Regulatory action – Stasuk Testing & Inspection Ltd.

Under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act and associated regulations, various levels of regulatory action can be taken by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) to protect the health, safety and security of Canadians and the environment.

2015

September 30, 2015

On September 30, 2015, the CNSC confirmed that Stasuk Testing and Inspection Ltd. complied with all the terms and conditions of the order issued to this company on August 19, 2015. The corrective measures implemented by this company were reviewed and found satisfactory by CNSC staff.

August 26, 2015

On August 19, 2015, the CNSC issued an order to Stasuk Testing and Inspection Ltd. (Stasuk Testing), a company based in Burnaby, BC, that provides testing services to the industrial sector. The company currently holds a CNSC licence authorizing the possession and use of nuclear substances contained in industrial radiography exposure devices, for the purpose of materials testing.

The order was issued following a CNSC inspection at a worksite in Maple Ridge, BC, that identified deficiencies in the manner in which a Stasuk Testing worker (a certified exposure device operator) was fulfilling his obligations for radiation protection and dose monitoring. The order prohibits the worker from operating an exposure device, or supervising a trainee operating an exposure device, until such time that Stasuk Testing implements corrective measures and addresses all non-compliances.

The CNSC requires these measures to protect the health and safety of workers and the public, as well as the environment.

2011

December 20, 2011

Update on regulatory action issued to Stasuk Testing and Inspection Ltd.

On December 20, 2011, the CNSC confirmed that Stasuk Testing and Inspection Ltd. complied with all the terms and conditions of the order issued to this company on October 5. The corrective measures implemented by Stasuk Testing and Inspection Ltd. were reviewed and found satisfactory by CNSC staff.

November 29, 2011

Update on regulatory action issued to Stasuk Testing and Inspection Ltd.

On November 29, 2011, the CNSC confirmed that Stasuk Testing and Inspection Ltd. complied with all the terms and conditions of the order issued to this company on October 21. The corrective measures implemented by Stasuk Testing and Inspection Ltd. were reviewed and found satisfactory by CNSC staff.

October 27, 2011

Order to Stasuk Testing and Inspection Ltd.

On October 27, 2011, the CNSC announced it has issued an order to Stasuk Testing and Inspection Ltd. on October 21, 2011.

Stasuk Testing and Inspection Ltd. is a company based in Burnaby, British Columbia that provides non-destructive testing services to various industries. The company currently holds a CNSC licence to possess nuclear substances contained in industrial radiography exposure devices for the purpose of materials testing.

The order was issued following a CNSC inspection on October 21, 2011. The inspection revealed an inadequate level of access control to a particle accelerator area and high radiation levels outside the external doors of the accelerator area. The order requires Stasuk Testing and Inspection Ltd. to immediately limit the usage of the accelerator and to take measures to restrict access to the facility when the accelerator is in operation.

The CNSC is implementing these control measures to ensure the health and safety of workers, the public and the environment.

October 11, 2011

Order to Stasuk Testing and Inspection Ltd.

On October 11, 2011, the CNSC announced that it had issued an order to Stasuk Testing and Inspection Ltd. on October 5, 2011.

Stasuk Testing and Inspection Ltd. is a company based in Burnaby, British Columbia that provides non-destructive testing services to various industries. The company currently holds a CNSC licence to possess nuclear substances contained in industrial radiography exposure devices for the purpose of materials testing.

The order was issued following a CNSC inspection on October 5, 2011. The inspection revealed that the company possesses an x-ray fluorescence analyzer, a device they were not authorized to possess. The order requires Stasuk Testing and Inspection Ltd. to put the device in storage and either dispose of the device or take measures to obtain a valid licence immediately.

The storage of the device does not pose any immediate risk to the health and safety of workers, the public or the environment.

Mesure réglementaire – Stasuk Testing & Inspection Ltd.

En vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires et des règlements y afférents, divers niveaux d'action réglementaire peuvent être pris par la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité des Canadiens, et de protéger l'environnement.

2015

30 septembre 2015

Le 30 septembre 2015, la CCSN a confirmé que Stasuk Testing and Inspection Ltd. avait respecté toutes les modalités de l’ordre qui lui avait été délivré le 19 août 2015. Les mesures correctives appliquées par l’entreprise ont été examinées et jugées satisfaisantes par le personnel de la CCSN.

26 août 2015

Le 19 août 2015, la CCSN a délivré un ordre à Stasuk Testing and Inspection Ltd. (Stasuk Testing), une entreprise établie à Burnaby (Colombie-Britannique) qui offre des services d’essais au secteur industriel. L’entreprise est titulaire d’un permis de la CCSN qui l’autorise à posséder et à utiliser des substances nucléaires contenues dans les appareils d’exposition utilisés en gammagraphie industrielle, et ce, à des fins d’essais de matériaux.

L’ordre a été délivré à la suite d’une inspection de la CCSN sur un site de travail à Maple Ridge (Colombie-Britannique). Celle-ci a relevé des lacunes dans la manière dont un opérateur d’appareil d’exposition accrédité employé par Stasuk Testing & Inspection Ltd. remplissait ses obligations à l’égard de la radioprotection et de la surveillance des doses. L’ordre interdit à ce travailleur d’utiliser un appareil d’exposition ou de superviser un stagiaire qui utilise un tel appareil jusqu’à ce que l’entreprise mette en œuvre des mesures correctives et règle tous les cas de non-conformité.

La CCSN exige que ces mesures soient prises afin de préserver la santé et la sécurité des travailleurs et du public, et de protéger l’environnement.

2011

20 décembre 2011

Mise à jour au sujet d'une mesure réglementaire à l'encontre Stasuk Testing and Inspection Ltd.

Le 20 décembre 2011, la CCSN a confirmé que Stasuk Testing and Inspection Ltd. s'est conformée à toutes les modalités et conditions de l'ordre qui lui a été délivré le 5 octobre. Les mesures correctives mises en œuvre par l'entreprise ont été examinées et jugées satisfaisantes par le personnel de la CCSN.

29 novembre 2011

Mise à jour au sujet d'une mesure réglementaire à l'encontre Stasuk Testing and Inspection Ltd.

Le 29 novembre 2011, la CCSN a confirmé que Stasuk Testing and Inspection Ltd. s'est conformée à toutes les modalités et conditions de l'ordre qui lui a été délivré le 21 octobre. Les mesures correctives mises en œuvre par l'entreprise ont été examinées et jugées satisfaisantes par le personnel de la CCSN.

27 octobre 2011

Ordre délivré à Stasuk Testing and Inspection Ltd.

Le 27 octobre 2011, la CCSN a annoncé avoir délivré un ordre à Stasuk Testing and Inspection le 21 octobre 2011.

Située à Burnaby, en Colombie-Britannique, l'entreprise Stasuk Testing and Inspection Ltd. fournit des services d'essais non destructifs à différentes industries. L'entreprise possède un permis délivré par la CCSN qui l'autorise à posséder des substances nucléaires dans les appareils de gammagraphie industrielle servant à la mise à l'essai de matériaux.

L'ordre a été délivré à la suite d'une inspection réalisée par la CCSN le 21 octobre 2011. L'inspection a révélé un contrôle d'accès inadéquat à un secteur de l'accélérateur de particules et des niveaux des rayonnement élevés à l'extérieur des portes externes de la zone de l'accélérateur. L'ordre oblige Stasuk Testing and Inspection Ltd. à limiter immédiatement l'utilisation de l'accélérateur et à prendre des mesures pour restreindre l'accès à l'installation quand l'accélérateur est en marche.

La CCSN met en œuvre ces mesures de contrôle pour préserver la santé et la sécurité des travailleurs et du public et protéger l'environnement.

11 octobre 2011

Ordre délivré à Stasuk Testing and Inspection Ltd.

Le 11 octobre 2011, la CCSN a annoncé qu'elle avait délivré un ordre le 5 octobre dernier à l'intention de Stasuk Testing and Inspection Ltd.

Basée à Burnaby, en Colombie-Britannique, l'entreprise Stasuk Testing and Inspection Ltd. fournit des services d'essais non destructifs à différentes compagnies. Elle est titulaire d'un permis de la CCSN qui l'autorise à posséder et à utiliser des substances nucléaires dans les appareils de gammagraphie industrielle servant à la mise à l'essai de matériaux.

L'ordre a été délivré à la suite d'une inspection de la CCSN effectuée le 5 octobre 2011. Cette inspection a révélé que l'entreprise n'avait pas de permis de possession d'analyseur par fluorescence X.  L'ordre exige que Stasuk Testing and Inspection Ltd. entrepose l'appareil, puis qu'elle l'évacue ou prenne les mesures pour obtenir un permis valide immédiatement.

L'entreposage de l'appareil ne pose pas un risque immédiat pour la santé et la sécurité des travailleurs, le public ou l'environnement.