Regulatory action – Ryan Wessel

Under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act and associated regulations, various levels of regulatory action can be taken by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) to protect the health, safety and security of Canadians and the environment.

2017

February 21, 2017

Update on the administrative monetary penalty (AMP) issued to Ryan Wessel

On February 14, 2017, the CNSC confirmed the AMP issued to Ryan Wessel has been paid. The CNSC now considers this AMP closed.

January 16, 2017

Administrative monetary penalty issued to Ryan Wessel

Today the CNSC announced that it issued an administrative monetary penalty (AMP) of $300 to Mr. Ryan Wessel for failing to secure an exposure device to a vehicle. This action constituted a violation of the General Nuclear Safety and Control Regulations under paragraph 17 (b), which requires a worker to comply with all measures established by the licensee.

The AMP was further to an event reported to the CNSC when an exposure device was ejected from a road vehicle during transport; the device was found the following day by the licensee during a search of the route. At the time of the incident, Mr. Wessel was an employee of Cave Inspection Ltd of Kitscoty, Alberta.

Mesure réglementaire – Ryan Wessel

En vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires et des règlements y afférents, divers niveaux d’action réglementaire peuvent être pris par la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité des Canadiens, et de protéger l'environnement.

2017

21 février 2017

Mise à jour au sujet de la sanction administrative pécuniaire (SAP) imposée à Ryan Wessel

Le 14 février 2017, la CCSN a confirmé que Ryan Wessel a payé la sanction qui lui a été imposée. La CCSN considère que le dossier de cette SAP est maintenant clos.

16 janvier 2017

Sanction administrative pécuniaire imposée à Ryan Wessel

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) a annoncé aujourd’hui qu’elle avait imposé une sanction administrative pécuniaire (SAP) de 300 $ à M. Ryan Wessel. Ce dernier a omis de fixer un appareil d’exposition à un véhicule, ce qui constitue une violation de l’alinéa 17b) du Règlement général sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires, qui exige que le travailleur se conforme aux mesures prévues par le titulaire de permis.

La SAP fait suite à un événement signalé à la CCSN à savoir qu’un appareil d’exposition avait été éjecté d’un véhicule routier pendant son transport. L’appareil en question a été retrouvé le lendemain par le titulaire de permis lors de recherches le long de la route. Au moment de l’incident, M. Wessel était un employé de Cave Inspection Ltd de Kitscoty (Alberta).