Regulatory action – Porocel of Canada, Ltd

Under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act and associated regulations, various levels of regulatory action can be taken by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) to protect the health, safety and security of Canadians and the environment.


January 25, 2015

Update on regulatory action issued to Porocel of Canada, Ltd

On January 25, 2016, the CNSC confirmed that Porocel of Canada, Ltd had complied with all the terms and conditions of the order issued on December 17, 2015. The corrective measures implemented by the company were reviewed and found to be satisfactory by CNSC staff.


December 17, 2015

Order to Porocel of Canada, Ltd

Today, the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) announced it had issued an order to Porocel of Canada, Ltd, a company based in Medicine Hat, AB that provides products and services to the refining and petrochemical industries. The company holds a CNSC licence authorizing the possession and use of nuclear substances in fixed gauges used to monitor operations at its plant.

The order was issued after an audit conducted by the company, triggered by a CNSC inspection on December 3, 2015, identified that the company’s workers had used a procedure that the CNSC had not authorized when they partially entered a vessel fitted with a nuclear gauge.

The order requires Porocel of Canada, Ltd to immediately cease any activities requiring entry into a vessel or hopper fitted with a radiation device until the company has conducted a full investigation of all vessel entries, including radiation dose estimates; retrained its workers; and effectively implemented a radiation protection program.

The CNSC requires these measures to protect the health, safety, and security of the public and the environment.

Mesure réglementaire – Porocel of Canada, Ltd

En vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires et règlements, divers niveaux d'action réglementaire peuvent être pris par la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité des Canadiens, et de protéger l'environnement.

2016

25 janvier 2016

Mise à jour au sujet d'une mesure réglementaire à l'encontre de Porocel of Canada, Ltd

Le 25 janvier 2016, la CCSN a confirmé que Porocel of Canada, Ltd s'était conformée à toutes les modalités de l'ordre délivré le 17 décembre 2015. Les mesures correctives mises en œuvre par l'entreprise ont été examinées et jugées satisfaisantes par le personnel de la CCSN.

2015

17 décembre 2015

Ordre délivré à Porocel of Canada, Ltd

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) a annoncé aujourd’hui qu’elle avait délivré un ordre à Porocel of Canada, Ltd., une entreprise établie à Medicine Hat (Alberta), qui offre des produits et des services aux industries de raffinage et de production pétrochimique. L’entreprise est titulaire d’un permis de la CCSN l’autorisant à posséder et à utiliser des substances nucléaires dans des jauges fixes servant à surveiller les opérations à son usine.

L’ordre a été délivré à la suite d’une vérification par l’entreprise, déclenchée par une inspection de la CCSN le 3 décembre 2015, qui a permis de déterminer que les travailleurs avaient suivi une procédure non autorisée par la CCSN lorsqu’ils entraient partiellement dans une cuve équipée d’une jauge nucléaire.

L’ordre exige que Porocel of Canada, Ltd. cesse immédiatement toute activité nécessitant l’entrée dans une cuve ou une trémie équipée d’un appareil à rayonnement tant que l’entreprise n’aura pas mené une enquête complète visant toutes les entrées dans une cuve, y compris les estimations de doses; reformé ses travailleurs et mis en œuvre efficacement un programme de radioprotection.

La CCSN exige que ces mesures soient prises pour préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité du public et protéger l’environnement.