Regulatory action – Seymour Pacific Developments Ltd.

Under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act and associated regulations, various levels of regulatory action can be taken by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) to protect the health, safety and security of Canadians and the environment.

2017

December 1, 2017

Update on regulatory action issued to Seymour Pacific Developments Ltd.

On December 1, 2017, the CNSC confirmed that Seymour Pacific Developments Ltd. had complied with all the terms and conditions of the order issued on October 2, 2017. The corrective measures implemented by the company were reviewed and found to be satisfactory by CNSC staff.

October 2, 2017

Order issued to Seymour Pacific Developments Ltd.

The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) issued an order to Seymour Pacific Developments Ltd., a company based in Campbell River, British Columbia that offers geotechnical, environmental, civil and materials engineering services. The company currently holds a CNSC licence authorizing the possession, transfer, use and storage of portable nuclear gauges for the purposes of measuring compaction and moisture content in materials.

The order was issued following a CNSC inspection in Penticton, British Columbia. The inspection identified non-compliances related to the implementation of the company’s radiation protection program, including the availability of equipment in the event of an emergency. The inspection also identified that a worker operating a portable nuclear gauge was not adequately trained in the company’s procedures.

The order requires the company to immediately cease the use of portable nuclear gauges at its Penticton office until the licensee can demonstrate, to the CNSC’s satisfaction, that all items of non-compliance identified in the inspection have been corrected, including the training of the worker at this location.

The CNSC requires these measures to protect the health and safety of workers, the public and the environment.

Mesure réglementaire – Seymour Pacific Developments Ltd.

En vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires et des règlements y afférents, divers niveaux d’action réglementaire peuvent être pris par la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité des Canadiens, et de protéger l'environnement.

2017

1 décembre 2017

Mise à jour au sujet d'une mesure réglementaire à l'encontre de Seymour Pacific Developments Ltd.

Le 1 décembre 2017, la CCSN a confirmé que Seymour Pacific Developments Ltd. s'était conformée à toutes les modalités de l'ordre délivré le 2 octobre 2017. Les mesures correctives mises en œuvre par l'entreprise ont été examinées et jugées satisfaisantes par le personnel de la CCSN.

2 octobre 2017

Ordre délivré à Seymour Pacific Developments Ltd.

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) a délivré un ordre à Seymour Pacific Developments Ltd., une entreprise établie à Campbell River (Colombie-Britannique) qui offre des services de génie géotechnique, environnemental, civil et des matériaux. L’entreprise est titulaire d’un permis de la CCSN qui l’autorise à posséder, à transférer, à utiliser et à entreposer des jauges nucléaires portatives pour mesurer la compaction et la teneur en humidité des matériaux.

L’ordre a été délivré à la suite d’une inspection de la CCSN à Penticton (Colombie-Britannique). L’inspection a permis de relever des cas de non-conformité liés à la mise en œuvre du programme de radioprotection de l’entreprise, y compris la disponibilité de l’équipement en cas d’urgence. Il a aussi été constaté qu’un travailleur utilisant une jauge portative nucléaire n’avait pas reçu une formation adéquate sur les procédures de l’entreprise.

L’ordre exige que le titulaire de permis cesse immédiatement d’utiliser des jauges nucléaires portatives au bureau de Penticton jusqu’à ce qu’il puisse démontrer, à la satisfaction de la CCSN, que tous les cas de non-conformité relevés pendant l’inspection ont été corrigés, y compris la formation du travailleur susmentionné.

La CCSN exige que ces mesures soient prises afin de préserver la santé et la sécurité des travailleurs et du public, et de protéger l’environnement.