion à plate-forme), ils doivent être solidement fixés au véhicule afin d’empêcher tout enlèvement non autorisé

Haut de la page

Vérification des antécédents – fiabilité

Q10. Quelles sont les exigences liées aux vérifications des antécédents?

R10.Chaque titulaire de permis ayant en sa possession des sources radioactives à risque élevé devra mettre en œuvre un programme de vérification de la fiabilité, qui comprend une vérification nominale du casier judiciaire, pour donner à des personnes un accès sans escorte aux sources radioactives à risque élevé.

Les membres du personnel qui doivent accéder aux matières radioactives ou aux renseignements réglementés ou sensibles pour effectuer leur travail, mais qui ne sont pas approuvés par le titulaire de permis, doivent être escortés par une personne approuvée.

Q11. Comment la CCSN vérifie-t-elle si les titulaires de permis font une vérification de la fiabilité?

R11. Le titulaire de permis doit conserver la documentation sur la fiabilité d’une personne pendant un an après l’échéance du permis, conformément au paragraphe 28(1) du Règlement général sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires.

Le titulaire de permis doit autoriser la CCSN à accéder aux documents sur la fiabilité aux fins d’examen, d’inspection ou de vérification.

Q12. Qui doit faire l’objet d’une vérification de sécurité des antécédents?

R12. Le titulaire de permis doit vérifier la fiabilité de toutes les personnes ayant besoin d’un accès aux renseignements réglementés ou sensibles, ou aux sources radioactives se trouvant dans les locaux du titulaire de permis. Cela comprend les membres du personnel des entreprises de service, les entrepreneurs et le personnel d’entretien de l’immeuble ayant besoin d’un accès sans escorte aux endroits où des sources radioactives sont utilisées, traitées ou stockées.

Les personnes ayant un accès sans escorte aux sources radioactives à risque élevé devront fournir la preuve de la vérification nominale de leur casier judiciaire (VNCJ) au titulaire de permis.

Q13. Que se passe-t-il si une personne a un casier judiciaire?

R13. Le programme de vérification de la fiabilité est la responsabilité du titulaire de permis. Il est chargé d’évaluer la réputation passée et actuelle de la personne afin de fournir l’assurance raisonnable que cette personne ne représente aucun risque relativement aux sources radioactives, à l’équipement réglementé et aux renseignements réglementés.

Lorsqu’il existe des lacunes dans la documentation ou que les résultats de la VNCJ sont « dossier correspondant » ou « incomplet », le titulaire de permis devrait en informer le demandeur, s’assurer que l’information est complète et exacte et contacter le demandeur pour obtenir toute l’information nécessaire ou le rencontrer pour répondre aux préoccupations.

S’il n’est pas possible d’obtenir des renseignements sur les antécédents des cinq dernières années, ou si des renseignements très défavorables ressortent pendant la vérification de la fiabilité, le titulaire de permis devrait en aviser la personne face à face et lui donner la possibilité de fournir des explications ou des précisions. Dans ces cas, le titulaire de permis pourrait envisager de réaliser une entrevue pour évaluer s’il existe un risque pour les sources radioactives à risque élevé ou la sécurité du site.

La décision d’accorder, de refuser ou de révoquer un accès sans escorte aux matières radioactives revient au titulaire de permis; cette décision devrait être appuyée par une politique de gestion qui comprend un processus décisionnel tenant compte du risque.

Si des renseignements de la VNCJ sont non disponibles ou incomplets ou qu’il existe une condamnation susceptible de poursuite en justice, les empreintes digitales devraient être vérifiées par un service policier (qui a compétence là où réside la personne) ou par une tierce partie de confiance.

Haut de la page

Q14. Quels sont les critères qui déterminent si une vérification des antécédents est valide?

R14. Le REGDOC-2.12.3 fournit de l’orientation à l’égard des critères d’évaluation. Voici certains indicateurs que le titulaire de permis pourrait prendre en considération lors de sa vérification de la fiabilité :

  • condamnation(s) pour crime grave au cours des cinq dernières années (meurtre, tentative de meurtre ou acte criminel avec violence)
  • inconduite qui justifie une enquête criminelle ou qui se traduit par une arrestation ou une condamnation
  • indication de comportement trompeur ou délinquant
  • tentative ou menace de destruction de la vie ou de la propriété
  • utilisation, abus ou distribution illégale de drogues
  • problèmes de consommation d’alcool
  • incapacité à suivre des directives de travail
  • hostilité ou agressivité envers ses collègues ou l’autorité
  • colère non contrôlée
  • violation des procédures de sûreté ou de sécurité

Veuillez prendre note que ces indicateurs ne sont pas exhaustifs et n’ont pas pour but de constituer des facteurs de disqualification. Le titulaire de permis devrait prendre en compte les circonstances atténuantes.

Q15. Les employés qui travaillent pour mon entreprise depuis plus de cinq ans peuvent-ils être approuvés sur le plan de la fiabilité sur la foi de leurs antécédents d’emploi?

R15. Tous les employés ayant un accès sans escorte doivent réussir l’évaluation de la fiabilité. L’enquête nécessaire pour les personnes employées depuis plus de cinq ans n’est pas aussi exhaustive que celle requise pour les personnes nouvellement ou récemment embauchées. Une VNCJ est requise tous les cinq ans, mais les vérifications des références, des études et du dossier d’emploi sont requises pour les nouveaux employés seulement. Cette disposition s’applique si une personne travaille pour le même employeur depuis une période continue d’au moins cinq ans.

Q16. Qu’en est-il des étudiants internationaux pour lesquels ces renseignements sont parfois difficiles à obtenir ou à valider?

R16. Tous les employés ayant un accès sans escorte doivent avoir réussi l’évaluation de la fiabilité. Si cette information n’est pas disponible, le titulaire de permis pourrait exiger que l’étudiant soit escorté par une personne autorisée fiable. Au cours du processus d’évaluation de la demande, le titulaire de permis pourrait avoir besoin de renseignements supplémentaires sur les adresses de résidence antérieures et exiger une vérification du crédit, des études et des références. Il existe également des entreprises spécialisées de vérification préalable à l’emploi qui ont les outils appropriés pour effectuer de telles vérifications.

Q17. À qui dois-je soumettre mon plan de sécurité du site?

R17. À l’heure actuelle, un plan de sécurité du site est exigé pour les titulaires de permis utilisant des sources scellées de catégorie 1 et 2, et cette exigence s’appliquera aux titulaires de permis utilisant des sources de catégorie 3 à compter du 31 mai 2018. Ce document doit être présenté à la CCSN aux fins d’examen et d’approbation avant que les sources scellées soient stockées sur le site.

Les titulaires de permis qui utilisent des véhicules de transport pour le stockage mobile sur le site de chantiers temporaires depuis plus de 90 jours sont tenus d’informer la CCSN de l’emplacement du site, conformément à la condition de permis applicable, en plus de lui présenter un plan de sécurité. Ce dernier doit comprendre tous les renseignements nécessaires pour décrire les mesures de protection physique visant à protéger les sources utilisées sur le site ou le véhicule dans lequel les sources scellées sont stockées.

Le titulaire de permis peut choisir de présenter un plan de sécurité du site générique et un plan de sécurité précis en guise de complément ou d’annexe lorsqu’il utilise un site temporaire ou un de ses véhicules pour stocker la source pendant une période de plus de 90 jours.

Haut de la page