Regulatory action – Trenergy Inc.

Under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act and associated regulations, various levels of regulatory action can be taken by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) to protect the health, safety and security of Canadians and the environment.

2017

March 2, 2017

Update on regulatory action issued to Trenergy Inc.

On February 28, 2017, the CNSC confirmed Trenergy Inc. has complied with all the terms and conditions of the order issued on January 12, 2017. The corrective measures implemented by the company were reviewed and found to be satisfactory by CNSC staff.

January 24, 2017

Order issued to Trenergy Inc.

Today, the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) announced that it issued an order on January 12, 2017 to Trenergy Inc, a company based in St. Catharines, ON. The company currently holds a CNSC licence authorizing the possession and use of nuclear substances contained in industrial radiography exposure devices, for the purpose of materials testing.

The order was issued following a CNSC inspection at the company’s St. Catharines location. The inspection identified non-compliances in regards to the implementation of the company’s radiation protection program and the ascertainment of radiation doses to some of its workers. The inspection also identified several non-compliances in the areas of record keeping and regulatory reporting.

The order requires the licensee to prohibit any workers who have not been issued required radiation detection equipment from operating an exposure device. The company must also retrain all of its workers who use exposure devices on their obligations for the use of radiation ascertainment equipment, and implement any other corrective measures required to prevent recurrence of this non-compliance.

Mesure réglementaire – Trenergy Inc.

En vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires (LSRN)et des règlements y afférents, divers niveaux d'action réglementaire peuvent être pris par la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité des Canadiens, et de protéger l'environnement.

2017

2 mars 2017

Mise à jour au sujet d'une mesure réglementaire à l'encontre de Trenergy Inc.

Le 28 février 2017, la CCSN a confirmé que Trenergy Inc. s'était conformé à toutes les modalités de l'ordre délivré le 12 janvier 2017. Les mesures correctives appliquées par l'entreprise ont été examinées et jugées satisfaisantes par le personnel de la CCSN.

24 janvier 2017

Ordre délivré à Trenergy Inc.

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) a annoncé aujourd'hui qu'elle avait délivré un ordre le 12 janvier 2017 à Trenergy Inc, une entreprise établie à St. Catharines (Ontario). L'entreprise est actuellement titulaire d'un permis de la CCSN l'autorisant à posséder et à utiliser des substances nucléaires dans des appareils de gammagraphie industrielle aux fins d'essais de matériaux.

L'ordre a été délivré à l'entreprise à la suite d'une inspection de la CCSN à son installation de St. Catharines. L'inspection a permis de relever des cas de non-conformité liés à la mise en œuvre du programme de radioprotection de Trenergy Inc. et à la détermination des doses de rayonnement reçues par certains travailleurs. Elle a aussi permis de dégager plusieurs cas de non-conformité dans le domaine de la tenue de dossiers et de la production de rapports réglementaires.

L'ordre exige que le titulaire de permis interdise à tout travailleur qui n'a pas reçu de détecteur de rayonnement d'utiliser un appareil à rayonnement. L'entreprise doit aussi offrir aux employés qui se servent de ces appareils une nouvelle formation sur leurs obligations concernant l'utilisation d'un dosimètre individuel et prendre toutes les mesures correctives requises pour éviter qu'une telle non-conformité se reproduise.