Regulatory action – Stantec Consulting Inc.

Under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act and associated regulations, various levels of regulatory action can be taken by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) to protect the health, safety and security of Canadians and the environment.

2018

June 15, 2018

Update on regulatory action issued to Stantec Consulting Inc.

On June 15, 2018, the CNSC confirmed that Stantec Consulting Inc. had complied with all the terms and conditions of the order issued on May 25, 2018. The corrective measures implemented by the company were reviewed and found to be satisfactory by CNSC staff.

May 25, 2018

Order issued to Stantec Consulting Inc.

Today, the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) announced that it had issued an order on May 25, 2018 to Stantec Consulting Ltd., a company based in Edmonton, Alberta that offers geotechnical, environmental, civil and materials engineering services. The company currently holds a CNSC licence authorizing it to possess, transfer, import, export, use and store portable nuclear gauges for the purposes of measuring compaction and moisture content in materials.

The order was issued following a CNSC field inspection in Laval, Quebec. The inspection identified non-compliances related to the security of a portable nuclear gauge used at the work site. The inspection also identified that the worker operating the portable nuclear gauge had not been adequately trained and was not following company procedures when conducting activities with nuclear gauges.

The order requires that the worker immediately cease using portable nuclear gauges until the licensee can demonstrate, to the CNSC’s satisfaction, that the worker is adequately trained to ensure the security and transport of portable nuclear gauges in the field.

The CNSC requires these measures in order to protect the health and safety of workers, the public and the environment.

The CNSC requires these measures in order to protect the health and safety of workers, the public and the environment.

Date modified:

Mesure réglementaire – Stantec Consulting Inc.

En vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires et règlements, divers niveaux d'action réglementaire peuvent être pris par la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité des Canadiens, et de protéger l'environnement.

2018

15 juin 2018

Mise à jour au sujet d'une mesure réglementaire à l'encontre de Stantec Consulting Inc.

Le 15 juin 2018, la CCSN a confirmé que Stantec Consulting Inc. s'était conformée à toutes les modalités de l'ordre délivré le 25 mai 2018. Les mesures correctives mises en œuvre par l'entreprise ont été examinées et jugées satisfaisantes par le personnel de la CCSN.

25 mai 2016

Ordre délivré à Stantec Consulting Ltd.

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) a annoncé aujourd’hui qu’elle a délivré un ordre le 25 mai 2018 à Stantec Consulting Ltd., une entreprise située à Edmonton (Alberta) qui fournit des services de génie géotechnique, environnemental, civil et des matériaux. L’entreprise détient un permis de la CCSN qui l’autorise à posséder, à transférer, à importer, à exporter, à utiliser et à stocker des jauges nucléaires portatives pour mesurer la compaction et la teneur en humidité des matériaux.

L’ordre a été délivré à la suite d’une inspection sur le terrain réalisée par la CCSN à Laval (Québec), qui a permis de relever des cas de non-conformité liés à la sécurité d’une jauge nucléaire portative utilisée sur les lieux de travail. De plus, il a été déterminé que la personne qui l’utilisait n’avait pas reçu une formation adéquate et ne suivait pas les procédures de l’entreprise pour effectuer des activités à l’aide de jauges nucléaires.

Selon l’ordre, le travailleur doit cesser immédiatement d’utiliser des jauges nucléaires portatives jusqu’à ce que le titulaire de permis puisse démontrer, à la satisfaction de la CCSN, que le travailleur a reçu une formation adéquate pour assurer la sécurité et le transport de jauges nucléaires portatives sur le terrain.

La CCSN exige que ces mesures soient prises afin de préserver la santé et la sûreté des travailleurs et du public, et de protéger l’environnement.

Dernière mise à jour :