Regulatory action – Orbit Engineering Limited

Under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act and associated regulations, various levels of regulatory action can be taken by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) to protect the health, safety and security of Canadians and the environment.

2019

March 15, 2019

Update to regulatory action issued to Orbit Engineering Limited

On March 15, 2019, the CNSC confirmed that Orbit Engineering Limited had complied with all the terms and conditions of the order issued on March 7, 2019. The corrective measures implemented by the company were reviewed and found to be satisfactory by CNSC staff.

March 7, 2019

Order to Orbit Engineering Limited

The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) has issued an order to Orbit Engineering Limited, a company based in Brampton, Ontario. The company holds a CNSC licence authorizing the possession, transfer, use and storage of portable nuclear gauges for the purpose of measuring compaction and moisture content in materials.

The basis of the order includes:

  • the CNSC inspection conducted in January 2019 at the company’s Brampton facility, during which the inspector identified non-compliances with the management oversight of the radiation protection program and non-compliances related to prescribed records, worker training and worker dose monitoring
  • the CNSC inspection conducted in March 2019 at the Brampton facility, where it was seen that the company did not have adequate management oversight of the radiation protection program, and that corrective measures for a number of the non-compliances identified in the January inspection had not been implemented

The order requires the licensee to cease all use of its portable nuclear gauges and to make immediate provisions to secure and store them until it can demonstrate, to the CNSC’s satisfaction, that there is an effective management oversight of the radiation protection program and that all non-compliances identified in the inspection reports for the inspections conducted in January and March have been corrected.

The CNSC requires these measures in order to protect the health and safety of workers, the public and the environment.

Read the order (PDF)

Date modified:

Mesure réglementaire – Orbit Engineering Limited

En vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires et des règlements y afférents, divers niveaux d'action réglementaire peuvent être pris par la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité des Canadiens, et de protéger l'environnement.

2019

15 mars 2019

Mise à jour sur l’ordre délivré à Orbit Engineering Limited

Le 15 mars 2019, la CCSN a confirmé que Orbit Engineering Limited s’était conformée à toutes les modalités de l’ordre délivré le 7 mars 2019. Les mesures correctives mises en œuvre par l’entreprise ont été examinées et jugées satisfaisantes par le personnel de la CCSN.

7 mars 2019

Ordre délivré à Orbit Engineering Ltd.

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) a délivré un ordre à Orbit Engineering Limited, une entreprise établie à Brampton (Ontario) titulaire d’un permis de la CCSN l’autorisant à posséder, à transférer, à utiliser et à entreposer des jauges nucléaires portatives servant à mesurer la compaction et la teneur en humidité des matériaux.

L’ordre est fondé sur ce qui suit :

  • une inspection effectuée par la CCSN en janvier 2019 au site de Brampton de l’entreprise, pendant laquelle l’inspecteur a relevé des cas de non-conformité liés à la surveillance, par la direction, du programme de radioprotection, ainsi qu’à la tenue de documents réglementés, à la formation des travailleurs et à la surveillance de la dose aux travailleurs
  • une inspection effectuée en mars 2019 au site de Brampton de l’entreprise, pendant laquelle l’inspecteur a constaté que la direction n’exerçait pas une surveillance adéquate du programme de radioprotection et que les mesures correctives découlant d’un certain nombre de non-conformités relevées pendant l’inspection de janvier n’avaient pas été mises en œuvre

L’ordre exige que le titulaire de permis cesse d’utiliser toutes ses jauges nucléaires portatives et de prendre immédiatement des dispositions pour les entreposer de manière sécuritaire jusqu’à ce qu’il puisse démontrer, à la satisfaction de la CCSN, que la direction exerce une surveillance efficace du programme de radioprotection et que tous les cas de non-conformité relevés dans les rapports d’inspection de janvier et de mars ont été corrigés.

La CCSN exige que ces mesures soient prises afin de préserver la santé et la sécurité des travailleurs et du public et de protéger l’environnement.

Lire l’ordre (PDF)

Dernière mise à jour :