Regulatory action – WSP Canada Inc.

Under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act and associated regulations, various levels of regulatory action can be taken by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) to protect the health, safety and security of Canadians and the environment.

2016

September 28, 2016

Update on regulatory action issued to WSP Canada Inc.

On September 28, 2016, the CNSC confirmed that WSP Canada Inc. had complied with all the terms and conditions of the order issued on August 18, 2016. The corrective measures implemented by the company were reviewed and found to be satisfactory by CNSC staff.

August 18, 2016

Order issued to WSP Canada Inc.

Today, the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) announced that it issued an order on August 18, 2016 to WSP Canada Inc., a company based in Montréal, QC that offers geotechnical, environmental, civil and materials engineering services across Canada. The company currently holds a CNSC licence authorizing the possession and use of portable nuclear gauges for the purposes of measuring compaction and moisture content in materials.

The order was issued following a CNSC inspection at the company’s location in Edmonton, AB. The inspection identified non-compliances related to the implementation and oversight of the licensee’s radiation protection program at the location. The inspection also identified that the licensee’s training program was ineffective, and workers were not able to demonstrate sufficient knowledge of regulatory obligations related to the portable nuclear gauges.

The order requires the licensee to return all portable gauges at the Edmonton location to secure storage until the licensee can demonstrate that the radiation protection program has been effectively implemented, all key workers have been trained or retrained, and all items of non-compliance identified during the inspection have been corrected to the CNSC’s satisfaction.

The CNSC requires these measures to protect the health and safety of workers, the public and the environment.

Mesure réglementaire – WSP Canada Inc.

En vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires et des règlements y afférents, divers niveaux d’action réglementaire peuvent être pris par la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité des Canadiens, et de protéger l'environnement.

2016

28 septembre 2016

Mise à jour au sujet d'une mesure réglementaire à l'encontre de WSP Canada Inc.

Le 28 septembre 2016, la CCSN a confirmé que WSP Canada Inc. s'était conformée à toutes les modalités de l'ordre délivré le 18 août 2016. Les mesures correctives mises en œuvre par l'entreprise ont été examinées et jugées satisfaisantes par le personnel de la CCSN.

18 août 2016

Ordre délivré à WSP Canada Inc.

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) a annoncé aujourd’hui qu’elle avait délivré un ordre le 18 août 2016 à WSP Canada Inc., une entreprise établie à Montréal (Québec) qui offre des services de génie géotechnique, environnemental, civil et des matériaux partout au Canada. L’entreprise est actuellement titulaire d’un permis de la CCSN l’autorisant à posséder et à utiliser des jauges nucléaires portatives pour mesurer la compaction et la teneur en humidité des matériaux.

L’ordre a été délivré à la suite d’une inspection de la CCSN au site de l’entreprise situé à Edmonton (Alberta). Des cas de non-conformité liés à la mise en œuvre et à la surveillance du programme de radioprotection du titulaire de permis ont été relevés sur le site. L’inspection a également permis de déterminer que le programme de formation de WSP Canada Inc. était inefficace, et les travailleurs n’ont pas pu démontrer qu’ils possèdent des connaissances adéquates des obligations réglementaires associées à l’utilisation des jauges nucléaires portatives.

L’ordre exige que le titulaire de permis entrepose en sécurité toutes les jauges nucléaires du site d’Edmonton jusqu’à ce qu’il puisse démontrer que le programme de radioprotection a été mis en œuvre efficacement, que tous les travailleurs concernés ont été formés ou ont suivi une formation de recyclage et que tous les cas de non-conformité relevés pendant l’inspection ont été corrigés à la satisfaction de la CCSN.

La CCSN exige que ces mesures soient prises afin de préserver la santé et la sécurité des travailleurs et du public et de protéger l’environnement.