Document history of GD-385, Pre-licensing Review of a Vendor's Reactor Design

View GD-385 [HTML] [PDF]

Status

  • Published May 30, 2012

Document history

Document description

Guidance document GD-385, Pre-licensing Review of a Vendor's Reactor Design, describes the pre-licensing review process provided by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) for assessing a vendor's design for a nuclear power plant or small reactor. The review considers the areas of design that relate to reactor safety, security and safeguards.

A pre-licensing review is an optional service provided by the CNSC. The review can be undertaken by a reactor vendor prior to an applicant's submission of a licence application to the CNSC. The objective of a pre-licensing review is to increase regulatory certainty while ensuring public safety.

This service does not certify a reactor design, and does not involve the issuance of a licence under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act. It is not required as part of the licensing process for a new nuclear power plant or small reactor. The conclusions of a design review do not bind or otherwise influence decisions made by the Commission, with whom the authority resides to issue licences for nuclear power plants and small reactors.

The specific terms of a given review will be determined through a service agreement with the vendor that is based on a mutually agreed upon fixed scope of work. The service agreement will specify any obligations on the part of the vendor. As such, no public consultation is proposed for this document.

As vendors make use of this document, they may make requests for more guidance or clarification. These requests will be considered at the next revision of this document.

Contact information

For questions or information directly related to GD-385, please contact:

Directorate of Regulatory Improvement and Major Projects Management
Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission
P.O. Box 1046, Station B
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada K1P 5S9
Telephone: 1-800-668-5284
Fax: 613-995-5086
Email: info@cnsc-ccsn.gc.ca

Historique du document GD-385, Examen de la conception d'un réacteur de fournisseur préalable à l'autorisation

Accéder GD-385 [HTML] [PDF]

Étape

  • Publié le 30 mai 2012

Historique du document

Description du document

Le document d'orientation GD-385, Examen de la conception d'un réacteur de fournisseur préalable à l'autorisation décrit le processus d'examen préalable à l'autorisation offert par la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) en vue d'évaluer la conception d'une centrale nucléaire ou d'un petit réacteur d'un fournisseur. L'examen tient compte des domaines de conception liés à la sûreté du réacteur, à la sécurité et aux garanties.

L'examen préalable à l'autorisation est un service facultatif offert par la CCSN visant à évaluer la conception d'une centrale nucléaire ou un petit réacteur nucléaire d'un fournisseur. L'expression « préalable à l'autorisation » signifie que l'examen de la conception d'un fournisseur se fait avant qu'un demandeur soumette une demande de permis à la CCSN.

Ce service ne permet pas d'homologuer la conception d'un réacteur et ni de délivrer un permis en vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires. Il n'est pas exigé dans le processus d'autorisation d'un nouveau projet de centrale nucléaire ou de petit réacteur. Les conclusions des examens de la conception ne lient pas et n'influencent pas la Commission dans ses décisions, et celui-ci demeure l'autorité compétente pour délivrer des permis aux centrales nucléaires et aux petits réacteurs.

Les conditions précises d'un examen donné seront déterminées dans le cadre d'une entente de services avec le fournisseur dont la portée sera convenue d'un commun accord. L'entente de services stipulera les obligations du fournisseur. Voilà pourquoi aucune consultation publique n'est envisagée pour ce document.

Comme les fournisseurs utilisent ce document, ils pourraient demander des directives ou des précisions supplémentaires. Ces demandes seront étudiées lors de la prochaine révision de ce document.

Pour plus d'information

Pour toute question ou demande d'information ayant trait au document GD-385, communiquez avec :

Direction de l'amélioration de la réglementation et de la gestion des projets majeurs
Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire
C.P. 1046, succursale B
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1P 5S9
Téléphone : 1-800-668-5284
Télécopieur : 613-995-5086
Courriel : info@cnsc-ccsn.gc.ca