Regulatory action – R.M. Belanger

Under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act and associated regulations, various levels of regulatory action can be taken by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) to protect the health, safety and security of Canadians and the environment.

2016

November 30, 2016

Update on the administrative monetary penalty (AMP) issued to R.M. Belanger

On November 30, 2016, the CNSC confirmed that the AMP issued to R.M. Belanger has been paid. The CNSC now considers this AMP closed.

November 29, 2016

Order and administrative monetary penalty issued to R.M. Belanger

Today, the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) announced that it issued an order on August 18, 2016 to R.M. Belanger Limited, a company based in Chelmsford, ON that offers geotechnical, environmental, civil and materials engineering services. The company currently holds a CNSC licence authorizing the possession, use and transfer of portable nuclear gauges for the purposes of measuring compaction and moisture content in materials.

The order was issued following a CNSC inspection at two separate field work locations. The inspection identified non-compliances with training of two workers and maintenance of the portable nuclear gauges. The inspection also identified several non-compliances with the transport and labelling of portable nuclear gauges and record keeping.

The order prohibited the two workers from performing any work with the portable nuclear gauges until they had completed documented training on all aspects of the licensee’s radiation safety program, and were working in accordance with CNSC regulations, CNSC licence conditions and all procedures and commitments included in the licensee’s Licence Application and Appendices. Further, the two portable nuclear gauges were to be removed from service until appropriate repairs had been completed and all items of non-compliance identified during the inspection had been corrected to the CNSC’s satisfaction.

On October 21, 2016, the CNSC confirmed that R.M. Belanger Limited had complied with all the terms and conditions of the order issued on August 18, 2016. The corrective measures implemented by the company were reviewed and found to be satisfactory by CNSC staff.

On November 18, 2016, the CNSC also issued an administrative monetary penalty to R.M. Belanger Limited in the amount of $4,900. The licensee failed to keep exposure to radiation to persons as low as reasonably achievable through the implementation of management control over work practices in violation of subparagraph 4 (a) (i) of the Radiation Protection Regulations.

Mesure réglementaire – R.M. Belanger

En vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires et des règlements y afférents, divers niveaux d'action réglementaire peuvent être pris par la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité des Canadiens, et de protéger l'environnement.

2016

30 novembre 2016

Mise à jour au sujet de la sanction administrative pécuniaire (SAP) imposée à R.M Belanger

Le 30 novembre 2016, la CCSN a confirmé que R.M. Belanger a payé la sanction qui lui a été imposée. La CCSN considère que le dossier de cette SAP est maintenant clos.

29 novembre 2016

Ordre et sanction administrative pécuniaire imposés à R.M. Belanger

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) a annoncé aujourd’hui qu’elle avait délivré un ordre le 18 août 2016 à R.M. Belanger Limited, une entreprise établie à Chelmsford (Ontario) qui offre des services de génie géotechnique, environnemental, civil et des matériaux. Elle est actuellement titulaire d’un permis de la CCSN qui l’autorise à posséder, à utiliser et à transférer des jauges nucléaires portatives pour mesurer la compaction et la teneur en humidité des matériaux.

L’ordre avait été délivré à la suite d’une inspection de la CCSN sur deux sites différents, et avait permis de relever des cas de non-conformité liés à la formation de deux travailleurs et à l’entretien de jauges nucléaires portatives. Plusieurs autres cas de non-conformité avaient été notés concernant le transport et l’étiquetage de jauges nucléaires portatives et la tenue de dossiers.

L’ordre interdisait aux deux travailleurs d’utiliser des jauges nucléaires portatives jusqu’à ce qu’ils aient complété une formation documentée sur tous les aspects du programme de radioprotection du titulaire de permis, et qu’ils travaillent conformément à la réglementation et aux conditions de permis de la CCSN, ainsi qu’à toutes les procédures et à tous les engagements indiqués dans la demande de permis (et ses annexes) du titulaire de permis. De plus, les deux jauges portatives en question devaient être mises hors service jusqu’à ce que des réparations appropriées aient été terminées et que tous les cas de non-conformité relevés pendant l’inspection aient été corrigés à la satisfaction de la CCSN.

Le 21 octobre 2016, la CCSN a confirmé que R.M. Belanger Limited s’était conformé à toutes les modalités de l’ordre délivré le 18 août 2016. Les mesures correctives appliquées par l’entreprise ont été examinées et jugées satisfaisantes par le personnel de la CCSN.

Le 18 novembre 2016, la CCSN a imposé une sanction administrative pécuniaire de 4 900 $ à R.M. Belanger Limited. Le titulaire de permis a omis de maintenir le degré d’exposition des personnes au rayonnement au niveau le plus bas qu’il soit raisonnablement possible d’atteindre par la maîtrise des méthodes de travail par la direction, contrairement au sous-alinéa 4a)(i) du Règlement sur la radioprotection.