Document History of REGDOC-3.5.2, CNSC Compliance and Enforcement: Administrative Monetary Penalties

View [HTML version 2 of REGDOC-3.5.2] [PDF version 2 of REGDOC-3.5.2]

Contact us for more information

Summary:

In 2012, the Jobs, Growth and Long-term Prosperity Act made a number of amendments to the Nuclear Safety and Control Act (NSCA). These included the authorization for the CNSC to establish an administrative monetary penalties (AMPs) program through regulations, giving it a new enforcement measure to promote compliance. Non-compliance with the NSCA, regulations made under the NSCA, or licences, may result in administrative monetary penalties, in addition to other enforcement measures available to the CNSC.

An AMP is a financial penalty imposed by a regulator in response to a violation of a regulatory requirement. It is one of several enforcement tools the CNSC applies to encourage and/or compel compliance with regulatory requirements to protect the health, safety and security of Canadians and the environment.

The regulatory document on administrative monetary penalties provides information about the CNSC's AMPs program. This document complements the Administrative Monetary Penalties Regulations, which came into force on July 3, 2013. It provides an overview of how and where AMPs fit into the CNSC's approach to graduated enforcement, and describes how penalty amounts are calculated.

To learn more about administrative monetary penalties, see the CNSC's approach to compliance verification and enforcement.

Status:

August 27, 2015: REGDOC 3.5.2, version 2 has been published. The document’s information on “right to request a review” has been updated. The Commission Secretariat now has a form available [Request for Review of Administrative Monetary Penalty (AMP)] to assist persons wishing to request a review of an issued notice of violation.

Historique du document REGDOC-3.5.2, Conformité et application de la loi : Sanctions administratives pécuniaires

Accéder [version 2 HTML de REGDOC-3.5.2] [version 2 PDF de REGDOC-3.5.2]

Communiquez avec nous pour en savoir plus

Sommaire :

En 2012, la Loi sur l'emploi, la croissance et la prospérité durable a apporté un certain nombre de modifications à la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires (LSRN), notamment l'autorisation pour la CCSN d'établir un programme de sanctions administratives pécuniaires (SAP) par l'entremise d'un règlement, qui fournit un nouvel outil d'application de la loi visant à promouvoir la conformité. Les personnes qui ne se conforment pas à la LSRN, aux règlements pris en vertu de la LSRN ou à leur permis peuvent maintenant se voir imposer des sanctions administratives pécuniaires, en plus des autres mesures d'application de la loi dont dispose la CCSN.

Une SAP est une sanction financière imposée par un organisme de réglementation pour violation d'une exigence réglementaire. Il s'agit de l'un des outils d'application de la loi dont la CCSN se sert pour encourager ou contraindre les titulaires de permis à respecter les exigences réglementaires, afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité des Canadiens et de protéger l'environnement.

Le document d'application de la réglementation sur les sanctions administratives pécuniaires présente de l'information sur le programme de SAP de la CCSN. Il complète le Règlement sur les sanctions administratives pécuniaires, qui est entré en vigueur le 3 juillet 2013. Il explique également sommairement comment les SAP s'intègrent à l'approche graduelle d'application de la loi et la façon dont le montant des sanctions est calculé

Pour en savoir plus sur les sanctions administratives pécuniaires, consultez l'approche de la CCSN en matière de vérification de la conformité et d'application.

Objet :

Le document REGDOC-3.5.2, version 2, a été publié le 27 août 2015. La section « Droit de faire une demande de révision » a été mise à jour. Le Secrétariat de la Commission dispose maintenant d’un formulaire [Demande de révision d’une sanction administrative pécuniaire (SAP)] pour aider ceux qui souhaitent faire réviser un procès-verbal.